Training Pre-Season 2023 (First game 18/3 v North)

Thing I always think about Gaff is Simmo talking about how he is one of the toughest players he’s coached because he always in a fair bit of pain mid week but backs it up by running 16km week in, week out on game day.

I reckon, that ability to play through was a lot easier when he was younger, and we were winning. Wouldn’t have been much fun running in pain when the balls being kicked over your head for 4 quarters each week.

Think he’s got a good 3-4 years left. Whether that translates into 70 AFL games remains to be seen, but He’s been very durable until now and little soft tissue injuries to this point.

If Yeo can return to his A grade best then it would lift the whole team. Would take pressure off Kelly which would allow him to be more consistent and then the whole midfield goes up a level.

Our spine is still good. It's our midfield and rebound off half back that needs to improve.

Bit more from Ryan following on from this

First time I’ve seen it mentioned that Duggan had off season knee surgery. I’ll listen to it again but I don’t think Duggan said anything about in an interview he did

There’s been a bit come out today saying Chesser is fine so I think that West article might have hit a nerve and the club have indirectly refuted it

A plus one for Noah Long impressing. Good that amongst some of the athletes it seems we’ve got someone with a footy brain

Shame about Knights. Most importantly I hope whatever the family issues are they get resolved for him. From a club standpoint it’s not great timing as the next two months we’d be looking to bed down the new game plan which he’d have been a big part of

Bit more from Ryan following on from this

First time I’ve seen it mentioned that Duggan had off season knee surgery. I’ll listen to it again but I don’t think Duggan said anything about in an interview he did

Another knee surgery for Duggan is slightly concerning. Surprises me somewhat too. He was in full training pre-Christmas wasn’t he?

He did a radio interview on 14/12 that I just relistened to

Specifically said he’d avoided surgery whilst admitting that he’d be managed through not only this preseason but future ones due to his knee

So unless he’s had surgery in the last month I think Rhino might have made a bit of an error

He did a radio interview on 14/12 that I just relistened to

Specifically said he’d avoided surgery whilst admitting that he’d be managed through not only this preseason but future ones due to his knee

So unless he’s had surgery in the last month I think Rhino might have made a bit of an error

That sounds like long term issues.

Bone on bone?

Will need to manage it through future preseasons.

Andrew McLeod I recall also had similar issues with managing preseasons. Started doing a lot more bike work to get his aerobic fitness up instead of pounding the running track preseason.

Ginbey - very good trainer, super athletic and fit. Has a massive frame and will be a monster once he adds more muscle and fills out. The football side of things we haven’t seen too much of yet as the draftees have been doing a lot of training separate from the main group. Since returning from the Christmas break they are doing most drills now but it’s hard to get a clear picture of how they’re going as most training sessions are closed to the public now

Hewett - has really good skills and pretty much already has an AFL-ready body. I would say he’d be the closest of our draftees to make a round 1 debut, although it’s early days. Fitness and training standards have been okay so far. As I said before it’s a little harder to tell how these guys are going with the more football-related side of things, but Hewett looks the closest to being AFL-ready to me.

Allen - almost back into full training now - he’s not hampered by his foot injury anymore but sits out the occasional drill as the club is being cautious with overloading him. Is a really good size and recorded a PB in his 2km time trial in December, so he’s building really nicely for round 1.

Chesser - still not back into full training though from what I’ve seen he doesn’t look like he’s still affected by the ankle issue. Some media interest being generated over him not training fully by now but I’m not overly concerned if the club is taking a conservative approach with him. Has hardly played any footy in the past three years through Covid and injury so I’d be very surprised if he slots straight in for round 1. Reckon he will be eased in first via the WAFL.
Thank you for taking the time to write this! much appreciated mate.

"Despite leaving the training track on Monday with a slight lower leg concern, it’s not believed to be a serious re-aggravation of the injury that cruelled his 2022, with West Coast saying his absence was just precautionary"

Glad to hear that - as it's also a development year for our young mids would be good to open up a rotation through the midfield, but with Shuey able to run through there means we won't rely on a young guy to hold up an entire game in there.

