Training Preseason 22-23

Thanks to WOOF for this exerpt from an article:

"But with pre-season to ramp up in January, News Corp has compiled a list of each club’s key early performers in the gym and on the running track.

WESTERN BULLDOGS
Running

"Toby McLean, Lachie McNeil, Robbie McComb and Riley Garcia were standout endurance performers on the first-to-fourth year return in late November."

In the gym

"A handful of Bulldogs featuring Marcus Bontempelli, Rhylee West, Caleb Daniel, Hayden Crozier and Aaron Naughton took to San Diego for a post-season training camp, where they engaged in both gym work and running drills. Jamarra Ugle-Hagan looks to have added some more size, while Liam Jones doesn’t appear to have lost any despite his year out of the elite-level programs."

Have a few milestone matches in the new year

If they don't miss a match...

Round 3 Brisbane – Roarke Smith (50)

Round 4 v Richmond – Toby McLean (100)

Round 5 v Port Adelaide – Tom Liberatore (200)

Round 7 v Hawthorn – Marcus Bontempelli (200), Ryan Gardner (50)

Round 10 v Adelaide – Rory Lobb (150), Cody Weightman (50)

Round 12 v Geelong – Hayden Crozier (150)

Round 14 v North Melbourne – Alex Keath (100)

Round 16 v Fremantle – Tim English (100), Ed Richards (100), Anthony Scott (50)

Round 17 v Collingwood – Bailey Smith (100)

Round 18 v Sydney – Laith Vandermeer (50)

Round 22 v Hawthorn – Lachie McNeil (50)

Bevo will also coach his 200th match in the Grand Final.

I'm happy to use last years stats to tell the whole story.

Considering the bloke got 8.6 contested possessions a game and has 4.6 Clangers (only averages 0.35 Frees Against so his clangers aren't coming that way) and 6.71 turnovers (league leader by a LARGE margin), he basically must not hit ANY target when running at pace. But he's also doing an awful lot of bursting off opposition that aren't there for his 20.71 UNcontested possessions per game. Basically a ratio of 2.5 : 1 Uncontested : Contested.

His disposal efficiency was 65.66%, which sits at 363rd of 441 players to have played 5 games or more (and within a handful of spots of known ball-butchers Patrick Dangerfield, Sam Powell-Pepper and Robbie McComb). So he either hits all his targets with short kicks / when he's moving "slowly" and misses them all when running at pace or, as the stats actually allude to, he gets a lot of uncontested ball, runs with it and butchers it. Or takes a mark, attempts a shorter kick, and butchers it.

So what will it be? What's the point in "bursting off your opposition" if you're just going to turn the thing over basically every time anyway. We all know that turnovers kill you in the modern game, and here we sit with the league leader but people are happy to give him a free pass "because he runs quick"? ******* spare me.

But yeah nah, bullshit, hey? His kicking woes are overblown.
The point in bursting off your opposition is you are doing what is natural to you and playing to your strengths. The turnovers can happen when he kicks into a dysfunctional forward line that relied too much on Naughton. He was ranked 2nd in inside 50's per game, so at a guess I would say a lot of his turnovers happen when he kicks it into the forward line. More efficient forward line = less turnovers . Not saying his disposal doesn't let him down at times, but there is more too it than what the stats show. Like Dangerfield, (who is a champion), Smith has far too much going for him that outweighs his occasional butchering of the ball.

Thanks for posting - when you c&p from an article try to post the link, too. Need our dedicated Dogs writers to get the credit they deserve :rainbow:

I hope that Roarke makes that fifty, it's been a long time coming with his injury history and the lead up will probably result in a few tears.

Can't believe that Keath and Bailey Smith have almost played the same amount of games. Keath could be Bailey's dad!

Anyone got the odds of Ed Richards winning the Brownlow? Solid investment. The bloke can seriously play and had rare coloured hair that stands out to the putrocity that judge football matches, eg Woewodin, Matt Priddis.

Saw Marra training with the Connors' Xmas draft camp boys at Sorrento before NYE.
The main Melbourne boys were training in a group as well.

A couple of days later I was running laps there and had a chat to Luke Darcy who was having a kick with his younger boys.
We might be in for some more Darcy father sons in the next 5 years... they look like young versions of Sam.
Luke is a great fella to have a chat with... trotted out the well-worn line about having to be patient with Sam...

Anyone got the odds of Ed Richards winning the Brownlow? Solid investment. The bloke can seriously play and had rare coloured hair that stands out to the putrocity that judge football matches, eg Woewodin, Matt Priddis.

Speaking of Brownlow winner I can’t believe you are getting 18 to 1 for Bont to win the 2023 Brownlow. If I had a spare 1 k I would be onto it

$288 price for the Bont Brownlow/Dogs Flag Double.

Won’t get odds like that again for genuine contenders in both categories.
Yep can see those odds shortening significantly at some point in the season. It’s a good bet to place and then cash out.

$288 price for the Bont Brownlow/Dogs Flag Double.

Won’t get odds like that again for genuine contenders in both categories.
I get that the Doggies need to prove it to the mainstream before they are trusted but I’ve seen a lot of ‘expert’ ladders that have the Saints and Gold Coast in front of us, zero reason for that.

Pure laziness. A GF side from 2021 in their prime that had an off 2022. Have also strengthened multiple lines.

Some of these so called experts put no effort in to their job.

It's weird because we had a down year where a few of our categories we dropped off in, should not be any worse this year. In fact I think they can only go upwards. Plus we have strengthened our key positions stocks significantly. Addressed needs in the draft. And players resting and coming off injury interrupted seasons means we have more significant depth. People talked about how we had no one outside of Keath and Gardiner. Now we have Jones, Darcy, Bruce, and enough forward depth to "break glass in case of emergency" with Naughton if needed.

Our bad stats were so poor, no way they could get any worse surely?
Two new defenders and two new forwards
Additional ruck help
Greater team depth

Just trying to see how we will be worse and drop back further when we have improved?

Saints team is horrible and like one of those teams you throw together on FIFA, and the lines between all your starting players are red or orange, indicating a team with poor chemistry, with players thrown together desperately trying to make a good team. No way they finish ahead of us. Suns will improve I reckon and may surprise some. But I am confident if we start the season no worse than 3-3, we will make the 8 no worries.

So many have predicted us to finish lower this season coming, so it is interesting to try understand their reasons.

Training Preseason 22-23