Franklin, L
Pavlich, M
Petrie, D
Mzungu, T
Darling, J
Prestia, D
Matera, B
Callinan, I

Alright Lads, here's what a $50000 team looks like at the start of the year ;)

Defenders

Gibbs, Deledio, Grimes, Hurn, Garland, Otten, Heppel
(Faulks, Toy, Duigan)

Midfield

Goddard, Judd, Jack, Pavlich, Stanton, D Swallow
(Harris, Atley, Contin)

Rucks

Sandilands, Petrie
(Nichols, Deryckx)

Forwards

N Reiwoldt, C Rioli, J Reiwoldt, M Morton, Dangerfield, Duncan, Mzungu
(Matera, Richardson, Callinan)

$144,300 in change ...

I thought the idea of this thread is to comment on a team then post your own? I have done this but it would seem a waste of time as teams just get posted up without any previous reviews....

Don't post your team without first giving thoughts on a previous team lads :thumbsu:

Def: Goddard, Gibbs, Duffield, Carazzo, Adcock, Sheppard, Otten, (Toy, Puopolo, Batchelor)
Mid: Montagna, J.Selwood, Sewell, Hannebery, S.Hill, D.Swallow, (Fasolo, Callinan, Simpkin)
Ruc: Trengove, Petrie, (Seaby, Campbell)
Fwd: Franklin, N.Reiwoldt, Pavlich, O'Keefe, Varcoe, Zaharakis, Knights (A.Krakour, M.Motlop, Mzugul)

Def: Goddard, Gibbs, Duffield, Carazzo, Adcock, Sheppard, Otten, (Toy, Puopolo, Batchelor)
Mid: Montagna, J.Selwood, Sewell, Hannebery, S.Hill, D.Swallow, (Fasolo, Callinan, Simpkin)
Ruc: Trengove, Petrie, (Seaby, Campbell)
Fwd: Franklin, N.Reiwoldt, Pavlich, O'Keefe, Varcoe, Zaharakis, Knights (A.Krakour, M.Motlop, Mzugul)

to start with krakour has to be on the field.
Im not sure if hill hanneberry sheppard zahrakis, varcoe are going to be worth while picking from the start, one or two might be but it seems like alot of mid priced players that don't look like having the ability to go to 90+ average

trengove as your lead ruck at this stage is very risky. he will get game time, but he isnt a premium by any stretch of the imagination
i think you will have to use too many trades to get a banging side at the end of the year,
also missing out on alot of cash cows imo

anyway this is my side

Backs: Goddard, Gibbs, Deledio, Enright, Grimes, Otten, Heppel
Emergs: Toy, Duigan, B.Smith(adel)

Mids: Swan, Hodge, M.Murphy, D.Swallow, Gaff, Polec
Emergs: Conca, Atley, Prestia

Rucks: Sandilands, Jolly
Emergs: Z.Smith, Bailey

Fowards: Riewoldt, Franklin, Goodes, Sylvia, Dangerfield, Krakouer, Mzungu
Emergs: S.Mckernan, C.Richardson, I.Smith

let me know what you think

Do you reckon there will be any improvement in Doughty?
Drummond a big risk, his quads/hammies and calves give in pretty easy these days. Was a gun SC'er but keep in mind he's lost a lot of his classy team mates, so he will get squeezed down there i think. Will be harder.

Cotchin, Sculley & Shuey? Could downgrade to a rookie here and use the money to improve the forward line which is a bit average. Might look ok to you on paper but could quite easily be your un-doing. Too many average players there.

Could easily lose Doughty and Drummond and change to another rookie in the midfield to address the forward line issues.

Just my thoughts, apologies if you dont agree

Thanks for the input Douls, took Drummond out and replaced with Mackie?
Drummond still has an on-going hip issue from all reports.
Wil have a look at the others you suggest :thumbsu:

DEF

Goddard, B
Gibbs, B
Newman, C
Otten, A
Heppell, D
Duigan, N
Puopolo, P
Grimes, J
Hunt, K
Toy, J

MIDS

Swan, D
Judd, C
Boyd, M
Gaff, A
Polec, J
Conca, R
Anthony, L
Swallow, D
Harris, D

RUCKS

Sandilands, A
Jolly, D
Tippett, J
Smith, Z

FORWARDS

Chapman, P
Riewoldt, N
Franklin, L
Pavlich, M
Petrie, D
Mzungu, T
Darling, J
Prestia, D
Matera, B
Callinan, I

No expert but here's my thoughts.
Like the backs. Forwards look very strong, rucks the same.

