AllOrNothing22
- May 1, 2018
- AFL Club
- Geelong
Assuming this means james frawley? I see he's helping out with suns vflWhen is Palmy announcing its x AFL Premiership recruit........JF?
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Assuming this means james frawley? I see he's helping out with suns vflWhen is Palmy announcing its x AFL Premiership recruit........JF?
How are you comparing him to Liam Jones when he hasn’t fired a shot yet at QAFL Level. Maybe reserve your judgment as at Carlton I would say Robinson was ahead of Jones well and truly in the pecking order.
Not sure if you seen any VFL games last year but when he played that level he was dominant. Agree Jones dominated at QAFL Level but was role player at AFL Level.
Let’s wait and see what Robbo produces first before doing any comparisons at QAFL Level. You may change your opinion. For mine worth every cent what he brings on and off field. He will put bums on seats and has much bigger profile outside footy than anyone that has played QAFL Footy I would think.
Andrew Cadzow would be terrific in that role
Do tell
Have to disagree there SM.Liam Jones was in the all Australian squad the year before he left.Robertson wouldn’t do his shoelaces up!How are you comparing him to Liam Jones when he hasn’t fired a shot yet at QAFL Level. Maybe reserve your judgment as at Carlton I would say Robinson was ahead of Jones well and truly in the pecking order.
Not sure if you seen any VFL games last year but when he played that level he was dominant. Agree Jones dominated at QAFL Level but was role player at AFL Level.
Let’s wait and see what Robbo produces first before doing any comparisons at QAFL Level. You may change your opinion. For mine worth every cent what he brings on and off field. He will put bums on seats and has much bigger profile outside footy than anyone that has played QAFL Footy I would think.
Seb Rogers should have always STARTED as a 2 pt player at worst. If Jono Freeman was 1 pt then Rogers should have been.The points system is a tough grind for the first 2 years but if you can keep the same players year 3 let’s you bring in more high point players. Broadbeach will gain about 4 to 6 points from players hitting year 3 of service.
All players under 21 that are QLD kids should be 1 point players. Even if they move clubs but they can only move once.
I still can’t get past the Seb Rogers rule he was 4 points this year but will be 1 point in 2023 as he was played more then 75 games for the club. If he has been around Noosa for that long the league could have made a decision to say let’s move him down one point last year.
In Vic every year of service you reduce a point but in QLD it’s your third year that you reduce a point from. We are behind the times up here but they won’t listen to anyone.
Yes 100% NB - the 2 guys are obviously very different players but Jones is the best player to have played in QAFL football for a very very long time considering he was still at peak performance coming out of the AFL and as a key position player at that. If you say his "role" was to intercept mark SM then he did it better than most and a guy like Darcy Moore would be seen in this light too?Have to disagree there SM.Liam Jones was in the all Australian squad the year before he left.Robertson wouldn’t do his shoelaces up!
Frawley was in discussions with Maroochydore this time last year - was keen to go into real estate then. Didn't come to fruit but interesting he hasn't ended up at Noosa considering Tony is up there.Assuming this means james frawley? I see he's helping out with sun
Yep agreeThink he's getting much more than just a grand, but probably worth it too as will get it 40 times a week with his eyes closed. Much better value than the other joker on that money
Robinson was All Australian and played in games against Ireland from memory and won a B&F at Brisbane as well. Think you selling him a bit short Noosaboy.Have to disagree there SM.Liam Jones was in the all Australian squad the year before he left.Robertson wouldn’t do his shoelaces up!
Dezario. I here where you are coming from ... yes great to get Robbo into the comp and Im sure he will be a good recruit for the Siders, but the issue is,,, they need about 8 more players of a good standard to reach finals in 2023Robinsons best years are behind him although will still be in the top echelon in the comp. Won't have the same impact as a gun AFL key position like Jones.
