R4: Port v Hawthorn Review

Damn, that first quarter really was football pr0n - loved that description I heard in the Port Radio podcast. How good was it? I've watched the goals like a million times by now. Westhoff grows on me every time I see him play. Read a bit about the guy and apparently he has played everywhere for us.

Except that the "injury cloud" was a corky on his thigh and the injury he sustained was a hamstring. And I'm not 100% sure but I think opposite legs too.

That's true, however it's not outside the realms of possibility that carrying an injury in one part of the body can lead to an injury elsewhere.

The body works as a system and one leg or muscle's instability can cause another one to overcompensate leading to injury. You see guys come back too early from knee injuries and end up doing a hamstring.

That's true, however it's not outside the realms of possibility that carrying an injury in one part of the body can lead to an injury elsewhere.

The body works as a system and one leg or muscle's instability can cause another one to overcompensate leading to injury. You see guys come back too early from knee injuries and end up doing a hamstring.
That's very true. But I'd wager that in this instance it's just an unfortunate coincidence. He might've helped in our come back but we needed more time than we did players in the end so I don't think the fact he got injured effected the result personally.

What shits me is the fact people saying we played one quarter of footy.

We did outscore Hawthorn 4 goals to 2 in the second quarter, extending our lead for crying out loud.

PS. Watching the replay again now... 'SCHULZ TURNS BIG BOY IN - SIDE - OUT!" Gold !!

More knowledgeable Hawks fans know we played at least 3 and a half quarters of footy with one scintillating first quarter.

Everyone else just wants to downplay it as being a fluke because they don't want to think about what would happen to their team if it happened to them.

PS. Watching the replay again now... 'SCHULZ TURNS BIG BOY IN - SIDE - OUT!" Gold !!

Haha yeah that was great. The commentary was driving me nuts near the end of the game but that guy really has some funny lines and can add emotion/excitement to the broadcast. I also liked the bit about Wingard through traffic and the Hammer goal. I just think he went a bit over the top with the Hawks nearer the end, I remember when it was still 80 or 90 something to 50 and he was already screaming out loud as if they were about to overturn our lead. It got me too nervous so I put him on mute. :D

That's Brian Taylor. Many find him to be quite annoying on commentary on Saturday Nights, and he was criticized by Port supporters after the game for bias towards Hawthorn.

the win against the hawks was so important after giving up the lead and the 4 points against freo. winning in perth is always hard, but when you are in front, you have to keep it.

the sydney game was a blemish but being 2 and 2 puts us on an even keel. now let's smash the crows and start building a strong foundation for the season.

At the game, after we kicked our 3rd goal in a row I made the comment that the game was like the Richmond Elimination final.

The second half, however, reminded me of the Geelong Semi Final in 2013. "We always knew they would come back at us..."

But thinking about it after a few days, it was like our Round 5 2013 game against West Coast but in reverse.

At the game, after we kicked our 3rd goal in a row I made the comment that the game was like the Richmond Elimination final.

The second half, however, reminded me of the Geelong Semi Final in 2013. "We always knew they would come back at us..."

But thinking about it after a few days, it was like our Round 5 2013 game against West Coast but in reverse.

they just needed jake neade

The first quarter against Hawthorn will be seen as a significant milestone towards our next flag.
We have blitzed teams before but against a quality opposition and with a two star players missing this effort will change the mindset of opposition teams towards us.
There will now be a real fear factor in teams preparation against us. What if's will cloud teams own setups, game plans.
Simply, we are now feared.

The first quarter against Hawthorn will be seen as a significant milestone towards our next flag.
We have blitzed teams before but against a quality opposition and with a two star players missing this effort will change the mindset of opposition teams towards us.
There will now be a real fear factor in teams preparation against us. What if's will cloud teams own setups, game plans.
Simply, we are now feared.
I wouldn't mind this Blitzkrieg approach every game to be honest, score as many as possible before the opposition even know what has hit them - it was absolutely brilliant to watch, although I'm not sure if it was intentional. in this case we would just need to adjust the way we calm thing down towards the end to make sure we keep the distance in the score.

What shits me is the fact people saying we played one quarter of footy.