Midfield minutes but not Rowell style wreck them in there

We honestly must have the most negative board on here, apparently our unproven draft pick is a lock to be a bust while all the other options will be stars.

A freak injury does not take away all his potential, he’s an explosive athlete who can dispose the ball well.

Kid was regarded a top 10 pick last time he was fit, a couple of freak injuries do not take away his potential.
Welcome to the wonderful world of BF!?
Imagine if you will, an alternative scenario where Chesser played through the preseason games and into the season proper without significant injuries, and maybe was injured mid season, which is really quite normal. Would there be the same drama?

Paywalled so I haven’t read it, but I’m assuming the headline is a result of Simpson’s interview on SEN this morning with Goosage and Cummings

Imagine paywalling an article that’s based on an interview on another outlet and can be accessed for free, but I digress.

During the interview when asked about players in different roles like Yeo at half back last year, Simpson indicated they might continue with Yeo there since he was an AA half back and that they were exploring other roles for Shuey. He also elaborated by saying the draftees were multi talented and wouldn’t be pigeonholed into a specific role

Other things of note
• Simpson isn’t as fit as he’s ever been and has transitioned from skinny sloppy to just sloppy
• Really pleased on overall health but it won’t be smooth sailing with guys who missed a lot of footy
• Wouldn’t be drawn on players being stung by criticism but did say the players have a steely drive to get back to their best
• Hinted at numerous changes from side that played Geelong - as many as 13/14 different players for round 1
• Barrass got a knock on the wrist training with about 18 players during the break and will have a brace on for a month or so but should be right
• Allen will definitely play forward
• Still backed Shuey to retain captaincy
• Sounds committed and up for the challenge of rebuilding

Full interview here

• Hinted at numerous changes from side that played Geelong - as many as 13/14 different players for round 1

I'm sure I'm not the only one who forgot, but this is how we lined up back then.

FB: Hurn Barrass Duggan
HB: Foley HEdwards Bazzo
C: SPS Kelly Redden
HF: Cripps Darling [redacted]
FF: Rotham Dixon Ryan
R: BWilliams Nelson Shuey
I: Langdon XON Jones Culley Clark*

I'd say at least 8 changes from that lot (Foley, SPS, Redden, [redacted], Rotham, Dixon, Nelson, Langdon).
Quite a few 50/50 calls too so not far off the mass changes.

Rotham clearly evolving into Mitch Brown 2.0

Gonna be weird and depresing not seeing Jk, Willie and Nelson pull on the jumper come round 1
Yeah the change rooms will certainly be a different scene this year...

R.0bd88d176ad09c2b97bc7d2c72fb6d70

#Willie(Nelson)smokespot

I'm sure I'm not the only one who forgot, but this is how we lined up back then.

FB: Hurn Barrass Duggan
HB: Foley HEdwards Bazzo
C: SPS Kelly Redden
HF: Cripps Darling [redacted]
FF: Rotham Dixon Ryan
R: BWilliams Nelson Shuey
I: Langdon XON Jones Culley Clark*

I'd say at least 8 changes from that lot (Foley, SPS, Redden, [redacted], Rotham, Dixon, Nelson, Langdon).
Quite a few 50/50 calls too so not far off the mass changes.

Rotham clearly evolving into Mitch Brown 2.0
13-14 changes means 8-9 players from that team who Simmo sees as automatically best 22.

Hurn, Barrass, Duggan, Kelly, Cripps, Darling, Ryan and Shuey would be locks (if fit) for round 1, right? There's 8 players.

Leaves only 1-2 spots for Petrevski-Seton, Foley, Rotham, H. Edwards, Jones, B. Williams, O'Neill, Bazzo and Culley (excluding those who are no longer on the list obviously) if we're going by what Simmo said

Now that I think about it, I guess it sort of makes sense - most of those guys I just listed are on the fringe at best. Just seemed like a huge amount of changes.

The fact that his comment is not even far off not only shows how much injury and Covid impacted us last year, but also how much our list has transitioned this off-season.