Training Pre season training

Just had my posting privileges pulled on the No Mans Land thread after I dropped a truth bomb on some Bluescum nuffie about his own underperforming team and his oxymoronic nic :tonguewink:

Anyway the thread is a raging dumpster fire and should be in the Bay ..... just an open door for opposition supporters to continually punch down hard on the Saints .... yet the Mods are happy to turn a blind eye and allow it to exist in the Main forum
Mate… when our own forum is being “overseen” by a Carlscum supporter, and our own mods seem fairly lenient to oppo supporters coming in here to take pot shots, do you seriously think the outside mods give a **** about any form of bias checking on the main forum?!

We’re an easy communal target, so they let us be exactly that.

1 Higgins
2 Windhager
3 Jones
4 Collard

5 Travaglia
6 Tauru

7 NAS
8 Hill
9 Steele
10 Owens

Pretty good vibes to that corner of the locker room

In tribute to the hypothetical picks we (maybe) would've had if Higgins didn't make that snap. ;)

I certainly don’t consider him a “write-off”, and like I said earlier, he’s virtually like a “new recruit” for us next year (as I thought was well short of his previous seasons best footy, for the great majority of his game-time this year), but I’d be reasonably surprised if he’s the answer for us long term.

I have two main concerns.

1: He’s now played 83 games of footy (not all full of course) and STILL hasn’t managed to crack 25 disposals yet.

2: If you’re not someone who accumulates significantly, you’d better be high-impact per disposal, and unfortunately Paddy is one of the worst kicks of anyone who plays midfield in the league.

His KE at one stage this year was at a putrid 42% or so, and while he got it up to a lees putrid 49% by the end, his career KE is 48%, and that’s bad for anyone, let alone someone who doesn’t rack up loads of the ball.

The career KE of Zak Jones for instance is 66%, and this year he went at 64%, and plenty think he’s a shocking kick.

So if he’s going to make it long term, he’s probably got to fix both of those issues (unlikely), or start racking them up so much that it doesn’t matter if he’s missing half his targets by foot.

That’s good to hear. Even if he doesn’t make it long term, if he’s significantly better next year than he was this, that’s at least going to help us in the short term.
Just going off the small sample size he already improved from being at Carlton
Also, what’s the story with Jones, anyone know? I thought he finished the season unscathed. And really stepped up tbh. All the other lads in the rehab group were to be expected. Hope King is out of it sooner rather than later.

Also with Tau-Roo, I wouldn’t be pushing or risking anything whatsoever with him with those stress fractures. Cotton wool all the way that’s a very delicate situation. Weeks or months aren’t the concern, give his body all the time it needs to heal plus more, getting it right and strong is all that matters.

Watched a few Travaglia interviews, just me or does that kid have a very healthy serving of fig jam in him? I’m not sure previous administrations would approve! 🤣
Much like Phillipou coming in. That's the kids these days. All very confident. Which is what we want.

What is Enright’s new role if he’s no longer doing the back line anyone know?

I’ll be very disappointed if this succession plan doesn’t come to fruition. Looks a shoe-in though doesn’t it. I guess timeframes and RTB wanting a Flag might be things that hold it up.

What I like most about Enright is how calm he seems. Reckon that’s a required trait to coach St Kilda.
Everyone saying how professional Swans are - Roos to Longmire to Cox.

Pretty much looks like we are setting up RTB to Boris with RTB moving to a more hands off footy related role in a few years(?)

Really like it but no doubt the Saints management /RTB will get no kudos from the media etc!

Went for a peak at the Hawks board to see how Battle is looking over there. What a mistake! Not only was he our best defender last year but now he was also somehow our 3rd best runner.. “Levels”
Hawks will miss finals next year. Like us in 2020 they were very fortunate with a very healthy list and optimal timing versus their opponents. They have topped up like we did trying to fill holes but it wont work and their general game plan will have been worked out and shut down.

What is Enright’s new role if he’s no longer doing the back line anyone know?

