Training Pre season training

Heath runs with Windy and Owens I believe so he's clearly motivated to improve his biggest weakness with some of the best

Hall doesn't have the speed to be a Butler replacement imo, more a Henry backup or a full time mid if he develops fast enough

I see Irish as a winger to replace Wood, he's a great size and has a great athletic profile that can be put to good use as a two-way running winger that can support defence as a 7th man and offence as a distributor

I remember being told/reading that Arie was told at his exit meeting that if he is to make it at AFL level, his fitness had to see a major improvement over the off-season. They made it seem like it was do-or-die...if you can't improve this part of your game then you are done

Surprised Hastie hasn't bulked up, I would've thought that was one of his big priorities over the off-season. A tad worrying

Honestly I don't think Keeler really needs to bulk up that much - obviously a bit more muscle would be nice but there needs to be a balance that allows him to maintain his athleticism. Mac Andrew is a stick but proved he is a star of the future
Good to remember that Isaac is still just 20 and he's 198cm. Needs time to develop.

Collard is a really difficult guy to assess. I will say this much though. Did he take it easy? No. Did he slack off? No. Did he drop his shoulders and give bad body language? No.

He was the only one in the group at the end of the session who couldn't keep up with the times, so clearly still doesn't have the engine and may never. Again, very hard to assess because that's not his role. I will say he has definitely improved, ran out of petrol tickets in the end but I think he had a really positive session. He may not be the modern prototypical small forward but he definitely has something so it's very difficult to gauge with him.

Not sure what I'll remember from today but I'll write down some stuff and see where it goes. I'll try not to rehash too much of what's already been said.

I'll start with a pair of Max's. Max Heath, the difference between how he has presented back to the club is absolutely chalk and cheese when compared to last year. He looks significantly leaner, but not in a skinny way, if that makes sense. Kept up with Ro for 3/4 of the running, which is definitely an improvement. He was actually very clean with his skills today especiallyby foot. Main takeaway was that he started last year waaaay behind the 8 ball in terms of fitness, this year, he's not the finished product but he's definitely on the right track. I left today thinking there's a good chance he'll be a better option than any state league ruckman we can find.

Max Hall, today I got huge Darren Minchington vibes from Max, not sure how I never really saw it until now. He looks like a good depth player, I am somewhat unsure as to where he fits. I don't think he sneaks into our midfield, so is it the Butler type role that he will be aiming for?

Jack Macrae, his class was obvious within a few minutes of him picking up a ball today. I don't think he missed a target by foot during the entire session. With respect to Steeley, I think he is our best midfielder in 2025. I'm still not quite sure how anyone was critical of his recruitment to be honest.

I'll sound like a broken record this year I feel, because I feel like I'm going to say Mattaes, Darcy and Hugo were standouts more than once.

There is something about Phillipou, he is morphing into Bont before our eyes. I never stopped saying stick with him last year when some were having doubts, eventually it clicked. He is special, like, seriously special - I don't know how else to put it.

Pou's mate at the front of the sprinting groups was of course Wilson. Pou works hard to stay with Wilson, but Darce just glides. The kid sets serious standards with his fitness. Having said that, he was really clean and confident today with ball in hand.

Garcia, there's just something about him that scares me, terminator like. There is this epic intensity to the way he trains. I liked Seb and feel guilty speaking ill of him, but over the years I'd be so frustrated with him at training. He'd often lack training intensity, joke around after losses, etc. I bring it up because I feel it's hopefully a good comparison to what type of era we are moving into. With guys like Garcia, Phillipou, Wilson driving standards we can only be on the right track. Hugo isn't the finished product, but you'd have him in there and just accept that while you won't get perfection from him yet - you'll get a kid who will carry you over the line on his shoulders.

Irish, let's be honest, I've only nicknamed him Irish because I always forget if it's O'Donnell, O'Connell, McConnell, etc - so Irish it is. I'm sure he is taller than his listed height of 189cm. There is something about him, he has a spark, he's actually got a great natural footy brain and can pull off the weird lateral kicks that only a Gaelic footballer can do. I haven't seen him play enough competitive footy to truly understand his scope - but I'd not be shocked if he became the bolter for Battle's spot. Like Arie, he probably needs to improve his 1 on 1 game, I've not seen enough in games to know for sure.

As for Arie, I believe the kid was set a challenge in the off-season as to whether he really wants it and his condition is peak. Certainly looks the part, he was covering ground quite well today and we all know what he can do with his left boot.