We did outscore Hawthorn 4 goals to 2 in the second quarter, extending our lead for crying out loud.

Even the third we only conceded 10 points more off of the same number of scoring shots, including Polec missing what should have been the sealer at 3 quarter time. By my reckoning of players with shortened pre-seasons or carrying niggles we had out there - Ryder, Monfries, Wingard, Hartlett, Polec, White, Boak, Lobbe and Trengove. So missing 2 of our 3 best clearance players, plus 9 players who wouldn't be at full fitness yet and there's surprise we stopped late? :confused:

I think there's a fair number of commentators / other teams who know when everyone hits being fully match fit that we're going to be scary good and are trying to get into our players and coaches heads and sow doubt.

Even the third we only conceded 10 points more off of the same number of scoring shots, including Polec missing what should have been the sealer at 3 quarter time. By my reckoning of players with shortened pre-seasons or carrying niggles we had out there - Ryder, Monfries, Wingard, Hartlett, Polec, White, Boak, Lobbe and Trengove. So missing 2 of our 3 best clearance players, plus 9 players who wouldn't be at full fitness yet and there's surprise we stopped late? :confused:

I think there's a fair number of commentators / other teams who know when everyone hits being fully match fit that we're going to be scary good and are trying to get into our players and coaches heads and sow doubt.

To be fair, a disproportionate number of our own supporters are quite capable of sowing that themselves.

I look at that first quarter and I don't see a random occurrence. I see that as the benchmark of how good we could be. I'm talking Geelong 2008 levels here. That's my view of this team, and why I'm always positive of what can happen. The only reason why Hinkey says it's probably unsustainable for four quarters is that the opposition will react at sone stage and drop numbers into defence to stop it.

The one thing we need is a mobile KPF target who is strong at taking a contested mark so that when sides do play that lockdown style, we have that covered too. Unfortunately they're as rare as hens teeth.

And Mitchell missing form 30m just before Polec....

It was a nice feeling dropping my 3yr old girl off at Family day care in her Port jumper ....its a hawthorn supporters house:):):)
Husband of the woman who does the FDC is an absolute flog
My girl had a Panthers strip on underneath just for good measure:)

I look at that first quarter and I don't see a random occurrence. I see that as the benchmark of how good we could be. I'm talking Geelong 2008 levels here. That's my view of this team, and why I'm always positive of what can happen. The only reason why Hinkey says it's probably unsustainable for four quarters is that the opposition will react at sone stage and drop numbers into defence to stop it.

This is something I tend to agree with. We don't play it consistently yet, but we've definitely got a higher gear than any other side in this competition. We slip into god mode and we're untouchable for a little while.

Richmond tasted it, Freo tasted it after half time in the final, and now Hawthorn have. It's absolutely irresistible footy.

The more experienced we get, the better we'll get a flicking the switch, just like the great Geelong sides were.

Watched q1 again and that was the Wingard show in the middle. Hopefully when Robbie is back we can swap the two of them more out of the pocket as I don't think Robbie is spending enough time forward or Wingard enough time in the midfield.

Ice Hockey style with Lobbe/Gray/White as line 1, Ryder/Wingard/Young as line 2 and rotate them between mid and forward.

Once you have heard BT about 10 times you will go from he's funny to he always uses the same lines. No dramas but he does need some new material.

This video shows he was a prima dona when he played for Richmond and collingwood and has carried it into the commentary box. This is from 8 years ago when he was working for Channel 9 (now for 7) and he is dressed up as Colonel Sanders.

Here is the votes from the 2 coaches for the Coaches Award. Do you reckon one of the coaches - mostly like Clarkson gave Wingard 5 because of his first quarter setting up the game? Yeah I know he could have got 3 and 2 but it wouldnt surprise me if it was 5+0 as Carlile got 3+0 and I cant see Smith getting 5+0

http://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/news/2015-04-28/aflca-schulz-leads-the-way

Round 4 v Hawthorn
8 Jay Schulz (PA)
7 Travis Boak (PA)
5 Isaac Smith (Haw)
5 Chad Wingard (PA)
3 Alipate Carlile (PA)
1 Taylor Duryea (Haw)
1 Josh Gibson (Haw)

R4: Port v Hawthorn Review