The Old Dark Navy's
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
I actually thought Setters was better today was certainly harder at the ball and the man, took some centre bounces and held his own laid some good tackles, a step in the right direction and I think we all have to remember that the players haven’t played a game for a fair chunk of time.
My god, a lot of blame thrown around there but none for our head of list management and recruiting, who was at the helm for 5 drafts.
He must be doing something ok. Just not sure what. He keeps getting games and tonight, he had fewer disposals than Walsh who seemed to impact the game (late at least) yet Setterfield received a higher AFL player rating.He was a dominant inside midfielder as a junior, but clearly hasn’t adapted the way we’d like at AFL level hence why he (probably) is running around on a wing.
The problem is 6’3 midfielders with decent hands and vision are pumped up as the next Bontempelli or Cripps, and the reality doesn’t often match up to the expectation. Having a nice step is all well and good, and a handy little tool, but a players evasion against much smaller amateur junior players doesn’t necessarily translate. AFL players are much better at corralling opponents into uncomfortable spots, and this seems to happen often with Setterfield.
15 disposals, 5 tackles and a goal and people single him out to complain? Ridiculous
GC’s win over WCE shows you can win by playing youth.
Let’s focus on players who bring a sense of urgency and play with intensity.
JSOS, Williamson and Philp are at the top of my list to play next week.
Jsos has always looked comfortable playing an inside role...got me beat why hes not played there more esp with a lack of big bodies..ive already said it 2nite .if setters doesnt play ibside mid then get rid of him..he aint a wingman
Been saying it since the day he joined. McGovern is a defender.
Yep and GC had a fast start last year then lost 19 in a row so I wouldn’t be using them as the yard stick just yet.GC’s win over WCE shows you can win by playing youth.
Let’s focus on players who bring a sense of urgency and play with intensity.
JSOS, Williamson and Philp are at the top of my list to play next week.
We gave them a 42 point start and lost by a point. If the players had kicked just one goal more from 30 meters out dead in front it would have been hailed as a great win - poor kicking butchered the game. Melbourne couldn't score in the second half - Weitering and Docherty dominated. These short halves are disguising a serious positive the Club has up its sleeve and that is superior fitness - the more the game opened up the more dominant the performance was.
The question Teague has to ask himself is whether it is preferable to play a few blokes who aren't as 'fit' but can actually lay a tackle and make a kick over some players who may be fitter but can't really do football very well.
btw - pretty obvious Martin is the best recruit we've had since Docherty- love the way he hits blokes in tackles and how he knows when to go.
Teague can now have a long hard think about Setterfield/Newnes especially - these blokes aren't very good with their field kicking or their each way running - no way is Setterfield a wingman. Murph has been soft for years - dont understand why this is considered to be new news by some - has to play wing these days.
The conceding big starts is a coaching and set up issue - Melbourne found it too easy to win every center bounce in Q1 - needs to be fixed one way or another.
I wouldnt play Setterfield/Lang or Newnes.
Next week I'd be playing Williamson/SoJ and serious consideration to Philp/Stocker/Kennedy.
Walsh is now copping close attention from coaches he has to learn to execute with less time/space that is all he is going through - that and players ahead of him not presenting properly or in space.
He must be doing something ok. Just not sure what. He keeps getting games and tonight, he had fewer disposals than Walsh who seemed to impact the game (late at least) yet Setterfield received a higher AFL player rating.
Not saying the stats people have it right, but he must be doing something they are measuring and perhaps we are wanting it from him? No idea.
We gave them a 42 point start and lost by a point. If the players had kicked just one goal more from 30 meters out dead in front it would have been hailed as a great win - poor kicking butchered the game. Melbourne couldn't score in the second half - Weitering and Docherty dominated. These short halves are disguising a serious positive the Club has up its sleeve and that is superior fitness - the more the game opened up the more dominant the performance was.
The question Teague has to ask himself is whether it is preferable to play a few blokes who aren't as 'fit' but can actually lay a tackle and make a kick over some players who may be fitter but can't really do football very well.
btw - pretty obvious Martin is the best recruit we've had since Docherty- love the way he hits blokes in tackles and how he knows when to go.