Mids look light on for star power, good rookies but are they all going to get game time?

Conca looks a future prospect but is he going to get time in an improving Richmond midfield this year, with Cotchin and Foley enjoying good pre-seasons?

Maybe downgrade a forward or Jolly for another premium mid?

People thoughts on my side.. changes that should be made..

BACKS: Goddard Broughten Enright Gilbee Grimes Otten Heppell
RES: Toy Duigan Puopolo

MID: Pendlebury Boyd Bartel Mitchell L Anthony D Swallow
RES: Conca Harris I Smith

RUCKS: Cox Petrie
RES: Smith J Tippet

FORWARDS: Riewoldt Pavlich Riolio O keefe Higgins Knights Richardson
RES: Prestia Mzungu Cailinan

Do you guys think you shoudnt have to many gun players from the same
team in the same position.. cause when it comes to that teams bye your interchanging them for two rookies an you side has become not as strong .. thoughts

Alright Lads, here's what a $50000 team looks like at the start of the year ;)

Defenders

Gibbs, Deledio, Grimes, Hurn, Garland, Otten, Heppel
(Faulks, Toy, Duigan)

Midfield

Goddard, Judd, Jack, Pavlich, Stanton, D Swallow
(Harris, Atley, Contin)

Rucks

Sandilands, Petrie
(Nichols, Deryckx)

Forwards

N Reiwoldt, C Rioli, J Reiwoldt, M Morton, Dangerfield, Duncan, Mzungu
(Matera, Richardson, Callinan)

$144,300 in change ...

I lol'd :D

IMO you should move Goddard and Pav out of the midfield and replace them with actual midfielders. Also seems like to have a fair few players in the middle priced region. Not all of them will perform and you'll be stuck with someone scoring 60-70s at around ~350,000. Thats my 2cents ;)

Some slight adjustments to my team taking into consideration byes, form in week 1 of NAB, etc

Backs: Goddard, Gibbs, Deledio, Broughton, Grimes, Otten, Toy (Duigan, Puopolo, Hibberd)

Mids: Swan, Boyd, Jack, Swallow, Krakouer, Harris (Heppell, Mzungu, Polec)

Rucks: Cox, Jolly (Z. Smith, (prob some no name))

Fwd: Chapman, Riewoldt, Didak, Franklin, Rioli, Knights, Richardson (Sumner, I.Smith, Callinan)

Some slight adjustments to my team taking into consideration byes, form in week 1 of NAB, etc

Backs: Goddard, Gibbs, Deledio, Broughton, Grimes, Otten, Toy (Duigan, Puopolo, Hibberd)

Fwd: Chapman, Riewoldt, Didak, Franklin, Rioli, Knights, Richardson (Sumner, I.Smith, Callinan)

Very similar team to how mine has been at stages, I have made quite a few changes though. You have some good cash cows in your midfield, so providing they get games you'll soo have a lot of spare cash if you trade wisely.

I wouldn't make a heap of changes to that team, it looks pretty good to me.

Here is my team

Defenders
Goddard, Gibbs, Deledio, Connors, Otten, R. Tarrant, Heppell. (Coad, Toy, Hibberd)

Midfielders
Swan, Judd, Hodge, Hayes, Cooney, D. Swallow. (Harris, Mzungu, Wallis)

Rucks
Jolly, McEvoy (R. Campbell, T. Derickx)

Forwards
Chapman, N. Riewoldt, Pavlich, Higgins, Veszpremi, Krakouer, Gamble (Matera, I. Smith, I. Callinan)

Thoughts?

I lol'd :D

IMO you should move Goddard and Pav out of the midfield and replace them with actual midfielders. Also seems like to have a fair few players in the middle priced region. Not all of them will perform and you'll be stuck with someone scoring 60-70s at around ~350,000. Thats my 2cents ;)

My rationale behind having Goddard and Pavlich in the guts is that they have the flexibility to be substituted both back (Goddard) and forward (Pavlich) if ever the need arises. I have a fair few players at either end that can go into the middle as a sub.

For example, if Gibbs has general soreness and can't get up for one week I could rotate him into the middle for Goddard and swing Harris from the bench in place of Gibbs.

The reason for this is because I feel a backup mid like Harris has a far greater scoring potential than someone like Faulks or Duigan, but that remains to be seen I suppose.

