Training Pre-Season 2023 (First game 18/3 v North)

LEdwards can't catch a break with injuries.
If 2023 is ruined by repeat injuries, I can see him being moved on.

Him being contracted until 2024 complicates that but if he can’t get on the park this year you have to wonder if he’s worth persevering with

Hopefully it’s only a minor strain and he’s only out of training for a short time. He was running at a reasonable pace when I saw him this morning

Age of Geelong players entering 2022 (last year)

30 - Duncan, Rohan, Blicavs, Ceglar
31 - Stanley, Dangerfield
32 - Tuohy
33 - Smith, Selwood, Hawkins, Higgins

Age of West Coast players entering 2023 (this year)

30 - Gaff, Cripps, McGovern, Darling
32 - Naitanui, Shuey
35 - Hurn

We have less players that are 30 or over at the start of this year than Geelong did at the start of last year

Doesn’t mean we’ll win a flag, we won’t, but it’s not like those oldies are incapable of still playing good footy
Geelong is an interesting side age wise. The GF side will have 11 players over 30 and 1 under 24 by April this year.

Him being contracted until 2024 complicates that but if he can’t get on the park this year you have to wonder if he’s worth persevering with

Hopefully it’s only a minor strain and he’s only out of training for a short time. He was running at a reasonable pace when I saw him this morning
Perhaps but but he might retain his spot while guys like Trew/XON/Clark get moved on

Petruccelle
Waterman
Petrevski-Seton
O’Neill
Foley
Clark
Witherden
Winder
West
Trew

are all out of contract this year

Assuming Shuey and Hurn retire I’d guess that at least 5 of those players won’t be at the club next year.

However if 6 or 7 of that group show something significant and/or find some consistency whilst Edwards is watching from the stands then his spot becomes tenuous

"Chesser is being taken along slowly after a serious foot injury sidelined him for all of 2022. He had also been injured for much of his draft year of 2021 and had limited football in 2020 because of Covid restrictions..."

Man I'm going to cringe every time this bloke is tackled in the WAFL. That was such a bold punt from O'Brien with that selection, kicking off a list rebuild where we really can't afford to be cooking high draft picks (After Venables & Brander).

So much pressure on him to even get on the park now, let alone perform to a first round standard.

It doesn't look nearly as bad without the hindsight of 2022. And by all accounts he was tearing it up all 2022 pre season before an awkward contest in a pre season game.

Age of Geelong players entering 2022 (last year)

30 - Duncan, Rohan, Blicavs, Ceglar
31 - Stanley, Dangerfield
32 - Tuohy
33 - Smith, Selwood, Hawkins, Higgins

Age of West Coast players entering 2023 (this year)

30 - Gaff, Cripps, McGovern, Darling
32 - Naitanui, Shuey
35 - Hurn

We have less players that are 30 or over at the start of this year than Geelong did at the start of last year

Doesn’t mean we’ll win a flag, we won’t, but it’s not like those oldies are incapable of still playing good footy
Please let’s not compare Selwood to for eg Yeo or Shuey with durability.

Me too, but i still tell the missus i was robbed of an AFL career due to injury.

I was throwing up Dustins to would be tacklers in year 7 before Dustins were even a thing.

Not as impressive when you find out you were 16 years old in year 7...

Please let’s not compare Selwood to for eg Yeo or Shuey with durability.
That’s what you cherry pick from it when the point is it’s 11 to 7 for over 30s? Lots of detractors think the top of our list is shot. I don’t think it’s that dire. There will likely still be good footy in at least a few of those names this year. For example Gov said recently on Schoey’s pod he was in arguably career best form for his first few games of ‘22. He and JD must be a sneaky chance to have renaissance seasons with a clear run at it

Yeah so Gov was in really good form until he got injured again, what’s your point again?
JD has been very durable no doubt, but a lot of our older players are plain and simple injury prone and on the way out.
I still remember Daniel Kerr doing a bad hamstring and one of my mates dads saying “oh well that’s him ****ed”, turned out to be true he was never the same player, he’d come back for a few games get another soft tissue injury etc etc.
Father Time catches up with all of us, and it seems that teams that fly the most have shorter careers in general, with a few individual exceptions, so no need to draw parallels with WC and Geelong.
I want NicNat, Gov, Shuey etc to play full seasons, but I know that ain’t gonna happen.

