Preview Rd 15 vs St Kilda @ Etihad Stadium - Saturday 2:10 June 28, 2014

Meanwhile Dimma says the cupboard is bare at VFL just to justify selecting the chosen few
And who would you bring in from the vfl side, the same vfl side that get belted by 10 goals every second week, these young players are having 1 good week then 2 crappy weeks, I agree with Dimma, these youngsters need to start burning it up in the vfl for weeks on end, not play 1 good game and expect to be called up, why would you replace a non performing player in the afl with an equally non performing player in the vfl.

He kicked 1 goal in the VFL. 1 goal. Hardly puts him into AFL selection
So how does Titch Edwards get to 142 out of a possible 167 games as a small forward and average less than a goal a game? This bloke gets a free pass week in week out whilst blokes like Lloyd wallow at VFL. Only early in Lloyds career but already has 7 goals from 5 games in the AFL. Worth a game IMO........

probably because we were close and then faded to lose by 60 points.. nothing to be positive about, in fact be glad we expect better from them.
We have been flogged in a few games but the write up has always been "he had a great game" or " he really is pushing for selection" now it's suddenly turned to "we expect more". I reckon a message has been sent down to Clarke to tone it down or he hadn't been writing them all.

And who would you bring in from the vfl side, the same vfl side that get belted by 10 goals every second week, these young players are having 1 good week then 2 crappy weeks, I agree with Dimma, these youngsters need to start burning it up in the vfl for weeks on end, not play 1 good game and expect to be called up, why would you replace a non performing player in the afl with an equally non performing player in the vfl.
How many games did miles do that for? He could have been elevated a few times by placing someone on the LTI but the club decided he wasn't good enough. Still doing it so far in the AFL and probably second in the JD medal as it stands after just three games :cool:

How do you come to this conclusion, The club was making sure he was good enough to be elevated and not just a pre season flash in the pan , remember Adamm Maric, played some blinders in the NAB Cup and except for one embarrassing tackle ( for goddard that is ) never really did anything in the afl.

Miles proved himself in the vfl by playing good consistent football, which other youngster in the vfl side has done this to earn a call up.

If anyone's interested, I have a ticket for Saturdays game that I can't use. It's on the wing just above the interchange bench. I work offshore and I thought I'd catch the game while I'm home, but my wife has pre booked me for a friends birthday drink and to be honest, where once I would've argued I reckon I won't miss this super high class contest (yes, that's sarcasm).
Anyway, if somebody wants it, let me know. I can email the ticket.

How do you come to this conclusion, The club was making sure he was good enough to be elevated and not just a pre season flash in the pan , remember Adamm Maric, played some blinders in the NAB Cup and except for one embarrassing tackle ( for goddard that is ) never really did anything in the afl.

Miles proved himself in the vfl by playing good consistent football, which other youngster in the vfl side has done this to earn a call up.

Ssshhhh! keep it down around here mate...if there's any hint that the coaching staff actually developed a player such that he could perform at AFL level there will be a riot. THe lynch mob on here, who know best of course (with 20:20 hindsight), reckon you just chuck them straight in and they'll know how to play.

Cool that's the same amount of goals we scored vs the swans in the second half last week in a dry game. Our forward structure is crying out for someone smart around the sticks. Still after 13 games we still play two talls and hope a mid can jag one here or there :confused:

Oh I'd prefer Lloyd to be in the side most weeks - but I'm not surprised he didn't come in after a 1 goal game....

So how does Titch Edwards get to 142 out of a possible 167 games as a small forward and average less than a goal a game? This bloke gets a free pass week in week out whilst blokes like Lloyd wallow at VFL. Only early in Lloyds career but already has 7 goals from 5 games in the AFL. Worth a game IMO........
Because he does that in AFL, not VFL.

I thought he was doing his job well last FRiday night until supply dried up, same as Jack. Both were leading superbly at the ball carrier and getting fed well. But then we turned to sh!t again and they both went out of the game. Think you are harsh on Azza Mate
I think that Azza is more important for our forward line structure than people realise and the three games he's played this year were against The Cats , Freo and The Swans which just happen to be our 3 best performances for the year. He straightens us up and always has , while not in his best form he tackles and harasses and causes stoppages which should really give Hardwick a hard on because his Terry's Triangle forward line has cost Azza games and Hardwick wins. I was spewing when he didn't make the round 1 team and we went in so tall against the suns on a greasy night in round 1 and then when I grabbed my seat at the stadium that night and saw Chris Newman run to the forward line before the first bounce I knew our season was stuffed.

