Facts are so yesterday.I thought it was only stopped for draftees.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Facts are so yesterday.I thought it was only stopped for draftees.
Sad truth!Weight loss is 80% diet . No excuses
I reckon Eagles stopped it for ruckmen over 30. Remember Coxy playing with a bit of extra padding in his last couple of years.
Weight loss is diet and metabolism. Carbs are good fuel prior to strenuous exercise but should be left alone outside of those times, especially at night before your sleep/fast, otherwise you are burning carbs when you could be burning fat.
I did some research the other day and found out that apparently I have to walk for 42 minutes to burn the calories from one corona, so when I have the casual 15(it’s hot in Broome ok!), it means that I have to walk for 10 hours………….God why have you forsaken me?Weight loss is 45 mins a day. No excuses
Weight loss is 45 mins a day. No excuses
Those stats always forget the base load of energy your body needs just to be alive (look up basal metabolic rate -BMR). It makes you realise that it takes a lot of eating to stay heavily over-weight. Even a few healthier choices can make a big difference and maintaining a healthy weight (things like portion sizes or cooking more meals at home).I did some research the other day and found out that apparently I have to walk for 42 minutes to burn the calories from one corona, so when I have the casual 15(it’s hot in Broome ok!), it means that I have to walk for 10 hours………….God why have you forsaken me?
For football players, that 1 kg per year would likely come down to losing a kilo of muscle. I think that's why they go on about it, as it seems counter-intuitive for an athlete to want to get weaker. Given the amount of running in footy, it makes sense to help prevent injury.Feel like it'd be more the fact that they're senior, respected players and I can totally see the club handing the reigns over to them regarding their diets. If Vardy/Giles were still on the list and had hit 30 I reckon they'd still be on their backs about it.
Autonomy is fine I reckon (Hawthorne's senior players in their dynasty were really on top of it) but needs performance checks - if your running's not up to scratch then we're taking over diet plans.
Obviously hard to assess with injuries such a big part of the fitness base of Nic - I'd personally be imposing the 'Nick Riewoldt" method of lose 1kg per year once over 30 - you're a senior player and your diet's up to you but if you can't run cause of injury you'll need to make sure your diet conforms to our weight standards.
(Not saying weight in kg is everything and dropping heaps at once is a good idea, but 1kg per year after 30 seems pretty intuitive/doable to me)
Have a beer instead.What if I get bored after 30 seconds?
For football players, that 1 kg per year would likely come down to losing a kilo of muscle. I think that's why they go on about it, as it seems counter-intuitive for an athlete to want to get weaker. Given the amount of running in footy, it makes sense to help prevent injury.
We don’t want to hear about your sex life mateWhat if I get bored after 30 seconds?
For football players, that 1 kg per year would likely come down to losing a kilo of muscle. I think that's why they go on about it, as it seems counter-intuitive for an athlete to want to get weaker. Given the amount of running in footy, it makes sense to help prevent injury.
Yep if you only eat for 45min a day you will lose weightWeight loss is 45 mins a day. No excuses
Yep if you only eat for 45min a day you will lose weight
I reckon Bunga has definitely gone down this route. He looks leaner just about every preseasonWithout wanting to Nic-bash as it's more the club's direction that could use improvement IMO - but I reckon there's definitely a spare kg on him he could lose that wouldn't be muscle. He'd have to lose 5+ to start getting any weaker IMO, and may actually have more explosive strength when it comes to joint/ligament strength etc as opposed to just having weight to throw around.
Also regarding my Riewoldt example - I looked it up regarding Hodge who also did it and guess who told him to do it!
After that vital 2012 season, he also sought the advice of then Hawthorn assistant coach Adam Simpson, another who played into his mid-30s.
Simpson’s advice was to drop 1kg every year after the age of 30 and, given he played more than 300 games for North Melbourne, Hodge didn’t need much convincing.
“I actually dropped a few more,” he added.
“I reckon I was 91kg in 2012 and I played at 89kg in 2013, 88kg in ’14 and 87kg in ’15.
“That advice helped. Then I started to understand my body, especially since coming up here where my gym program has changed, and I think I’m a bit heavier through muscle now but my fat is down.
“I definitely felt better, especially when recovering from the knee operation in 2012. My knee and body felt good and I was recovering better.”
The Final Three for full article
Send this quote to Simmo - he must have forgotten!Without wanting to Nic-bash as it's more the club's direction that could use improvement IMO - but I reckon there's definitely a spare kg on him he could lose that wouldn't be muscle. He'd have to lose 5+ to start getting any weaker IMO, and may actually have more explosive strength when it comes to joint/ligament strength etc as opposed to just having weight to throw around.
Also regarding my Riewoldt example - I looked it up regarding Hodge who also did it and guess who told him to do it!
After that vital 2012 season, he also sought the advice of then Hawthorn assistant coach Adam Simpson, another who played into his mid-30s.
Simpson’s advice was to drop 1kg every year after the age of 30 and, given he played more than 300 games for North Melbourne, Hodge didn’t need much convincing.
“I actually dropped a few more,” he added.
“I reckon I was 91kg in 2012 and I played at 89kg in 2013, 88kg in ’14 and 87kg in ’15.
“That advice helped. Then I started to understand my body, especially since coming up here where my gym program has changed, and I think I’m a bit heavier through muscle now but my fat is down.
“I definitely felt better, especially when recovering from the knee operation in 2012. My knee and body felt good and I was recovering better.”
The Final Three for full article
I reckon Bunga has definitely gone down this route. He looks leaner just about every preseason
INB4 a Naitanui sympathiser gets outraged over this talk and brings up whatever latest injury he's currently coming back from so he has an excuse not to train hard, as well as those 2 AA seasons and B&F win so weight clearly doesn't matter for the rest of his career and to back off with the personal attacks and don't be so rude and fold the club etc etc.
Fold the skin insteadINB4 a Naitanui sympathiser gets outraged over this talk and brings up whatever latest injury he's currently coming back from so he has an excuse not to train hard, as well as those 2 AA seasons and B&F win so weight clearly doesn't matter for the rest of his career and to back off with the personal attacks and don't be so rude and fold the club etc etc.