Proof that the W.A media is a bunch of biased B@%&%$#$

Aug 27, 2007
Now I know this doesn't come as a shock to anyone here, but for years we have felt that we haven't gotten the same attention or media exposure as the slime up the road. Mainly due to amount of articles in the paper (positive OR negative, although it's mostly negaitive) and amount of news time we receive. While the evils recieve positive puff pieces almost every night about how an eagle's player cuddles kids in the hospital, or how they have been to south africe and had a 's[iritual' journey with some sanctimnious tripe about how they are helping the community and get a week long gig at Today Tonight (while we did the EXACT same thing a year before and got NOTHING!!). Add on to that the big nosed mamma's boy, all the useless writers at the worst, and Idiots like Barra and Co, who basically are willing to blow any eagle's players horns on air if it meant they got invited to the teams media conferences.

But now it's gone 1 step futher. Forget all the news about pre season training, forget about the warm and cuddly 1 on 1 interviews, heck forget about the trade period love fest the eagles got. It has now come to the crux of the matter. THE FOOTBALL itself!!!

Last week we all watched the insipid eagles show us the utter lack of skills that made them such a force last year on Free To Air TV. Cool, that's great, it was great to have the footy back again. But come this week, it's the Dockers turn to play and what do we get? THE BIG FINGER right in our faces with the game being snubbed by Channel 7 or 10 and only being played on foxtel.

This is a discrace and has to be adressed somehow. With a 2 team town with a 2 week period of difference, there should be NO reason as to why they cannot broadcast the game on FTA. If they start sprouting lines of 'trying to get the public to go see it live' then it's utter crap. Seeing as it was good enough for the evils last week.

I think it's just gotten to the point where something has to be done. It's easy to get over the small stuff (like media time on the news/newspapers etc) but when it impacts the bloody game time itself? something has to be done as it's just not bloody right.

Does the WA media control this or is it all tied up in the AFLs media deals. I agree it is piss-poor and I was very surprised and annoyed when I realised the game isn't on free-to-air but I don't know who calls the shots.

Last week we all watched the insipid eagles show us the utter lack of skills that made them such a force last year on Free To Air TV. Cool, that's great, it was great to have the footy back again. But come this week, it's the Dockers turn to play and what do we get? THE BIG FINGER right in our faces with the game being snubbed by Channel 7 or 10 and only being played on foxtel.

This is a discrace and has to be adressed somehow. With a 2 team town with a 2 week period of difference, there should be NO reason as to why they cannot broadcast the game on FTA. If they start sprouting lines of 'trying to get the public to go see it live' then it's utter crap. Seeing as it was good enough for the evils last week.

I'd also like to add to that the fact that there are no other AFL games being played on the day..... so why not show it? i mean channel Seven or Ten would get better ratings showing a game of AFL against channel Nine's 20/20 Int. rather than some tripe movie or second rate show? surely?

The game will start at 8.40 pm EST and will be telecast live by the Seven Network into Victoria and on Fox Sports throughout the rest of Australia.

http://www.fremantlefc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/7009/default.aspx?newsid=72056

So into Vic its on Seven but not anywhere else? Logic.Window.Gone.

Does the WA media control this or is it all tied up in the AFLs media deals. I agree it is piss-poor and I was very surprised and annoyed when I realised the game isn't on free-to-air but I don't know who calls the shots.

I don't know whether its the WA media, i think it may be the deal struck between Seven, Nine and the AFL. But surely with no other game on that day you would show it?

As my post said above its on Seven into Vic.... I looked at Seven's website and on that guide its City Homicide sunday night not AFL????:confused:

I'd also like to add to that the fact that there are no other AFL games being played on the day..... so why not show it? i mean channel Seven or Ten would get better ratings showing a game of AFL against channel Nine's 20/20 Int. rather than some tripe movie or second rate show? surely?

http://www.fremantlefc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/7009/default.aspx?newsid=72056

So into Vic its on Seven but not anywhere else? Logic.Window.Gone.

That is completely f*****

Thanks Silverscope for the additional information:thumbsu:

I would really kile to get into contact with Channel 7 and actually get a response to why they wouldn't show it.

It seems to me that the amount of people who would watch it on TV instead of going to the game on a Sunday night with little kids to take care of or work/school the next morning would at least appreciate the option of watching it at home. Not just that let's not foerget the rest of the W.A population who doesn't live within range of attending the game. Basically Channel 7 are sticking up the middle finger towards them by not broadcasting the game.

*sigh* I can't afford to go to the game. And they don't have it on FTA. Looks like I'm missing out :mad:

Thanks a lot Channel 7!!!!!

Haha I sent them an email...

Hi there,

I am unable to go to the game on Sunday due to having no money as I haven't been able to work for the past couple of weeks due to falling off a bus.

Why is the Freo Vs Richmond game not being shown by Channel 7? There are no other games on that day, yet it is only on Foxtel (a luxury not everyone can afford) and Channel 7 in Victoria? You were willing to show the WCE game last Friday, and the Bulldogs Vs Essendon game lastnight, yet you're not showing a game that has a team from WA playing? A bit ridiculous in my opinion.

