U19 Premier 2013

duck10

Draftee
Aug 22, 2012
Round one this weekend, lets get the chatter starting on the teams this year. De la back to back? or will xavs have it this year.

De la did not look as sharp as usual on weekend from all reports. Scotch and Bernard's are chance this year?

heard de la was up 35-0 in the first quarter and looked a quick sharp team then started to lose their shape a bit. ended up winning by 6

de la v bernards the pick of the opening games

be good to see if bernards can improve on last years solid effort

Was going to happen eventually - De La to miss their first GF in 7 years. St Bernards flag favourites with Xavs and St Bedes breathing down their neck. De La to round out the four just edging out Scotch.

might be jumping the gun a little bit with Bernard's being *** favourites

Agree Nige, from what I've seen on the weekend Uni Blues have a bloke called Steinfort up forward who looks hard to stop
Played very well against a strong Bernards outfit from what i saw.

Bernards seem to have the same problems as last year with self control, 2 yellow cards and a red in a praccy match doesnt look good. Anger management issues for a few players.

#maybetakeupUFC #dirtydirtyplayers

The word coming out of beauy is good depth. A lot of players who played premier last year haven't made the cut this year, a good 6-7 apparently. Picked up all of the u17s from both beauy and cheltenham, whom of which played each other in the smjfl u17 grand final. It makes for a very young side though, expect improvement from last year however. St bedes again have a host of stars, but don't have the same depth they've had in the last couple. Bernies and Xavs strong again

How did games go on weekend? See Brighton a pathetic, same teams look the goods. Any one at the snowdogs de la game? Looked like a ripper from the scores with a few lead changes.

people getting off the dela bandwagon so early are absolute jokers. the won the flag last year for a reason. And this year they still have there up-incoming guns such as mattiske, bull and mcgraw who shut down won of the best in the comp in the granny last year as well as still having there best player from last year charlie haley, who kicked the most goals in the comp n came 2nd in the leauge with missing 4 games? so you can say there finished all you want, but just watch and see the end result come september.

Could you or any other de la people please tell all of us how they manage to keep good player from one year to next? Is it a plan to mix young players with old, good coaching or just plain luck? I had look at list they had 8 blokes who played in flag last year.

its because of the seniors mate. they are so strong so all the gun 19s stay instead of playing vfl 2s, tac cup and going to play for cash. and the plan is not to rush 19s into senior footy to quick but give them a taste of it early enough. like haley would be playing seniors at almost every senior team but instead keep him in the 19s to help develop the younger kids. much like nicholson did last year.

Relax Mate. Nobody is saying they are finished or had written them off. But even from within they are saying this years group at this stage is not as good as recent years. That ‘s no insult as they have had some super strong teams in the last few years. They may well develop into an exceptional team and no one does that better at 19s level than De La. However I’d be waiting a few rounds before calling anyone as premiership favourites.

Reckon Mattiske and C Haley will play some senior footy soon.

Would be. If they were playing each other that is.:D

Xavs v Violet Crumbles. Another loss by Xavs and things will be looking slightly wobbly.

Wrong thread mate. this is under 19s:D

My Tips
SBMT
XAVS
SKEVS
DELA
BERNARDS

U19 Premier 2013