Rate My Team

Re: 2011 Rate My Team

team looks pretty good, have all the main prems in there. My only advice, and its only my opinion, but i would tend to only have 1 rookie back and fwd starting as it my opinion that they are the least reliable and in general tend to be less consistent compared with the rookie mids..Then again this year could be different as there seem some good rookie prospects in both back and fwds and at the end of the day you wont know until NAB stats.

Heres my team

Goddard, Deledio, Gibbs, Broughton, Grimes, Otten, Heppell
(Duigan, Poupolo, Hibberd)

Swan, Hodge, D. Swallow, Gaff, Conca, A. Krakouer
(I.Smith, Harris, Curnow)

Sandilands, Cox
(J.Tippet, Bailey)

Chapman, Riewoldt, Franklin, Brown, Goodes, Knights, Petrie
(Mzungu, Callinan, Richardson)

what you guys think?

anyone?

Allow me...

Defence is as solid as it gets. No issue there. I have a similar defence myself. Talia wont play initially but not a bad choice - should get games later in the year.

Palmer is not good in SC. DT he's fine, but his style and kicking efficiency isnt suited to SC. Take him off your list.

Replace Lock with Gaff.

Luenburger is ok, but mitch clarke apparently tearing up the preseason, which may hurt the Burger's TOG.

Id swap Hale with Petrie.

Forwards are ok. Pavlich i think will start to decline. Rest are good. From a crows fan's perspective, Callinan is a great pick. He'll make you serious coin.

Didak is inconsistent. If you can live with that, then thats fine. But a little too up-and-down for my liking. Im always worried he'll be down when its time for finals. Having said that, I do have buddy in my side :(

Its not just your team, but Ive seen it in many teams - not many geelong players. For a team who has dominated SC scores for the past few years, many are obviously anticipating a drop. I guess with no ablett, everyone expecting selwood/bartel to get more attention. Their defenders are obviously aging and not many good forward options besides chappy and maybe varcoe.

Didak is inconsistent..?

Averaged 105 in 2009
Averaged 103 in 2010

In 20 games last season.

4 games under 80
3 games in the 90's
13 games over 100

6 x 100+ scores and 3 x scores in the 90's in the first 11 games

8 x 100+ scores in the last 10 games

Hardly inconsistent..???

I would also question your comments on Pavlich, has been a fantastic Supercoach player over the years, after averaging 100+ for 4 consecutive years, he dropped to 99 in 2009 but maintained an average of 99 in 2010. Will definately still be in the top 5 scoring forwards this year, has been thrown between forwardline and midfield in the last couple of seasons fairly eratically, with fremantle's squad becoming more settled, i would expect Pavlich to play a larger percentage of time in the same role and his scores should reflect that.

Fair call. Despite the fact he averaged more in 2009, he was a little more inconsistent that year, but yes, last year he was very good.

I retract my statement :eek:

May as well post my team again to get some opinions of it, as it was largely ignored last time.

Def Goddard / Gibbs / Broughton / Malceski / Otten / Heppell / Toy Emg Cripps / Duigan / Hibberd
Mid Ablett / Selwood / Hodge / Pendlebury / Deledio / DSwallow Emg MacMillan / Conca / Atley
Ruck Sandilands / Petrie Emg Z Smith / Vardy
FwdN Riewoldt / Pavlich / O'Keefe / Tippett / Dennis-Lane / Day / Richardson Emg S Motlop / I Smith / Callinan

Fire away :thumbsu:

May as well post my team again to get some opinions of it, as it was largely ignored last time.

