Review R17: Port v Melbourne Review

He wasnt up forward at all.

At one point he was in the middle for a couple of bits of play.

I remember him running past Pettigrew who was on the 50 looking for a handball and I got a little excited... then Pettigrew ignored him and NEARLY ****ed it up, but if I remember he did manage to find another target inside 50

Kornes - Did a good job on Scully, who I rate. Only had one 'FFS Kane' moment with the ball in hand. Not great, but better than he has been. AND PLAY HIM AS A TAGGER.

Cassisi - That kick to O'Shea to hand Melbourne their second goal was an absolutely horrendous clanger, but from that point on he was very good.

Thomas - Didn't see his game the same as Macca did. I thought his first two and a half quarters was the best football I've seen him play, including that Collingwood game in Round 1. He was applying great pressure, laying hard tackles, winning contested footy, getting a fair bit of the ball but knowing his limitations when he has it, and didn't make any major screw-ups. I actually prefer to see him playing a game like that than trying to do too much and fluking a few goals that 9 times out of 10 he would've buggered up like he did against Collingwood, even if he had more impact in the Collingwood game. Unfortunately, after that terrible attempted switch kick and then giving away a free in the subsequent tackle he tried to lay in Q3, he didn't seem to recover and went back to ineffectual Thomas for the rest of the game. For the last 3 weeks he's played about a half of very good football and a half of crap football. He needs to keep up the good football for longer, but he's no Robinson Crusoe there.

Hartlett - Not as good as he's been in the previous weeks, but still pretty good. Had the best kick and the worst kick of his life within 5 minutes of each other late in the last quarter.

Jacobs - His best game by so much it isn't funny. Where the **** was that kicking ability in the first 8 rounds? He went from just about the worst player with ball in hand that I've ever seen to a cool, calm and collected kicking gun in one game. Still can't defend and still shouldn't be played there, but I think I saw more good signs in this one game than in his previous 8 combined.

Pearce - 21 damaging touches and a goal, can't ask for much more than that. Is starting to get back into form.

Salopek - Easily the best 3 quarters he's played for the year from Q1 to Q3, but went completely missing in the last. I know he's having a crap year but I still hold out hope he can get back to his '08 form with some persistence.

Hitchcock - Finally playing like last year again. It certainly took him long enough, but the good Hitchcock is back. Hitchy haters, that's why I was talking him up earlier in the year, because I knew that he could and would get back to playing like he has in the last two weeks again.

O'Shea - Not his best performance TBH. Got a bit of the ball but was very poor with it, and didn't give enough of a contest in a couple of marking situations (the Sylvia one where he tried to double-fist it but did it with so little force that Sylvia marked it anyway the most memorable).

Gray - Gun. Just about our best player in current form. The media likes to fap over Shaun Higgins, but I don't see any reason why Robbie Gray should be regarded any less highly. Has incredibly clean hands both in the middle and the forward line, is creative, has great disposal and is more than capable of kicking a few goals if we put him up forward.

Salter - I've given up on him ever playing as a forward for the PAFC. With that in mind, delist.

Trengove - Had a few bombscare moments but was generally solid. Is probably tied with Kepler Bradley as having the highest awkward looking-ness to effectiveness ratio in the competition.

Banner - Why the ****ing ****ing mother***ing ****sucking **** were we not playing this kid before? Other than one chase where he could've done a lot more, he had a very good game tonight. Some people say he's an SANFL player, but if he can keep playing like that I don't care what his apparent limitations are.

C Cornes - Throwback to the Chad of old tonight. He'll get Brownlow votes for that, only Petterd can lay a claim to having a better game and we lube up and bend over for Petterd every time we play Melbourne.

Chaplin - Was poor tonight. Green definitely had the better of him. Didn't do enough in a lot of marking contests.

Boak - Has been non-existent for 2 weeks.

Lobbe - Not his best game around the ground, but it probably was his best game in terms of ruckwork IMO. Broke even with an A-A ruck in Jamar.

Rodan - As far as I'm concerned his only future with this team is as a supersub. He didn't dominate after coming on, but he did have a reasonable impact.

Logan - Probably his worst game for the year. Was well beaten by this weeks recipient of the 'spuds that tear us apart' award and didn't get much of the ball himself either.

Schulz - Had a shocker, but I rate Frawley as the best pure shutdown defender in the game so you can make some allowances, especially in the form he's in. To his credit he never gave up and kept leading/chasing every time despite the fact that nothing was going his way. For some reason Schulz can't play in Darwin. His two worst games in Port colours (R22 last year and this one) have both been at TIO Stadium.