I’ll be very disappointed if this succession plan doesn’t come to fruition. Looks a shoe-in though doesn’t it. I guess timeframes and RTB wanting a Flag might be things that hold it up.

What I like most about Enright is how calm he seems. Reckon that’s a required trait to coach St Kilda.
Enright is now head of game plan and strategy. Big, central role.

Mate… when our own forum is being “overseen” by a Carlscum supporter, and our own mods seem fairly lenient to oppo supporters coming in here to take pot shots, do you seriously think the outside mods give a **** about any form of bias checking on the main forum?!

We’re an easy communal target, so they let us be exactly that.

Oh I can give you a very long list of would-be trolls that would strongly disagree with that 😂

Everyone saying how professional Swans are - Roos to Longmire to Cox.

Pretty much looks like we are setting up RTB to Boris with RTB moving to a more hands off footy related role in a few years(?)

Really like it but no doubt the Saints management /RTB will get no kudos from the media etc!
No doubt we would be whacked for not going to market to get the best available . Swans do it and it is how great .

The saints in no mans land thread has so many people refusing to see any way we could possibly improve from last year.

As it stands to me, we showed good form in the back end of the year (including beating a grand finalists and a prelim finalist), weve (softly) adressed the midfield issue with Macrae and have considerable expected improvement in the likes of Windy, Pou, Garcia, Wilson as well as role players in Clark, Dow etc. Our forward line has a shot at using its VAST talent with a decent pre season, some continuity and chemisty (combining with a decent if not good midfield) and our backline remains pretty solid (albeit Battle is a loss).

To me its weird most non saints fan seem so assured well be terrible this year.
Absolute flogs in that thread

Oh I can give you a very long list of would-be trolls that would strongly disagree with that 😂
You might, but in my view they get waaaaay too much rope to hang themselves with.

And I fundamentally have a problem with the oversight we’re under from your bosses.

Anyway, I’m shitting up the pre-season thread with this, so I’ll let it go for now.

I'm enjoying the guy claiming that he's the most reliable source about anything Hawthorn.
Im enjoying SYL saying what we should be doing and being shown thats exactly what weve done over and over and over.

Take the ****ing L mate.

Its the weirdest thread to me, like i have thoughts on what other clubs should do but im not gonna claim to be an expert cause i dont follow them closely enough.

Thinking you know it all about a club thats not yours to the point of thinking you know better how they should strategically position and execute a long term plan when you dont even know half their ****ing players is absolutely insane to me.

It tends to cycle in and out of being reasonable in critique to just flat out idiocy. Were at the top of the bell curve right now.

Laughable.
The way those Hawks supporters think they are experts in list builds and every other club because their side had a good 2nd half of the year is mind boggling

dont throw shit at me i actually quite liked them this year (the team not the supporters) but in the last 6 or so weeks ive come back to ****ing hating them.

Hope they fall off a ****ing cliff.

Also, what’s the story with Jones, anyone know? I thought he finished the season unscathed. And really stepped up tbh. All the other lads in the rehab group were to be expected. Hope King is out of it sooner rather than later.

Also with Tau-Roo, I wouldn’t be pushing or risking anything whatsoever with him with those stress fractures. Cotton wool all the way that’s a very delicate situation. Weeks or months aren’t the concern, give his body all the time it needs to heal plus more, getting it right and strong is all that matters.

Watched a few Travaglia interviews, just me or does that kid have a very healthy serving of fig jam in him? I’m not sure previous administrations would approve! 🤣
Travaglia could be in the leadership group this year and not miss a beat! Impressive kid.

Im enjoying SYL saying what we should be doing and being shown thats exactly what weve done over and over and over.

Take the ****ing L mate.

Its the weirdest thread to me, like i have thoughts on what other clubs should do but im not gonna claim to be an expert cause i dont follow them closely enough.

Thinking you know it all about a club thats not yours to the point of thinking you know better how they should strategically position and execute a long term plan when you dont even know half their ****ing players is absolutely insane to me.
I also loved how he went out of his way to manufacture an asterisk for every one of our wins last season. The delusion he's under is just mind-boggling.

Training Pre season training