Mudsticks ,,,,
the waterboy was immediately dismissed from his duties ... lol
Did Noa Corbet have any impact?
Was the water boy an injured player?
Must’ve been a good last qtr, were you on spying duties for Broadbeach!
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Mudsticks ,,,,
the waterboy was immediately dismissed from his duties ... lol
Did Noa Corbet have any impact?
Was the water boy an injured player?
Must’ve been a good last qtr, were you on spying duties for Broadbeach!
Gotta love local footy! Good win by Vultures it sounds like.
Yeah, 3rd, 4th,5th and 6th won’t be decided until 5pm next Saturday.
The elimination final is a week earlier for Surfers v Magpies , the winner could finish 3rd or 4th and get a home final.
Or the ego of administratorsNot sure equalisation measures fan, more trying to save clubs from themselves.
Not sure equalisation measures fan, more trying to save clubs from themselves.
ONE FOR THE AGES .
Was at the Vultures vs Surfers game today .. 20 minutes into the final quarter and Vultures have closed the gap to 5 points. Green for Surfers kicks a goal, thus 11 points up , whilst the ball is being gathered from over the fence, the Vultures waterboy is having a verbal abuse session with a Surfers player ,,, the waterboy then sprays the Surfers player with the water bottle .... well, umpire blows the whistle and awards the Surfers player with a free kick from 20 metres out ... so 2 goals to Surfers in one play and now 17 points up . lol ,,, comic stuff !!!!!
Vultures come back and Stubbs takes a mark on the siren ,,, Vultures 4 points down ... Stubbs slots the goal after the siren and thay sneak home by 2 points
That’d be great if the league had elite administrators smy. And the measures are only really effecting two clubs who don’t need ‘saving’.
I don't think they are trying to 'save' any club Blackdog.
Think it is common sense to limit the financial advantage of the minority, encourage smart recruiting and development.
I agree the comp is a lot closer this year but believe the standard has dropped slightly. Its a reality check for Queensland footy imo. I don't think salary cap will influence the standard going up or down say for one team being better but not competition wide.
I don't agree the standard has dropped, the depth in the competition has improved significantly bar Sandgate.
I have watched half a dozen reserves games this year and I'm shocked by the level this competition has risen to. Only last year most QAFL Reserves sides would have been lucky to knock over a Div 2 senior side. This year from what I've seen, the Top 4 or 6 QAFL reserves sides are better than senior sides at the lower levels outside perhaps Maroochy and Noosa. Looking at Bond and Park Ridge as the front runners in Div 2, last year they would have easily beaten nearly every QAFL Reserves team - this year they wouldn't get anywhere near any of the Top 6.
Personally I think you are confusing even results with standard improving.
IMO I think it definitely does save clubs from themselves - take on your point Blackdog that only a couple of sides spend big at QAFL level but these salary restrictions ensure that clubs cant get in the mindset that they have to "compete" financially with other clubs who have a far better capacity to raise revenue. And these restrictions aren't just in place for QAFL clubs but all clubs (with a reducing amount dependent on the division) where the problems can be just as bad. It only takes 1-2 years of spending $20K more than you generate to put a club into near bankruptcy when you don't have revenue raising capacity like possibly Vic clubs in either the country or the city.
While I wasn't at the meeting, from what I understand from a few blokes that were - it was established that no clubs are really out in front of others when it comes to revenue, and the biggest inequality in the competition was the disparity in costs of field maintenance between Brisbane and Gold Coast clubs.
Yeah reckon this is a furphy tbh - I reckon that the clubs who have control of their own ground have many significant advantages over those where council run it and look after it. I think GC clubs have an advantage with interested AFL people vs number of clubs. Not spread as thin as Brisbane.
Not a furphy at all. It was a pretty detailed process undertaken by AFLQ which included all clubs giving detailed financial statements etc.
The numbers were actually worse than I anticipated, the gap in expenses is well over $50k when it comes to field maintenance - a figure that is not disputed by any clubs, including those on the GC.
So if the predicted rain fall of upto 5ml happens tomoz then which teams are more suited to wet footy?
I’d say Surfers would be more suited to a muddy dog fight?
Does it give Labrador more of a chance v Broadbeach whom are renown to be a skilful pretty side and don’t like getting their hands dirty?
Would Mt.Gravatt fancy themselves more or less at Palmy if the ground is chopped up?
Does it make Morniside nervous after losing to Sandgate earlier in the season?