Training Pre-Season 2025 - The boys are back in town.

I’d take Amiss over Juh
Amiss has played 20 less games but has more assists and only 20 less goals which he will achieve with ease
JuH is getting by on hype. Gut feel is it will click for him at some point but he doesn't deserve the fawning he's getting.

he did string together a very impressive run of games this season where he was absolutely dominant. if he could kick straighter and be more consistent across games hed be the best forward, at least straight goals wise, by far

Toby Whan might not be as prolific a ball winner or as strong at this stage as as Rodriguez or Swadling but his gliding movement and the long kicking is very promising - dare I say it there is something almost David Mundy about him (doesn't have the size of Mundy though).
Bro I'm sorry but this assessment is not correct imo. I have watched him play at SFFC and he does not have problems finding the ball. Also he is nothing like Mundy. He is an exciting prospect but this year I want to see his capacity to win the hard ball.

Ok

Suggesting a ban on “laconic” when describing Cox…. (Effectively immediately!)

But lacksidaisical” doesnt quite work either:(

So proposing “languid” to describe how cox looks when playing.

Thoughts on this serious topic please?

Ok

Suggesting a ban on “laconic” when describing Cox…. (Effectively immediately!)

But lacksidaisical” doesnt quite work either:(

So proposing “languid” to describe how cox looks when playing.

Thoughts on this serious topic please?
I propose we stick to laconic and just let it mean what everyone thinks it means.

Bro I'm sorry but this assessment is not correct imo. I have watched him play at SFFC and he does not have problems finding the ball. Also he is nothing like Mundy. He is an exciting prospect but this year I want to see his capacity to win the hard ball.
Yeah. He is a bit tentative from the little I have seen.

I propose we stick to laconic and just let it mean what everyone thinks it means.
I Got You Heart GIF by Tristen J. Winger

[emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]" data-quote="Geks" data-source="post: 0" class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeBlock--expandable bbCodeBlock--quote js-expandWatch">
To me laconic = chill, easy going, unfased.

This is possibly the strangest post I’ve ever read. I’m not on here often enough to know all the different personalities, so I hope this is a joke. Definitions of words can be ignored now?

Anyway, appreciate the reports.

On iPhone using ][emoji6]][emoji6][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]]BigFooty.com mobile app

Yeah nah. Have to disagree on that one. To me they are line-ball with JUH slightly in front.
Think most on here are severly underrating JUH just because he was overhyped long before he became good, and beacause his goal kicking needs a bit of work. But still, 80 goals in the past two seasons as a KPF aged 21 and 22 is quite good.

104 shots at goal this year. Amiss with 75 and Treacy with 63.

If he had kicked even at Amiss's shockingly bad level this year he would have had 50 goals. 74 goals if he kicked with Treacy's accuracy.

JUH is a very good player and there are games where he's just completely dominated. Even more where he's been dominant but unable to kick straight. Sure he was overrated early on but he is a very good player now.

This is possibly the strangest post I’ve ever read. I’m not on here often enough to know all the different personalities, so I hope this is a joke. Definitions of words can be ignored now?

Anyway, appreciate the reports.

On iPhone using ][emoji6]][emoji6][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]]BigFooty.com mobile app
English is one of those pesky living languages, and word definitions absolutely change and are ignored. Heaps of examples, but they’re mostly swear words or insults now…

Amiss was pretty average last year.
Second year blues and all that.
Are you talking actual last year (2023 aka his actual 2nd year) or last year as in last season (2024 aka his third year). He actually had more shots on goal in 2024 than 2023, he was also more inaccurate, which diluted his output obviously. Marginally more disposals too.

So while he didn't make the great leap we'd hoped for, it wasn't a (great) step back either really. Just a plateau.

Good news is the great leap is still to come!!

Are you talking actual last year (2023 aka his actual 2nd year) or last year as in last season (2024 aka his third year). He actually had more shots on goal in 2024 than 2023, he was also more inaccurate, which diluted his output obviously. Marginally more disposals too.

So while he didn't make the great leap we'd hoped for, it wasn't a (great) step back either really. Just a plateau.

Good news is the great leap is still to come!!

Very interesting observations regarding Amiss having more shots a goal in 2024 than 2023. Accuracy (or lack of) can skew a players output significantly.

I thought Amiss was very good this season and was a very serviceable forward even with his slight case of the yips.

Treacy having a breakout year has probably reflected a little harshly on Amiss.
Going forward the combination of Treacy and Amiss is likely to improve too. Exciting times for Freo.

My missus was at the Sirens get together at Fremantle oval on Wednesday and commented on how much muscle Amiss has put on, obviously he is working hard to become a better player so I hope he is also working on his goal kicking routine.

How about Jordy Clark? Just cos he is not a mid but he was picked in the extended AA squad this year. He's 24 and i reckon hes got at least Bergman and Wardlaw and Reid at present

Good call. By my count only 9 of the 25 made the AA extended squad. And 7 of the top 9 listed. It would seem like a gross oversight to leave Clark out. Bergman for example ... would take Clark every day of the week and it is not even close. Wanganeen-Milera easily over Bergman as well.

I reckon with Clark it might seem like he is older than he is. Seems to have been around for a while. Was surprised when you mentioned his name and had to check his age. Didn't occur to me that he was eligible for the list and I suspect the author did the same. Maybe he didn't want too many Freo players, but could have dropped Jackson on those grounds.

Training Pre-Season 2025 - The boys are back in town.