Def Goddard / Gibbs / Broughton / Malceski / Otten / Heppell / Toy Emg Cripps / Duigan / Hibberd
Mid Ablett / Selwood / Hodge / Pendlebury / Deledio / DSwallow Emg MacMillan / Conca / Atley
FwdN Riewoldt / Pavlich / O'Keefe / Tippett / Dennis-Lane / Day / Richardson Emg S Motlop / I Smith / Callinan

Malceski. How is is preseason. He had trouble with his LARS last year didnt he? I wont be getting him.
Abletts price should drop as he is not surrounded by a powerful team, or other strong bodies. He will always be tagged and his new team mates wont give him the same protection afforded by Geelong players.
I hope Tippett is over his knee tendonitis.:thumbsu:
Dennis Lane? Im not sure he will score that will, if he is sub 150K then might be worth the punt.
my 2c

I wouldn't be picking TDL over Krakouer (and thus I'd be saving myself $100k). Apart from that I reckon that's a great side mate. Good Luck.

BACKS
Goddard, Deledio, G.Broughton, Adcock, Enright, A.Otten, N.Duigan (S.Martin, D.Daniher, P.Puopolo)

MIDS
Hodge, D.Cross, Pendlebury, T.Scully, R.Conca, A.Gaff (D.Harris, S.Atley, D.Heppell)

RUCKS
Sandilands, P.Ryder (Z.Smith, J.Charman)

FORWARDS
Chapman, N.Riewoldt, Franklin, R.OKeeffe, C.Yarran, D.Petrie, I.Smith (D.Prestia, I.Callinan, B.Matera)

Malceski. How is is preseason. He had trouble with his LARS last year didnt he? I wont be getting him.
Abletts price should drop as he is not surrounded by a powerful team, or other strong bodies. He will always be tagged and his new team mates wont give him the same protection afforded by Geelong players.
I hope Tippett is over his knee tendonitis.:thumbsu:
Dennis Lane? Im not sure he will score that will, if he is sub 150K then might be worth the punt.
my 2c

Malceski swapped for Heath Shaw, and Ablett swapped for Judd. With that cash injection, Dennis-Lane swapped for Jarryd Roughead.

Actually looks a bit better now, tbh.

Backs : Goddard, Delidio, Shaw, Chaplin, Bock, Everitt, (Tape, Poupolo, Duigan)

Mids : Thomas, Judd, Ablett, Vince, Scully, D. Swallow, (Gaff, Atley, I Smith)

Rucks: Trengove, Jolly, (Petrie, Smith)

Forwards: Pavlitch, Rioli, J. Reiwoldt, Mzungo, A. Moore, A. Krakour, O'Keefe, (C. Richardson, Callinan, Tapscott)

Thoughts everyone... made the switch from DT to SC this year soo wouldnt mind some advice.. :)

Cheers

Backs : Goddard, Delidio, Shaw, Chaplin, Bock, Everitt, (Tape, Poupolo, Duigan)

Mids : Thomas, Judd, Ablett, Vince, Scully, D. Swallow, (Gaff, Atley, I Smith)

Rucks: Trengove, Jolly, (Petrie, Smith)

Forwards: Pavlitch, Rioli, J. Reiwoldt, Mzungo, A. Moore, A. Krakour, O'Keefe, (C. Richardson, Callinan, Tapscott)

Thoughts everyone... made the switch from DT to SC this year soo wouldnt mind some advice.. :)

Cheers

Everitt. Ew. Not sure on A Moore's availability or scoring strength. Trengove as your main ruck? Chaplin? Some odd decisions.

Malceski swapped for Heath Shaw, and Ablett swapped for Judd. With that cash injection, Dennis-Lane swapped for Jarryd Roughead.

Actually looks a bit better now, tbh.
Great. :thumbsu:
If you didnt have Heater last year, you need to know he can be up and down with scores. Depends on tags. Will be getting him again this year I think.