Teague can now have a long hard think about Setterfield/Newnes especially - these blokes aren't very good with their field kicking or their each way running - no way is Setterfield a wingman. Murph has been soft for years - dont understand why this is considered to be new news by some - has to play wing these days.
The conceding big starts is a coaching and set up issue - Melbourne found it too easy to win every center bounce in Q1 - needs to be fixed one way or another.
I wouldnt play Setterfield/Lang or Newnes.
Next week I'd be playing Williamson/SoJ and serious consideration to Philp/Stocker/Kennedy.
Walsh is now copping close attention from coaches he has to learn to execute with less time/space that is all he is going through - that and players ahead of him not presenting properly or in space.
Remember that tactic Bolts used to play to ensure we didn't get blown away. How about we play defensive for the first quarter keep scoring minimal allowing us to at least guarantee not being 5-7 goals down. Come the second quarter play as normal....
I hear you mate I don’t know why I bother straight after the game it’s just garbage on top of garbage better to clock in the next day when the blowhards have blown away.Shit result....but if we'd won by a point, this forum would have been buzzing.
We should have lost by 100 points, but we also should have won by 4 or 5 goals. We scrapped our way into it in the second half, and were only one straight kick at goal from winning it.
I see the campaigners are out in full force though....only to be seen when they want to have a whinge after a loss, but contribute **** all else. Chook feeders....
Can’t say I’ve seen him or her on here probably just another of many trolls that inhabit these parts.Just for clarity. Knavey blue account. Has anyone seen them post on the Carlton board. Ive copped a bit of slack from the account this evening out of the blue for defending Carlton. They’re listed as a carlton supporter. But they seem to be getting kicks for abusing me on the main board. Surely they need an awakening or a kick in the head
5000+ posts.Can’t say I’ve seen him or her on here probably just another of many trolls that inhabit these parts.
Why can some teams play 4Q of intense footy and others cannot?
I’m not religious but I’m starting to believe
We must be in hell
It’s a recurring nightmare we just can’t awaken from
Remember that tactic Bolts used to play to ensure we didn't get blown away. How about we play defensive for the first quarter keep scoring minimal allowing us to at least guarantee not being 5-7 goals down. Come the second quarter play as normal....
Not a bad theory really, but 6-6-6 makes it tough to go super-defensive.
I do think this is a bandaid solution to a larger problem. It’s all a mental - do we need to employ different sports psychologists? Does Teague need to mix up his pregame addresses? Is there too strict a doctrine to play to the predetermined strategies, until they fail dismally and we revert to instinct, play more freely, take more risks?
Who knows?
Best post of the thread. Murphy needs to go to a wingThe blues can not start games off because Teage's starting midfield is the slowest on paper of all time and the Crows are following us down that path. We can not be competitive until the intensity goes out of the game. We should never start with Cripps, Ed and Murph in the middle. Why we didn't make a change after 5 minutes today is beyond me. I would give Cripps, Stocker (mongrel/disposal) and Cunningham (composure/disposal) a crack. We can no longer have Ed or Murphy using the ball through the midfield, their disposal is just not AFL standard. Unfortunately a message needs to be sent to the group and Murph needs to be dropped, you can not have a midfielder go two weeks without a tackle.
Best post of the thread. Murphy needs to go to a wing
The blues can not start games off because Teage's starting midfield is the slowest on paper of all time and the Crows are following us down that path. We can not be competitive until the intensity goes out of the game. We should never start with Cripps, Ed and Murph in the middle. Why we didn't make a change after 5 minutes today is beyond me. I would give Cripps, Stocker (mongrel/disposal) and Cunningham (composure/disposal) a crack. We can no longer have Ed or Murphy using the ball through the midfield, their disposal is just not AFL standard. Unfortunately a message needs to be sent to the group and Murph needs to be dropped, you can not have a midfielder go two weeks without a tackle.