• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

QAFA (A) 2016 Season

Grainger, valdes, ling , watts, pearson, fryer all premiership players. Pretty good ressies side you have got there blocker . But wowwee mitch vasterink from springwood is pending . That could be the biggest get in the comp to date.

Some quality there Blocker, now I can see why all the love on the forum is for the Pirates, The end of season trip might be a month later this year with those quality inclusions.

It is sad to see what has happened at the Chooks, but we ain't gonna stand around and not have a dip at whoever is available on the market like most clubs.

Yes WGO we have landed a few nice types, but means nothing unless it relates to winning games of footy.

We have a solid list as do a few other clubs, we just need to produce now.

Talk is over for us, can't wait to get out there next week and get some footy going again.

I sincere feel for Webby and his club as he is a champion bloke, but they won't be the first or last club this sort of thing happens to.

something must be seriously up for someone like Grainger to be leaving.

They are obviously going to QAFA B now!

You could suggest that with up to 20 players transfering out of the Chook pen that they may even need the UQ left overs for a QAFA B team

Have not seen any transfers in to the Pen

It is sad to see what has happened at the Chooks, but we ain't gonna stand around and not have a dip at whoever is available on the market like most clubs.

Yes WGO we have landed a few nice types, but means nothing unless it relates to winning games of footy.

We have a solid list as do a few other clubs, we just need to produce now.

Talk is over for us, can't wait to get out there next week and get some footy going again.

I sincere feel for Webby and his club as he is a champion bloke, but they won't be the first or last club this sort of thing happens to.

I just hope you submiited a Permission to Interview form for each player

A common theme on here is that having a good culture is the key to being a successful club. I'm more inclined to believe that having the best list is the real key indicator. Seems like some clubs are starting to think the same way. " Culture " is an overused, warm and fuzzy word that gets thrown around far too often and, like the word " loyalty " is seldom seen at alot of clubs. The chooks are a classic case in point. Did they win the flag 2 seasons ago because they had a great culture or because they had the most talented list ? You would have to think the latter was the case when you consider their current situation and before you all start flinging shit my way, I'm not having a crack at Moorooka. It has happened at other clubs too.

HA that's comical

I am glad you saw the funny side of it. From what I am told there wouldn't be many/any clubs who abide by the rules when it comes to talking to players from other clubs. Not having a crack at any club just that AFLQ put these policies in place and no one follows them

A common theme on here is that having a good culture is the key to being a successful club. I'm more inclined to believe that having the best list is the real key indicator. Seems like some clubs are starting to think the same way. " Culture " is an overused, warm and fuzzy word that gets thrown around far too often and, like the word " loyalty " is seldom seen at alot of clubs. The chooks are a classic case in point. Did they win the flag 2 seasons ago because they had a great culture or because they had the most talented list ? You would have to think the latter was the case when you consider their current situation and before you all start flinging shit my way, I'm not having a crack at Moorooka. It has happened at other clubs too.

Success can be defined in different ways. To some people winning a flag equals success. To other people it's about having an environment where people enjoy spending their time at the club and want to keep coming back. One requires a talented playing list, the other requires good club "culture".

Just my $0.02, but I think the ideal approach is to have both of those things working hand-in-hand. It's all well and good to win a flag by assembling a magnificent playing list, but if you don't have great culture then they're not likely to hang around for very long. It's also all well and good to go about building up a great culture at your club, but if there isn't also something attracting talented players then a poor win/loss ratio is going to make it difficult to keep players. That type of sustained success only really comes from getting the on-field and off-field elements of your club working efficiently.

Victoria Point have pick up a very good spread of talent, sleeping Giants?
Wade Hurst is off to Coomera after years with Calamvale/ Pirates, what's happened their?

Those guys that are cleared to coomera actually happened last year for 1 game I can assure you wade and the others that say destination coomera are in fact not. Wade is an integral part of the pirates and is chomping to get out there again .

Success can be defined in different ways. To some people winning a flag equals success. To other people it's about having an environment where people enjoy spending their time at the club and want to keep coming back. One requires a talented playing list, the other requires good club "culture".

Just my $0.02, but I think the ideal approach is to have both of those things working hand-in-hand. It's all well and good to win a flag by assembling a magnificent playing list, but if you don't have great culture then they're not likely to hang around for very long. It's also all well and good to go about building up a great culture at your club, but if there isn't also something attracting talented players then a poor win/loss ratio is going to make it difficult to keep players. That type of sustained success only really comes from getting the on-field and off-field elements of your club working efficiently.
Going by your comments re players not sticking around long if the cultures not right, I take it that you agree that having the best list is the way to win a flag because players have left that club left, right and centre. In other words, they didn't / don't have the right culture.
Agree with your comments re sustained success though.

they also had an outstanding coach, that has now departed.

that has to play a role.
I'm sure they had many people who performed outstandingly in many roles that year. I'm sure the coach was well aware of the importance of a great list over the need for a strong culture. You would hate to think that the wheels are wobbly just because the coach has moved on. A strong culture is supposed to ensure that the club doesn't falter if an individual leaves.