I reckon Garland and Morton are ready to go BANG. I feel Melbourne's defence is on the rise (Frawley out hurts) and their players will begin to rack up stats. I don't know why, just a hunch. I also feel that Jack Reiwoldt and Morton could post very good numbers this year for the Tigers. I see Morton as playing that Richardson roaming winger role (much like Cale Morton) getting 20+ possies a week. J Reiwoldt is fitter and could begin to play a fair bit higher up the ground meaning, fingers crossed, more possies and higher scores.

I don't expect Hurn et al to post great numbers but just be consistently solid. If a player comes to my attention over the next few weeks they'll be straight in as I'm not completely sold on Otten and Dangerfield. Both can be great on their day but may be a year or two off being consistently prolific scorers.

Defenders
Goddard, Gibbs, Deledio, Connors, Otten, R. Tarrant, Heppell. (Coad, Toy, Hibberd)
Conners is a good roughie i think, you need to have a few in your team that not many others will have! NICE. Tarrant should play alot of games, but keep an eye out through pre-season!
Midfielders
Swan, Judd, Hodge, Hayes, Cooney, D. Swallow. (Harris, Mzungu, Wallis)
GREAT!!! Chances are you may not even have to touch this midfield all year!
Rucks
Jolly, McEvoy (R. Campbell, T. Derickx)
Jolly YES! McEvoy NO, he wont get you great scores, better off getting someone cheaper and upgrading later (because to win overall or leagueyou will be upgrading Ben anyways) OR find money elsewhere and start with Cox/sandi/mumford.
Forwards
Chapman, N. Riewoldt, Pavlich, Higgins, Veszpremi, Krakouer, Gamble (Matera, I. Smith, I. Callinan)
Chapman (50/50 on ppls opinions here, im on the "he will get injured, and cause you headaches throughout 2011" opinion. 2 Doggies... Better hope u have 2 out of 3 bench players playing, i have had them both in my team and gone against it, Higgins will be a keeper, Patty will be a good cow though. Keep in mind u have gamble (can he get in to saints best 22?) and krak who will both be traded out as cows (and wont get an average higher then 70.

Ruck needs 1 change, probably a downgrade to use money in FWD and ugrade Vezpremi. The FWD is the only thing that may need some work really! Good team though with good risk (midfield is going score you mojority of points early just hope u can make a few upgrades in the fwd line early on too. You could have a great team very early on with some luck.

Ok My Team:

BACK: Goddard, Gibbs, Delidio, Grimes, Drummond, Otten, Heppell (Duigan, Talia, Coad)

MID: Swan, Judd, Boyd, Foley, Swallow, Mzungu (Harris, Hibberd, Contin)

RUCK: Sandilands, Cox (smith, Bailey)

FWD: ROO, Pav, Franklin, Higgins, Hurley, Krakour, Richardson (Matera, Smith, Callinan)

Continue suit and post reply about my team and then insert your team for an opinion (I know this has been said but there are stil ppl who ignore it)

Cheers

Hi guys,

Really looking forward to this years competition! had my best year yet last season, ending up averaging around 22xx, was quite pleased.

Here's my provisional team for this season, with a few players/combinations being tossed up between still.

BACKS:
Goddard, Gibbs, Deledio, Birchall, Krakouer, Otten, Heppel
(Toy, Duigan, Puopolo)

MIDS:
Swan, Hodge, Bartel, Sidebottom, Anthony, D. Swallow
(Atley, Wallis, C. Beams)

RUCKS:
Sandilands, Fraser
(R. Campbell, Grimley)

FORWARDS:

N. Riewoldt, Franklin, Pavlich, Varcoe, Higgins, Knights, Krakouer
(Mzungu, Tapscott, I. Smith)

thoughts, comments appreciated!

I thought the idea of this thread is to comment on a team then post your own? I have done this but it would seem a waste of time as teams just get posted up without any previous reviews....

Don't post your team without first giving thoughts on a previous team lads :thumbsu:

Spot on. This is exactly what we want to encourage in this thread.
A little comment here or there should not be too difficult.

Hi guys,

Really looking forward to this years competition! had my best year yet last season, ending up averaging around 22xx, was quite pleased.

Here's my provisional team for this season, with a few players/combinations being tossed up between still.

BACKS:
Goddard, Gibbs, Deledio, Birchall, Krakouer, Otten, Heppel
(Toy, Duigan, Puopolo)

MIDS:
Swan, Hodge, Bartel, Sidebottom, Anthony, D. Swallow
(Atley, Wallis, C. Beams)

RUCKS:
Sandilands, Fraser
(R. Campbell, Grimley)

FORWARDS:

N. Riewoldt, Franklin, Pavlich, Varcoe, Higgins, Knights, Krakouer
(Mzungu, Tapscott, I. Smith)

thoughts, comments appreciated!