Hastie, well last year I joked that he looked like he could've been on the set auditioning for the remake of the remake of Point Break. That demeanour hasn't really changed, but I'm not going to hang him out to dry for it. I hope he has the hunger to make it like the other recruits seem to have. He definitely has the talent.

Keels is possibly in a similar boat in that it may just be decided that he doesn't have the drive to make it. I personally think that's rubbish and that he would thrive if given the chance. His skills below his knees and by foot are simply too good to see him not make it. His fitness is quite good too, for a big guy, he's pretty athletically gifted.

Windy, Owens and Nas were just doing their thing all at a high standard. I actually think that its great for these 3 to just keep being pushed by the younger ones and not have the spotlight focussed on them. Mitchitos kicking for goal was superb, kudos to him for the work he put in last year.

Caminiti was getting smaaaaaaashed with fitness stuff in his rehab session. I actually thought he was going to collapse at the end of his running, working incredibly hard.

Watching today, and it's early days with no pressure, but our kicking looked really sharp. The inclusion of Macrae will be huge, his delivery into the F50 is just amazing. Our recruitment from the last few years has been top notch, the recruitment focus on speed and kicking was on display today.

The positive thing about our list is that noone really looks like they are making up the numbers. We won't be challenging for the 2025 premiership, but the signs are there that they have the skill and temperament to build into a premiership contending list in the coming years.
Absolutely legendary. Thank you.

I got down to training last year quite a few times and - as with everyone - was impressed by Wilson. However, when I was on the fence at one of the practice matches on the wing, the glide that you are talking about was amazing. I remember saying to my kids that his feet don’t even really touch the ground. And it’s a greyhound that he reminds me of, particularly when you seen them on a walk. How their paws touch the ground for a micro second - they don’t even bound, just kind of float 😂.

I was one who wasn’t keen on Macrae mainly due to the pick cost in a great draft. But the price was minimal and that effectively changes everything. My boys will enjoy watching him.

Great to hear on the others, particularly Pou, who I’ve thought was a bit spesh from the start.

Can’t wait to get down there and see these kids along with the two or three high draft picks.

He clearly has weapons. If things have clicked for him then we could be in for a treat. His physique has definitely improved. 🤞

He was always a high end talent but his attitude was a question mark. So far he seems to be hitting every marker.

I get the slight feeling Arie was told that we see him as a midfielder, but only if he could significantly improve his running power (by cutting down his size)

We trialled him in the guts in the VFL last year, and by observing training reports and training photos today, he was hanging around with the mids (although we'll get more clarity over the next couple of weeks)

Put his left boot to use in the middle - the 70m goals will be coming in thick and fast
I heard at the end of the season Arie was being targeted as Bonners replacement and had lost 7kgs in order to improve his running. I think the team would look so much better if he was delivering the ball out of defence or into the forward line. We have to find a way to get him into the team.

I know this question will be asked many times across the next month, but does anyone roughly know the weekly preseason training schedule?

As a SA-based fan, I am looking to visit the club for the first time in January and wanted to try and link it with a day where the boys were training. Do the days vary?
As a general rule they will be training Mon, Wed and Fri I believe.Your safest bet is to contact the club nearer to the time to make sure. They could also be training at another ground or attending a camp etc

I know this question will be asked many times across the next month, but does anyone roughly know the weekly preseason training schedule?

As a SA-based fan, I am looking to visit the club for the first time in January and wanted to try and link it with a day where the boys were training. Do the days vary?
Friday is generally the best day to attend as they do more match sim.

Great reports fellas. Thanks. The line I like most in you report jackal is, "The positive thing about our list is that noone really looks like they are making up the numbers."

Dead wood list cloggers have been well and truly culled. With the addition our new draftees we'll have a young, talented, sharp, driven group.
I put a caveat on my post yesterday because
a) it is first training session in November
b) it was mainly 1-4 year players
c) no pressure drills.

In saying that I agree with Jackal, seemed to be no passengers. The full length end to end drills started slowly, a bit of sloppy disposal, but by the end of it, it was slick, quick and crisp.

Even the old whipping boys, Jones and Clark looked sharp and it seems they have done a lot of work pre preseason.

I heard at the end of the season Arie was being targeted as Bonners replacement and had lost 7kgs in order to improve his running. I think the team would look so much better if he was delivering the ball out of defence or into the forward line. We have to find a way to get him into the team.

