Training Pre Season '24

Richmond will be the new GWS in 2024​

February 13, 2024

View attachment 1904489

GWS in 2023 was the story of the season on the way to losing an incredible preliminary final to the eventual premier Collingwood.
They won 10 out of their last 11 to make sneak their way to the finals and when they were there, they wrought havoc.
The orange team easily dispensed with St Kilda and then Port Adelaide through their hard-running, attractive brand of footy before losing to Collingwood by a point.
Just the specifics of GWS-ness makes them hard to replicate and anyone who tries to do it will probably be doing a Joker to the original King of Comedy – a pale imitation. But it’s still a worthwhile exercise to see if there’s a bolter somewhere.

I think the answer, resoundingly, is Richmond. And the similarities go beyond Adam Kingsley being a former Richmond disciple.
Obviously, with the 2017, 2019, and 2020 premierships, Richmond has the recent success element of the GWS formula down.
The Tigers also have a Greene-like talisman in Dustin Martin, who had an astonishing year in 2023, kicking 25 goals and being the best offensive 1v1 player in the league among players who had more than one 1v1 situation a game.

All of this while the most prolific fiction writer since L. Ron Hubbard, Sam McClure, was making up yet more fan fiction about his lack of commitment to the Tigers and his impending move to the Gold Coast (McClure graduated at the top of his class at the Never Wrong, Just Early. School of Journalism).

Beyond just ‘Dusty’, Richmond has a smattering of experienced stars who seem to be just exiting their prime, but are still useful players. They’re like the 2023/24 Tampa Bay Bucs, where they are widely written off but if you look at the list there are still a lot of talented players.

The most important of them is the returning Tom Lynch. Since Lynch joined Richmond in 2019, the Tigers are 53-3-29 with him in the lineup. When he kicks 3 or more, Richmond is 30-3-8.

When Lynch plays and plays well, Richmond wins.
The nerds will say correlation does not equal causation. But I’d tell the nerds to get stuffed and watch the games. Richmond is better with Lynch.
After a foot injury, Lynch has started running again and his arms still look terrific in the rain, so we’re off to a good start.

Beyond Lynch, there’s still Vlastuin, Prestia, Baker, Taranto, Short, Rioli, Balta, Hopper, Nankervis, etc. There are still good, experienced players on the list just like GWS had.

But it’s not only them. Some younger players should be able to fill in the margins and spike the enthusiasm of the older heads.

Players like Juddy Clarke, Tyler Sonsie, Tylar Young and even Maurice Rioli may be able to give Richmond that GWS-style spark. The biggest question among the youth of the club is Josh Gibcus. If he’s back fit after shooting goat blood into his hamstring (or whatever they did), and plays as well as he did in his first year, Richmond’s backline (or forward line) should be shored up enough to be a legitimately formidable team.

The question, really, is game style.

Where everyone is trying to get a Richmond type of game going, Richmond went the other way and hired a Melbourne coach. I have no idea whether Adem Yze will be a good coach who tries to keep the Tigers playing a similar style, or whether he will bring Melbourne’s specific form of dysfunction to Richmond. A smaller man would make a Ben Cousins pending time in the offseason at Richmond/Clayton Oliver joke here, but I am not that man.

What I do know about Yze is that he was roundly hailed by journos as a ‘great hire’ which, to me, typically means he was an open source and not much more. What worries me, though, are his plans for the future.

Noah Balta is not a forward. Someone should scream that in his ear.

Maybe play it on a loop like it’s the Richmond theme song at an Adelaide camp.
Playing him forward is like having Sydney Sweeney play an ugly girl. It doesn’t make sense.

He doesn’t understand what to do.
Notwithstanding that, the most likely to pull a GWS in 2024, in my view, is pretty clearly Richmond
IMG_2081.gif

Still makes me sad, unbelievable talent for a first year player.

Stack is gonna be Stengle all over again.

Watch some other club pick him up next year and he becomes a gun.
Stengle dominated in sanfl , stack has yet to do that at WAFL post Richmond , good luck to him, unfortunately he ain’t hungry enough

I’m confident the support around him would have been very good. The club puts a lot into that space. What additional off field support are you thinking? And do you know what was actually done to support him? There’s a lot of unknowns in this story. I’m saddened by how it played out because he was so good to watch in that first year at the club. Maybe professional sports person wasn’t a good match for stack. There’s no shame in it…it’s probably true for most people.
We held onto him post the kebab incident, there were prob times he could have git a game with solid VFL form , sadly his last games at afl were all well short of the level

Main board thinks we will finish bottom 3 and even West Coast can finish on top of us. Are these people cooked or what? 🤣

I think the Richmond dynasty and Dusty have scrambled their brains.

They have been listening to Karen Cornes, Josh "im on camp" Jenkins and Cam Mooney. We should all take what these 3 say with a grain of salt.

Let them think we will be no good. Its just going to be sweeter when we rise.
How can you write off a team with a new coach?

No greater pointer to improvement than a coaching change, especially replacing a fading long term coach.

I doubt anyone’s that stupid (well, maybe Jenkins is) to really believe this rubbish. Shows that getting attention, any way possible is the main objective.

Main objective? Most of the time it seems like the only objective.

