• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

QAFA (A) 2016 Season

Also good win by the Wynnum ressies today, kicking into the wind in the last quarter yet ran away with the game.
Well done to the boys!!

Seniors:
GM vs Redcliffe - Tigers by 30
Kedron vs Ipswich - Lions by 80
SES vs Park Ridge - Suns by 14
Vic Point vs Pine Rivers - Sharks by 30
Wynnum vs Beenleigh - Buffaloes by 3

Reserves:
Tigers by 40
Lions by 50
Suns by 2
Sharks by 20
Buffaloes by 12

Well done footy first got the seniors game margin exactly right. Bit out in the ressies though!!

The Suns
This should certainly be match of the round. Suns the absolute benchmark with Kedron and Pirates to find out where they sit.

Jeez it would be awesome if the Buffs made finals.

The Suns V Pirates scores were level until 14 minutes into last before Suns kicked 3 late goals. Pirates are certain top 3 and will challenge at the business end.
50 knot winds blowing across the ground didn't help the quality of the game or assist the big forwards.
Beenleigh holding on to get the points against Wynnum despite only kicking one goal in second half, you don't see that happen too often.

The Suns

The Suns V Pirates scores were level until 14 minutes into last before Suns kicked 3 late goals. Pirates are certain top 3 and will challenge at the business end.
50 knot winds blowing across the ground didn't help the quality of the game or assist the big forwards.
Beenleigh holding on to get the points against Wynnum despite only kicking one goal in second half, you don't see that happen too often.

Sounds like a good game there Karma.

Gusty winds never make for an enjoyable spectacle however.

Your man Mcintyre was well held so it seems. Only kicking the one

Pirates full back has now kept the competitions two leading goal kickers in Mcintyre and Fitzgibbon to one and three respectively in the last two weeks. Good effort that

Sounds like a good game there Karma.

Gusty winds never make for an enjoyable spectacle however.

Your man Mcintyre was well held so it seems. Only kicking the one

Pirates full back has now kept the competitions two leading goal kickers in Mcintyre and Fitzgibbon to one and three respectively in the last two weeks. Good effort that

If you paid to watch skilful footy you'd be asking for your money back, if you paid to watch a great contest you'd walk away happy.
Yeah Mac only kicked one goal, the first of the match, kicked 5 points. Very scrappy game, didn't suit the big fella's, the ball in the air was curving around like a boomerang, fittingly for indigenous round. Pirates tall forwards didn't fair well either after kicking bags the last few weeks.
Good effort to keep Fitzgibbon to only 3 the week prior, his lowest tally for the season.

Haha you have not seen anything yet till you see the absolute rubbish the Pirates Umpire served up Saturday in the first game...he should be ashamed of the way he performed.

Taking pot shots at volunteers? nice one mate.
Is it because he yellow carded your mate for taking swings at people? Ive seen rusty gates swing cleaner than that bloke haha!

Onto the footy, suns were fantastic in ressies really know how to use their large home ground. Number 7 was the difference on the day, had we manned him up it may have been a better result for us.

Agree with Karma, conditions were atrocious for the 1st's. Must have been as frustrating to play as it was to watch!

Did the Suns not win the reserves?

The umpires in the seniors probably squared up anyway Logan.

No use complaining as we now know it gets you no where. We haven't been on the right side of umpires ledger in any game this year.

We have just learnt to get on with it now as not worth wasting your energy or effort on it.

But agree think they need to improve across the board.

Umpiring would generally match the standard of footy, no?
That's like saying all artwork would generally match it's price tag.
Whilst artwork is subjective, the rules to be umpired are not. There is a window for interpretation, however there are actual rules...laws.

Umpiring would generally match the standard of footy, no?

Not necessarily. Why would you say that?

I would of loved to have put a gps tracker on the fat beer gutted umpire that umpired the seniors game Pirates Vs Suns. He was the most useless thing you will ever see getting around. He barely deviated from the centre square and rather than running towards pack for a ball up he just simply plucked a free kick or called play on until it was scrapped out.