I'll try and get some feedback a second time around

Backs - Goddard, Gibbs, Deledio, Gilbert, Grimes, Otten, Heppell (Duigan, McKernan, Watson)

Mids - Judd, Selwood, Hodge, Pendlebury, Swallow, Gaff (Harris, Atley, I.Smith)

Ruck - Sandilands, Warnock (J.Tippett, Bailey)

Fwds - Franklin, O'Keefe, Pavlich, Higgins, K.Tippett, Krakouer, Mzungu (Talia, Mattera, Callinan)

I'll try and get some feedback a second time around

Backs - Goddard, Gibbs, Deledio, Gilbert, Grimes, Otten, Heppell (Duigan, McKernan, Watson)

Mids - Judd, Selwood, Hodge, Pendlebury, Swallow, Gaff (Harris, Atley, I.Smith)

Ruck - Sandilands, Warnock (J.Tippett, Bailey)

Fwds - Franklin, O'Keefe, Pavlich, Higgins, K.Tippett, Krakouer, Mzungu (Talia, Mattera, Callinan)

Looks a really good squad tbh. Warnock as second ruck is a gamble, but could very well pay off. Forward line is the probably the weakest, but really only because your mids and def are so impressive.

Thought I would post up my team so far, any opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Def: Goddard, Gibbs, Deledio, Broughton, Enright, Otten, Duigan
Def bench: Toy, Coad, Puopolo

Mid: Judd, Pendelbury, Bartel, Jack, D.Swallow, Conca
Mid bench: Harris, Smith, Hibberd

Ruck: Sandilands, Jolly
Ruck bench: Smith, J.Tippet

Fwd: Riewoldt, Franklin, Sylvia, Morton, Petrie, Krakouer, Mzungu
Fwd bench: Prestia, Tapscott, Callinan

Thought I would post up my team so far, any opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Def: Goddard, Gibbs, Deledio, Broughton, Enright, Otten, Duigan
Def bench: Toy, Coad, Puopolo

Mid: Judd, Pendelbury, Bartel, Jack, D.Swallow, Conca
Mid bench: Harris, Smith, Hibberd

Ruck: Sandilands, Jolly
Ruck bench: Smith, J.Tippet

Fwd: Riewoldt, Franklin, Sylvia, Morton, Petrie, Krakouer, Mzungu
Fwd bench: Prestia, Tapscott, Callinan

Swap Toy & Duigan. Swap Harris & Conca. Ruck division is really good, provided that's Zac Smith.

Which Morton? Not sure of Tapscott's health.

hello all my 1st go at a team for the year. i bet it looks nothing like this come round 1.

def Goddard gibbs deledio broughton Ellis Adcock Otten emg Jacobs Toy Puopolo

Mid Swan Cross Vince Anthony D Swallow Harris emg Heppell Mzungu Callinan

Ruck Sandilands Goldstein emg J tippet M bailey

Foreward Chapman Roo (snr) Roo (jnr) Okeefe Petrie krakouer Ablett Emg Prestia Richardson Matera

needs work I think. There's a few guys in there just filling holes at the moment.

Any ideas on this one guys?
i gotta beat my brother this year......

Swap Toy & Duigan. Swap Harris & Conca. Ruck division is really good, provided that's Zac Smith.

Which Morton? Not sure of Tapscott's health.

Yep that's zac smith, I couldn't find any news on tapscott so that's why he is still there until I hear something, it's Mitch Morton not overly happy with him though

Post on the Melbourne board asking about Tapscott, they'll be sure to give you an answer.

Fair call. Despite the fact he averaged more in 2009, he was a little more inconsistent that year, but yes, last year he was very good.

I retract my statement :eek:

No worries mate, my main concern with Didak in the early part of the season was that due to his limited pre-season I'm sceptical as to whether he'll come charging out of the blocks. In other words, I'm thinking he'll be an upgrade target, potentially for A.Krak if he lives up to expectations.

I welcome discussion like this!

hello all my 1st go at a team for the year. i bet it looks nothing like this come round 1.

def Goddard gibbs deledio broughton Ellis Adcock Otten emg Jacobs Toy Puopolo

Mid Swan Cross Vince Anthony D Swallow Harris emg Heppell Mzungu Callinan

Ruck Sandilands Goldstein emg J tippet M bailey

Foreward Chapman Roo (snr) Roo (jnr) Okeefe Petrie krakouer Ablett Emg Prestia Richardson Matera

needs work I think. There's a few guys in there just filling holes at the moment.

