Premier A - 2015

Would that be due to the fact there's an AFL club there and they want to protect locals from the Hawks playing practice matches and/or Box Hill Hawks games there?

I'd be surprised if there couldn't be an agreement negotiated for VAFA games.

It's a long shot anyway. It'll be interesting to see what use the ground and facilities will be put to when the Hawks vacate in a few years.

Not sure mate, but it was a stipulation of the lease that no games are to be played on that oval.

Maybe Punt Rd Oval could be looked at as a possible Premier Grand Final venue for 2016. Would be a good fit too, car parking and of course, public transport plus the Tigers have now installed a electronic scoreboard as well as seating.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Maybe Punt Rd Oval could be looked at as a possible Premier Grand Final venue for 2016. Would be a good fit too, car parking and of course, public transport plus the Tigers have now installed a electronic scoreboard as well as seating.

The Coach doesn't want other games there

Sorry to bug people but my club Aquinas is hosting a Grand Final Eve Breakfast on the 2nd of October (don't worry it is pretty much sold out so this isn't an ad) and we have a number of players keen to make a day of it and kick on to a luncheon later in the day.

Just wondering if there are any VAFA clubs who are hosting a luncheon in the city or elsewhere and if so could you get in touch with the details? We'd be keen to buy a few tickets.

Cheers

Congrats to St Bernards and Rocky - probably the best coach in local footy.
Just an observation. Bernards premiership team had 3 "imports". Chad Jones, Shaun Clarke, Sam Fleming. Cartledge and Bentick both went to the school and AB played all his junior football at Bernards. The remaining 17 are ALL home grown through juniors and/or the school. And the team included 3 players still eligible for U19s. The team also had 4 members of the 2014 Premiership team who won back to back Premierships. Alot of homegrown talent.
Almost certain that he was a St Pats boy - though I may be wrong.

Congrats to St Bernards and Rocky - probably the best coach in local footy.

Almost certain that he was a St Pats boy - though I may be wrong.

Graduated from Essendon Grammar yr 12 in 2003 according to the EFC website. Given he was drafted in 2002 from the North Ballarat Rebels, I think you might be on the money there. Most likely a Ballarat boy up to end of yr 11.

The VAFA will look completely stupid if they don't secure Ikon Park as the venue for the 2016 Premier Grand Final. In fact, I wouldn't be surprised to see the VAFA have TWO headquarters-Sportscover Arena (administration & training for VAFA rep teams & umpires); Ikon Park (match day)

Ikon, Princes Park will be looking for a tenant as Melbourne Rebels are moving out. Good timing, good opportunity. Wouldn't Ikon be more central to most Clubs on the Admin side?

Not sure mate, but it was a stipulation of the lease that no games are to be played on that oval.
Thanks! Going to be interesting to see what use the place will be put to if games can't be played there. Guess a developer would have no compunction in knocking over those terrific facilities given the green light from Council.

Graduated from Essendon Grammar yr 12 in 2003 according to the EFC website. Given he was drafted in 2002 from the North Ballarat Rebels, I think you might be on the money there. Most likely a Ballarat boy up to end of yr 11.

For mine the fact you are not entirely homegrown only becomes an issue if you continually claim that you are. St Bernards managed to recruit some very big names, including a number of ex AFL players, from outside of the usual school/U19 feeder. However they have a pretty decent record of developing their own.

Likewise St Kevins. The fact that they managed to lure 3 ex AFL blokes with no links whatsoever to the school deserves a big tick. Don't think they ever suggested Gilham, Salopek or Gysberts were homegrown.

I actually wish my club had the networks to achieve this. I reckon a couple of elite players to compliment an already solid group would get us pretty close to the ultimate prize.

was a st pats boy up to year 11 and completed year 12 at bernands

For mine the fact you are not entirely homegrown only becomes an issue if you continually claim that you are. St Bernards managed to recruit some very big names, including a number of ex AFL players, from outside of the usual school/U19 feeder. However they have a pretty decent record of developing their own.

Likewise St Kevins. The fact that they managed to lure 3 ex AFL blokes with no links whatsoever to the school deserves a big tick. Don't think they ever suggested Gilham, Salopek or Gysberts were homegrown.

I actually wish my club had the networks to achieve this. I reckon a couple of elite players to compliment an already solid group would get us pretty close to the ultimate prize.

I heard that St. Kevins won the B Grade Grand Final with three real footballers and the remaining 19 are just list cloggers:p

Rooster, Steve Salopek is one of our own as his brother attended St Kevin's and after 10 years living away from him he was desperate to play with his little brother. Gilly is Steves best mate, so it really wasn't anything to do with networks that lured either to our club, it was family and friendship. If Steve was playing elsewhere then so would have Gilly.

At the end of the day, I prefer to just focus on what was an outstanding game of Premier football. Whilst I am rapt Bernards prevailed, OT could as easily have won the game. Both teams had tons of homegrown talent. Bernards recruits made a huge difference, particularly Jones and Clarke. Both clubs will need to be as active as EVERY other Premier club in attempting to retain players over the off season.

Where Bernards differentiates itself from some other clubs is the quality 19s of 2014 who played in Sunday's premiership. Woods, Caven, Ronke, De Leur. Not sure how many Premier GF winners of recent years could boast that stat of 4 1st year senior players playing in a senior premiership. And despite Xavs prevailing in the 2015 U19 Prem GF, Bernards has at least half a dozen more 19s of 2015 who will feature in the senior side of 2016.

A combination of talented youth pushing up, quality 20 somethings and 4 or 5 older hardened players is a recipe that worked for Bernards in 2015.

Who actually cares where the players came from and what age they were? What does it matter?
You can have a team full of outsiders but when they pull on the jumper they are all players of that team. Likewise, you can have 20 players under 20 but it means nothing if they don't win.

We all now start afresh with the aim of winning the flag next year.

Every school A grade team is loaded with players who went to that school. Every one of them.
All of them also have a bunch of u19's playing or ready to play next year. All of them.

Who actually cares where the players came from and what age they were? What does it matter?
You can have a team full of outsiders but when they pull on the jumper they are all players of that team. Likewise, you can have 20 players under 20 but it means nothing if they don't win.

We all now start afresh with the aim of winning the flag next year.
I disagree. Completely. Clubs need a sustainable model that all involved can buy into and be apart of. Particularly ammo clubs competing with $$ available in community football.

It didn't seem to bother Old Xavs who had a policy that they didn't pick under 19's as a rule. Six flags in a row shows that it worked pretty well for them.
Id hazard a guess without looking at the OT ressies, that they didn't have the depth to compliment their team with good ressies players.

Rooster, Steve Salopek is one of our own as his brother attended St Kevin's and after 10 years living away from him he was desperate to play with his little brother. Gilly is Steves best mate, so it really wasn't anything to do with networks that lured either to our club, it was family and friendship. If Steve was playing elsewhere then so would have Gilly.

I’m kind of with you on this one Brian, as I really don’t care where a club sources their players. However it grates when some people continually make claims around the number of ‘homegrown’ players when upon examination the numbers are often found to be wildly exaggerated. Gets bloody tiresome!

Having said that I totally with Bagman that sustained success, particularly in the ammos, is achieved through a strong U19 program and developing links with your school or junior affiliate.

Premier A - 2015