Power SANFL Round 20

Laurie very impressive today in the reserves, got leather poisoning and used the ball very well. Not sure that he is AFL standard but he will make a very good state league player.

Lobbe is very close to AFL, he has come along in leaps and bounds. No need to play him this year just let him play from round 1 next year. He will struggle for the first half of the year but after that he should hold his own.

Thurstans had Webb for most of the day and was solid but not dominant.

Pettigrew had a pretty poor game and really looked no where near AFL.

He has no chance of getting regular AFL games with Ebert, Tredrea, Westhoff as our established KPPs. He should consider asking for a transfer same goes for Lower and Stewart.
Our midfield and forward line are established, experienced and function really really well, so there are only two chances anyone else can crack it in those two spots, the proverbial ones.

This is why signing Tredrea for all his greatness could hold us back.

It's like the continuing saga of Lade, Peter B and Carr. We need to accept our fate and look forward.

Salter appears as a Full forward, he needs to play Tredrea's role and I am getting frustrated these old blokes are keeping the young guys out.

I would much rather Broadbent, Salter getting games at this point in time than Ebert and Peter B or Josh.

Laurie very impressive today in the reserves, got leather poisoning and used the ball very well. Not sure that he is AFL standard but he will make a very good state league player.

Lobbe is very close to AFL, he has come along in leaps and bounds. No need to play him this year just let him play from round 1 next year. He will struggle for the first half of the year but after that he should hold his own.

Thurstans had Webb for most of the day and was solid but not dominant.

Pettigrew had a pretty poor game and really looked no where near AFL.

Laurie I can't work out why he hasn't had more opportunities in the League side as he's burnt up the ressies the last 8 weeks.

Lobbe I agree, no point now, 4 weeks ago I was keen. His size isnt much worse than Wood, Clarke, Ryder I reckon Rucking in SANFL against mainly real men would be tougher than the AFL where he would come up against some more developing boys and softer apllication of rules.

In the reserves at Thebby Banner was outstanding, kicking 4 goals and clearly b.o.g. Redden was solid in ruck and did some nice things around the ground. Dawson played in almost every position (including ruck) and looked frustrated. He spent a fair bit of time on the bench.

In the main game things didn't really click for Salter until the last term. He still ended up with 5. Broadbent didn't have much influence. Seemed to play a negating role and never really got into the game.

Looking towards the future, excellent games by two youngsters - Polec and Goldsworthy - with 3 goals apiece. Polec is one to look out for the future (still too young to be drafted this year). A good sized utility who has footy smarts. Goldsworthy is a bit of a Schneider type player. Both good draft prospects.

Trengove 7k 9m 8 h/b

Lower 13k 7m 8 hb 4 tkls

Broadbent 6k 2m 14 hb 4 tkls

Salter 9k 4 m 6 h/b 5 goals 7th best

Farmer 14k 3m 9 h/b 3rd best

Thurstans 5k 2m 8 h/b

Lobbe 3k 3m 9 h/b 27 h/o

Pettigrew 9k 4m 6 h/b

Stewart 8k 4m 2 h/b 6 h/o

Thompson - both identified so either 3k + 6 h/b or 6 k & 2 m

Ressies:

Laurie 3rd best + 2 goals

Banner best and 4 goals

Giles 2nd best + 1 goal

Martin 2 goals

He has no chance of getting regular AFL games with Ebert, Tredrea, Westhoff as our established KPPs. He should consider asking for a transfer same goes for Lower and Stewart.
Our midfield and forward line are established, experienced and function really really well, so there are only two chances anyone else can crack it in those two spots, the proverbial ones.
I don't think that Ebo has established himself as one of our Kpp's. Tries hard but I remember a comment that has always stuck with me. Someone mentioned that he is an "almost" player. He almost marks, wins 50-50 contests, and almost kicks the goal. I think that Salter did a lot better in making the most of his chances and keeping the ball inside 50.

Got a feeling that there would be a few question marks over salter's fitness.

He confessed he didn't work as hard as he should've last year, was having a ripper pre-season until he slipped a disc in his back then got the knee injury.

With hopefully a full pre-season under his belt going into next year, i'd expect salter to be playing a lot more AFL than SANFL.

Hopefully for us.

Trengove 7k 9m 8 h/b

Broadbent 6k 2m 14 hb 4 tkls

Salter 9k 4 m 6 h/b 5 goals 7th best

Farmer 14k 3m 9 h/b 3rd best

Lobbe 3k 3m 9 h/b 27 h/o

Banner best and 4 goals

Giles 2nd best + 1 goal

These guys have me excited, Trengove considdering where he has come from is great, Broadie should be playing 1's, Same for Salter, Farmer is setteling into his new home well, Lobbe seems to have settled and improving, Banner for a young lad licks bags of gaols and is fairly consistant, and Giles is far to good for Reserves and is starting to play some OK games in the ones but finds himself the unlucky one with McKenzie and Griffen bot playing, they say big men come good around 25-26 so, I think he has worked hard enough for one more year.

also not sure why laurie cant break into the league team as he has been playing well in the ressies with a few BOG performances and also in the best players for quite a few games. He is a very fit player and can run a game out and rarely sits on the woodwork. Has great Beep test results

if one of the other 15 clubs had a premiership ruckman of 08 in the local league (probably did), that guy would have played much more than the zero games in the AFL. i am of course taking about giles. what a joke choco is :\

a premiership ruickman who is struggling to get a game in the league side and you expect him to step up and play AFL?
wouldnt it be nice to have a good young ruckman who is dominating or at least doing really well at SANFL league level, then perhaps he would be worthy of more of a run

I'd give Lobbe a go before Giles... even though he is playing for Westies he is still now playing regular league, and doing really really well against other quality league (and some ex AFL) rucks

Be real. Central arent even picking him in the league side and you are criticising Choco for not selecting him?