I'll be honest with my point of view mate, hopefully it gives you some food for thought.

Ellis & Adcock are very risky IMO, given their run with injury over previous months and hence limited pre-seasons. Moreover, there are better alternatives around the same price range.

Same goes for Vince, however he's more likely to perform to his potential, I personally stay away from people who are questionable at his price.

Starting 2 mids from GC is also a risk.

Rucks aren't too bad, just not sure if Goldstein is an out-and-out SC'er, even in the absence of H-Mac.

I think the forward line may need a bit of tweeking. Chapman, The Voldt and ROK are solid selections. Starting all 3 of Petrie, A.Krak & Nablett is an area that needs work. Personally, I'd have Petrie as a 3rd ruckman?

Hope this helps Buttox

B: Goddard (vc), Delidio, Broughton, Enright, Drummond, Otten, Heppell
(Poupolo, Toy, Duigan)

M: Swan (c), Selwood, Gibbs (mpp), Foley, Swallow, Gaff
(Atley, Wallis, I Smith)

R: Sandilands, Cox
(Z.Smith, j tippet (mpp))

F: Reiwoldt, Franklin, Pavlich, OKeefe, Petrie (mpp), Krakouer, Prestia
(Richardson, Mzungu, Callinan)

Backs:
Goddard - Obviously, best backman on the list, proves week after week that he can score big.
Deledio - Leads richmonds midfield in his own way, will get better backup with the return of foley and houli.
Broughton - Into his 3 season, still young and consistaly scores high.
Enright - May get more of a run in the midfield now abletts gone, so could be worth his price.
Drummond - big risk but if anychance of him getting back to his 07 form, im taking the chance.
Otten - For his price, worth buying! could rise in price quickly as he will slot right back into the side due to the departure of bock.
Heppell - Should get lots of chances during the season and the price will definately rise
Poupolo - should get some games in the hawks squad so price will rise
Toy - Cheap for what hes worth, could of easily been a top 5 draft pick.
Duigan - Exactly what the blues need in their backline, will get consistant games.

Midfields
Swan - Need i say more?
Selwood - Will lead the cats midfield now abletts gone, look for big scores
Gibbs - Can score big, the use of the MPP will be a bonus with deledio, goddard and heppell all swapable
Foley - averaged 93 in his 4 games before injury, cheap and worth it, if he stays fit he could be worth 500,000
Swallow - number 1 draft pick, gotta have him
Gaff - Should get plenty of games at the wooden spooners, lots of spots to fill in the squad.
Atley - worth his price and could rise alot
Wallis - havent heared alot, but could play games at the aging dogs squad.
Smith - First round draft pick, should get a few games for the hawks

Rucks
Sandilands - IMO a must have in any squad
Cox - He believes hes as fit as hes ever been, im up for the gamble
Smith - Suns number 1 ruckman as Frasers a ruck/forward rotater so his price shall rise
Tippett - Got him in my side for the MPP rotation with Petrie

Forwards
Riewoldt - hes exposed but still a gun
Franklin - still in good form, him n roughy booted 7 between them in the practice match.
Pavlich - hes playing in a good squad these days, worth his price
O'Keefe - Cheaper than usual, one of my supercoach favourites in past years and could rise back up again
Petrie - has the ability to score big, but majorly put him in for the backup ruckman
Krakouer - good form in his practice match, b&f in WA and cheap, expect his price to rise
Prestia - hearing hes in better scoring form then Day, hoping his price rises
Richardson - Will definately get some games for the roos, and price will definately rise
Mzungu - Mature aged rookie, from freo, the next barlow?
Callinan - with the departure of half adelaides midfield, he will get a few games here

whats everyone think? any tips appreciated!