I agree. We saw the same thing in 2011 and 2012. Veterans had one last burst of form to get us into finals. It was invaluable experience to the next generation (Shuey, Nic Nat, JK, Darling, Gaff, E Mac etc) and they then took the club forward in 2015.

It would be great to have history repeat for the next 2 seasons.

I agree that Bailey is a more natural forward, he's a brilliant mark when he's on. His set shot routine seems entirely down to nerves and mindset instead of some incurable technique concerns.

I have been pretty down on his prospects over the last 12 months; but I don't want to forget he has real strengths, if only he could tap into them consistently.

I agree that Bailey is a more natural forward, he's a brilliant mark when he's on. His set shot routine seems entirely down to nerves and mindset instead of some incurable technique concerns.

I have been pretty down on his prospects over the last 12 months; but I don't want to forget he has real strengths, if only he could tap into them consistently.

I've never seen him take a brilliant mark :(

Would love to see him come on but I just don't see it.

I agree. We saw the same thing in 2011 and 2012. Veterans had one last burst of form to get us into finals. It was invaluable experience to the next generation (Shuey, Nic Nat, JK, Darling, Gaff, E Mac etc) and they then took the club forward in 2015.

It would be great to have history repeat for the next 2 seasons.
That's the point. We all know that there will be a bit of decline in some players but it isn't like you hit an age and then drop off automatically. Also some players are way more durable than others. It is essential however to have some good, experienced players on the park to guide the younger guys. That doesn't mean you play all the experienced guys every week regardless of form and at the expense of getting games into as many kids as possible. The class of our older guys at the moment is pretty good so if they can be played and are fit and in good form, then it helps promote a winning culture which for the kids last year, was not possible. Particularly with the WAFL side available last year.

Darling, Cripps and McGovern have got a few years left in them I think, they’re not over the hill yet.

Hurn’s still playing well although this is likely his last season.

Its really just Shuey and Naitanui that time is catching up with on field. Even then it was only a couple of years ago when Nic donned a back to back AA jacket.

I'm hoping a full pre season with minimal injuries and no covid issues gives everyone a fresh start and enthusiasm from kids.

Whether that translates to wins we'll see but at worst we should run out games better and have more options in selection.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yeah so Gov was in really good form until he got injured again, what’s your point again?
JD has been very durable no doubt, but a lot of our older players are plain and simple injury prone and on the way out.
I still remember Daniel Kerr doing a bad hamstring and one of my mates dads saying “oh well that’s him ****ed”, turned out to be true he was never the same player, he’d come back for a few games get another soft tissue injury etc etc.
Father Time catches up with all of us, and it seems that teams that fly the most have shorter careers in general, with a few individual exceptions, so no need to draw parallels with WC and Geelong.
I want NicNat, Gov, Shuey etc to play full seasons, but I know that ain’t gonna happen.

Nic played a full season in 2021. And missed one game in 2020. I'm fairly confident he can get through a full season with a bit of luck.

Gov also, impact injuries happen but so far his body has held up well in regards to soft tissue style problems.

Shuey, hard not to agree with you there - he does seem to be on the downhill regarding injuries etc (and has been for a while).

Honestly Shuey has been a fantastic servant of the club, but I think he would have been better served relinquishing the captaincy and working on getting his body right

For me, next year (all going well) I would be electing Barrass captain, with potentially Oscar Allen vice captain (if he can remain healthy)

I actually think it’s a great comparison. You reference Father Time but act like the 11 Cats over 30 were somehow immune like they were superhuman, yet our 7 are shot. Danger has experienced a stark decline in playing form the last 3yrs and also battled syndesmosis in ‘21 and his calf issues last year when he played about 3/4 of the season. Rohan was only good for 13 games in ‘22. Obviously I’m not thinking flag for a multitude of other reasons but the top heaviness of our list isn’t necessarily as big an issue as you are spruiking here.

Also your mate’s Dad is so full of it and everyone knows it. To be fair he’s made many a terrible call over the journey - bound to land a few ‘premonitions’ with the sheer amount he’s popping off