R4: Port v Hawthorn Review

What a garbage commentator Brian Taylor is.

Fair dinkum bogan whisperer. If you think he is quality, you are at the trailer- trash end of the bell curve.

That is a great.......... behind

He flies up for a spectacular...... tap to advantage

I've never seen a better......... umpire calls time on. Umpire will throw it in

The Hawks havent been troubled this quarter and trail by 38 points...... ???

At least 3AW copped it sweet by cutting this piece of trash loose and paying out $180,000.

They must have mouth-breather Matthew Richardson there to make BT seem at least cognitive. BT is a circus clown.

I gather Clarkson was his normal gracious (not!) self in defeat. Ah, the true Roger Federer definition of a humble champion. Humble and sweet in victory, ungracious and denigrating of the opposition in defeat. I didn't hear the presser but have been told that he felt we had a lot of luck tonight - imagine if we had just a bit of that in the prelim last year.

**** the team that apparently invented "unsociable football". **** the team that called us bullies. **** the team that regularly dobs on people at the tribunal. **** the team that's coached by the angry dwarf that is gip rocks worst enemy in Clarkson. **** their cheap shots. **** Hawthorn. Eat my whole satchel.

Otherwise perfectly pleasant old dude in front of me seems to have some totally random least favourite players. Tonight it was "Geez Burgoyne, you're just as hopeless as your brother was!". Two weeks ago Jakey Neade was entirely to blame for the whole performance.

Not sure what the common denominator is here.

Does he have a problem with Paddy Ryder? He will.

What a garbage commentator Brian Taylor is.

Fair dinkum bogan whisperer. If you think he is quality, you are at the trailer- trash end of the bell curve.

That is a great.......... behind

He flies up for a spectacular...... tap to advantage

I've never seen a better......... umpire calls time on. Umpire will throw it in

The Hawks havent been troubled this quarter and trail by 38 points...... ???

At least 3AW copped it sweet by cutting this piece of trash loose and paying out $180,000.

They must have mouth-breather Matthew Richardson there to make BT seem at least cognitive. BT is a circus clown.

Well said.

Unbelievable. Simple as that. No one could've picked that.

Incredible win for a makeshift midfield against a basically full strength Hawks outfit.

That opens up the early part of the season a bit for us and hopefully the inclusion of Gray can give us another boost. I would've taken 3-2 or 2-3 given our prep, the draw and injury run, so I see the crows game as a free crack at it.

Only question for the game is, does the 2nd ruckman compromise our run? Is that why 3 out of 4 games so far have seen us look tired and outrun? I'm not saying change that, but clearly there's been a dynamic change in our team re our run.

smh at some hawks fans..some are good and some are just plain stuck up dickheads."meh take out the first 10 minutes and we would've smashed them by 40 points" like seriously we had our 2 best midfielders missing.
Yeah, see the thing is, you can't take out the first ten minutes. Take ten minutes of our choice out of the Prelim and we're Grand Finalists. Doesn't work that way though does it?

Incredible win for a makeshift midfield against a basically full strength Hawks outfit.

That opens up the early part of the season a bit for us and hopefully the inclusion of Gray can give us another boost. I would've taken 3-2 or 2-3 given our prep, the draw and injury run, so I see the crows game as a free crack at it.

Only question for the game is, does the 2nd ruckman compromise our run? Is that why 3 out of 4 games so far have seen us look tired and outrun? I'm not saying change that, but clearly there's been a dynamic change in our team re our run.
To be honest I think we are just ****ed from playing 4 of the best sides in the comp with some underdone players.

I gather Clarkson was his normal gracious (not!) self in defeat. Ah, the true Roger Federer definition of a humble champion. Humble and sweet in victory, ungracious and denigrating of the opposition in defeat. I didn't hear the presser but have been told that he felt we had a lot of luck tonight - imagine if we had just a bit of that in the prelim last year.

nah wasn't like that ... he said that we had a bit of luck early and that we were kicking them from everywhere in the 1st quarter. He then qualified about 5 mins later and said it is probably not fair to denigrate Port like that because you generally get the lucky breaks when you are playing better football.

Honestly I really do think our fitness will shine towards the end of the season....by design of course

So I wore a heart rate monitor to the match for shits and giggles. I went to the gym and lifted heavy things and put them down again at around 12pm-2pm. My resting heart rate is usually around 50, and my heart rate is typically elevated for the rest of the day after the gym. However as you can see, my heart rate was up and down like a maniac throughout the match anywhere from 70-110bpm then falls off a cliff after the match finished. certified evidence that football is bad for your health.

2015-04-26 00.14.44.png

To be honest I think we are just stuffed from playing 4 of the best sides in the comp with some underdone players.

It's been an astonishing month. I'd have taken 2-2 at the start of the year. Hands down.

nah wasn't like that ... he said that we had a bit of luck early and that we were kicking them from everywhere in the 1st quarter. He then qualified about 5 mins later and said it is probably not fair to denigrate Port like that because you generally get the lucky breaks when you are playing better football.
Ok cheers. Wasn't the version I was told, but I probably should have waited until teeing off at him.

It's been an astonishing month. I'd have taken 2-2 at the start of the year. Hands down.
Yep. Imagine if we go to 3-2.
Seems like we have just played through one helluva finals series and are about to play off in the big one this week. Hope the boys can recover well now, get Gray back into the side and continue playing more of that first quarter footy on a consistent basis.

smh at some hawks fans..some are good and some are just plain stuck up dickheads."meh take out the first 10 minutes and we would've smashed them by 40 points" like seriously we had our 2 best midfielders missing.

Take out the last quarter and we win by 40. Goes both ways.

Always felt that the "ideal" plan was to always sub out a ruckman or Trengove in the second half. Just that we've never had the chance to do so this year.

Did anyone else see Hodge's attempted punch to Jonas' face? Was in the third term I think, on the north-west wing in front of where I was sitting. Very dirty move from Hodge!

Interesting to see if the MRP pick it up.

Hodge had an absolute stinker. If that is his normal game I don't have any respect for him. Took several swings at jones and clipped him on the chin then turns tail runs at the ruck and flops.

And the play where he grabbed the ball on the wing , and threw it in the air and threw his arms out as he got tackled was dirty as. Should have been pinged by the ump. He didn't paddle the ball forward he scooped it with both hands.

We went defensive. Big mistake and I bet we won't do it again.

It worked though didn't it?

We threw the kitchen sink at them in the first half and spent an awful lot of petrol gaining the cushion that ultimately won us the match.

As much as the likes of Mitchell and Ah Chee are tryers, they're not Gray and Wines. An awful lot of clearance class and hard running we were crying out for in the last.

Win's a win.

R4: Port v Hawthorn Review