Premier A - 2013

Ah, Coolaroo Rovers - the 'club' based on a Pentridge Prison Release Scheme. We played them in their first game at their home ground in Dallas. The game finished about 5 minutes earlier than the final siren with spectators running onto the field for a fight and the field umpire running off and disappearing in his car. Two divvy vans were required at every Coolaroo Rovers game for the rest of the season.

Never had the pleasure of Coolaroo but sounds similar to Fawkner in the early 90s who had to have police supervision at games. Think they were in B grade at the time so it was a big deal. Remember actually considering that somebody might be killed - frightening stuff.....

St.Andrews and Doveton were two other shockers. I remember turning up to Doveton half way through the twos and we had 6 guys on the bench with busted noses, lips and black eyes. Bogans.

Ha Ha My first game of senior football against Parkside. Full forward king hit when ball down other end of ground and carried off unconcious. Days of no interchange, Came on and was told by the full back that if I touched the ball I would end up like the guy I replaced.Thanks that VAFA has progressed.

Turned up at the old Harry Trott one year playing Ressie Old Boys and their was a notice on their change room door from the Armed Robbery Squad informing everyone that their full forward, winger and back pocket players would not be playing as they had been arrested for armed robbery..........ah the good old days.

I know the feeling. Playing ressies against Parkside i hip and shouldered a bloke, below the shoulders,and barely rocked him. I was walking away from the ensuing contest and next thing i knew i was getting up from the ground spurting blood from my nose.(king hit from behind) After the game the bloke who hit me came up and said 'no hard feelings, it was self defence'. I didnt know what to say, being literally gobsmacked, other than suggesting that the back of my jumper must have been a terrifying sight at the time.

haha did you go near it?

Seems like some people on here are rejoicing in the downfall of clubs that weren't from their own league, either ammo's or local. Used to play in the SE churches and know a lot of the inner suburban clubs have folded while at the same time the number of senior teams at inner suburban ammo clubs grows. Genuine question i don't know answer too. Is it good for footy to have Xavs, De La, Skevs, Collegians, etc all with 6 or 7 senior teams all in comps of varying standards playing each other and not many other inner suburban footy options? Or are we better off having more senior clubs with a limited number of senior teams? Or doesn't it matter? See the likes of Kew and Hawthorn always feel the pinch as a result.

Welcome
Seems like some people on here are rejoicing in the downfall of clubs that weren't from their own league, either ammo's or local. Used to play in the SE churches and know a lot of the inner suburban clubs have folded while at the same time the number of senior teams at inner suburban ammo clubs grows. Genuine question i don't know answer too. Is it good for footy to have Xavs, De La, Skevs, Collegians, etc all with 6 or 7 senior teams all in comps of varying standards playing each other and not many other inner suburban footy options? Or are we better off having more senior clubs with a limited number of senior teams? Or doesn't it matter? See the likes of Kew and Hawthorn always feel the pinch as a result.

Welcome Jeff,

How's the Cigarette Business.

If Xav's 5th or 6th team was made up of non Xav's players I could understand where you are coming from.

Most players playing for the lower level teams haven't been stolen from other clubs, they are usually old boys wanting a game for fun.

The loss of inner suburbabn teams has a lot to do with demographics of the inner suburbs, not strong clubs poaching players.

Keep puffing.

How do you reckon the De La and VAFA brass will be feeling Tuesday morning when they read that their poster boy Trent Croad has been implicated in the peptide scandal?
The Comanchero's are a fairly naughty outfit too....just saying!

Lets see if Teflon Mike Sholly has any guts on this issue? Interesting to see the Eastern Football League have released a statement of the ACC business.

http://efl.org.au/index.php?id=272&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=2992&cHash=3ea7f2c46c
Quite a good Bulletin by the EFL - Brief and straight to the point.
1- Players come under ASADA's jurisdiction.
2- Don't by gear off the internet as it might get picked up by customs and referred to ASADA.

http://efl.org.au/fileadmin/user_upload/forms_downloads/2013/Anti_Doping.pdf

De La down to B Grade. Trinity back up, if the VAFA are serious about this comp.

Well someone had to say it. What a load of crap.

I understand that this story might be topical at the moment but surely the people posting this stuff are having a lend or taking the pi$$ because you could not possibly be serious. Either that or you have not actually bothered to read the article and read the part that says "selling peptides is not illegal".