Ebert - Did nothing again. Can't believe he's apparently being offered another contract, getting rid of guys like Ebert is EXACTLY the sort of thing that Primus needs to be doing. We have enough contracted old spuds who aren't the future without offering new contracts to the uncontracted ones.

Pettigrew - Worst clutch player in the competition. We haven't had a close game all year where Pettigrew hasn't performed horribly in the last quarter. Should have been delisted two years ago.

Powerade 08 said:
So wait, why did Salter play forward for the first min or two?

Probably just Primus trolling us.

I remember him running past Pettigrew who was on the 50 looking for a handball and I got a little excited... then Pettigrew ignored him and NEARLY ****ed it up, but if I remember he did manage to find another target inside 50

Petters didn't ignore him, he saw him but correctly opted not to give it to him as he has two guys covering him.

We started very poorly and allowed the opposition 3 easy goals. From then on, we were always chasing to get into the game instead of being in the game; the same thing happened last week.
When we settled down, we did not look out of place.
We worked our way to be within striking distance when a series of disgraceful umpiring decisions and the obligatory Chaplin howler(s), gifted the opposition 5 of their 7 3rd quarter goals. It started from the moment the boundary umpire, who was directly facing the play and only 15 meters away, said that Ebert juggled the ball over the boundary line for a throw in instead of a mark. Ebert one grabbed that mark a meter inside the field of play and ended up out of bounds with the ball firmly in his grasp. From the resultant throw in, they goaled. The two disgusting holding/dropping the ball decisions that went against us 15 meters from their goal was an abomination. For the rest of the game, not one of those types of decisions were given again. Then we had Chaplin.....oh well.. To think, I was screaming at the teli, "well done Chappy..... that's the boy... good onya...." and just as I was staring to think that he'd grown some ballocks, when the pressure went on, he shat his pants again.
Now, you don't want to blame umpiring decisions for losses but going on what happened last night, I dare anyone to say that they did not have a significant impact on the game. How about the blatant push in the back on Salopeck in the last quarter, again, right in line with the umpire, that allowed Jarrah to mark and goal and extinguishing any chance we had.
This is not to excuse young Hartletts crucial mistake late in the game but it is plainly obvious that umpiring was disgraceful.
Chad Cornes and Dom-is-good were by far our best players: by far.
Young Mitch Banner won me over last night. He is not blessed with an abundance of speed but it's obvious that playing with the Maggies is having the desired affect on him. It was only his second senior game and he kicked three goals and he is a one grab player. Those who reckon that players must be instant stars, well, go and multiply! - you are just part of that me-me, now-now mob whose cynicism is only matched by their lack of logic.
Hartlett will be our first Brownlow medalist.
O'Shea, Trengove, Jacobs, Pearce, were serviceable.
Gray and Thomas each bring different things to our team but both suffer from making silly errors when it is harder to stuff up than not. Both were good though last night.
Hitchcock was OK but not in our best 22 at the moment.
Rodan sparked us up a bit when he came on but like Ebert, he is not fit. Brett has come back from a significant injury and has had no pre season and it does show.
Lobbe gets better and better and will play 200 games for us, no probs.
Salter is not key position player and a bit too slow for half back flank and maybe a touch to short for key forward and maybe, maybe, maybe.....
Kane has given us years of good service but a 5% drop in Kane's game as he's aged and become battle scarred is glaring because Kane has got the absolute maximum out of his body and ability. He is not a natural and has worked remarkably hard to do what he has done. He should no longer be picked but if he is, he will continue to give his all and should not be vilified by people on these boards because of inept selections by the selectors.
Chaplin on the other hand, is a wonderful player for the opposition if, for nothing else, his lack of nerve and gallantry.
Pettigrew is not AFL standard but has got guts.
Logan is a good squad player who is gutsy but he game last night was not quite upto serviceable.
Good to see Salopek coming back into form.
Schulz dropped marks he normally holds and again his commitment cannot be challenged.
We are outright bottom and if we finish there at the end of the season, then Primus walks or is replaced; no questions, no arguments.

Schulz - Had a shocker, but I rate Frawley as the best pure shutdown defender in the game so you can make some allowances, especially in the form he's in. For some reason Schulz can't play in Darwin. His two worst games in Port colours (R22 last year and this one) have both been at TIO Stadium.

