Review Preliminary Final v Brisbane - Saturday 23 November @ Brighton Homes Arena

So, my thoughts. Always knew it was going to be tough when they played ****ing Ports song when we ran out. Ports song FFS! They did a sound check before the match and I heard them play Brisbane’s song, then the national anthem three times (with and without singer). But no oppo song. The sound system in that ground is absolutely shite. So ****ing loud in the buildings and non existent in the outer. The echoing and reverb during the anthem was horrid.

We were up in that first half. Playing good team footy but failing to convert our chances. The umpiring was ****ed. Truly awful. Then the umpires upped their efforts in the second half, and the momentum gave Brisbane the boost they needed. They were clearly the fitter team (after having had the week off). We were second to the ball, and as I said, girls were cramping. It’s exhausting when you have to beat not only your opponent, but the umpires as well! But we just have accept that’s our lot in life and we have to be far better than our opponents et al!

From watching body language after the game, I think Chelsea has told them she’s retiring. That’s the impression I got. Stevie Lee needs to as well. Hatcher needs to get her fitness and hunger back or she should be traded.

Marking kicking and goals must be our priority! And time for new blood and voice in the coaching box.
Spot on.

Umpires blah blah blah blah. Maybe time to look at your team list instead of making excuses.

There has been plenty of reflection from this board on the side's performance all season - Our forward line structure has cost us on all of our losses, we are well aware

But you would have to be the biggest flog on the planet to not see how different the HTB interpretation between the two teams last night was - umps in your back pocket and quite frankly it was an indictment that you took so long to kill the game off with that extra assistance

North will ****ing destroy you next week

Missing E.J this year is like Thilthorpe being out for the season. In a comp where goals & elite athleticism come at a premium. Our forward line has just looked lacking all year.

It certainly didn't help, but she was our only significant LTI for the season. If we missed her that bad, then we desperately need more forwards.

I think the analogy to losing Thilthorpe would have been losing Gould.

need to work on your discipline it seems

Lessons on discipline from someone who is a massive enough loser that in a year when his mens team won the premiership and womens team made the grand final they spend their spare time trolling another teams sub board.

Imagine being a supporter of the reigning premiers in both competitions and still being that small of a person.

It hurts them because they know it's true. They know their achievements are diminished due to a massive, provable umpiring advantage at home, rather than winning on their own merits

The biggest enemy of the Adelaide Crows Women's side is goal kicking, we are average @ best, what I dont understand about this side is like anywhere in semi to professionally sport skill errors are addressed, obviously with this side it is not.
In my 66 years of watching footy have never seen a worse performed side @ goal conversion.

The biggest enemy of the Adelaide Crows Women's side is goal kicking, we are average @ best, what I dont understand about this side is like anywhere in semi to professionally sport skill errors are addressed, obviously with this side it is not.
In my 66 years of watching footy have never seen a worse performed side @ goal conversion.

We're bad under pressure, certainly. We have very few players who can convert the snap on the run with a defender on their tail, whereas the likes of Brisbane and North do. That's one of our biggest problems - our goals almost always need to come from a contested mark in front of goal, no more than around 25m out.

I think this is more of a personnel issue than a skills issue, though. You just have to look at someone like Gemma Houghton and see how she makes scoring goals from anywhere look easy. The only player on our list who had this ability is Ponter, and this year that has deserted her too. Gould kicks so many goals not because she is a good shot on goal (she is not) but because she can mark the ball 20m out straight in front 2-3 times a game. Randall is our only forward who can reliably kick the ball more than 30m, but for all her many strengths she's not actually a great set shot.

We're bad under pressure, certainly. We have very few players who can convert the snap on the run with a defender on their tail, whereas the likes of Brisbane and North do. That's one of our biggest problems - our goals almost always need to come from a contested mark in front of goal, no more than around 25m out.

I think this is more of a personnel issue than a skills issue, though. You just have to look at someone like Gemma Houghton and see how she makes scoring goals from anywhere look easy. The only player on our list who had this ability is Ponter, and this year that has deserted her too. Gould kicks so many goals not because she is a good shot on goal (she is not) but because she can mark the ball 20m out straight in front 2-3 times a game. Randall is our only forward who can reliably kick the ball more than 30m, but for all her many strengths she's not actually a great set shot.
But if we had a shot after the siren more than 30m out, she'd be the player I'd pick to take it.

Newman had that running shot on goal that almost went in. Other than that, you're right. Our goal kicking has been atrocious all year.

It certainly didn't help, but she was our only significant LTI for the season. If we missed her that bad, then we desperately need more forwards.

I think the analogy to losing Thilthorpe would have been losing Gould.
I reckon women's footy is still at a stage, especially when we've got 18 teams and the talent is spread so thin, where 1 player does make a bigger % difference than they do in the men's game.

I know it’s probably hard for you guys to keep perspective after a bad loss, but seriously you have a legit fantastic team and Doc is an awesome coach and top-shelf human being.

You ran out of petrol last night, other than that it’s been a toss of the coin between us since the start.

It's been a privilege to be part of such a sensational rivalry, and I’m terrified each time we play you. We have just been lucky enough to be in front at the siren of late.

...I’d also like to hereby apologise for our ground staff playing the Port song when you ran on.

But I got to be honest I completely lost my shit when they did. It was the most AFLW thing ever, kinda like the AFL, but still a little rough around the edges. I nearly cried I was laughing so much.
Yeah, it wasn't funny.

...I’d also like to hereby apologise for our ground staff playing the Port song when you ran on.

But I got to be honest I completely lost my shit when they did. It was the most AFLW thing ever, kinda like the AFL, but still a little rough around the edges. I nearly cried I was laughing so much.

For the QF against North, the Crows song started as they ran out and then stopped after the 2nd line, and then started again

The same thing happened when the National Anthem was played - The singer kept going with no music for a bit and then the whole thing re-started

Amateur stuff but for Brisbane to top that really shows how poor it was

For Kate McCarthy to then double down on it and say 'love the mind games from Brisbane' - get the **** out you unprofessional partisan hack

The more I think about it the more pissed I am.
As a club we need to grow a set and make real noise about the bullshit, unprofessionalism and constant cheating we experience. Yes the Vic media will have a crack at us for whinging, but it will at least put it on the radar that we won't take this crap anymore. If we continue to have a little cry behind closed doors, where they say 'oh yeh sorry about that', then shrug and move on, then we will continue to get screwed over.

We need to grow up as a club and have the difficult conversations.

This is the perfect time to do it. Playing the wrong song either means that the set up in Brisbane is utterly incompetent and completely unprofessional, or it was very deliberate. It was a preliminary final FFS. How badly can you **** something like this up?

Our womens team give up a lot in their lives to play this game, they are as committed as anyone, so to have to deal with this kind of bias and incompetence is incredibly insulting.

I really wish the club could show something resembling courage.

It's poor, for certain. But anything beyond a word behind the scenes is just going to look like sour grapes.

It's not just song choices being messed up, either. In both finals there were prolonged moments where the commentary just cut out in the broadcast, or the camera just fixed onto a spot completely away from the play. These kinds of mistakes would never be made in the men's matches.

Review Preliminary Final v Brisbane - Saturday 23 November @ Brighton Homes Arena