R1: Carlton vs Richmond

Yep Waites a terrific footballer, we'd love a couple of him.

Read again. I said...

OK, let me make it easy for you. What position will Jack play in 2011? Your club has decided to drop his weight to 90kg for some reason, so it's a reasonable question to ask. Every Richmond supporter has avoided answering it thus far. If you don't know, just say so.

:)

OK, let me make it easy for you. What position will Jack play in 2011? Your club has decided to drop his weight to 90kg for some reason, so it's a reasonable question to ask. Every Richmond supporter has avoided answering it thus far. If you don't know, just say so.

Its obvious you don't want to know anything.
You want to post your usual nonsense and don't take the time to read anything in response.
IF, you want to have a sensible discourse, I suggest you scroll up and take the time to read some responses, instead of your repeating your usual tripe to encourage your flock to join in your baiting.
If you wish to discuss round 1, well do so.

Its obvious you don't want to know anything.
You want to post your usual nonsense and don't take the time to read anything in response.
IF, you want to have a sensible discourse, I suggest you scroll up and take the time to read some responses, instead of your repeating your usual tripe to encourage your flock to join in your baiting.
If you wish to discuss round 1, well do so.

Well I'll be :eek:

Oh wait, this is the Rnd 1 thread.

How about getting back on topic ............. all of you !!!!!!!!

I am sick of reading about Nick's cousin ........ ENOUGH is ENOUGH !!!!!!!!

I think he will play as a CHF. He's a very nice shot even from 50 out and a decent field kick too. Hopefully he'll provide a bit more of a target for Deledio and Newman off half back and straighten the side up a bit. I think he'd still be able to kick around 60 goals for season at CHF.

I guess the club wants to try to develop Griffiths (if fit), Post or even Vickery deep in the forward line.

Anyway I think they are looking at moving him out from the goal square a bit to try to prevent teams from dropping 2 or 3 guys back on him. Prior to this year he looked played more on the half forward line. He played CHF against Brisbane this year too with success (yes it was only Brisbane). IT will be interesting but I don't really want to see him lose weight.

Agree with this and also that it's very important for Richmond to find some more avenues to goal. Way too predictable last year and too reliant on Riewoldt, may as well get started on rectifying it ASAP. 2011 is going to be a battle for them so they may as well start implementing things that will hopefully pay off in the future.

Richmond fans your own coach has recently said Jack got way too heavy towards the end of last season so I don't see the point in debating it.

I think he will play as a CHF. He's a very nice shot even from 50 out and a decent field kick too. Hopefully he'll provide a bit more of a target for Deledio and Newman off half back and straighten the side up a bit. I think he'd still be able to kick around 60 goals for season at CHF.

I guess the club wants to try to develop Griffiths (if fit), Post or even Vickery deep in the forward line.

Phew, thank you. You're the first Richmond supporter that answered the question. I was getting all sorts of weird answers about dry-muscle mass etc etc. Anyway, it's interesting because it changes the matchups for this game. Jamo has had the wood on Jack, but Jamo always plays close to goal. The other issue is the replacement FF. Did any of those options kick more than 10 goals in 2010? Reckon it'll be Brad Miller at FF and Jack at CHF, with one of the others acting as the 3rd tall.

You are very lucky to get a legible and half intelligent response ..in the corresponding thread on the Tigers board....it's like an open day at a school for backward children..most struggle to string two words together.

And when they do it's usually something along the lines of " Vickery and Griffith are absolute superstars ..and Conca Houli and Grigg should be the difference in round one, because Carlton are shit.
One of the Mods was calling somebody an "embecile" :eek:

Occasionally you will come across a more intelligent Richmond poster who faces the reality that Richmond just may not be up to the task of beating Carlton in round one. :cool:

I think they'll probably play Griffiths there if fit in the hope that he'll be able to use his height to his advantage over Jamison. Jamison would be able to shut down Post or Miller easily enough so they'd hope Griffiths could catch him out in a contest or 2 and kick a couple of goals. He'd probably still lose but I think that would be the idea.

Vickery played his best under 18 footy as a forward and then 2nd ruck duties. I imagine they are going to give Griffiths and Vickery runs at FF as they are more suited to this position and give Jack some space up the ground.

A few games last year he did this with huge sucess. Rnd 21 v the Saints is the most obvious one as he was BOG by a mile and won the medal they give out that night. Can't remember the exact stats but he got a heap of the ball and kicked 7 goals. Interesting you say he is not an athletic player. Think sometimes people consider the only key to athleticism as speed. He has one of the best leaps going around, hence why he nominated for mark of the year all the time.