We had a few boys help Coomera out last game of the year. Just haven't sorted out or AFLQ haven't updated. Should have only been permit anyway not clearance

Wow I think a few must have been lost in the mail

Name, names and I will check it out. But we have a pretty good system in place that prevents anyone from training before the permission to interview is approved or times out?

If you going to question our club, give me a name?

Going by your comments re players not sticking around long if the cultures not right, I take it that you agree that having the best list is the way to win a flag because players have left that club left, right and centre. In other words, they didn't / don't have the right culture.
Agree with your comments re sustained success though.

Well, yeah... It shouldn't really be a surprise to anyone that you can't win a flag without a quality playing list? The point I was making is that, at least in my mind, winning a flag is only one part of being successful.

Some people just want to play footy with their mates. Winning a premiership would just be a bonus to them. Other people want to win a flag. They don't care if they're playing with blokes that they can't stand spending time with. I think most of us would like both of those things and so we go around aiming to win a flag with our mates. With "x" number of teams in the league and only one premiership to be won each year, however, that's easier said than done.

If your club is just about winning a flag at all costs then that might get you short-term "success" in the form of a premiership, but what's the point if the club folds in the following years or is left as a shell of its former self because it threw everything at chasing that momentary glory? Personally, I'd rather be involved in a club that has some longevity and, hopefully, some premiership success along the way.

As a club you might go about compiling the list that you need to win a flag in any number of ways (spending a heap of money on players, appointing a coach that brings quality players with them, luring players with the promise of a premiership, etc.) but each of them runs some risk of it all falling in a hole at any point (the club going bankrupt, players following the coach to another club, players shifting to another club to chase a flag, etc.).

I think club culture often gets so much spotlight because it's generally seen as a safer and more sustainable method of building the list that can win you a flag. A good club culture can attract quality recruits and it can encourage players to stick through tough times. To put it another way, I think that a lot of people talk about culture at a club because it's easier to get people to work towards winning a premiership (and/or put up with any years where a club might not realistically be in with a chance of winning a premiership) if they're doing all that work for and with people that they genuinely care about.

Having said all that, this idea of club culture is also something that can get eaten away at pretty quickly through the actions or decisions of just a few people within a club. There's nothing to say that a club which is a fantastic place to be at during one season won't start to turn toxic the next year. If there was a formula to building a club which is great on and off the field then we'd all be following it!

I'm sure they had many people who performed outstandingly in many roles that year. I'm sure the coach was well aware of the importance of a great list over the need for a strong culture. You would hate to think that the wheels are wobbly just because the coach has moved on. A strong culture is supposed to ensure that the club doesn't falter if an individual leaves.
Spot on Twinkles. Let's not forget the Roosters were really struggling when Tim took on the coaching role 4 years ago, he built a strong list. At really good clubs sustainability is more than just about the coach.

Please Blocker spare me. You feel for Webby do you and feel sorry for Moorooka?? Just having a dip at a few boys on the market?? Lets call it how it is mate thats what this forum is for isn't it??

You hired Pearson an unproven coach hoping he could pick apart arguably the best list in the QAFA over the last couple of seasons and its worked. But don't come on here and pity us. Ask how many of the boys you picked up had the balls or decency to give me or Webby a call to let us know of there intentions. Not one. And the snowball effect?? I can guarantee the majority of the other boys who have left wouldn't had if we hadn't been deserted by our Captain, Vice Captain and the other half dozen premiership players. And before you say it, should i have done more and yes maybe i should have but if you take players words that there taking a break and give them time then you respect those wishes. But lets be honest it was all just BS.

And you say we won't be the last side this is going to happen to and your absolutely right, it could be your club next year. Until the QAFL actually puts player transfer rules in place and i mean real rules not having to put in a permission to interview before you can speak with someone it will continue.

i know when i played in Melbourne there was a maximum of 2 players could leave one club and play at another club together. If there were any more, there would often be an appeal and the move would not be allowed. This stopped coaches, influential players moving around from year to year destroying clubs and leaving them for dead. If the QAFL is determined to see the lower levels flourish then having teams constantly going up, down, Friday, Saturday it has to stop.

And i think a few clubs in this division have forgotten what the 1st "A" stands for in QAFA. Amateur i was led to believe. Surely none of us want this grade of footy to turn into a competition with the winner being the club with the most money. And yes Moorooka did win the Premiership 2 years ago without paying a player. There isn't a bloke in the comp who deserves to get paid so Blocker i hope your not reaching out for the cheque book?? If a 35 year old hack who's best years of football were 10 years ago can win the B&F at the Roosters last year then I'm not sure the blokes you've picked up will be worth the coin.

But good luck for the year. We'll see you in round 1

Simmo

Yep, that last sentence pretty much sums up the essay that I wrote above. The only thing that I'd add is that as a club you would probably want a coach who sees the role as being about building a strong list and also developing good culture within the group, rather than seeing one as being more important than the other. You want the coach to put together a quality playing list so that they can challenge for a flag but then also be building a great culture within the group so that everything can continue humming along nicely long after they've gone. It's the age-old adage that you should aim to leave things better than how they were when you found them!

QAFA (A) 2016 Season