QAFA (A) 2016 Season

Only 22s off your PB Thommo!! :) Good on you and well done. Not sure of your footy background Thommo but if you have played a bit previously then yep, you no doubt were going to be able to do it.

Been playing ammos for nearly 10 years.

Prior to that I played professional rugby union.

Grew up playing aussie rules until i was 15 and moved to QLD and went to private school and was stupidly sucked into playing Rugby.

Im a bit of a disappointment in the family mate, as i come from a long unbroken line of league footballers.

I do keep reasonably fit though and was confident of breaking the 90 second barrier, despite tipping scales well over 100kg these days!

I think you will find most guys in the QAFA can do it if i can

I'm surprised bigfooty hasn't gone into meltdown yet given we have had 4.6mls so far today with more to come!! Will they call it early and pre-emtively or let them play??? Big questions that need answering!! ;)

Whats the cut off for AFLQ to call the games off or can it be tomorrow morning? Surely cob or something logical?
I only ask as I have a sportsmans dinner on tonight with unlimited refreshments...

Whats the cut off for AFLQ to call the games off or can it be tomorrow morning? Surely cob or something logical?
I only ask as I have a sportsmans dinner on tonight with unlimited refreshments...
Isn't sportsmans that gay bar in the valley ... Enjoy your refreshments

don't you play QAFA twos? i'd be firmly in the get sloshed camp if so - it's a pace that can surely be played massively hungover

Grew up playing aussie rules until i was 15 and moved to QLD and went to private school and was stupidly sucked into playing Rugby.

Im a bit of a disappointment in the family mate, as i come from a long unbroken line of league footballers.

I do keep reasonably fit though and was confident of breaking the 90 second barrier, despite tipping scales well over 100kg these days!

Think you may overrate quite a few of the player in the comp then Thommo - you sound like you are reasonably fit and probably just heavy vs fat. Anyway I got you off your arse.. :)

Took up the "Thommo challenge " and ran it in 82 seconds, completely ruined at the finish. And I'm 48 years old, 6ft 3 in the old scale and 98 kg. And I'm no runner. So I'd say you were a little off in your estimation smy.

Fancy calling off a game of footy because of some rain. Who would have thought, rain in winter.
This is one of the many reasons QLD footy is a laughing stock compared to the rest of the county.

Let them play !!

Took up the "Thommo challenge " and ran it in 82 seconds, completely ruined at the finish. And I'm 48 years old, 6ft 3 in the old scale and 98 kg. And I'm no runner. So I'd say you were a little off in your estimation smy.
Haha. Well done twinkle. Please don't go killing yourselves guys!!
Maybe I was and should have qualified it with 2 in a row with a 5min recovery....

All this chest beating about calling games off. Laughing stock etc. qld footy is actually highly respected in Australia. If any footy is struggling it is WA footy who are lucky to get more than 10 kids drafted these days.
It's not just about the grounds, it's also about the dangers associated with getting to the ovals. Woken up this morning and can't believe that noosa's colts are going to travel 300km round trip to play in Brisbane in this weather. The games not 10km away.
And tbh I'm not sure what's gained by playing footy in bog heaps. Fortunately we get very few up here.

Fancy calling off a game of footy because of some rain. Who would have thought, rain in winter.
This is one of the many reasons QLD footy is a laughing stock compared to the rest of the county.

Let them play !!

Whilst I agree it appears a bit soft calling games off it is more the councils who close the ovals and not AFLQ or the clubs.

Spoke to Pine Rivers President this morning and he was still keen to play and said ground was fine but Moreton Council closed the oval.

Not much you can do when they hold the cards. Good day for team bonding in the pub for Pirates today.

Let them play !!

im sure we have had this argument before as well. Some rain??? One thing to play a rain affected game. Totally another thing to be playing in a swimming pool.
Horrible footy and just tears up the grounds. Totally agree with smy as well in regards to travel safety.
We have a bye in place for these sorts of event so why complain.
I am actually enjoying the day off!!

QAFA (A) 2016 Season