QAFA (A) 2015 season

And the Suns?
The Suns have No plans to go up next season, a couple of seasons away from promotion and a lot of work still to be done on and off the field to be in a position to do so, remembering they are a new club in their first year with 75% of the playing group not from the old Logan. Bond however I feel are ready and will go up at the end of the year, this is the first year they have 2 teams, recruiting will not be a problem for them, they will always have a young list with a sprinkling of Victorians, and have a good football budget to achieve sustainable success, i think they will become the Gold Coast version of UQ and in time and become a power in the division above.

I think at most only 1 team would be considered to go up.

There is still a considerable difference in the leagues.

Personally I don't think Bond have the depth just yet - and questions similar about Griffith with both teams reserves possibly not going to play finals.

Cooly were very adamant this year they weren't going anywhere but again results may dictate that decision is taken out of their hands.

Last 2 teams to go up from this comp in Coomera and Nambour have found it tough. Coomera's seniors are building momentum but they were forced to field a 2's team with 10 ring ins on Saturday as blokes didn't want to travel to Robina (from what I was told) and Nambour have also found qfa North difficult, although personally I think that's more a result of playing in a div with 3 other sunny coast teams.

Have been through promotion, relegation and then promotion with Robina over 10 years and it's often not as simple as winning a comp and then going up.

The problem for a side like Nambour going up is that they've joined QFA North. QFA North may not have the depth of QFA South, but the likes of Mayne, Noosa and Maroochydore are much stronger than any of the QFA South Clubs in 2015. Nambour would not get the touch ups its getting from those 3 clubs against the QFA south Clubs.

I think there is certainly a strong argument that QFA should be QFA A and QFA B instead of South and North.

A competition consisting of Mayne, Noosa, Maroochy, Burleigh, Coorparoo, Kenmore, Yeronga and Springwood would be sensational.

You could then have QFA B made up of the better QAFA Clubs interested in going up, and also the lower QFA clubs like Moreton, Nambour, Cooly, Robina, Coomera, Alex hills etc.

Realistically, UQ should be in QFA A as well - they are non competitive in QAFL

The problem for a side like Nambour going up is that they've joined QFA North. QFA North may not have the depth of QFA South, but the likes of Mayne, Noosa and Maroochydore are much stronger than any of the QFA South Clubs in 2015. Nambour would not get the touch ups its getting from those 3 clubs against the QFA south Clubs.

I think there is certainly a strong argument that QFA should be QFA A and QFA B instead of South and North.

A competition consisting of Mayne, Noosa, Maroochy, Burleigh, Coorparoo, Kenmore, Yeronga and Springwood would be sensational.

You could then have QFA B made up of the better QAFA Clubs interested in going up, and also the lower QFA clubs like Moreton, Nambour, Cooly, Robina, Coomera, Alex hills etc.

Realistically, UQ should be in QFA A as well - they are non competitive in QAFL

What is with the location based divisions anyway ?? Travelling an hour for a footy game is nothing, and if it really was a problem for a club, hire a bus and all go together. We all know how good bus trips are !!! ;)

why hire one when you can buy one! You wont get one with a stripper pole, bose system and roof awning from Avis!!

QAFL - fair point on nambour - but reality is QFA north teams were "weaker" then the south teams in the original div 1 - the 3 teams you mentioned were all former PHC teams. Caloundra, Aspley, wynnum, cab and kedron hadnt played at the pointy end of the finals for 3+ years minimum. UQ going up threw that comp out. realistically if UQ were in that comp you would have south with an even 5 as it stands this year and north with an even 4 teams.

unfortunately the nature of footy is cyclical but no one has the crystal ball for how long that cycle takes - 2 years ago robina played in a grand final after being undefeated all year and now we are struggling. likewise griffith were average for a number of years in this comp and now could find themselves in a position to play for back to back, yet cab/moreton bay have struggled in both comps for the best part of 7 or 8 years.

Point is that sure there could / will be small tweaks to the current comps at years end, but i think proposing / hoping for another major overhaul of amatuer footy in qld is a knee jerk reaction based on 25 games of evidence.

agree, but splitting Div 2 up geographically while Div 3 goes from the Gold Coast to the Sunny Coast doesn't make any sense.

Thats my only real issue with the re-structure, as well as believeing their should be Sun coast representation in the QAFL

I think at most only 1 team would be considered to go up.

There is still a considerable difference in the leagues.

Personally I don't think Bond have the depth just yet - and questions similar about Griffith with both teams reserves possibly not going to play finals.

Cooly were very adamant this year they weren't going anywhere but again results may dictate that decision is taken out of their hands.

Last 2 teams to go up from this comp in Coomera and Nambour have found it tough. Coomera's seniors are building momentum but they were forced to field a 2's team with 10 ring ins on Saturday as blokes didn't want to travel to Robina (from what I was told) and Nambour have also found qfa North difficult, although personally I think that's more a result of playing in a div with 3 other sunny coast teams.

