- Nov 5, 2009
- AFL Club
- Adelaide
Stick him inside 50 and leave him there.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Certainly looks impressive by that photo
Which one is Brittany? Jones or McHenry”leave Brittany alone”
You know my boyWhich one is Brittany? Jones or McHenry
But that was literally what we developed jones to do.. not bother about the footy and go the man!..I’m not arguing McHenry is any good, but his traits can be fixed.
But you can’t teach someone to find the footy.
Jones looks as comfortable as Karmichael Hunt did.
Looks like me when arguing heat maps
You’re Wolverine?Looks like me when arguing heat maps
I’m not defending the clubs handling of Jones, it has been deplorable but we are also talking about a guy who has been around long enough to get over it.But that was literally what we developed jones to do.. not bother about the footy and go the man!..
We took a young bloke who was dominant in the Tassie league in his draft year who was finding a heap of the footy and playing well using his natural abilities and game.. and literally instructed him to focus on the man not the ball because Pyke and Godden, the dumbfxxks, thought they could/should somehow turn him into a shutdown mid.
Then, when it didnt work, they were left with this young player who’s confidence was completely sapped, who they proceeded to dump back into the SANFL where, when Nicksy took over, they turned him into a half back flanker.
He’s yet another example of this club taking a young talented player and, instead of playing him to his strengths and in the position he was drafted, bewilderingly trying to turn him into something he’s fxxkn not. (Mainly to continue to accomodate their precious, but cooked, veteran players that they cling to like a security blanket for years longer than they should)
Then dumping him on the outer when this dumbfxxkery doesnt work.
How many times have we seen them do this to our young talented draftees in recent years..
More Jason StathamYou’re Wolverine?
Gone from being a big kid to a big man this offseason
Agree, i push Jones barrow for that reason, but I’ve given him till the end of this season to show bigger steps improvement others wise goneskiI’m not defending the clubs handling of Jones, it has been deplorable but we are also talking about a guy who has been around long enough to get over it.
The difference between Jones and McHenry is Jones looks good on the odd occasion so we think he’s better. But is he? He has very little poise, panics, gets flustered and struggles to find the ball.
The club has given up on him as a mid but they shouldn’t. They’ve tried to develop him into a back pocket whilst playing AFL. He should be playing SANFL as a Mid for a 6-8 weeks where he can build his confidence and then play AFL as a mid. If he doesn’t cut it, flick him.
Is it that or hamish can’t spot talent, I’m not sure why jones gets a free pass and it’s blamed on development.But that was literally what we developed jones to do.. not bother about the footy and go the man!..
We took a young bloke who was dominant in the Tassie league in his draft year who was finding a heap of the footy and playing well using his natural abilities and game.. and literally instructed him to focus on the man not the ball because Pyke and Godden, the dumbfxxks, thought they could/should somehow turn him into a shutdown mid.
Then, when it didnt work, they were left with this young player who’s confidence was completely sapped, who they proceeded to dump back into the SANFL where, when Nicksy took over, they turned him into a half back flanker.
He’s yet another example of this club taking a young talented player and, instead of playing him to his strengths and in the position he was drafted, bewilderingly trying to turn him into something he’s fxxkn not. (Mainly to continue to accomodate their precious, but cooked, veteran players that they cling to like a security blanket for years longer than they should)
How many times have we seen them do this to our young talented draftees in recent years..
Anyone that’s one season away from being cut shouldn’t get the hype that he doesAgree, i push Jones barrow for that reason, but I’ve given him till the end of this season to show bigger steps improvement others wise goneski
With Jones I’d say it’s a bit of both. Was obviously a quality performer in the U18 champs, but we a) didn’t nail whether that form would translate to AFL, and b) didn’t nurture the talent that he does have in order to give him the best shot at succeedingIs it that or hamish can’t spot talent, I’m not sure why jones gets a free pass and it’s blamed on development.
No one else gets this benefit.
Some players just don’t translate into AFL, jones is clearly one who doesn’t.
He looks like an instinctual, high speed, high impact player who has mostly lost the ability to play to those strengths. Maybe I see more value than most on here in his strengths?I’m not arguing McHenry is any good, but his traits can be fixed.
But you can’t teach someone to find the footy.
Jones looks as comfortable as Karmichael Hunt did.
Well don't always agree with the Beard but spot on with this post .McHenry
The bloke who’s tackles dont stick..
the bloke who runs around like a headless chook
The bloke whos so clumsy he gives away free kicks
The bloke who can barely kick 30 metres
The bloke who expends more energy than anyone else in the hostory of the game and yet achieves very little.
The bloke who, as a small forward/half forward, kicked 13 goals for 20 games last year and 11 from 21 games the year before.. so averages half a goal a game.
Jones is a better footballer.
But both, given where they were taken in the “super draft” and the players we couldve taken instead, have really been a complete bust up to this point.
We’ve really seen fxxk all from both to this point but, from what little we have seen, I reacon its Jones that has more potential.
And our clubs development of Jones in the first three seasons was deplorable.
Maybe when he’s 32 or 33.Stick him inside 50 and leave him there.
Yep I see Jones as more a development issue than a recruiting issueBut that was literally what we developed jones to do.. not bother about the footy and go the man!..
Don’t mind the sanfl optionI’m not defending the clubs handling of Jones, it has been deplorable but we are also talking about a guy who has been around long enough to get over it.
The difference between Jones and McHenry is Jones looks good on the odd occasion so we think he’s better. But is he? He has very little poise, panics, gets flustered and struggles to find the ball.
The club has given up on him as a mid but they shouldn’t. They’ve tried to develop him into a back pocket whilst playing AFL. He should be playing SANFL as a Mid for a 6-8 weeks where he can build his confidence and then play AFL as a mid. If he doesn’t cut it, flick him.
I've always seen a player in Jones. I just feel like he's one of those guys who'se form 100% rises and falls with his confidence.Yep I see Jones as more a development issue than a recruiting issue
I don’t think he’s developed enough to just play wing in the AFL, he’s been tried there and done **** all. If that’s where we want to play him, let him build confidence, continuity and form in that role in the SANFL.Don’t mind the sanfl option
Tell him he’s a mid and that he needs to knock door down to push into afl side
Give him prime mid role in sanfl like Berry at start of last year
Got a feeling he will struggle to get an AFL game in defence with Parnell on the up and Hamill training well and Milera to go back … if he’s not playing wing at AFL level ( which he might ) then play him centre square mid in sanfl and see if he can knock the door down
Pretty sure he’s been training as a wing where he ended last year where they thought he went okI don’t think he’s developed enough to just play wing in the AFL, he’s been tried there and done * all. If that’s where we want to play him, let him build confidence, continuity and form in that role in the SANFL.
We have persisted with him at AFL but I don’t think it’s doing him any favours. We’ve taken away the SANFL building block that most young players need, sure there are exceptions who adapt quicker and need less time like Soligo, but he’s a gun, Jones ain’t.
bigman where has Jones been training?
Yep he is definitely all about confidence which then controls his formI've always seen a player in Jones. I just feel like he's one of those guys who'se form 100% rises and falls with his confidence.
If he could get that under control we could have a very damaging player on your hands. I just hope it happens this year for him. Cause the competition for his spot is going to be fierce going forward. His grace period is well and truly over.
Everything starts going down hill from late April onwardsAhhhhh, mid January. Everyone's so optimistic and excited