Game Day Preseason Scrimmage -West Coast v Fremantle, Sat 24/2 : Let the melts begin

Livingstone is an underrated positive.

Don't reckon i've been this impressed with a developing talls attack at the footy in some time. The club is already treating him like a bit of a workhorse as well IMO, if he was a high draft pick they'd have him wrapped in cotton wool and being breastfed by Simpson.

Instead they use him as an oppo ruck bag for Flynn in the intraclub game, then roll him out to ruck against Freo whilst leaving 2nd year bigger body Barnett to play in the WAFL spud game? Unless i'm incorrect?

Get Coen on the 45's, brotein shakes and he's going to be fun to watch. I like the cut of his jib.

#bigorse #hillydardzgothisole

In other news, here's some match highlights boiz

Some random thoughts/observations watching from the ground:
  • First of all there were far too many Freo fans there. It was obvious early on by the loud cheers every time Freo did something good and from the eye test there was just too much purple in the crowd. I mean the game was at Lathlain, it’s our home ground FFS
  • Fremantle’s pressure forced us into plenty of fumbles and turnovers in the contest. And when they won the ball their ability to spread from the contest was noticeable and really hurt us
  • 5.16 is a very ugly score line but my overall impression is that we took a lot of kicks from difficult angles which were always going to be tough to convert. Again Fremantle’s pressure also often forced us into rushed kicks at goal
  • Thought Hunt was arguably our best. Rebound was elite all day and aside from one floating shank his ball use was overall pretty decent as well.
  • A little quiet from Harley but took the game on. It didn’t always come off but I hope he continues to try - it will take him a little while to figure out I think.
  • Haven’t read much praise for Cripps but I was impressed with his performance, particularly early on. His tackling intensity in the first half was really noticeable
  • Have mixed thoughts on Luke Edwards’ game - on one hand he seemed to get a fair bit of the ball which was a positive, but on the other some of his turnovers were really frustrating. Feel like he’s normally a better ball user than that
  • Just glimpses from Chesser - I remember thinking that shot at goal would’ve been such a good one for him to convert as he’d just produced a nice run to receive the handball and have a shot… unfortunately was pressured as he kicked and it didn’t come off.
  • Not too sure why JJ was playing in the 2s game… surely can’t be that far off making the team. Maybe some sort of injury management with the hip/groin soreness he’s had recently. It actually reminds me a bit of Culley’s preseason last year - I remember he was flying around late February and looking a likely Round 1 starter when he suddenly got pulled out of a lot of the competitive work and seemed to be on the outer again with no real explanation from the club, whether he was dealing with niggles or who knows what. Hopefully it’s back to normal programming next week for Jones
  • Rawlinson’s pressure was very good, kicking lacked a bit of penetration though which isn’t something I’ve previously noticed from him. Anyway was pleasantly surprised by his game - would stop short of calling him “this year’s Noah Long”, but he’s a bit less of a raw prospect than I thought he’d be
  • Was also pleasantly surprised with Livingstone - think it’s interesting we went with him ahead of Barnett in the main match simulation. He got involved as the game went on and nailed that set shot. Have seen him working on his goal kicking a lot over summer so hopefully that was a good confidence booster for him.
  • Jamieson competed well overall - got caught out a couple of times but sometimes the delivery to the Freo forwards was just too pinpoint for him to defend. Adding more strings to his bow like this will only increase his chances of getting a game.
  • Was impressed by the number 7 for the WAFL Eagles playing in the final four periods - judging by the players calling his name when he had the ball I think it’s Harley Sparks, a new signing.

Livingstone is an underrated positive.

Don't reckon i've been this impressed with a developing talls attack at the footy in some time. The club is already treating him like a bit of a workhorse as well IMO, if he was a high draft pick they'd have him wrapped in cotton wool and being breastfed by Simpson.

Instead they use him as an oppo ruck bag for Flynn in the intraclub game, then roll him out to ruck against Freo whilst leaving 2nd year bigger body Barnett to play in the WAFL spud game? Unless i'm incorrect?

Get Coen on the 45's, brotein shakes and he's going to be fun to watch. I like the cut of his jib.

#bigorse #hillydardzgothisole

In other news, here's some match highlights boiz

Had Flynn not been injured I suspect Livingstone would have played the B game as a forward and possibly giving Barnett a chop out

However, with Flynn out they used Livingstone as a forward giving ruck support to Williams leaving Barnett to play the B game as sole ruck. That’s preferable to playing Livingstone as a sole ruck in the later game

What was curious is that they didn’t put Jack Williams in the ruck at any stage despite him playing a number of games last year as ruck support for Bailey

Look I enjoyed the melts as much as the next man, and a bunch of you do desperately need to take a Bex and a lie down.

