Opinion Posts That Don't Deserve a Thread (Random Opinion or Questions)

Too harsh on Hayward and no idea why you have our club captain last on the list. Otherwise very good.
I feel like Hayward was rated fairly. I think it would be unfair to have him any higher or lower. I often hear that he has one of the hardest roles to play in the team, but I also think he has one of the lowest of bars to pass to classify as a "good game." The standard Hayward game is a goal or two, a good mark or two, a good tackle or two. That's literally it. Someone's gotta do it and he's pretty reliable at doing it but I still can't justify rating him above anyone who I had above him.

Re Mills, it was based on their overall seasons, and was only out of the players who played a handful of games at least. Out of those players, I think Mills probably played the least amount of good games this year, so whilst I obviously rate him as a player over many of the players above him, the output and performance as a whole just wasn't there. (And I don't think there's any shame in that, given the amount of footy he missed and the fact he was never quite at 100% to me.)

Since 1950, 19 teams have lost a grand final and have gone on to win the following year (incl. Brisbane this year). That's a 25% chance.

6 times a team has lost in consecutive grand finals, including Collingwood in 3 consecutive GFs (from 79-81).

I'm not sure what that means for us, but I wondered myself so looked it up.

Since 1950, 19 teams have lost a grand final and have gone on to win the following year (incl. Brisbane this year). That's a 25% chance.

6 times a team has lost in consecutive grand finals, including Collingwood in 3 consecutive GFs (from 79-81).

I'm not sure what that means for us, but I wondered myself so looked it up.
Sorry to be the Debbie Downer on your little ray of sunshine here GTS, but isn't there some similar type of statistic that when a team loses a GF by 50+, none have made the GF the following year?

Yeah, I didn't look into margins at all but heard that stat back when we lost in 2022. It's definitely a huge hill to climb, no doubt about that. I was just curious about what the chances are of winning a flag after a GF defeat.

Obviously Brisbane were a prime example of the type of team who were likely to avenge their GF loss. Have been one of the best teams over the last 5 years, lost the GF by under a goal, were so close. They probably ticked every box that made them an ideal candidate.

The swans, not so much.

Have to go back to the G today , it's a Cargi club lunch and being the 100 th year of the Brownlow , this years guest is John Platten , Peter Bedford was 4 years ago and of course i won a jumper in the bedford quiz . You have to wear club colours , that will be hard

Have a good time, mate. Wear it proudly.

Be nice to see our colours perform at the G

Yeah. They should run a $62mil organisation like a suburban footy club.

Sent from my SM-S928B using Tapatalk
Yeah, that's the thing. We can't bemoan clubs like Geelong making back-door deals to sign every player and their dog, then spit the dummy when our club focus on strengthening our corporate relationships, which will enable us to combat the tactics of a club like Geelong off the field.

That said, I think our main gripe is the fact that our grand final performances look like we've sent a suburban footy club out on the field. We want to see evidence that our on-field performances are as important to the higher-ups as our off-field performance.

If we had prime JPK and prime Parker, alongside 2024 Warner, Gulden, JMac and Rowbottom, we'd have the best midfield in the league.

I know it's purely hypothetical because it's two ships passing in the night but that would have been some sight.
Most Swans fans wouldn't want him in there because they'd say he's too slow.

If we had prime JPK and prime Parker, alongside 2024 Warner, Gulden, JMac and Rowbottom, we'd have the best Home and Away midfield in the league.

I know it's purely hypothetical because it's two ships passing in the night but that would have been some sight.
They'd get absolutely pantsed by any team willing to put in work.

Pre injury Hanners surely gets a start ?
Pre-injury Hanners would 100% be in my midfield. Hanners did cross my mind but I thought that would be taking the piss.

In my hypothetical, I was thinking about our existing mids circa 2020 still being in their peak and the younger brigade hitting their peak earlier than they did. Essentially bridging the gap between the two midfields.

Hanners would absolutely be in my midfield, ahead of Warner, Gulden & JMac. Also ahead of every other version of Heeney other than the 2024 version.

I'm five games in to my 2019 season rewatch, so thought I would share my thoughts.

- Heeney's just had an exceptional game against Carlton in something of a preview to what he would deliver this year. 4 goals for the day playing mostly forward, but has also had 26 possessions, pushing up and playing as a rover at some stoppages for four clearances.

- Blakey and Rowbottom have both debuted and it's hilarious how on brand they were, even in their very first outings. Blakey's tried to take about three blokes on with incredibly mixed results - one case he got caught in the tackle straight away and was gone; another case he managed to evade the player but then tried bouncing the ball and made a meal of it; and another he absolutely blitzed away from his opponent and nailed a beautiful pass. He was letting us know to prepare for 15 years of taking the good with the bad!

- Meanwhile against that year's premiers Richmond, Rowbottom's just beaten Dusty(!!) in a one on one and casually dished it off for a rebound. Earlier on he'd pushed JPK(!!) out of the way to win a ground ball. And picked Toby Nankervis(!!) up off the ground and body-slammed him in a tackle, which Buddy enjoyed and got around him for. If Blakey's debut was him warning us to embrace the mayhem, Rowbottom's told us we'd never have anything to worry about with this guy.

- Speaking of debuts, I reckon if you sat Horse down and asked him what the most ridiculous decision he'd ever made in his career was, selecting McInerney for his debut in round 4 of this season would surely be in the top 3. His NEAFL form was promising (literally one game, and he didn't receive any votes for it), but in no way suggested a player ready for senior footy. He then debuts and it's clear he has no idea what's going on. He's undersized and shirking contests because of it. But, to his credit, and in a glimpse of the trademark spunk he'd later show, by the third or fourth quarter he's almost overcompensating by putting his head over it TOO much, and at least earning himself a few frees for his troubles. Still, one possession says it all.

- Aliir Aliir has had a stellar start to the season. Unfortunately I will never be convinced that Horse did not stuff this one up massively.

- Heath Grundy's one and only appearance for the season, which would be his last ever :(

- Ollie Florent's best game of his career so far, with 25 disposals and 2 goals playing mostly off a wing (yet over 50% of his possessions being contested still.) It's crazy how back then he used to absolutely cop it for his kicking, when he's basically just having the exact same performances we've seen from Warner, Gulden etc. this year.

That'll do from me for now.

Opinion Posts That Don't Deserve a Thread (Random Opinion or Questions)