The thought of Arie running though the corridor delivering penetrating 60-meter bombs into Max would have a few teams evaluating their defensive structures.
Early days, but Arie was delivering the ball at times through the middle in the end to end drill along with Jones, Clark, Macrae and others.

Early days to tell where players are training to play, but there may be something in what Remboy posted.

Absolutely legendary. Thank you.

I got down to training last year quite a few times and - as with everyone - was impressed by Wilson. However, when I was on the fence at one of the practice matches on the wing, the glide that you are talking about was amazing. I remember saying to my kids that his feet don’t even really touch the ground. And it’s a greyhound that he reminds me of, particularly when you seen them on a walk. How their paws touch the ground for a micro second - they don’t even bound, just kind of float 😂.

I was one who wasn’t keen on Macrae mainly due to the pick cost in a great draft. But the price was minimal and that effectively changes everything. My boys will enjoy watching him.

Great to hear on the others, particularly Pou, who I’ve thought was a bit spesh from the start.

Can’t wait to get down there and see these kids along with the two or three high draft picks.
Darcy Wilson is a thoroughbred..

Just a heads up, they will still be on holidays for the first two-ish weeks of Jan so plan to later in the month if possible.

Windy, Owens and Nas were just doing their thing all at a high standard. I actually think that its great for these 3 to just keep being pushed by the younger ones and not have the spotlight focussed on them. Mitchitos kicking for goal was superb, kudos to him for the work he put in last year.
Very interesting TJ that you mentioned these 3.

"Little Birdie" very strongly inferred that these 3 players particularly....will do absolutely anything required to improve their output.

I felt a" lightening bolt" of excitement when told this.

I rate them all incredibly high at this point.....cannot wait to see their output in years to come.

A very very solid training report by yourself there.

Outstanding !!!!!!!!!

Training Watchers - talk more about Bolton. Early thoughts 💭?
Took the main drills, very clear in what he wanted.

Half field drill kept wanting them to come back through the corridor

Changed it up with a turnover drill, they start the half field drill but then whistles and the second ball is thrown back, so the player have to run back to position to start again. Players seemed to know what he wanted, seemed to do exactly what he said.
One stage in the full field drill, Irish had the ball on the half back, took the disposal option down the line, the ball then switched back to the corridor and went down field. At the end he goes to Irish and explains what the purpose of the practice drill is and how he needs to look into the corridor more for his disposal. It is obvious from the training we are look inside as much as possible.
At the end of the day, he gave them all a nice chocolate digestive for training so well :D

"Little Birdie" very strongly inferred that these 3 players particularly....will do absolutely anything required to improve their output.

I rate them all incredibly high at this point.....cannot wait to see their output in years to come.

Outstanding !!!!!!!!!
Add Pou to that group.

Windy, Owens and Nas were just doing their thing all at a high standard. I actually think that it’s great for these 3 to just keep being pushed by the younger ones and not have the spotlight focussed on them. Mitchitos kicking for goal was superb, kudos to him for the work he put in last year.

Outstanding !!!!!!!!!

Add Pou to that group.

HGRFPAW.jpeg

Gday mate.
I am a SA based fan too, I have been to training a few times now, well worth your time to make the trip.
First time there Banger was good enough to make time to have a chat with me and pose for a photo.😊

Took the main drills, very clear in what he wanted.

Half field drill kept wanting them to come back through the corridor

Changed it up with a turnover drill, they start the half field drill but then whistles and the second ball is thrown back, so the player have to run back to position to start again. Players seemed to know what he wanted, seemed to do exactly what he said.
One stage in the full field drill, Irish had the ball on the half back, took the disposal option down the line, the ball then switched back to the corridor and went down field. At the end he goes to Irish and explains what the purpose of the practice drill is and how he needs to look into the corridor more for his disposal. It is obvious from the training we are look inside as much as possible.
At the end of the day, he gave them all a nice chocolate digestive for training so well :D
Thanks Joff.

Surprised Hastie hasn't bulked up, I would've thought that was one of his big priorities over the off-season. A tad worrying

Honestly I don't think Keeler really needs to bulk up that much - obviously a bit more muscle would be nice but there needs to be a balance that allows him to maintain his athleticism. Mac Andrew is a stick but proved he is a star of the future

Webster has never been huge, definitely not in his early days. Gus isn't a twig, but he doesn't have to bulk up either, he's deceptively tall (190cm) - I think he will be a great Jimmy replacement when the time comes.

Keels - I think you may have misunderstood my comments about these two. It was more about their perceived lackadaisical approach and me hoping that doesn't count against them.

Training Pre season training