That was against Richmond at the MCG

Also, how ****ing awesome is Cameron O'Shea. He isn't perfect but I love his decision making with the ball so SO much. Was very unlucky not to get a free that time he handballed the ball then got tackled IMO.

That was against Richmond at the MCG

Could've sworn it was in Darwin. Oh well. Maybe just my imagination then.

Lurk3r said:
Also, how ****ing awesome is Cameron O'Shea. He isn't perfect but I love his decision making with the ball so SO much. Was very unlucky not to get a free that time he handballed the ball then got tackled IMO.

His decision making is great. Needs a lot of work on his execution though.

Yea, but you can learn how to kick the ball! :D

Still fades out of games a bit too much, but hopefully (and almost certainly) that will fix itself as he gets older and has a more mature body.

Its his first year and hes been playing on some ripper players like Goddard, Embley etc. For a first year, late picked player who looked so so lost in his first couple of games, hes had a bloody good year. Hes the sort of end to end midfielder that will be important in future years.

I've noticed that when he actually kicks the ball over distance, rather than chip it, his accuracy is very good. As his confidence continues to develop, I expect to see his kick get better and better.

I reckon he's had a case of the "yips". Added pressure and speed of the game has caused him to hold back on his kick and therefore not get momentum through the ball, resulting in missed targets.

The skill to be able to kick it to the side that favors your team is one can't be learned easily

I was there and my perspective is that of myself and those around me without the benefit of TV close-ups and commentator's opinions. Though obviously I have had a look at what a few people here have posted.
We played out 4 quarters against a team that didn't drop its head either and it was at least enjoyable football to watch. Losing took a fair bit off of it. Knowing that loss would lock us into an almost certain wooden spoon took a bit more off. We played attacking football, only doing the unneccessary slow kick back/across once that I remember.

PLAYER REVIEWS

Domenic Cassisi
Best game this year, looked like our captain again and one great set-shot goal. Still one of our major dud handballers though.

Troy Chaplin
Played brave attacking footy, made a few mistakes. Had a brief disastrous series of clangers that I commented at the ground would have had some anti-Chappy BigFooty posters diving for their laptops. But he set up a few attacks that a more dour defender would not have.

Chad Cornes
One of our best. Still a crap set shot kick and notably slower these days; but his footy smarts, his marking, and his desire to win are brilliant. I argued strongly earlier in the year that he should not be selected and the spot should be used for developing players. I was wrong.

Kane Cornes
Played adequately but as others have commented on is a shadow of his past effectiveness.

Brett Ebert
Dropped at least 3 marks. No real+ve influence on the game and far too senior a player for that to be said about and still be selected.

Danyle Pearce
Magnificent game. Busted his guts for 4 quarters and was one of the fastest players out there. Very attacking game and willing to take gambles on 'kick and hope' rather than always attempting surgical precision.

Michael Pettigrew
Neutral from my point of view. Played adequately without affecting the game. Nothing special to protect him from the anti-Grew crew.

Steven Salopek
Best game this year (which isn't saying much) but able to find space and showed aggression and skill. I won't moan if he is selected next game.

Matt Thomas
Magnificent. Luke Hodge-like game. Was everywhere, in everything. And was effective when there.

David Rodan
Flashy as usual once subbed on but not much actual effect.

Travis Boak
A nothing game, played adequately but didn't stand out.

Robert Gray
Gave everything. Kicked goals, created goals for others. Good work further up the ground at times as well.

Matthew Lobbe
Wow! Certainly our best player IMO. Not just winning the ruck contest, but actually improving his tap delivery as the game went on. As a bonus was working well around the ground as well.

Nick Salter
Actually gained some defensive possessions and did some useful close-in work there too. Was usefully active around the centre of the ground a few times too, I don't know if the camera picked that up.

Hamish Hartlett
Very good game in general, though a few serious skills errors. Saw him avoid a physical contact near, us which the person sitting next to me reckoned was to protect his shoulder. Not mission critical but it looked odd.

Jackson Trengove
Quietly effective in defence. Notably less effective in ruck than Lobbe, just 'jump and swipe' so that even if he got it there was a 50/50 chance the demons would benefit.

Mitchell Banner
Fantastic to watch and I'm stuffed if I know where some here find reason to criticise him. Fast, exciting, reactions up to AFL standard.

Tom Logan
Busted his guts all night and had unlucky spills/no backup a few times that negated his efforts.

Jay Schulz
Quite useless, the ghost of Daniel Stewart seemed to have possessed him. And for those who criticised delivery to him that is rubbish.