Have been through promotion, relegation and then promotion with Robina over 10 years and it's often not as simple as winning a comp and then going up.
It's not easy going up a division, but nor should it be. Any club that thinks they can step up a division and have instant success would be kidding themselves but that shouldn't be " the" deterrent for them to take the step up. The biggest incentive of going up would be to give your juniors a path via their own club, to play at a higher level rather than leave at the end of their junior days to play at another higher level club ( because their own club's seniors are still in a lower div ). This is how clubs grow stronger, by keeping their best juniors, not losing them to others ( afl draftees aside ).
I do agree that only one club per year should go up though.

it is always a vexed question - and I think the AFLQ are sometimes smashed unfairly for the decisions they make albeit some don't make a lot of sense at times! But I think it is stupid for any comp to have 7 teams unless it is in the bush somewhere and teams are already travelling 300km to play. In the SE corner it is stupid. Now Kedron falling out didn't help and sometimes clubs are the worst offenders here bc they bs to the AFLQ about their relative strength for the year coming up. Doesn't help for organisation.
From what i can tell the QAFL is stacking up as a decent comp, Uni excepted and this was always going to be the case with no junior set up, many guys on short term "leases" being their term at UQ itself as a student, and no $$ to spend on players. Will never really compete and was always a surprise to see them jump 2 standards to do so. Their natural fit is in the level below imo.
I have to confess I would have nfi as to who is in QAFA A that would be capable of moving up but the comment that GM have lost very few games in 2 years tends to be a good criteria but I know the AFLQ want to see more than on field success.
I'm of the opinion that a 12 team comp would be a really good one made up of a combined Nth & Sth group with those who don't step into this comp falling into the QAFA B depending on location. Couple of good sides in Zillmere and Kedron on the north side, Pine Rivers, Redcliffe, that would all suit a club from the sunny coast

Well Moro I'm devastated... I can't beleive this could happen to me/us... Who do you old stagers have then, can't beleive the best 2 umps aren't on 2 v 4??

Well mighty The "old boy" and my self agree with you (although many would not with me anyway) but we have been called up a division. There are a number of the Lime team who are going to the Gabba for the game which would probably be the reason for us stepping up. I was really looking forward to the blocker experience but I will have to wait. Is it true Blocker keeps a record of the free kick count each game???. I hope to catch up with you and your boys sometime soon

there has to be a small degree of irony in the fact that the most ämatuer"of all leagues (with reference to no one getting paid) is QFA A yet it is the league that requires its teams to travel the most!

SMY - do you see any of the North teams in a position to return to the top league? would Noosa or Mayne or Maroochy apply and meet the pilars as required?
I dont believe either Burleigh or Springwood would apply at this point but happy to stand corrected.

would imagine Kedron would look to get back to a 2 team league next year whether thats QFA North or QFA A remains to be seen - precedence of Caloundra going back to North after div 4 but Wynnum going through QFA A.

QAFL fan - in your knowledge of QFA B would any clubs have an appetite to go to 2 teams and compete in QFA A?

Agree in general that AFLQ can often get hammered unfairly - overall i think they do ok - but i do have an issue with the league fees being so expensive - I get insurances and all that - but slugging clubs a fixed amount for umpires in competitons where one grade has to supply the full compliment from club volunteers doesnt sit well with me - Moro you blokes must be on a packet!!

there has to be a small degree of irony in the fact that the most ämatuer"of all leagues (with reference to no one getting paid) is QFA A yet it is the league that requires its teams to travel the most!

SMY - do you see any of the North teams in a position to return to the top league? would Noosa or Mayne or Maroochy apply and meet the pilars as required?
I dont believe either Burleigh or Springwood would apply at this point but happy to stand corrected.

would imagine Kedron would look to get back to a 2 team league next year whether thats QFA North or QFA A remains to be seen - precedence of Caloundra going back to North after div 4 but Wynnum going through QFA A.

QAFL fan - in your knowledge of QFA B would any clubs have an appetite to go to 2 teams and compete in QFA A?

Agree in general that AFLQ can often get hammered unfairly - overall i think they do ok - but i do have an issue with the league fees being so expensive - I get insurances and all that - but slugging clubs a fixed amount for umpires in competitons where one grade has to supply the full compliment from club volunteers doesnt sit well with me - Moro you blokes must be on a packet!!

My old mate BOC - I would have to answer .......... No we are not. I think it's unfair that AFLQ charge you for reserves umpires if you are supplying club umpires but that is only my opinion and i am not even sure if this is the case. Also my understanding is AFLQ only charge the clubs part of what we get paid and they top up the rest. I am happy to be corrected if this is wrong. I personally believe I am worth double what I get paid anyway:)

Only since you included commentary into your repertoire :D

Jesus you blokes calm down on the ump humpin.

Back to Bizness, where is that fat cat Bucky? Surely he has the gahoonas to come back and name and shame himself?

Buckrodgers where you gooone? Are you scared?

#sunshavetheguns
I am sure he will be back when his mum gives him back his computer.

Moro my understand from the breakdown of league fees were the portion allocated to "umpires" had remained the same despite the league only providing senior compliment.

I reckon we have got our club umpire set up completely wrong - our bloke is harder on us then the opposition to not be accused of cheating - we have clearly strayed there as f*#k me we have had some putrid opposition club umpires!!

I think I found buck....

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    88.3 KB · Views: 7
Big week of finals shaping games
Roosters V Pirates Roosters in a close one
Suns V Carrara Carrara by 30 points
Pine Rivers V Victoria Point Victoria Point by 20 points
Wynnum V Redcliffe Tigers by 12 points
Ipswich V Bond Bond in a big blow out against the disappointing Eagles

My understanding is that Jimboomba have been trying to go up for years and will continue to do so. No question they have the talent in their 1's, its just a numbers game and being able to field reserves.

Of the other one team QAFA B clubs, I'd imagine Collingwood Park would hold long term ambitions to move up through the ranks - but they are a long way off it. No idea on Ferny Grove, and I think we're all pretty certain the Woodsmen will be staying put.

Roosters V Pirates Roosters in a close one
Suns V Carrara Carrara by 30 points
Pine Rivers V Victoria Point Victoria Point by 20 points
Wynnum V Redcliffe Tigers by 12 points
Ipswich V Bond Bond in a big blow out against the disappointing Eagles
Solid tips but
the roosters will smash the pirates if its dry
Suns will win by 10 goals, #sunshavetheguns
The cliffe
Bondage by 237 points.