Queensland now an AFL State

Demographics can change things before you know it, think of inner suburbs in cities or towns that have a large % of people from one ethnic background.

Bankstown in Sydney with Lebanese, Carlton in Melbourne with Italians, i amsure that Brisbane has a suburb with a high population of Chinese.

These things can change the relative popularity of one sport to another in a generation.

QLD seems to have plenty of migrants like WA, but RL will be king their for some time yet.

Sunnybank mate, lots of Chinese poeple there

Rubbish post. I think game 2 Brisbane had more viewers (800) because they were winning like 20-0 after 10 mins so all the sydney viewers turned off, tahts what i heard..

go back 5 years ago and the queensland origin myth probaably wouldve been less than 400 cos they were losing.. origin is dead mate, 4 qld wins in a row, nsw wont win one anytime soon, and its not state of origin, most of the qld team is polynesian or from nsw

Our AFL dream time game got 80k.. not bad at all

Honestly mate, why do you keep posting crap like that. Are you so disrespectful to rugby league that you post absolute BS and lies to prove a point.

Actually, NSW v Qld rivalry revolves almost entirely around rugby league. If it weren't for the Barassi line football divide, both it and the Vic v SA rivalries would be swamped by NSW v Vic.
oh for sure, if there wasn't state origin, us Queenslanders would still be peeved off at NSW for stealing QLD's best and brightest from the Brisbane Competition to the Sydney Competition. With NSW v VIc rivalries, I think that the Sydney FC V Melbourne Victory matches, are the most meaingfull football NSW v Vic Rivalry today.

A cursory look at the history shows Aussie rules being played in SEQ in the 1860's. By all accounts it became quite strong. In the late 1880's school headmasters decided the rah rah game would be prefered at schools. Their was a deep dislike of the 'Victorian Game'. Apparently the game almost died out. The Game started to recover early 1900's. It has slowly grown ever since. So it does have a story & culture, older than Rugby league (obviously). The problem of the games Victorian origin have caused problems, it has been used by NSW & Qld for nearly 150 years. Aussie rules is the Australian code. It is just a pity that the game was hijacked by Victoria when it could have been better set up around the country. We in Tassie have sucked dry by the VFL/AFL for that 150 years. Now they completely ignore us to develop the game 'up north' & bank roll Victorian suburban clubs. :( So we want a team but wont get a look in, whilst the Vics will shove it down your neck. Get use to the AFL, thats how they work.
Great Post. Aussie Rules, I have to admit, does have a culture and Sporting Story that Queenslanders want to be a part of, It's just that Rugby league or even Union has a better offer. Mate, the amount of victorian influence on the AFL is just unhealthy, unless they solve this, there is no way that Aussie rules can dominate NSW and QLD. Surprisingly, a lot of people in NSW and QLD prefer a Tasmanina team first than GC17 and WS18 francises, because they know that the Tassies deserve an AFL team more. NSW and QLD already know how the AFL works and they're not impressed one bit. Why would the AFL crap on something as loyal as Tasmania, I mean thats like the NRL treating Newcastle like crap, mot a good thing.

You mean thats like the NRL treating the Central Coast like crap and putting a team in Perth for example?

Unless their AFL fans, the Tassie deserves a team is more a defence mechanism because they dont want the AFL to expand into RL territory.

What drugs are you on mate? Take your blinkers off...

SOO Ratings are enormous... Take game 2 for example 2.1 Million (Average not peak) watched across 3 capital cities (Not including Regionals which in NSW & QLD would be HUGE), 81% of Brisbane watched, 63% of Sydney watched (Not including the capacity crowd)... YES they don't care lol... Figures are like that for all 3 games every year.

Game 1 in Melbourne: 50,967 attended (Capacity 53,000-56,000 not to sure)
Game 2 in Sydney: 80,459 attended (Capacity 82,500)
Game 3 in Brisbane: 52,439 attended (Capacity 52,500)

Hardly anyone in Sydney cares about watching Sydney V Brisbane... Sydney struggle to get 100K viewers on prime time saturday night...

This is pretty funny: a RL troll posing as an AFL fan hooks himself a RL troll. :D

You mean thats like the NRL treating the Central Coast like crap and putting a team in Perth for example?

Unless their AFL fans, the Tassie deserves a team is more a defence mechanism because they dont want the AFL to expand into RL territory.

mmm, not so much central coast, but for an example, AFL crapping on Tasmania for the Northern states is like the ARL/NRL/whatever crapping on Newcastle for a second Melbourne team, in terms of rejecting a loyal heartland, for some area that is supposedly more worthwhile.

I don't know about being an AFL fan, but sports fans in general prefer a Tasmanian team to any of the new teams from the northern states.

mmm, not so much central coast, but for an example, AFL crapping on Tasmania for the Northern states is like the ARL/NRL/whatever crapping on Newcastle for a second Melbourne team, in terms of rejecting a loyal heartland, for some area that is supposedly more worthwhile.

I don't know about being an AFL fan, but sports fans in general prefer a Tasmanian team to any of the new teams from the northern states.