Cameron Hitchcock
Not a bad game but looks too much like a seagull swooping on chips. There were about three occasions last night where he stood off situations that required a bump, tackle, or getting in and under.

Ben Jacobs
Probably played well enough to have earnt a spot in the Showdown in his own right rather than as a development player. Had plenty of ground time (good on you matty) and showed acceptable skills/decision making.

Cameron O'Shea
Strangely slow to get rid of the ball a few times and cost us dearly. Odd in a game where we couldn't buy a 'holding the ball' decision. Otherwise developing well.

...Chad can keep his spot for the rest of the season, and 2012 if he's going to play like that for the rest of the year......
:D though 2012 is a bit of a stretch.

....What I noticed again though is that our players are so ****ing slow when we get a free, they walk back to look up to kick there is no urgency Trengove in particular he gets a free or a mark it's like he goes to sleep mentally for 5 seconds just standing there staring out into the night ergh so frustrating......
Not a lot of that last night but it is true that the Dees didn't seem do it at all. We played fast flowing attacking footy quite a bit last night and it's interesting you used Trengove as an example of slow play-on given the general praise he receives as a defender. Chappy is far more likely to rebound and .....

.... was a tough night on the ground for Schultz, shit delivery and he wasn't gonna win much of it on the ground.......
No, delivery to Schulz was excellent. If he wants to stand like a tree, jump early/late, and drop marks, then blame should not be sheeted to his teammates.

I thought Mitch Banner was shocking.....
I don't begin to understand that comment.

I agree with most of that Powerstuff just it seemed evident to me only when Trengove had a free or mark he seemed to stand there for about 3 seconds before moving back slowly then going. We get killed by our players doing this as it allows the other teams to zone up on us.

What I'd like to see is our team just be told OK you might make some mistakes but I want you to kick to our advantage and attack everytime and it would open the game up a lot for us and might lift some confidence around the place if we pull off some good passages of play.

....What I'd like to see is our team just be told OK you might make some mistakes but I want you to kick to our advantage and attack everytime.....
On one level I agree with you. A bit like mannng up one on one, or kicking to the top of the square rather than working it in. Looks great when it works. The problem comes when the ball keeps zipping back over your head. Would you like two Chappys or two Trengoves?

You'd think we smashed Melbourne after that review Powerstufff ??
I was conscious of that as I proof-read it. :D
We did make a mid-table Melbourne's life difficult though, and from their perspective a wooden spooner challenged them until they had to switch to a shutdown game in the final 10 minutes. It was a proper development game played at our full capacity and would have won us a few other games this year.

Just heard on channel 9 news. "Matthew primus warns. Fans that the powers climb to the top won't be fast" thanks Matty!!

I'll just be happy to start climbing. I guess I can wait till we get our priority pick next year.

We started very poorly and allowed the opposition 3 easy goals. From then on, we were always chasing to get into the game instead of being in the game; the same thing happened last week.
When we settled down, we did not look out of place.
That's so familiar playing away against Melbourne. When I lived in Melbourne and we played them at the MCG it seemed every year they'd get out to around 20 in front, then we'd be level pegging the rest of the game to lose by that. It got so bloody frustrating seeing it. It was like groundhog day rocking up to see it.

I suppose at least we didn't have our usual capitulation where the quick goals in the third turned 14 points down into 40 - 70, but the usual momentum halting brain farts, followed by the quick 3 or 4 against us hurt. Even though you are expecting it, to have them in a winnable position so many weeks, to do it, you still have that hope that THIS game, they won't make schoolboy mistakes and then bend over and say 'Do me quick, I've got a match to get back to in 5 minutes'. :(

If Kane is running forward, he tends to kick it forward. When he's playing like this, he's valuable to us and I imagine this is exactly what Primus wants to see from him. I even saw Kane instructing one of the younger players to kick it forward in the 4th quarter! Kane would have to be the poster child for bad habits, made all the more worse by his continued personal success (club champions) with them. He would be one of the hardest players to 'de-program'.

That was Hartlett right as he butchered that 10m chip out on the full, we had a player 10m in front on the lead 30-40 up the ground. Then a guy in the bar blamed Kane for not running past and getting the handball!! Exactly the kind of thing he is always criticised for, people are never happy!!

Dom was excellent, lead from the front. The above error killed off momentum as they kicked a goal from the turnover, effectively ending the game.

Review R17: Port v Melbourne Review