Backs:
B. Deledio, P. Duffield, J. Grimes, N. Bock, J. Gram, N. Krakour, A. Otten
Emergencys: J. Toy, P. Pupolo, N. Duigan

Mids:
D. Swan, J. Selwood, B. Sewell, D. Beams, L. Anthony, J. Ziebell
Emergencys: D. Swallow, D.Harris, T. Mzungu

Rucks:
A.Sandilands, S. Jacobs
Emergencys: J. Ceglar, M. Bailey

Forwards:
N.Riewoldt, C.Sylvia, T.Varcoe, B.Macaffer, G. Rohan, A. Krakour, S.Day
Emergencys: I.Smith, Z.Skinner, I. Callinan

Only early days so far. Rookies will change after nab cup expecially the forwards. Undecided on Beams but i think Sewell has abit more in him this year. Might need to change my midfield abit i think.. Get more players from more of a variety of teams. Let me know what you think.

B: Goddard (vc), Delidio, Broughton, Enright, Drummond, Otten, Heppell
(Poupolo, Toy, Duigan)

M: Swan (c), Selwood, Gibbs (mpp), Foley, Swallow, Gaff
(Atley, Wallis, I Smith)

R: Sandilands, Cox
(Z.Smith, j tippet (mpp))

F: Reiwoldt, Franklin, Pavlich, OKeefe, Petrie (mpp), Krakouer, Prestia
(Richardson, Mzungu, Callinan)

Backs:
Goddard - Obviously, best backman on the list, proves week after week that he can score big.
Deledio - Leads richmonds midfield in his own way, will get better backup with the return of foley and houli.
Broughton - Into his 3 season, still young and consistaly scores high.
Enright - May get more of a run in the midfield now abletts gone, so could be worth his price.
Drummond - big risk but if anychance of him getting back to his 07 form, im taking the chance.
Otten - For his price, worth buying! could rise in price quickly as he will slot right back into the side due to the departure of bock.
Heppell - Should get lots of chances during the season and the price will definately rise
Poupolo - should get some games in the hawks squad so price will rise
Toy - Cheap for what hes worth, could of easily been a top 5 draft pick.
Duigan - Exactly what the blues need in their backline, will get consistant games.

Midfields
Swan - Need i say more?
Selwood - Will lead the cats midfield now abletts gone, look for big scores
Gibbs - Can score big, the use of the MPP will be a bonus with deledio, goddard and heppell all swapable
Foley - averaged 93 in his 4 games before injury, cheap and worth it, if he stays fit he could be worth 500,000
Swallow - number 1 draft pick, gotta have him
Gaff - Should get plenty of games at the wooden spooners, lots of spots to fill in the squad.
Atley - worth his price and could rise alot
Wallis - havent heared alot, but could play games at the aging dogs squad.
Smith - First round draft pick, should get a few games for the hawks

Rucks
Sandilands - IMO a must have in any squad
Cox - He believes hes as fit as hes ever been, im up for the gamble
Smith - Suns number 1 ruckman as Frasers a ruck/forward rotater so his price shall rise
Tippett - Got him in my side for the MPP rotation with Petrie

Forwards
Riewoldt - hes exposed but still a gun
Franklin - still in good form, him n roughy booted 7 between them in the practice match.
Pavlich - hes playing in a good squad these days, worth his price
O'Keefe - Cheaper than usual, one of my supercoach favourites in past years and could rise back up again
Petrie - has the ability to score big, but majorly put him in for the backup ruckman
Krakouer - good form in his practice match, b&f in WA and cheap, expect his price to rise
Prestia - hearing hes in better scoring form then Day, hoping his price rises
Richardson - Will definately get some games for the roos, and price will definately rise
Mzungu - Mature aged rookie, from freo, the next barlow?
Callinan - with the departure of half adelaides midfield, he will get a few games here

whats everyone think? any tips appreciated!

- I like the addition of Foley in the midfield.

- I'm personally not sold on Enright or Drummond, but I may end up eating my words

- It's a well rounded team... I can't really see any glaringly obvious areas that need addressing

Goddard
Gibbs
Deledio
Broughton
Grimes
Otten
Toy

Dugain
Hibberd
Puopolo

Judd