Great call , everyone's a bit hard on Azza and I'd keep him until we find a replacement. Playing him is way better than playing a man down with Hampson in the side and tonight's a celebration because after 14 rounds he has finally been omitted for the same useless form he's brought since round 1.

How does Jacko have to come back via the VFL but Newman doesn't?
how-does-jacko.jpg

Sam Lloyd
1 goal, 18 disposals, 5 marks

Was probably our best forward on the day. Won the ball well, put it inside 50 well and kicked a crucial goal. It’s his second good game in a row so he’s pushing for senior selection.

Clearly not good enough to get a game whilst a broken down Newman just waltzes back in. Best of luck to Lloyd at Port Adelaide when we delist him.
This post sums up our club since trade we last year , a complete F?!$ing joke . Rushing Newman back in to play Saint Kilda who are equal last on the ladder , oh hang on ! We are equal last on the ladder too . I'm surprised we didn't risk Jackson for this show down of massive proportions.

Team: Richmond
Backs T.Chaplin, D.Grimes, A.Rance
HBacks B.Houli, M.Dea, S.Morris
Centre D.Martin, S.Edwards, R.Petterd
HForwards C.Newman, T.Vickery, B.Deledio
Forwards R.Conca, J.Riewoldt, A.Miles
Followers I.Maric, B.Ellis, T.Cotchin
Interchange N.Foley, J.Batchelor, N.Vlastuin, M.Thomas
Emergencies B.O'Hanlon, S.Lloyd, M.Arnot
Ins C.Newman, T.Vickery
Outs A.Edwards, S.Hampson
miles-is-in.jpg

If anyone's interested, I have a ticket for Saturdays game that I can't use. It's on the wing just above the interchange bench. I work offshore and I thought I'd catch the game while I'm home, but my wife has pre booked me for a friends birthday drink and to be honest, where once I would've argued I reckon I won't miss this super high class contest (yes, that's sarcasm).
Anyway, if somebody wants it, let me know. I can email the ticket.
I've just sent you a message, happy to take the ticket from you if that is Ok

Anyone else notice how in recent weeks the VFL report talked about how well players were performing then this week it's like everyone was playing below what's expected. Wonder if the report was watered down a bit instead of pumping them up?
Definitely the case , 4 weeks ago Tim Clark was right up in their grill promoting BIG O , AZZA , DEA , OHANLON , ARNOTT and HELLBIG pleading for them to be given a run. He had the look of a man that knew he was holding up his end of the bargain and had them playing good footy but on this weeks round up he looked like a broken man just going through the motions telling all and sundry that all our players aren't up to it and have a long way till they are.

Very mysterious , the unfortunate thing is his job is aligned with Hardwicks and when Hardwick gets the sack he will more than likely be shown the door also. Must be hard for him.

Yep not sure he knows anymore who his best players are. He just keeps going back to the same players that played well last year in the hope that something magical happens. Maybe these blokes are his best players but that just reflects poorly on the recruiters, development staff and also himself.

Newman plays first seven games which were below par on what he is, sorry was capable of then misses five weeks comes back plays okay but cops a groin injury, misses one game then straight back in? At least Jacko has to come back via the two's. Expecting Newman to sign up for two more years pretty soon:rolleyes:

How many games did Miles dominate in before the pressure got to Hardwick and the match committee to give him a go. Meanwhile guys like Edwards keep getting games gifted. Now Hardwick says:

Geez the bloke was averaging mid 30's in the VFL week in week out, wining the hard ball and clearances..........

Yeah just keep playing your best players Hardwick, f*** the future:oops:
I've never seen a coach so out of touch with his players form in my life time . It's like he's got a middle ear imbalance or something . Maybe he fell over and hit his head just before trade week last year. That is where the rot started.

Not bad changes at all if true. Hampson and A. Edwards deserve to be dropped because of their poor form. Vickery is really the only player we have capable of playing as the second tall forward. Newman played a good game before he was injured so his selection is justified.

I don't mind Hardwick making the younger players earn games. It will teach them that they have to play well for consecutive games and force another player out of the side. Then they should be ready and play well when they come into the side like Anthony Miles, Matt Dea and Jake Batchelor.
And the fact that Dea and Batchelor get more games to prove themselves.