It's interesting you bring up the comparison of Newcastle to Tassie.

Newcastle has more people than the entire state of Tasmania and despite being supposedly a rugby league stronghold and having a team for over 20 years, their crowds are laughable by AFL standards (and not exactly great by NRL's low standards either) and they've been in deep financial shit in recent times.

Yet you're bagging the AFL, which requires much greater support for a team than an NRL club, for not putting a team in a city of 200,000 (or less), yet both Gosford and the Sunshine Coast have more people and no NRL team. And Wollongong, which also has more people, only gets half a team in a similar arrangement to Hawthorn in Tassie.

Shit troll is shit.

Maybe because there is already 11 NSW based clubs and putting another one in would be a waste of time and not actually be expansion?
I'd love the Bears to be in the NRL, but I don't want them back in the place of a WA or SA team.

Tas is completely different in the AFL as they do not have a team in that state, would the AFL be interested in expanding in Victoria atm?

There's your answer know all.

I here the roar calling, it's getting louder and louder, MC's in trouble mate, you better hop to it and help the poor man out.

In the media its more like
70% Rugby League
20% Rugby Union and Soccer
10% AFL

The media doesn't help either.. The Sunday Mail has about 8 pages at the front dedicated to RL it then has about 4 pages of Rugby and Soccer and at the very back theres one page of AFL with a small match report... League is well and truly the dominant sport in QLD.

Television coverage of AFL is a lot better than print. In saying that, the coverage of AFL in print is a lot better than when I moved to Brisbane 11 years ago. Both the Hunt and Fevola stories were huge news up here so there is plenty of interest in AFL. It is definitely on the march in QLD.

I cant talk about QLD but no one cares about AFL in sydney, women's netball gets more news coverage than AFL.

The AFL are just being arrogant in thinking that they can convert league and union fans.

They dont care about tassie cos tassie people already support other AFL teams so they think they wont get any more new supporters.

I'm sure most people know that in 5 years the whole experiment will be a complete failure.

I cant talk about QLD but no one cares about AFL in sydney, women's netball gets more news coverage than AFL.

The AFL are just being arrogant in thinking that they can convert league and union fans.

They dont care about tassie cos tassie people already support other AFL teams so they think they wont get any more new supporters.

I'm sure most people know that in 5 years the whole experiment will be a complete failure.
who says they need to convert League and Union fans.

Was it arrogant for the NRL to put the storm in Melbourne?

and Castres Treize why revive a thread that had run it's course? are you that insecure?

cynical;16552218 The AFL are just being arrogant in thinking that they can convert league and union fans. They dont care about tassie cos tassie people already support other AFL teams so they think they wont get any more new supporters. .[/quote said:
Well theirs my point entirely, People outside Victoria have to suffer the Vic/AFL rude arrogant selfish pigheaded behavior. The Vics are so blinded by their own message that they fail to see why such their resistance to Australian rules in parts of the country. THEY DO SEE HOW DISMISSIVE OF TASMANIA THE AFL ARE. The AFL will spend money in Qld & NSW, & rightfully so. BUT they also bankroll tired old suburban VFL teams. While we here in TAS who love the game, see our local game continually sucked dry by interstate clubs & are just kicked in the guts even though our business model for an AFL team stands up well to scrutiny. Have a F%*n merry Christmas:thumbsu:

and Castres Treize why revive a thread that had run it's course? are you that insecure?

NRL isn't as expensive and 1 team is fine.

Paul Roos has said that Sydney can't really rebuild like other clubs because if they start losing then the crowds will drop off significantly. That tells you a lot about the NSW market, I'm sure QLD is similar.

If Sydney and Brisbane are selling out games every week then thats a different story but they arent.

Tassie and NT would do much better, even 3rd WA and SA teams would do better.

Because I have only just signed up, that OK with you Hoops?

AFL is a lonnnng way off dominating QLD, i think certain parts of QLD has a good AFL following (FNQ, GC) but no way near dominant, hopefully within 20/30 years we'll make some good inroads, same for NSW, SNSWs is AFL dominated but thats about all.

State of the reds, so it is good that they got the Fev up there... Oh sorry this is not the Liberal Supporters website...

I'd better go then... gawd it's not much fun in the sun then is it. eh Kevvie.

Now think everyone, just think of the opposition. Just cool down and think a bit of the future.

Went to the Sunshine Coast during the year and was quite suprised to see so many Australian Rules grounds. Qld team aslo came 3rd in the national 15's carnival, knocking off vic metro in the playoff for 3rd/4th, as well as pushing WA in the earlier rounds. Definately making huge progress in SE Qld.

After reading that Andrew McLeod played 9 years of rugby league and isn't ashamed of letting us know that league is his game of choice after footy, maybe the rugby dottas could use him as a marketing tool to convert the masses.
McLeod has gone so far down in my estimation after reading that horrible little revelation.

The AFL isn't trying to convert League or Union fans. They're aiming to get a small percentage of the hundreds of thousands of people in Western Sydney who don't follow a sport currently interested in the game. Is that okay with you league fans? Just as a general question.