With Vickery putting on a few more kg now up to 95, both he and Griffiths will be the ones with the shot at FF. Richmond has said from the beginning that Miller is a back up, obviously for when the young blokes are running out of steam or are injured. Would be happy to see a forward set up of:

Griffiths (199cm) Vickery (200cm) Nason (179cm)
Morton (186cm) Riewoldt (195cm) Taylor (192cm)

That has a fair bit of height and might provide a few problems for the Carlton defence. However the inexperience will certainly work against us. Not 100% sure Griffiths, Vickery and Riewoldt would all be on the same forward line. You might sub one of them for another small.

The fact that Taylor has shot up a few cms and plays that crumbing/marking forward is quite beneficial. Think we really need to invest in some quality crumbing forwards via the national and rookie draft in the coming years.

Nevertheless as that forward line develops it has some genuine potency and hopefully gets the better of Carlton rnd 1.

I think they'll probably play Griffiths there if fit in the hope that he'll be able to use his height to his advantage over Jamison. Jamison would be able to shut down Post or Miller easily enough so they'd hope Griffiths could catch him out in a contest or 2 and kick a couple of goals. He'd probably still lose but I think that would be the idea.
They might be wise to check out the job Jamison did on Kurt Tippett before they go doing that.

You are very lucky to get a legible and half intelligent response ..in the corresponding thread on the Tigers board....it's like an open day at a school for backward children..most struggle to string two words together.
I learnt that Grigg is better than Hadley, Mclean and Davies who were keeping him out of our side. :confused: :rolleyes:

I reckon it'll be...

FF Griffiths Miller Nason
HF Hislop Jack Morton

Vickery will be fighting for the 2nd ruck job with that WA guy.

Not too sure about Sloppy playing rd 1, he was injured for most of last year. Would rather one of our new recruits or someone like Webbs getting a game in front of him.

I reckon it'll be...

FF Griffiths Miller Nason
HF Hislop Jack Morton

Vickery will be fighting for the 2nd ruck job with that WA guy.

Lol I know your trolling but I will indulge.

Hislop and Miller both couldn't play rnd 1 because they are rookies.

Vickery/Post or Griffiths most likely Vickery or Post will be playing the 2nd tall on our forward. Vickery & Post have both bulked up so I would like to see one of them be the main target in the forward line while Riewoldt moves around CHF.

Would like to see Watson play rnd 1.

L....Vickery/Post or Griffiths most likely Vickery or Post will be playing the 2nd tall on our forward. Vickery & Post have both bulked up so I would like to see one of them be the main target in the forward line while Riewoldt moves around CHF.

Would like to see Watson play rnd 1.

If Richmond finish above bottom 2 in season 2011, then they'd overachieved. That forward-line is just terrible.

Here's some interesting numbers that highlight just how bad the Tiges KPF situation is....

Goals season 2010:

Jack = 78 goals

Post 3 goals
Astbury 5 goals
Vickery 3 goals
Griffiths: 3 goals
Brad Miler: 0 goals (at the Dees)

So, Jack kicked 78 goals, and the combined total of every other "KP forward" on their list kicked only 14 goals!! That must be some sort of record.

Here's some interesting numbers that highlight just how bad the Tiges KPF situation is....

Goals season 2010:

Jack = 78 goals

Post 3 goals
Astbury 5 goals
Vickery 3 goals

So, Jack kicked 78 goals, and the combined total of every other "KP forward" on their list kicked only 14 goals!! That must be some sort of record.

That is embarrasing ...

and to think they continue to spruik on about how we wont be able to stop the '3 pronged powerhouse forward line': Jack, Griffiths and Post :)

We may as well start including Luke Mitchell's goal tally - just to try and even out the averages a bit!

Goals season 2010:

Jack = 78 goals

Post 3 goals
Astbury 5 goals
Vickery 3 goals

First of all Astbury kicked 3 on debut then played CHB for the rest of the year
Post and Vickery each played a handful of games, and only in one of them (rd 22 V Port) did Post play in the forward line for more than half the game.
Griffiths played 5 games up the ground before dislocating his shoulder
Melbourne were trying the kids with great results last year, so miller wasn't required as players such as watts,jurrah and Dunn cemented their spots in the forward line for years to come

Worry about your own forward line, Yarran did some classy things but he didn't really set the world on fire?

First of all Astbury kicked 3 on debut then played CHB for the rest of the year
Post and Vickery each played a handful of games, and only in one of them (rd 22 V Port) did Post play in the forward line for more than half the game.
Griffiths played 5 games up the ground before dislocating his shoulder
Melbourne were trying the kids with great results last year, so miller wasn't required as players such as watts,jurrah and Dunn cemented their spots in the forward line for years to come

Worry about your own forward line, Yarran did some classy things but he didn't really set the world on fire?

Nothing to worry about in our forward line ...........

Points for in 2010 :-

Carlton - 2143

Richmond - 1714
:eek:

We are a 70+ goal better side than the Punt Rd ferals & were the 5th highest scoring side for 2010 !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Richmond's "non-existant" forward line is an embarrassment.

Case closed :D