Backs: Pretty stock standard backline, apart from birchall, which i think is abit iffy. Better players out there for his price range.

Mids: Fantastic mids, although if i was to choose a fault it would be that you dont have another rookie starting, remembering that those guys are the players that will make you money.

Rucks: Bit iffy on Fraser but he should play most weeks one would think.

Fwds: I like the choice or varcoe, unique and could pay dividends.

Overall a good team mate!

Anyone care to take a look at my team?

Backs: Goddard, deledio, broughton, grimes, adcock, otten, heppel (toy, duigan, pupollo)

Mids: Swan, boyd, Gibbs, anthony, swallow, gaff (Mzungu, harris, hibberd)

Fowards: N. Riewoldt, Franklin, Pavlich, Rioli, Zaharakis, Knights, Krakouer, (Matera, richardson, smith)

Thanks in advance!

Anyone care to take a look at my team?

Backs: Goddard, deledio, broughton, grimes, adcock, otten, heppel (toy, duigan, pupollo)

Mids: Swan, boyd, Gibbs, anthony, swallow, gaff (Mzungu, harris, hibberd)

Fowards: N. Riewoldt, Franklin, Pavlich, Rioli, Zaharakis, Knights, Krakouer, (Matera, richardson, smith)

Thanks in advance!

You put in the effort to comment on another posters so here goes...

So the 3 backs in bold are very risky, They managed about 40 games between them last year and their record with injuries aren't too good.

Midfield/Rucks pretty stock standard

Forwards - I would get rid of Zaharakis and Krakouer straight sway especially with you taking the risk on Knights. I think you would be better off upgrading one of them and bringing in another rookie. Richardson looks good enough to be a starter also.

You put in the effort to comment on another posters so here goes...

So the 3 backs in bold are very risky, They managed about 40 games between them last year and their record with injuries aren't too good.

Midfield/Rucks pretty stock standard

Forwards - I would get rid of Zaharakis and Krakouer straight sway especially with you taking the risk on Knights. I think you would be better off upgrading one of them and bringing in another rookie. Richardson looks good enough to be a starter also.

Thanks for the advice mate! Much appreciated.

Ruck needs 1 change, probably a downgrade to use money in FWD and ugrade Vezpremi. The FWD is the only thing that may need some work really! Good team though with good risk (midfield is going score you mojority of points early just hope u can make a few upgrades in the fwd line early on too. You could have a great team very early on with some luck.

Ok My Team:

BACK: Goddard, Gibbs, Delidio, Grimes, Drummond, Otten, Heppell (Duigan, Talia, Coad)

MID: Swan, Judd, Boyd, Foley, Swallow, Mzungu (Harris, Hibberd, Contin)

RUCK: Sandilands, Cox (smith, Bailey)

FWD: ROO, Pav, Franklin, Higgins, Hurley, Krakour, Richardson (Matera, Smith, Callinan)

Continue suit and post reply about my team and then insert your team for an opinion (I know this has been said but there are stil ppl who ignore it)

Cheers

Thanks mate, got rid of Vezpremi and brought in Richardson, then got rid of McEvoy and brought in Mitch Clark but considering Tippett/Warnock/Minson/Seaby... will monitor preseason!

Thoughts on your team... Backs - Drummond did his knee last year yeah? I suppose being a defender he'll get heaps of touches as Brisbane will struggle but I'd maybe hold off on him because I am presuming he costs a bit. If he is cheap then take him by all means but if he is the $400k I am thinking i'd go with someone else.

Mids - All your cash cows will play and rack up touches so you'll be good for dough later on in the year. Not sure on the price of Foley, if he is cheap and really cheap then yes a good buy! If he is costing a bit then i'd perhaps be a little more cautious... however this is a game of risks!

Rucks - Faultless, cannot see how you can go wrong here if they boh stay fit! I don't know much about your bench ruckman!

Forwards - Love the selection of Hurley to be honest, he has a ridiculous amount of potential and with a more solid game plan and perhaps a stronger Essendon, he could have a break out year this year! Apart from that your forward line is the same as mine, Hurley for Chapman, i'll monitor Chappy over preseason and the first 3 rounds!

Good team:thumbsu:

You would have to be pretty sure of your rookies, otherwise there will be a few doughnuts in the fwds in rnd 6.

