QAFA (A) 2015 season

Yes that is true i'm looking more 14 going into 15
thanks QAFL update

Pine rivers - No
Griffith Moorooka - Yes (wouldn't say it would be huge but enough to change the personnel from cellar dwellers to premiers)
Bond - Unsure
SE Suns - Yes?
Redcliffe - No
Beenleigh - i would hope not
Wynnum - Key position players?
Park Ridge - Some players
Carrara - 2015 maybe
Victoria Point - Not at this level

thanks QAFL update

Pine rivers - No
Griffith Moorooka - Yes (wouldn't say it would be huge but enough to change the personnel from cellar dwellers to premiers)
Bond - Unsure
SE Suns - Yes?
Redcliffe - No
Beenleigh - i would hope not
Wynnum - Key position players?
Park Ridge - Some players
Carrara - 2015 maybe
Victoria Point - Not at this level

Might have to head down to gm and get me some of that $$$

Good luck mate we've reached our cap I can't believe they only give us 250k to spend on players . And I still have to buy my own boots ... I know bucky I should ask my brother I get it that your aware my brother is my coach your a bright man .

you have to buy boots!? and they say Abotts Manis Island is classed as torture against human rights.... Wait NP1 is the brother of GM coach?? why has this not been beatin to death yet???...

I guess he has made a name for himself so he doesn't need to be known as the coaches brother

Not trying to open a pandoras box here guys - and not assuming it is a problem just for this division (wouldn't know) but when clubs spend what they don't have or can't create then that is irresponsible and egotistical by everyone involved at the footy club I think. Its sort of a "stiff shit to the future, we work in the now and I don't have to worry about what happens next year".

Yet Morningside attract players due to culture and success, without rolling out the cheque book.

go figure

Morningside do pay player its just not as much as other clubs in the comp. in the early 2000s when they won three flags in a row they beat teams that payed double what they would have and this has continued since.

The reason why they have strong culture is that Morningside have a strong junior club with the best local kids coming into the senior club every year and this happens because the club provides a pathway from junior footy to senior footy at a highest level bar the neafl.

This.
This is model I believe most clubs want, although unrealistic for many

This.
This is model I believe most clubs want, although unrealistic for many

any club with youth coming up the ranks can provide a pathway into senior footy as long as both the senior club and junior club work together and in doing so create that club culture we all want our clubs to have.

I agree Tenny - why is it unrealistic do you think Footy 1st? I know not every club can compete at QAFL level but generally it is feasible to create pathways for the younger guys coming through.

Definitely feasible for many clubs, however talking to some guys involved with juniors there seems to be a deficiency in youth levels from 13's to 18's. As mentioned earlier when talented young footballers have to leave to continue playing or are encouraged to try higher div clubs then the deficiency grows. Also lower div clubs need to be more than competitive in their comp to attract the kids to build the pathway. It seems plenty of clubs can get 50 - 70 senior footballers but can't get 26 U18's. I think Redcliffe have U16's & U17's this year so hopefully the retention rate is high.

Spot on, I know the Buffs have battled hard for years to try and get an U18's off the ground, and simply could not get the numbers.

lot more competing interests for kids 13-18 then when most of us were that age it appears.

I don't know the complete in's and out's of the situation but didn't surfers and southport have to have a combined 18's team last year? If this was a second team for both clubs then fair enough - but if clubs with that level of structured pathways cant keep kids interested, what hope does a regional tier 2 or 3 club have?

find the talk about players getting paid interesting at all levels - sure there are some mercenaries around at all levels - and there will always be the argument that mateship trumps cash to a degree - but if someone offered you serious cash to do something you would do for free anyway and a chance of a successful team most would seriously consider it.

cant help but think that some of the angst towards this comes from blokes who weren't / aren't the ones being offered the coin.

I can be contacted via PM to discuss above serious coin - have car and will travel if you agree to fill it up - all QLD considered haha

What's all the news on the first round of the Pre Season Cup games ???

Noticed on Facebook that the Woodsmen are seriously struggling for numbers. Redcliffe will have a day out I reckon. Will do to the Woodsmen what Moreton Bay did to them. Should be a good day of footy at Burpengary, Aspley v Moreton Bay first, then Aspley v Redlands NEAFL game, then the Woodsmen v Redcliffe game.

What's all the news on the first round of the Pre Season Cup games ???

Noticed on Facebook that the Woodsmen are seriously struggling for numbers. Redcliffe will have a day out I reckon. Will do to the Woodsmen what Moreton Bay did to them. Should be a good day of footy at Burpengary, Aspley v Moreton Bay first, then Aspley v Redlands NEAFL game, then the Woodsmen v Redcliffe game.

I think if you see the Redcliffe Facebook page they will be trying to everything like moreton bay by wearing Lions guernseys due to an apparent jumper clash

A Friday night team scheduled to play at 4:30pm on a Saturday further away than they would travel all season just for a practice match. Should anyone be surprised that the Woodsmen are struggling for numbers?

The mind boggles at the stupidity of people within AFLQ sometimes. Why isn't Thommo 42 in here whinging about it like he normally does?

A Friday night team scheduled to play at 4:30pm on a Saturday further away than they would travel all season just for a practice match. Should anyone be surprised that the Woodsmen are struggling for numbers?

The mind boggles at the stupidity of people within AFLQ sometimes. Why isn't Thommo 42 in here whinging about it like he normally does?
Bit harsh there mate. I'm no huge fan of theirs as, yes, they make some calls that are hard to fathom but not sure if this one is entirely their fault. Plenty of teams in AFLQ aren't playing in this pre season comp and I'm sure Woodsmen weren't dragged kicking and screaming into it. They would have been aware of the day/times of the games (it has been in the planning for months) and if they thought they would struggle they could have easily opted out earlier. Sorry, can't blame the AFLQ for that one.

Seeing as i got pinged in this thread by the mystery man, i may as well comment as the Woodsmen President.

No, we weren't dragged kicking and screaming into the comp. I got a call asking if we were interested and my response was yes.

We were to play Coomera at 10am at Mt Gravatt on the draft draw. Based on that, we agreed to participate. Especially as we are affiliated with the Magpies and they were playing the Vultures that day. There is actually a large Western Districts reunion on at Wests commencing at 6pm that many are attending.

We were then moved to Burpengary at 430, which is significantly different to Mt Gravatt at 10am just 10 minutes down the road. Especially as our playing group is made up of old blokes with families etc.

I requested a change and was knocked back. I indicated we would now struggle for numbers as a result of the time and location change but it was fairly clear that pulling out wouldn't be a good idea. So here we are.

I personally can't play due to the change and I'm certainly not the only bloke in that boat.

We were confident of getting 20-22 blokes together for a 10am game down the road. Now we will be heading up the highway with ~18 for a 430 start.

I don't endorse QAFLs comments, and i was happy to cop it, as in hindsight we shouldn't have agreed to play - but the goalposts did move a bit, and we're not as flexible as perhaps we should be. Me included.

QAFA (A) 2015 season