However, I will say this: I'm not sure I would have turned down an offer for our 2024 first round pick.

GWS look like they've turned down a top 2 pick now at worst. We will start slow because of injuries and get slower because of youth and lack of quality.

Hopefully there are more moments like Longs gather to get us through the season

I ******* hate what we have become as a club, I'm one of the most passionate supporters and enough is enough. Simmo must go and we have to start targeting local talent, we have far too many non WA players collecting a wage.
No worries mate, i will stop the illegal boats coming across the West Australian border, stealing all the local footy players jobs. I have already got Harley Reid & Noah Long in a detention center as we speak.

I ******* hate what we have become as a club, I'm one of the most passionate supporters and enough is enough. Simmo must go and we have to start targeting local talent, we have far too many non WA players collecting a wage.
Yeah should def go local talent. Not like the couple of good ones each year will be drafted early by all teams, and we are left picking over the dregs instead of getting better players from interstate.

Also it's noted in the club article...

"While Fremantle played with greater dash, particularly in the second half, they also switched in eight fresh players at after half-time while the Eagles used the same list throughout."

So they 100% had fresher legs after half time.
This is a reality. I ponder if our decision was based on availability or in some part to give the players a hard workout a few weeks before the real stuff. Both have logic.

Just giving Freo their grand final win for the year.

The rest of the regular season will be their mad Monday victory lap.

If you split Pick 2, you reduce the odds of drafting a classic West Coast player, one who can't find the ball or who can't stay on the park.

Splits pick, drafts Ginbey and Hewett.

not like this GIF

Yeah should def go local talent. Not like the couple of good ones each year will be drafted early by all teams, and we are left picking over the dregs instead of getting better players from interstate.
It was an extremely bizarre comment but at least we know one person who'll be voting for the '87 song to make a comeback.

Yeah I agree, levels of immigration from east is definitely the problem of where we are at!

So solution is to definitely only pick from about 12% of the entire talent pool. I mean wokism like this is the thing these days.

It is no coincidence that stupid ideas have coincided with large drop off in maths performance at schools.

Actually, everybody except Fremantle is one day closer to their next flag.
Wouldn’t the term ‘next flag‘ imply there was a previous one?

"While Fremantle played with greater dash, particularly in the second half, they also switched in eight fresh players at after half-time while the Eagles used the same list throughout."

I think this is a fair point to make. Two clubs more or less doing their own thing out there tonight, not an afl equivalent game. We should expect Fremantle to win the match anyway based on where both clubs sit in with their list development. Losing our number 1 ruck to a team running a tandem of Darcy and Jackson put us behind the 8 ball but up until their fresh legs vs our cramping legs scoring shots were fairly even. Arguably with some better conversion we might of hit the lead at some point after the second.

It wasn't pretty to watch but was a good hit out for the likes of Jamieson, Hough, Reid, Long, Maric, and Chesser who all need the exposure to quality opposition. For the likes of Waterman, Hunt, Kelly, Yeo, Williams, to get through unscathed and contribute that's a plus. Gaff wasn't irredeemably terrible. Cripps same I guess. Would have liked to have seen stronger games from Oscar and Duggan given their leadership roles but they got through too. Cole was a bit of a worry but not sure his ceiling is too much higher than what we saw from him tonight, bit of a forgotten quantity who I personally would place Rotham ahead of but ok fine he's through too. Livingston I wouldn't think of being even close to a debut this season so he surprised me, though I expect the plan going in was for Barnett to first string the beagles team so wouldn't read too much into that but he showed something. Loch Rawlinson was great to watch, been looking forward to seeing him and he showed us he was a smart pickup. On the negative side I think Petch and Luke Edwards [both of whom I like] are the two I think it would have been nice to seen better games from, they need to be better next week.

Realistically it wasn't pretty to watch but I was pleased with aspects of what I saw tonight, disgusting conditions too as well btw for an opening hit out which could be a good excuse for the terrible conversion. Would have preferred Ginbey to get a full game, for Harry Edwards or Bazzo to have been available to babysit old man Govs spot, and for Flynn to be out there. I'm looking forward to seeing whether the Adelaide game offers more to be positive about.
Not sure what else you could have of Allen.

He either led up the wing and took a contested mark, turned and had no one to kick to. Or he killed the ball over the line.

Otherwise, he was usually double or tripled teamed in the forward 50.