Thank you.

*sigh* I can't afford to go to the game. And they don't have it on FTA. Looks like I'm missing out :mad:

Thanks a lot Channel 7!!!!!

Shibz, I don't know if it's going to happen again this year but last year when I went to the Kangaroo's game at SSubi Rhys Palmer was out the front handing out tickets to selected cool people (well that's my story and I'm sticking to it) so since you also have a certain amount of 'coolness' you might get lucky and get a free bunch of tickets from one of the new rookies. My guess, since Suban isn't playing it will be him who is designated ticket giver this year. You never know, might be worth a try?

It could be worth a try...just worried that I'll get all the way to Subi and not have a ticket! I'm epic raging. It's not right!! I can't go to a pub and watch it, as have no idea where one is around here! And even so...I should not have to go to the pub to watch my team play!!

Ridiculous. There are no other games on! Why not show this one??

I don't why I bothered emailing them...they won't get the email until Monday anyway.

Shibz, one reason why C7 aren't showing it on sunday...

Ratings.

Hmmm ok (I knew this would be part of the reason).

So the game last night on delay would get more ratings then tomorrow's game live? Actually, yeah it may have because of the story behind it (to raise money for fire victims).

Still think it's wrong, regardless of ratings. You honestly cannot tell me that "Sunday Night" would have higher ratings then this game?

Ratings.

Not havign a go at you Brades but that's total BS.

For Channel 7 to come out and use the old 'ratings' rubbish they would have to show what programs would out rate the footy. And I hardly think that 'Sunday night' or whatever it is could do that since it's a new show about what exactly? Last week it was about the Vic Bushfires, now not having a go at the Bushfires but there are at least 10 other shows doing exactly the same thing on any given night, so missing one week of that Today Tonight rubbish is not exactly going to affect people since they have seen it all week.

Ratings.

Sunday Night TV (in VIC) (From 8:30, which would what time the game is on here)

7: City Homicide, Bones
9:International 20/20 Aus vs NZ
10: So you Think you can Dance, Rove.

Umm... Ratings..... I'm sure Channel 7 are going to win the ratings that night, surely they would have a better chance if they showed the game. Lets not forget Richmond is playing so the audience wouldn't be that bad here in vic.... :cool:

Shibz: I regularly go down to my Local to see Freo play... in fact i will be watching Freo at the pub 16 times this year (not inc. NAB cup) as i made a choice between the net or foxtel :) I think ripper, stronz and some others are going to a pub near Subi for this match (was in another thread) why not go with them :eek:

I love to hate the WA media but this time it isn't their fault, its the AFL's.

The deal in place for the NAB is based largely on when the game is played. 7 gets Fri night, Ten gets Sat nights, Fox gets Sun arvo. the rest are divied up with the FTA guys getting foirst choice.

Obviously due to the time it would be live in to Melbourne the free to air guys didn't want it so Fox get the slot.

Who carries which games in each state may differ depending on the teams in question and time zone differences where the FTA guys may swap a game with Fox in that market. but in general those timeslots will hold up unless multiple games are on at the same time.

The other reason the filth got a shot last week is because the game was originally scheduled for SA but the trip got called off. All broadcasting decisions had been made by then so we got the "pleasure" of seeing them run around.

Sunday Night TV (in VIC) (From 8:30, which would what time the game is on here)

7: City Homicide, Bones
9:International 20/20 Aus vs NZ
10: So you Think you can Dance, Rove.

Umm... Ratings..... I'm sure Channel 7 are going to win the ratings that night, surely they would have a better chance if they showed the game. Lets not forget Richmond is playing so the audience wouldn't be that bad here in vic.... :cool:

You've got the Freo fans that want to watch, but all the weagle fans wont want to, they'll watch something else. They wouldn't win the ratings if they show Freo, probably won't win it that night anyway with the T20, but they'll try anyway. FTA TV is all about ratings, they couldn't give a shit what people want.

The other reason the filth got a shot last week is because the game was originally scheduled for SA but the trip got called off. All broadcasting decisions had been made by then so we got the "pleasure" of seeing them run around.

And what excuse did they give for calling off the game in South Africa? some lame reason about it being bad timing due to the financial crisis. That's hilarious. West Coast and Collingwood are always gloating about how rich they are as a club and what not and the reason they are going there int he first place is so they can get the fisrst dibs on the kids in those areas. So in effect they are snubbing them by not going, reneging on an agreement made with the AFL about playing games over there, and in general just showing the same piss poor efforts that have made them the 2 most irresponsible, uncultured, soulless clubs going around.

Where are those Soul Searching in South Arica stories now? what about those poor villages and people looking forward to seeing something other than poverty and famine? The Eagles and Magpies are treating them with the same contempt that they have shown for the AFL rules and Laws and Standards of decent human beings. They just don't care! And how do they get rewarded? It makes me sick!!!

I thought you'd be happy DE, gives you an excuse to go to the pub. ;)

Bradesmaen's right though, it wouldn't rate well and Sunday night is their big timeslot so those without Fox can't watch the footy. :(

Proof that the W.A media is a bunch of biased B@%&%$#$