Lobbe would be ahead of giles and it's only his second year on our list. This is giles 4th year and he hasn't shown any improvement that would suggest he's worth retaining.

Be real. Central arent even picking him in the league side and you are criticising Choco for not selecting him?
In all fairness to Giles the top spot in many SANFL teams is taken by an older mature ruckman. At Centrals he is competing for the number two spot and the player he is competing with is 2 years olader and has had more than one chance to develop his game at AFL level. 13 games in a row in his first year even with stats such as 2 H/O no disposals as well as 3,4,6,8 and 8 H/O.

12 in a row in his second year and only 2 this year.
Give him time.

Can anyone enlighten me on Farmer's performance for South's on the weekend. I notice that he had 23-24 possessions and was named 3rd best in what appears, at least on the surface, that it may have been his best performance this year. Does anyone think he will see AFL action this year allowing for the fact that there are only two rounds to go. I suspect Choco would be keen to have a look at some of those playing in the SANFL before he and his trusted comrades review our list at years end by giving them some game time. I suppose though with a finals berth still up for grabs he will most likely stick with those who keep letting this great club down time after time. I won't name them in this thread in terms of who I think they are because it will serve no purpose.
I also want to take this opportunity to say thanks to everyone's comments and thoughts regarding SANFL performances which I look forward to reading every week. Not living in SA makes things difficult in tracking how all players are performing.

Can anyone enlighten me on Farmer's performance for South's on the weekend. I notice that he had 23-24 possessions and was named 3rd best in what appears, at least on the surface, that it may have been his best performance this year. Does anyone think he will see AFL action this year allowing for the fact that there are only two rounds to go. I suspect Choco would be keen to have a look at some of those playing in the SANFL before he and his trusted comrades review our list at years end by giving them some game time. I suppose though with a finals berth still up for grabs he will most likely stick with those who keep letting this great club down time after time. I won't name them in this thread in terms of who I think they are because it will serve no purpose.
I also want to take this opportunity to say thanks to everyone's comments and thoughts regarding SANFL performances which I look forward to reading every week. Not living in SA makes things difficult in tracking how all players are performing.

I think a Farmer and Broadbent half back line rotation would be great. I would enjoy seeing Laurie get a two game run for Westie's too.

Lobbe to get a spot for Lade also.

I don't really care about finals anymore, we are shocking, spinless buggers :)

Broadie, Farmer, Lobbe and Surjan are must inclusions this week.

Farmer has only really played 1 quality game of SANFL footy all year, i'd be very surprised if he played AFL this week. Broadbent is a different situation though.

As for Lobbe, i'd be leaving him in the SANFL for the rest of the year, and play him (and Trengove) right through the pre season games next season.

Thanks for the feedback.
I know I'm getting off the subject here but I want to make the point and say you only have to look at Woosha and the Eagles this year and note that he has stuck his neck out, played the kids, copped tanking allegations and all soughts of other crap mostly from the media but over the past month their performances have been fantastic and they seem to be getting better each week. They made that decision to go with their youngsters with the long term future of the club in mind.
I just hope someone (anyone) at Port would have enough courage and conviction to do the same thing and look at the long term future of our club by doing the same thing.

well said Typhoon but also agree with while Choco is there (next 2 seasons) not much will change and feel sorry for our young players lingering in the SANFL. Come on Choco - do something daring!

not while choco and rhode are running the show ps. word going around is that farmer is already packing boxes and heading back to melbourne at seasons end .:eek::(:mad::thumbsdown:

I really hope not, he got a taste last year, has sized up considerably, and was struggeling at Sturt so got up rooted and has had to settle down at Souths this year, the change of SANFL clubs alone should be compensated by both parties! Broadbent, Farmer, Surjan and Stewart are four Flankers/Pocketers I would apriciate around Chappy and Carlile for the next 10 years!

For those playing at home, farmer has won the coffee:

Link

Cibo Glenelg SANFL Player of the Week
Mitch Farmer (for South v Eagles @ Thebarton)
– An impressive game from Mitch, showing some of the speed we saw from him last year, rebounding from defence. He had 13 kicks, 6 handballs, 2 marks and 5 tackles. He worked up the ground to go inside 50 and give his teammates some scoring opportunities. He’s starting to find a nice mixture of defence and attack in his game and he’s slowly improving each week since moving to South.

Link

Not sure if it'll save him from being delisted, but it's some good brownie points. Hope he stays in port colours for 2010.

Power SANFL Round 20