Training Pre Season ‘25

Bauer can be our skinny Wayne Carey, he'll run rings around a defender and mark it. And he's not Shai Bolton levels of silly when taking set shots.
Only issue for mine is that we have a few guys now who will be fighting for that 3rd medium/tall role, maybe not this year but definitely next year when the key position player from this draft who have the bigger frames who can also assist in the ruck take the 1 and 2 spots respectively

It will be Grey, Bauer and Lefau all fighting for that last spot in the side because with proper keys playing as well no way can we play more than one of that group

On exposed form it will be Bauer.

Rioli was moved before Houli retired mate. Short got moved to mid/half forward when Rioli became perma half back
Yeah Short and Baker first shifted into the middle when we had that horror injury run in mid 2022 and literally ran out of proper midfielders to play

I personally think Lefau will be the more dangerous and hardest match up in the role
He was impressive last year, but he's coming from a long way back this season. It will be interesting to see how both of them go.

Yeah I do like them both and they both would play the same role very differently
I could even see a world where we keep both and play either one depending on the match ups or the oppo side but I dunno if they would get frustrated and try and secure a trade to a team that could offer more stability

I personally think Lefau will be the more dangerous and hardest match up in the role
HIs speed and ability to apply pressure is probably what sets him apart from the other options

Only issue for mine is that we have a few guys now who will be fighting for that 3rd medium/tall role, maybe not this year but definitely next year when the key position player from this draft who have the bigger frames who can also assist in the ruck take the 1 and 2 spots respectively
Why not be work to our strengths once again...
Stack the whole forward line with players that can one grab the footy...
And go totally for broke...yee haww...

i said it in one of the draft threads but bauer is tauru but with a better kick

prefer him up fwd as the 3rd tall, he's clutch
Can we fit him in there?

Reckon LeFau, Fawcett, Faull, Armstrong, Gray, Sims and Ryan can all fill that 3rd tall role (and 2nd) but I don't think any of those have the skills to be impactful on the wing.

Reckon it might come down to whether Bauer has or can develop the tank for it.

Rioli didn’t play as a forward again after 2019. Check fanfooty
Fanfooty is clearly incorrect and a terrible source if that's what they are dishing out. Rioli played forward in all of 2020 including the GF - most RFC fans would know that without checking a rubbish footy fan site.

He moved for the last 7 or 8 games of 2021...

Lefau is filling a gap atm. He’s not in the future.
He's a Brad Miller equivalent but more athletic. There for culture, a big body etc. Will play a bit in 2025 once fit and then increasingly sparingly in 2026 and beyond as Fawcett, Armstrong, Faull and co develop... Even Gray will be preferred if he develops well. I like Lefau though - competes well and was improving with every game.

Can we fit him in there?

Reckon LeFau, Fawcett, Faull, Armstrong, Gray, Sims and Ryan can all fill that 3rd tall role (and 2nd) but I don't think any of those have the skills to be impactful on the wing.

Reckon it might come down to whether Bauer has or can develop the tank for it.
well for me it's more

• lefau is depth coming off 2 acls (and 27yrs old mid next year)
  • fawcett/faull/armstrong unknown
  • gray also unknown but the most likely kpf in delist territory since he was a mid season draftee
  • sims the ruck/fwd who probs needs a few years to cook
  • ryan is ruck/fwd with nank or solo ruck once nank is suspended/injured/retired until we find a replacement or he comes good

so once lynch is done, the fwds i think have somewhat of a chance is the fawcett, faull & armstrong brigade with sims also being in there but i hope he develops as a ruck

that's 4, at most 5 key fwds with a good chance of at least 2 of them making it which means i'm fine with playing bauer as the 3rd tall as that is his specialty rather than trying to change his role to a wingman, something i don't think he would have played since u12s if ever. plus bauer would be able to get 2 years of afl experience in our fwd line if he's able to stay in the 22 while the 1st/2nd talls develop

if anything, chuck trainor on the wing, or any from banks/hrs/brown/trezise/ross/campbell, or even alger/hotton once they're ready (but would hope hotton transitions to mid/fwd)

It’s not his firs rodeo , already had an ACL

Training Pre Season ‘25