2 things on Stack, he went undrafted as when he met with recruiters on draft eve he had a massive bucket of KFC on him for the interview & when he was with us he rocked up to pre season every yr unfit & it showed in how his seasons panned out. As others have said, sometimes players have all the talent in the world, which he does, but if he's not professional enough, the talent won't be enough for him to make it. "Hard work beats talent when talent won't work hard".

That KFC story I’m pretty sure was with the junior state coaches or selectors not AFL scouts (memory might be wrong there)

Also we never dumped Stengle, we wanted him to stay and had a deal in front of him but Adelaide offered more years so he left. Geelong reached out to us before they took him on and we told them they should do it

Lots of incorrect information being peddled in here

That KFC story I’m pretty sure was with the junior state coaches or selectors not AFL scouts (memory might be wrong there)

Also we never dumped Stengle, we wanted him to stay and had a deal in front of him but Adelaide offered more years so he left. Geelong reached out to us before they took him on and we told them they should do it

Lots of incorrect information being peddled in here
Also with the KFC, it was lunch-time and he was working as a brickies labourer at the time, so some context. Yes unprofessional but he was just a kid who could play footy as we found out. Hope he does well back in Perth.

reckon the first praccy under a new coach is more exciting than an elim final
There's nothing exciting about the elimination finals we play. We haven't won one since 1977.

Courtesy of Caesar PRE

Training Today, Wednesday:

Matty Coulthard: Finally back training with the main group.
Lynch: Increased his main group participation from just the 30 minute warm previously to doing the warm up and 30 minutes of the lighter drills and is looking in pretty good shape to be honest, he then went and did a lot of running.
Bauer, Graham & Prestia: Similar workload to Lynch.
Tylar Young: Trained Fully
Nank: Only did an hour of rehab/conditioning.
Juddy: Just realised i didn't notice him so was maybe absent?
Mate`: His flawless pre-season may have come a cropper?, last 2 sessions he has walked 2 laps only, (that is the sort of stuff he was doing last year when he had stress fractures in his back), hopefully no recurrence.
Tarranto: Overall this pre-season I think he has been doing a lot less and may be managing something?
Hopper: A great pre-season but the last 2 weeks his workload has been reduced significantly.

Overall comments on session:

Miller played full back
Bauer for the short period he was in drills was back.
Bakes the best of mids that lacked Prestia, Tarranto, Hopper and Graham.
Mansell getting a lot of kudos from the sidelines and barring Shai has been our best small forward this pre, (i am hoping that means he has improved rather than a dearth of other options).
Grimes was actually moving ok today and Tylar Young & Tresize were good.

Because of the abovementioned non midfield participants the likes of Steely, Pickett, Mcauliffe, Dow, Dusty, (even Kamdyn), had midfield roles.

In what could be loosely call match sim but wasn't, they decreased the width of the ground by 10 metres each side so definitely a narrower focus.
There was an equal amount of focus on moving the ball on quickly as there was for our forwards to lock the ball in or slow it's movement from defence.

May not be a bad thing but I have never been more intrigued/confused on how we will line up, style of play or the actual overall fitness status of our list.

Courtesy of Caesar PRE

Lynch: Increased his main group participation from just the 30 minute warm previously to doing the warm up and 30 minutes of the lighter drills and is looking in pretty good shape to be honest, he then went and did a lot of running.
Mate`: His flawless pre-season may have come a cropper?, last 2 sessions he has walked 2 laps only, (that is the sort of stuff he was doing last year when he had stress fractures in his back), hopefully no recurrence.
Tarranto: Overall this pre-season I think he has been doing a lot less and may be managing something?
Hopper: A great pre-season but the last 2 weeks his workload has been reduced significantly.

Miller played full back
Mansell getting a lot of kudos from the sidelines and barring Shai has been our best small forward this pre, (i am hoping that means he has improved rather than a dearth of other options).

Because of the abovementioned non midfield participants the likes of Steely, Pickett, Mcauliffe, Dow, Dusty, (even Kamdyn), had midfield roles.

In what could be loosely call match sim but wasn't, they decreased the width of the ground by 10 metres each side so definitely a narrower focus.
There was an equal amount of focus on moving the ball on quickly as there was for our forwards to lock the ball in or slow it's movement from defence.

May not be a bad thing but I have never been more intrigued/confused on how we will line up, style of play or the actual overall fitness status of our list.
Tl;dr version
Flag incoming

Courtesy of Caesar PRE

Miller played full back

No mention of either train on players
Isn’t the deadline today?

Courtesy of Caesar PRE

Miller played full back

sounds gloomy as

Feb 19th is the cut off so they will get 1 last chance to impress on Sunday.
Thanks mate
Had today as the deadline in my mind

**** knows why

We held onto him post the kebab incident, there were prob times he could have git a game with solid VFL form , sadly his last games at afl were all well short of the level
stack all the skill and the tricks, unfortunately he also has the heart not much bigger than a pea

Feb 19th is the cut off so they will get 1 last chance to impress on Sunday.
I wouldnt be playing the forward at all

we need to see if baltas a spud for 4 quarters

Courtesy of Caesar PRE

Miller played full back

I wonder if Yze likes a tagger, Macca is the perfect Tagger IMO. Run all day, nasty / annoying, strong, quick and a great size.

Training Pre Season '24