Have morningside picked up anyone else? They'll need a few after a tough year and losing a couple of young guns to Williamstown
Think u will find SM he’s never been an AA. But selected in that Mickey Mouse stuff that used t9 travel to Ireland to play. And that was over 10 yrs ago too. He’s always been a good honest performer since coming up this way.Robinson was All Australian and played in games against Ireland from memory and won a B&F at Brisbane as well. Think you selling him a bit short Noosaboy.
Reckon he will surprise a few at QAFL Level as we all know the way he goes about it. Don’t get me wrong I rated Liam Jones and thought he was great for Palmy this year.
I think it’s great for competition to get more decent quality ex AFL boys.
Robinson lives around the corner from Morningside where his kids seem settled. I imagine he took a little less not having to relocate or fly every weekend.
Buzza is an assistant coach but only being paid as a player as he may only play 3-5 games so even if he is on $500 a game it’s only $2,500 of cap if he plays 5 games.I wonder how many playing coaches a club can claim under the salary cap ? Hasn’t morningside already claimed Buzza as a coach ? If if Robinson is now on board that would be 2 . For a club that cries poor they definitely know how to throw the money around . (where there’s smoke there’s fire)
I have spoken to 2 players directly who’ve been offered large amounts of money to play at the Panthers. So it would be assumed that Buzza will get paid when he plays, and how can he be a coach at the club while he’s playing and training at the lions (Rort 1) Robinson is clearly on or over 30k, (Rort 2) coaching staff ?? Their new footy director Harding wouldn’t be free ? They are chasing a very high profile name already in QAFL and he definitely won’t be cheap (Rort 3). So again how do clubs get away with this bullshit salary cap rorting .
I feel for the clubs who do the right thing and the clubs who just can’t afford to throw money around like that .
Second rant If Palm Beach has another ex AFL player on their books then they would be doing the same thing as I’m sure David Armitage isn’t cheap . People are suggesting it’s Frawley which I find hard to believe as he works at Suns as a coach in their VFL team and I’m sure they won’t be letting him play when he should be at their games. If he could have been playing I’m sure it would have already happened as he’s been on the coast for years.
I wonder how many playing coaches a club can claim under the salary cap ? Hasn’t morningside already claimed Buzza as a coach ? If if Robinson is now on board that would be 2 . For a club that cries poor they definitely know how to throw the money around . (where there’s smoke there’s fire)
I have spoken to 2 players directly who’ve been offered large amounts of money to play at the Panthers. So it would be assumed that Buzza will get paid when he plays, and how can he be a coach at the club while he’s playing and training at the lions (Rort 1) Robinson is clearly on or over 30k, (Rort 2) coaching staff ?? Their new footy director Harding wouldn’t be free ? They are chasing a very high profile name already in QAFL and he definitely won’t be cheap (Rort 3). So again how do clubs get away with this bullshit salary cap rorting .
I feel for the clubs who do the right thing and the clubs who just can’t afford to throw money around like that .
Second rant If Palm Beach has another ex AFL player on their books then they would be doing the same thing as I’m sure David Armitage isn’t cheap . People are suggesting it’s Frawley which I find hard to believe as he works at Suns as a coach in their VFL team and I’m sure they won’t be letting him play when he should be at their games. If he could have been playing I’m sure it would have already happened as he’s been on the coast for years.
Buzza is an assistant coach but only being paid as a player as he may only play 3-5 games so even if he is on $500 a game it’s only $2,500 of cap if he plays 5 games.
He isn’t doing the coaching for any financial gain only experience as he has limited time whilst playing VFL.
So your big rort theory is way off mark. I think there is a lot more clubs with more experienced and high end players at their clubs. And if they can justify what and how they paying then good luck to them.
Not sure Morningside has ever cried poor given they are biggest junior club in Australia I think they travelling ok.
Turtle actually can be paid as an Administrator but to my knowledge he is doing for free as he plays Friday nights at the club.
Hopefully that clears up any of your issues
I’m pretty sure I’ve read $56k in the past, on here.If its not $80k, then what is it?
Point remains though, I doubt any clubs other than Aspley are anywhere near it in Brisbane.