If you reckon Michael Sholly, the VAFA or De La need to be held to account then you are on drugs – the real type that is, not a supplement or the performance enhancing kind.

The article says “At the time of the meeting, peptides were unregulated and it was not illegal to sell them” So you then want to demote a club for something that is alleged to have been done by someone which is not illegal. Furthermore the person was not even playing for the club at the time nor registered in the VAFA.

Might be different if it was illegal drugs or if he was even playing last year but he was not. He has played 0 games in the VAFA and this “alleged” substance was not even illegal. And as far the so-called “associates of the Commancheros” – it seems that if you go to a nightclub, gym or a boxing match you are an associate of some bikie gang.

And any article that relies on “sources” raises suspicion.

On the basis of what is getting thrown around here if a player from your has had the misfortune to actually break the law (unlike what has occurred here) then we would have to kick the club and player out of the VAFA and publicly flog the committee and coach. How many blokes playing in the VAFA would have been charged with drink driving, speeding or maybe even something more serious in the last year? There would be plenty.

No wonder no one posts here any more if these are the sort of insightful comments you are likely to see.

I understand that this story might be topical at the moment but surely the people posting this stuff are having a lend or taking the pi$$ because you could not possibly be serious. Either that or you have not actually bothered to read the article and read the part that says "selling peptides is not illegal".

If you reckon Michael Sholly, the VAFA or De La need to be held to account then you are on drugs – the real type that is, not a supplement or the performance enhancing kind.

The article says “At the time of the meeting, peptides were unregulated and it was not illegal to sell them” So you then want to demote a club for something that is alleged to have been done by someone which is not illegal. Furthermore the person was not even playing for the club at the time nor registered in the VAFA.

Might be different if it was illegal drugs or if he was even playing last year but he was not. He has played 0 games in the VAFA and this “alleged” substance was not even illegal. And as far the so-called “associates of the Commancheros” – it seems that if you go to a nightclub, gym or a boxing match you are an associate of some bikie gang.

On the basis of what is getting thrown around here if a player from your has had the misfortune to actually break the law (unlike what has occurred here) then we would have to kick the club and player out of the VAFA and publicly flog the committee and coach. How many blokes playing in the VAFA would have been charged with drink driving, speeding or maybe even something more serious in the last year? There would be plenty.

No wonder no one posts here any more if these are the sort of insightful comments you are likely to see.

One day last week we were told it was the 'blackest day" in Australian sport. We had the Sports Minister telling us they were coming to get the bad guys ( a politician I might add who has absolutely no law enforcement qualifications) ACC investigation had been going for 12 months with evidence abound, but cant tell anyone, legalities and redtape abound.
Demitiriou tells everyone who will listen that you will be caught, dont do it you will be caught!!!
How is his record looking and who have they caught.......I think 1 player (correct me if Im wrong) and that wasnt Cousins. History shows the AFL dont want to "out" anyone. Bad for the brand, bad for the next TV rights negotiations.
One strike, Two strike, Third pending, "I need help Im sick please help me".............what a joke. Kennett is spot on.
Croad has done nothing wrong (admittedly not a great look in the current enviro) Scholly isnt required to do anything and even if he was, he couldnt because he is useless.
As "The Milky Bar Kid" keeps telling us..."everyone should just take a cold shower",

A little knowledge is always more dangerous than no knowledge at all. Whilst our erstwhile media pack are crawling under rocks trying to find someone they can hang out to dry, there is little effort given to inform the public what this is all about. Moreover, everyone is running scared based on potential threats of litigation if too much is said about the little they know.
The speculation (and that's all it is right now) driven by the media is that players at the Essendon Football Club injected 'peptides'.
In the literal sense, a peptide is just a very small protein. As might be expected, there are hundreds upon hundreds of known peptides - insulin is a peptide hormone. There are several sports-legitimate and unregulated uses for peptides, such as the Leucine peptides which are simply the high-performance cousins of whey protein supplements – essentially, they are “pre-digested” protein fragments designed to aid recovery from vigorous activity. The key point with these substances are they are never injected.
The peptides that have been banned by World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) and the Australian Sports Anti-Doping Authority (ASADA) since 2010 are the growth hormone-releasing peptides (see Section 2 of attached list). A desired spike in endogenous growth hormone (which is usually injected directly) is used to aid recovery and muscular growth – and, while not as effective as anabolic steroids for the growth and maintenance of muscle mass, growth hormone has significantly fewer side effects. Significantly, it’s also more difficult to detect.
Despite the difficulty, ASADA has issued sanctions and bans to four Australian Rugby Union players in the past year due to peptide abuse (see attached).
Athletes operate under what is known as the “strict liability” clause, which means an athlete is directly responsible at all times for substances that are found in them, regardless of how they got there – and guilty until proven innocent.
Given ASADA and the Australian Crime Commission are taking the lead in this latest investigation, I m sure there is more to come and unlikely to be any clemency for those found to be guilty.
I hope this provides further knowledge to forum readers.
As for bikies, I somehow doubt they would be interested in legal peptides to reduce the wrinkles around their eyes. It will come down to who the authorities can prove sold what to who.

