Training Preseason 2022/23 Talk & Media/Social Media etc.

Which of these players do you think will be selected in the Crows' Round 1 team?

Pretty sure he’s been training as a wing where he ended last year where they thought he went ok

You’re right he certainly didn’t nail it though

I quite like the sanfl idea , get him as the main boy with Matt Crouch in the centre square …. Hopefully he can find his groove and confidence as he does have some decent traits eg speed power courage etc
See this is the problem, they’ve set such a low bench mark for Jones. If they think he was ok late they are high.

8 possessions against West Coast
15 against North
12 against Port

So at AFL level they’ve tried him up forward, middle, back and now wing and he hasn’t been good at any of them, hence why they keep moving him around.

Settle him in a position and play him in the SANFL FFS until he earns a recall.

Yep he is definitely all about confidence which then controls his form

That’s why I think a prime role in sanfl is a good idea to set him up better to nail it on his next chance

The worst thing that could happen is they pick him round 1 as the sub ( which I can see happening as to my eye he’s somewhere in that 20th-25th bloke picked if we are full strength
Yep, I also like it when he's playing the role of agitator/aggressor. I feel like when he's a little mad he gets out of his own head and the footy becomes second nature, which seems to free him up a bit.

At least that how I see it.

And if Nicks thinks Jones should be playing wing ahead of Dawson, he either has no clue about how valuable a wing can be, perhaps he didn’t watch Seeds in 2021, or he’s just an idiot.

See this is the problem, they’ve set such a low bench mark for Jones. If they think he was ok late they are high.

15 against North
12 against Port

So at AFL level they’ve tried him up forward, middle, back and now wing and he hasn’t been good at any of them, hence why they keep moving him around.

Settle him in a position and play him in the SANFL FFS until he earns a recall.
15 against North
12 against Port

Stats against three AFL powerhouses LOL

And if Nicks thinks Jones should be playing wing ahead of Dawson, he either has no clue about how valuable a wing can be, perhaps he didn’t watch Seeds in 2021, or he’s just an idiot.
Dawson should be our #1 wingman, but we need at least another 2, including rotations.

The likes of Jones, Milera, Hamill & Hinge could all rotate through wing/HBF.

Dawson should be our #1 wingman, but we need at least another 2, including rotations.

The likes of Jones, Milera, Hamill & Hinge could all rotate through wing/HBF.
I personally would have Dawson, Hinge and Milera. Don’t mind giving Hamill a try. Cook also.

I’m not keen on Milera in defence as I reckon he sucks as a defender.

Not as many as the coaches.
I don’t have the full list but you get the picture.
View attachment 1587814
I find it incredible that Lachie Sholl was 8th in the B&F after 12 rounds and then didn't get another look in for the rest of the year.
Obviously the coaches were liking his game to get so many votes.
And then was replaced with Jones who hardly got any coaches votes and couldn't find the ball

c094c22c-bf0c-4cc5-ad5b-5799b8663dd8-jpeg.1587814

I find it incredible that Lachie Sholl was 8th in the B&F after 12 rounds and then didn't get another look in for the rest of the year.
And then was replaced with Jones who hardly got any coaches votes and couldn't find the ball

Good point.

It’s annoying they don’t release the full leaderboard anymore. It’s almost as if they don’t want to let us know who sucked.

Sholl is a better player than Jones, however sholl needs to work on an aggressive streak as that's one thing Jones has over Sholl is that tackling for some reason coaches rate that over game awareness and skills....
I don't really get how Sholl found himself so horribly out of favour with the coaches. He's produced more quality AFL footy than most of our younger brigade. I guess he is a bit soft and that doesn't mesh well with Nick's style. Still, I'm a bit surprised nobody offered a trade.

I don't quite understand Nick's thinking either.
It looks like he prefers a hard at it player who cant find the ball, than a ball magnet with great skill who doesn't crash and bash.
Surely you need to have a balance in the team, especially on the wing

I don't quite understand Nick's thinking either.
It looks like he prefers a hard at it player who cant find the ball, than a ball magnet with great skill who doesn't crash and bash.
Surely you need to have a balance in the team, especially on the wing
I genuinely believe when it comes to Sholl there's a fair bit of early course correction / tough love being put into him. IMO he could easily continue to get selected and provide what he already providing for another 100 games. But if we want him to be more then that he's going to need to develop in the area's that don't come naturally.

I meant comfortable as in the game.
He’s got zero footy smarts, has no idea where to run, he may as well have come from another sport.
But looked great against a bunch of kids in his junior year.

The step up to AFL is a massive one, especially mentally and I think you need a bit of personality, character and god forbid arrogance, to actually transition well to the mens game.

Anyone that’s one season away from being cut shouldn’t get the hype that he does
I’m not hyping him up, it’s just I see something, he was made to play negative footy early and can’t seem to break this shackle, and I don’t rate him as poorly as some.
There is a footballer there, and granted it may not translate into an AFL, but I think there is, I’m also not going to give him a MacKay career to find out

Is insulting someone after they've disengaged Rule 11? Or is that the one about getting addicted to benzos?

Well you see, you came on here, posted an absolute lie to help garner support for your ideology, flog behaviour.

Then complain about being called a flog.

You big sook. Imagine if someone made something up about you and your work colleagues being very upset with you, how would you feel?

But looked great against a bunch of kids in his junior year.

The step up to AFL is a massive one, especially mentally and I think you need a bit of personality, character and god forbid arrogance, to actually transition well to the mens game.
So did McAsey, some people just don't translate, he's not the first and he wont be the last.

Did he run out of puff, or was that the previous year?

Training Preseason 2022/23 Talk & Media/Social Media etc.