The league needs to have a level of standard for fitness for these paid umpires they send out. Something like be able to run a 400m lap in 90 seconds or something easy like that. Woeful

There'd be many players at this level who would struggle to run 400m in 90 seconds and we don't stop them from getting out there and having a go. All I was saying is that an average standard of footy would naturally have an average standard of umpiring. Footy rules are incredibly subjective.

Highly doubt that statement, I would buy you a carton if you could find 1 senior player who couldnt run a lap in under 90 seconds.

This is the second lowest division in Brisbane. Yes the standard has improved, but let's be real, if you think you're going to get quality umpires week in week out you're dreaming. Personally, I thought the umpiring for both games at Logan yesterday was pretty good!

Not necessarily. Why would you say that?

I would of loved to have put a gps tracker on the fat beer gutted umpire that umpired the seniors game Pirates Vs Suns. He was the most useless thing you will ever see getting around. He barely deviated from the centre square and rather than running towards pack for a ball up he just simply plucked a free kick or called play on until it was scrapped out.

The league needs to have a level of standard for fitness for these paid umpires they send out. Something like be able to run a 400m lap in 90 seconds or something easy like that. Woeful
You should be an an ump jack . Your bit of a flog so you would probably fit right in with them .

This is the second lowest division in Brisbane. Yes the standard has improved, but let's be real, if you think you're going to get quality umpires week in week out you're dreaming. Personally, I thought the umpiring for both games at Logan yesterday was pretty good!

Mate I understand what you are saying. But when you have an umpire arguing and threatening the crowd you know he has lost the plot and does not deserve to be there. To then take his frustrations out on the team on the park is just very pathetic and small!! It truly was embarrassing.
But worse then that it is that type of umpiring that causes frustration for the players and can then have an impact by having things flare up on the ground. which thankfully did not happen on the weekend much to the credit of both teams.

Haha you have not seen anything yet till you see the absolute rubbish the Pirates Umpire served up Saturday in the first game...he should be ashamed of the way he performed.

Yeah i agree it is a different story in the ressies where you do have volunteers. Again can be very frustrating but hey you just have to accept that because they are volunteers. Not great umpiring in our ressies game either but such is life there.
But when people are being paid they do need to be held accountable. Players are so why not the umpires?
How hard is it just to be consistent though? I think that is all any player or team ever wants. A person who calls it as they see it but does so consistently throughout the whole game.

Yeah i agree it is a different story in the ressies where you do have volunteers. Again can be very frustrating but hey you just have to accept that because they are volunteers. Not great umpiring in our ressies game either but such is life there.
But when people are being paid they do need to be held accountable. Players are so why not the umpires?
How hard is it just to be consistent though? I think that is all any player or team ever wants. A person who calls it as they see it but does so consistently throughout the whole game.

Everyone should take a leaf out of Coorparoos book, they have their president doing the umpiring. Fair bloke too. Never heard a team so quiet after dubious decisions paid against them haha.

As for saying the umpireing matches the standard. I have played QAFA A, QAFA B and QFA and at senior levels of these three comps share the same umpires. In fact believe i've had Moro at all three levels

Everyone should take a leaf out of Coorparoos book, they have their president doing the umpiring. Fair bloke too. Never heard a team so quiet after dubious decisions paid against them haha.

As for saying the umpireing matches the standard. I have played QAFA A, QAFA B and QFA and at senior levels of these three comps share the same umpires. In fact believe i've had Moro at all three levels

I have no problems with the umpires as they are only out there having a go and without them we don't have a game or a comp. would be pretty ordinary and dubious competition if we had club umpires officiating seniors every weekend.

In saying that we are paying a lot of money for all clubs to play in this competition and if we have certain issues they need to be addressed. My main problem is that one umpire at one end will be deadly with his interpretation of say holding the ball, yet the bloke at the other end won't reward a good tackle for holding the ball. So one side can have an advantage if they are being rewarded in their forward line and the other forward line can't buy s free kick.