Attachments

• WADA-Prohibited-List-2013-EN.pdf
    110.1 KB · Views: 46
  • ASADA Sanctions.pdf
    88.4 KB · Views: 115
  • asada_release_120530_Francis_Bourke_rugby_union.pdf
    41.3 KB · Views: 31

It was a gag. Remind me never to head off to a comedy night with you. You would be a bucket of laughs.

Thanks for the post Grissoles, not that we needed to read it unless we have had our heads stuck in the sand at Sorrento for the last week.

Ever heard of the saying ''throw enough mud and some sticks''? Do you realise how serious this is? The fact that Trent Croad is the ONLY person outside of the super hero cast of PE Teachers named is condemnation enough. If we are serious about being a clean skin comp, then the VAFA should immediately cancel his permit if they have any credibility subject to the ongoing investigation.This is Carl Williams/Moran brothers stuff, with all of the cast members portraying similar modus operandi to the drug dealers of the past that we are trying to rid society of.

Thanks for the post Grissoles, not that we needed to read it unless we have had our heads stuck in the sand at Sorrento for the last week.

Ever heard of the saying ''throw enough mud and some sticks''? Do you realise how serious this is? The fact that Trent Croad is the ONLY person outside of the super hero cast of PE Teachers named is condemnation enough. If we are serious about being a clean skin comp, then the VAFA should immediately cancel his permit if they have any credibility subject to the ongoing investigation.This is Carl Williams/Moran brothers stuff, with all of the cast members portraying similar modus operandi to the drug dealers of the past that we are trying to rid society of.

GOI, I completely agree with the seriousness of what is happening. Our legal system requires a chain of custody from federal authorities to state authorities for criminal charges. I can only assume that the federal authorities decided on publicity prior to arrests because the situation had grown so large. I expect we will see criminal charges emerging with ASDA charges in the near future. Criminal charges have to be so bullet proof in this day and age because of the risk of counter claims and threats.
This situation is evolving on a daily basis. If I was the VAFA, they have time before Round 1 to see how this thing pans out.

GOI, I completely agree with the seriousness of what is happening. Our legal system requires a chain of custody from federal authorities to state authorities for criminal charges. I can only assume that the federal authorities decided on publicity prior to arrests because the situation had grown so large. I expect we will see criminal charges emerging with ASDA charges in the near future. Criminal charges have to be so bullet proof in this day and age because of the risk of counter claims and threats.
This situation is evolving on a daily basis. If I was the VAFA, they have time before Round 1 to see how this thing pans out.

Who cares...
Any chance of some footy talk?
Probable top 4 predictions?

Stickybeak: "Nothing is so firmly believed as that which is least known."
Francis Jeffrey Scottish critic & jurist (1773 - 1850)
I think we all have to care about what's happening.
As opposed to my mantra of facts and Bye the bye, if you connect the dots with current articles referred to on this forum and media reports about a player in vertical stripes who has suddenly suspended contract talks, one may draw some conclusions.
The media is a frenzy.

From Trent Coad on 12/2/2013: "We have taken urgent high level advice in respect of the front page story published by The Age on 12 February 2013," the statement read."That legal advice has confirmed that Trent has been grossly defamed and the subject of reprehensible defamation."Trent will now sue all involved in The Publication and all repetitors of the false and defamatory allegations within this baseless story. "On legal advice, Trent will not be able to add any further comment at this time."
I can't find what 'repetitor' means but nevertheless it seems that Trent and his legal representatives are on the 'front foot'.

Premier A - 2013