Q lynch gone to pies

Actually there was very little coming out of either camp. The media beat the story up to be bigger than it was. The biggest mistake (and maybe the only one) the Clokes made was the Footy Show appearance. Collingwood made very few public comments about the issue.

I don't see how any of that disagrees with my post ... actually.

Eddie continues to be the most effective President in the league and the club continues to thrive and build under his presidency.

If that's what you want to believe, who am I to try and convince your otherwise. Lucky for Ed he finally agreed to pay overs for Cloke, otherwise he wouldn't have just cost you one flag; he would have hamstrung the club for the next decade. It's time to face facts, Eddie's presidency has helped put the Pies into an amazing position after the terror of Kevin Rose, but its lost its gloss ... it's time for a succession plan. Don't worry, in a few years you'll look back and say "oh damn that Monkey King was on the ball". I know you can't see the forest for the trees atm.

So we should have kept Davis and put him in the ruck, is that what you're saying?

I thought it was pretty clear what he was saying, player positions have nothing to do with it. Collingwood gave the impression that their salary cap was getting tight at the end of last year and couldn't sign Davis as a result of that. One year on and they seem to be having no issues with money.

Player positions have everything to do with it. It was deemed that Davis as a 30 year old back pocket, was dispensable. Now we need a cheap backup ruckman and Wellingham (or Goldsack) may be sacrificed in that goal. Its because of our good cap management in recent years retiring off a lot of big money players that we now have room to keep our stars and hopefully pick up some players in areas we are deficient.

tarrant retires too

Frustration. Carltank are unable to rort the system to get what they want! Loser culture, loser club, loser fans.
Oh the irony:

Carlton - 16 Flags - Most Successful Team in History
Collingwood- 26 Grand Final losses - Most acclaimed Loser club in History

Collingwood Football Club is the ultimate loser club.

Wouldnt, couldnt. Doesnt really matter. The club had to make a calll because of the cap.
I think it matters a great deal. The difference between preparing for free agency and managing the now for now. Davis (and Brown, as well as 5 200 gamers post 2010) were about value decisons in preperation for cap pressure and free agency opportunities.

I dont want to get bogged down in the difference between "couldnt" and "wouldnt".

At the end of the day for salary cap reasons the Pies had to decide between Maccaffer and Davis. They chose the premiership hero with some upside over the veteran who probably only had a year left and was undecided anyway about whether he wanted to stay in Victoria. Unfortunately the Caff got injured so we wont know for a year or so whether or not they made the right call, but as a general rule you prefer them to look to the medium term future when making these decisions.

Maybe Buckley thought the addition of Lynch was the only way he could beat the Blues in 2013????

Needs to try something given they were belted to the tune of 100pts across both games........:cool:

Oh l remember the dark days when two wins against Carlton was all I wanted, much prefer these days when much bigger fish to fry

Oh the irony:

Carlton - 16 Flags - Most Successful Team in History
Collingwood- 26 Grand Final losses - Most acclaimed Loser club in History

Collingwood Football Club is the ultimate loser club.

Delusional sweethearts

I find it bizarre when supporters get all nostalgic about the ancient history of their club.

Have a look at Carltons record since it became a true national competition with interstate games/travel
Where salary caps are tightly run and zoning no longer applies
Players are professionals and don't have 'jobs' outside football.

Carlton have been woeful in the modern area. Behind many clubs in many areas.

Hang your hat on events from a time when you weren't even born. Fact is Carlton supporters under the age of 18 haven't been alive when their team were 'premiers'. Carlton has won 1 final in 10 years and been awarded 3 wooden spoons in this time.

Delusional sweethearts

I find it bizarre when supporters get all nostalgic about the ancient history of their club.

Have a look at Carltons record since it became a true national competition with interstate games/travel
Where salary caps are tightly run and zoning no longer applies
Players are professionals and don't have 'jobs' outside football.

Carlton have been woeful in the modern area. Behind many clubs in many areas.