Surely with the age and seniority of some of the umpires they can get together either between goals kicked or at quarter time and discuss any huge differences in their interpretations. That is why players and crowd get so frustrated as they don't change or adjust throughout the course of the game to even get anywhere being on same page.

And when an umpire sends a team manager over and says if the crowd continues to heckle him he will pay free kicks against our side. How is that in the spirit or laws of the game . Heaven help him in front of 80,000 at MCG trying to pull same stunt.

I know and fully understand we can't umpire bash but they do need some accountability otherwise how do they ever improve.

I have no problems with the umpires as they are only out there having a go and without them we don't have a game or a comp. would be pretty ordinary and dubious competition if we had club umpires officiating seniors every weekend.

In saying that we are paying a lot of money for all clubs to play in this competition and if we have certain issues they need to be addressed. My main problem is that one umpire at one end will be deadly with his interpretation of say holding the ball, yet the bloke at the other end won't reward a good tackle for holding the ball. So one side can have an advantage if they are being rewarded in their forward line and the other forward line can't buy s free kick.

Surely with the age and seniority of some of the umpires they can get together either between goals kicked or at quarter time and discuss any huge differences in their interpretations. That is why players and crowd get so frustrated as they don't change or adjust throughout the course of the game to even get anywhere being on same page.

And when an umpire sends a team manager over and says if the crowd continues to heckle him he will pay free kicks against our side. How is that in the spirit or laws of the game . Heaven help him in front of 80,000 at MCG trying to pull same stunt.

I know and fully understand we can't umpire bash but they do need some accountability otherwise how do they ever improve.

obviously i'm not saying club Umpire should do seniors. Also i am not saying that the standard is acceptable just stating that there arent divisions of umpires for anything lower than QAFL. And the umpire shouldn't approach a crowd, only the bench i'd assume. Other wise im paying a flash mob to come to my next game dressed in opposition colours to just roast the umpires haha

However in the ever growing game of AFL there is one number that is staying stagnant and thats umpire numbers. I understand people can become frustrated by wavering disciplines of decisions at each end of the ground. Its no wonder kids drop off umpiring at a young age when they are copping abuse in an under 10s game.

It's the old true saying "Without umps there isn't a game" and if you feel you can do a better job by all means get accredited and make a difference. If you're not part of the solution you're part of the problem.

agree that AFLQ should have random checks. just like a retailer has a secret shopper to ensure high quality of service

swings and roundabouts blocker.

Umpires can be no good, but they are no good for both teams.

Don't try and tell us that every bad umpire out there just happens to give Park Ridge the raw end of the stick!

agree that AFLQ should have random checks. just like a retailer has a secret shopper to ensure high quality of service

there is a feedback form that clubs are encouraged to fill out each week.

Unfortunately clubs only bother after they have lost a game and felt it was the umpires fault, which completely undermines the feeddback process

I'm sure if you filled it out every week, win or loss - then the one time you felt you did get roasted - someone may actually pay some attention.

Boy who cried wolf and all...

swings and roundabouts blocker.

Umpires can be no good, but they are no good for both teams.

Don't try and tell us that every bad umpire out there just happens to give Park Ridge the raw end of the stick!

Absolutely swings and roundabouts, but we have had more swings this year than roundabouts! Tongue in cheek.

It is an issue of getting young blokes into umpiring and staying. We find it harder and harder to get kids to do the junior umpiring because of abusive parents in U9'd & U10's where they play for absolutely nothing.

Not sure how much more education AFL can do at junior level to combat these type of parents.

I am no saint when it comes to bagging the umpires at senior level and know I should be better than that, but I always go out of my way after the game to have a beer and ensure them it's not personal .

How are the Senior Umpire numbers this year QAFL compared to last year? Have we had a significant drop off?

from my understanding, umpire numbers have improved year on year for a while now.

I know the QAFA B competition gets 2 AFL umpires for pretty much every game now, apart from Saturday's down at Jimboomba and thats probably a geographical issue more than an availability issue.

I've seen some pretty average ones this year, that are clearly new to it. But I haven't seen any clearly bias or decide a game

QAFA (A) 2016 Season