Goddard, Deledio, Broughton, Grimes, Greenwood, Otten, Toy (Heppell, Duigan, Poapolo)
Judd, Selwood, Pendlebury, Boak, Kennedy Jr, Harris (Conca, Pittard, Callinan)
Mumford, Leuenberger (Bailey, Smith)
Reiwoldt N, Rioli, Sylvia, Higgins, Zaharakis, Polkinghorne, Mzungu (Richardson, Krakouer, Matera)

Goddard, Deledio, Broughton, Grimes, Greenwood, Otten, Toy (Heppell, Duigan, Poapolo)
Judd, Selwood, Pendlebury, Boak, Kennedy Jr, Harris (Conca, Pittard, Callinan)
Mumford, Leuenberger (Bailey, Smith)
Reiwoldt N, Rioli, Sylvia, Higgins, Zaharakis, Polkinghorne, Mzungu (Richardson, Krakouer, Matera)

How much cash you have left?
Greenwoods an interesting one, usually his role is more of a tag/run with player - though he can also be a hard in and under possession getter. I'd wait to see what his role is this year, his price rose due to his monster rd22 game where he got heaps of the ball.

No David Swallow? only costs 20K more than Conca and would definintely be one of the best players in your team, the kid is a freak!

Interesting Ruck combo, see how that pans out...

I feel like you might be missing a big name in your fwd line, I like Rioli - think he could get a lot of the pill this year, same with syliva and higgins, however, all 3 of them have a slight risk factor to them (especially sylvia and higgins) maybe pick between one of them and upgrade elsewhere, personally i'd pick higgins, dude is cheap, and is a dead set gun.

Here's my team:
Goddard, Gibbs, Deledio, Broughton, Hurley, Otten, R Tarrant,
(Heppel, Toy, Puopolo)

Judd, Pendlebury, Bartel, Anthony, Gaff, Mzungu
(swallow, presita, wallis)

Sandilands, Goldstein
(nicholls, Bathie - 93K no name....)

N Riewoldt, Franklin, Pavlich, Rioli, Higgins, A Krakour, S Motlop
(McKernan, Richardson, Matera)

I'm liking the spread, though only have 12K left over...

Here's my team:
Goddard, Gibbs, Deledio, Broughton, Hurley, Otten, R Tarrant,
(Heppel, Toy, Puopolo)

Judd, Pendlebury, Bartel, Anthony, Gaff, Mzungu
(swallow, presita, wallis)

Sandilands, Goldstein
(nicholls, Bathie - 93K no name....)

N Riewoldt, Franklin, Pavlich, Rioli, Higgins, A Krakour, S Motlop
(McKernan, Richardson, Matera)

I'm liking the spread, though only have 12K left over...

pretty solid team, except i'd trade out r tarrant and bring in duigan, provides alot more value and will get gametime.
I had tarrant last year and wasted a trade getting rid of him.
Other than that, different selections but team should do a job.

Anyway mine.

Goddard Gibbs Deledio
Grimes Harbrow Otten Duigan
/Toy Hibberd puopolo

Swan,Selwood,
Murphy,Boyd,Swallow,Harris
/gaff Heppell Mzungu

Jolly Hale
Nicholls Derickx

Franklin,pav,rioli
Mcglynn Sylvia Krakouer Prestia
/richardson, Matera,Callinan.
Provides some different players, but a good balance i think... thoughts?

pretty solid team, except i'd trade out r tarrant and bring in duigan, provides alot more value and will get gametime.
I had tarrant last year and wasted a trade getting rid of him.
Other than that, different selections but team should do a job.

He's talking about Robbie Tarrant who impressed on the weekend.

Goldstein 2nd ruck is risky.

Expect Hurley to be very up and down, although in saying that his up isn't that good. A high score of only 110 last year, with only 4 score over 100.

Krakouer and Motlop starting is a bit ridiculous - I think at least one has to go. Get Richardson on the ground and also Sallow

Midfield good, I'm not sold on Bartel though, he played forward a fair bit on the weekend which will slow his scoring down.

Also note in Round 6 you will be missing Pav, Bartel, Franklin, Rioli, Broughton and Sandilands.

Goddard Gibbs Deledio
Grimes Harbrow Otten Duigan
/Toy Hibberd puopolo

Swan,Selwood,
Murphy,Boyd,Swallow,Harris
/gaff Heppell Mzungu

Jolly Hale
Nicholls Derickx

Franklin,pav,rioli
Mcglynn Sylvia Krakouer Prestia
/richardson, Matera,Callinan.
Provides some different players, but a good balance i think... thoughts?

Backs you need at least one more solid contributor who isn't as risky.

Rucks are a joke

Need a better forward line, at least one more premium.