Hang your hat on events from a time when you weren't even born. Fact is Carlton supporters under the age of 18 haven't been alive when their team were 'premiers'. Carlton has won 1 final in 10 years and been awarded 3 wooden spoons in this time.
So you're saying because the name changed we forget everything that happened before hand?

Hey sweetheart... who award you the premiership cup on Saturday? How many games did he play for the Sydney Football Club? Why is your B&F named after him?

Who care about the Colemans, the Barrassis, the Whittens and anything or anyone that occured before some guy running the code decided to change the name of the competition.

So you're saying because the name changed we forget everything that happened before hand?

Hey sweetheart... who award you the premiership cup on Saturday? How many games did he play for the Sydney Football Club? Why is your B&F named after him?

Who care about the Colemans, the Barrassis, the Whittens and anything or anyone that occured before some guy running the code decided to change the name of the competition.

Of course the game has history and champions should be celebrated. People should be proud to support their club and wherever it came from.

I'm simply saying that the last 20 years of football the game has evolved into a whole other dimension. its bizarre when supporters think that because their team won premierships galore when hitler was still alive that they can hang their hats on that.

Look at your teams modern history. Results in your lifetime.

Of course the game has history and champions should be celebrated. People should be proud to support their club and wherever it came from.

I'm simply saying that the last 20 years of football the game has evolved into a whole other dimension. its bizarre when supporters think that because their team won premierships galore when hitler was still alive that they can hang their hats on that.

Look at your teams modern history. Results in your lifetime.
You walk into the club and the 1906 premiership cup looks just as polished and just as adored as the 95 flag

and you're talking about the last 20 year right? So basically you are telling Hawthorn (who are often referred to as the most successful team in recent history) forget your domination of the 80s and the fact that in the last 50 years you've won more flags than any other club... lets just talk about your last flag in 2008... because that has expired yet (still have 15 more years until that expires).

and only 2 days after your club won a flag to give them a total of 2 in the last 20 years (making them one more than Carlton... the loser club I'm trying to defend), you have somehow developed into some kind of scholar in determining when a flag can be adored and when one is to be forgotten.

When a person who supports a team where history (and that is all anyone ever plays for... history) tells us that they are the ultimate losers... calls my team where history tells us we are the most successful club, a loser club... don't call me delusional sweetheart... actually that's ironic in itself

You walk into the club and the 1906 premiership cup looks just as polished and just as adored as the 95 flag

and you're talking about the last 20 year right? So basically you are telling Hawthorn (who are often referred to as the most successful team in recent history) forget your domination of the 80s and the fact that in the last 50 years you've won more flags than any other club... lets just talk about your last flag in 2008... because that has expired yet (still have 15 more years until that expires).

and only 2 days after your club won a flag to give them a total of 2 in the last 20 years (making them one more than Carlton... the loser club I'm trying to defend), you have somehow developed into some kind of scholar in determining when a flag can be adored and when one is to be forgotten.

When a person who supports a team where history (and that is all anyone ever plays for... history) tells us that they are the ultimate losers... calls my team where history tells us we are the most successful club, a loser club... don't call me delusional sweetheart... actually that's ironic in itself

Hahaha have a Bex mate :)

Collingwood have officially lodged paperwork for unrestricted free agent Quinten Lych. Lynch has knocked back offers from Melbourne and Carlton. Deal will be done today.

CBF you've missed my point, doesn't matter.

I'm glad that cups won in the early 1900's give you something to lean on against pies supporters on Bigfooty - nothing like that to ease the pain of 1 finals win in a decade.
Happy for you that Carlton are the most successful club in VFL history because their modern history - your adult life is atrocious

CBF you've missed my point, doesn't matter.

I'm glad that cups won in the early 1900's give you something to lean on against pies supporters on Bigfooty - nothing like that to ease the pain of 1 finals win in a decade.
Happy for you that Carlton are the most successful club in VFL history because their modern history - your adult life is atrocious
I missed the point? Calling me delusional by arguing an opinion (which turns out to be yours) over facts and you think I missed the point?

Q lynch gone to pies