Preview Rd 21, 2014 - Brisbane Lions vs Collingwood

Pretending we have awesome forwards and expecting incredible results from them is fraught with emotional danger.

Who is saying we have awesome forwards not playing?

Playing someone who is completely clueless and would struggle even at suburban footy level is just absurd particularly when there are others that at the very least would do no worse than the tripe being dished up by Merrett.

Who is saying we have awesome forwards not playing?

Playing someone who is completely clueless and would struggle even at suburban footy level is just absurd particularly when there are others that at the very least would do no worse than the tripe being dished up by Merrett.

You just suggested we play Lisle and Michael.

I don't think they'll be on an AFL list next year ... That's not a better option.

The fault is really in expecting too much, I think.

I'm not quite sure you're accurately aware of how Lisle and Michael compete in the NEAFL. The answer is: occasionally.

And you're sure Merrett would actually do any better at NEAFL level? I don't, but apparently 'coach' Leppitsch is of the view that the NEAFL is way below the lofty standards of Merrett.

I don't recall the ball being kicked in the air to a contest and Lisle or Michael or any other tall not providing a contest.

Why would you? Young Lisle was generally on his arse after being knocked over by the opposition onballer a head smaller and 20 kilos lighter.

You just suggested we play Lisle and Michael.

I don't think they'll be on an AFL list next year ... That's not a better option.

I've not said Lisle and Michael are awesome or perhaps you can provide a direct quote, but they are no worse than Merrett.

Merrett shouldn't be on an AFL list either next year. In fact he would struggle getting a game at VFL level if anyone was to use his form and limited abilities as a guide.

I've not said Lisle and Michael are awesome or perhaps you can provide a direct quote, but they are no worse than Merrett.

Merrett shouldn't be on an AFL list either next year. In fact he would struggle getting a game at VFL level if anyone was to use his form and limited abilities as a guide.

The thing is, when Merrett is good he's still dangerous, he has prior form.

Don't get me wrong, I think Lisle or Michael (or anyone younger) would be better long-term, but I wouldn't be delisting Sauce just yet. I still hold hopes of him become the brick wall he used to be and seeing him, Joelly and Goose rip another team to shreds.

That's cool - but he is ... and they won't be.

What do you reckon?

Three quarters of the list are doing well or improving, but how anyone can say Merrett is doing an ok job is kidding themselves.

Well I think a lot of people are doing a great job. Including the coach.

I might remind you of the time that you correctly alluded to a committee of people who choose teams - not solely the head coach.

I feel similarly to Last of the Roys et al about feeling a little flat after team selection. I don't think we're putting our best foot forward, and in that regard I'm not sure why I should think of this game as anything other than a glorified practice match.

I don't have Foxtel and I go to the pub to watch most matches. I'm not keen on sitting amongst a pack of drunken Collingwood fans roaring about a big win against a pack of kids.
Can't blame you there. It's rough on the punters now, but I don't think we have any other choice but to think of it as a down-payment on future success.
YOUSE ARE ALL WEAK! I'll be there!

And what contest is it that Merrett provides that others wouldn't?

I don't recall the ball being kicked in the air to a contest and Lisle or Michael or any other tall not providing a contest. The amount of times Merrett is being beaten this year, it is staggering that anyone thinks anybody else is completely incapable of providing a contest.

Hell, why do we even necessarily need a tall to play deep forward. McGrath has been perfectly capable in the role and there are many examples over the years of smaller forward lines being very effective.

Gobsmacked that anyone can honestly be satisfied with Merrett's performance this year or even justify his inclusion in the team. I'm pretty lost as to why all the Merrett supporters didn't argue this hard for Aaron Cornelius when he showed a lot more than Merrett ever has in the forward line. Bizarre.
Are you actually suggesting we play Mcgrath at FF?
I remember 3KZ is Football making a similar suggestion a while ago. Doing that would essentially be tanking. It's 2014, not 1987.

Call me totally out of touch, but I really don't think that "IP" matters any where near as much as actual relative scores on the board. Pretty simple way to measure success really. What's more, it's the way everyone else in the competition measures success as well.

Without wishing to get personal, anyone who gives Merrett a pass mark or better for his work this year is seriously deluded, no matter his contribution to "collisions" etc. Just for a start, in the increasingly rare event he actually gets a kick near goal, his kicking lately has been abysmal. The sad reality is that he is in the team only because there is no viable replacement.

Funnily enough I said exactly that in my post... Either the match committee who are both eminently more qualified than anyone on this board and, as I pointed out, are the only ones who know the specific role Merritt is asked to play and have the data to determine if he meets that role think he is either meeting requirements or that no one else can do it better.

Personally I'd have dropped him weeks ago (and have said so on this board in other threads) but I didn't say that in my original post because my opinion doesn't matter and I was trying to point out largely mindless banter on Merritt some factors that are in the match committees mind whether it be "collisions" or some other unknown stat the club keeps track of.

Have you ever seen a stat for 'marking contests contested' I haven't seen it reported but given leppitsch has said the Merritt is expected to crash packs and make a contest they presumably track how many contests he gets to compared to close, lisle etc.

What do you reckon?

Three quarters of the list are doing well or improving, but how anyone can say Merrett is doing an ok job is kidding themselves.

No one has said that Rog is going OK but some also understand the limitations of our squad and set up and except the consequences of that.
You need to move on from early season when you, and I, were critical of team selection. The season has moved on fro then and putting up names of players who make hardly an impact over 3, 4 seasons whatever is meaningless discussion on your, mine and anyone else's part. One may as well bitch we never gave Spaanderman a chance then carry on about Lisle.

I have seen one ressies game this year and was staggered at the degeneration in Raines and Beamers games for example. Lisle was being put on his arse by the likes of Stiller for goodness sake. We have got what we have got and it is best to move on and let nature take it course (as it will) as opposed to being personally affronted because your or mine fav is not selected.

Have you ever seen a stat for 'marking contests contested' I haven't seen it reported but given leppitsch has said the Merritt is expected to crash packs and make a contest they presumably track how many contests he gets to compared to close, lisle etc.

I'd say that there'd be some kind of "creating opportunities for others" KPI, too.

He'd be demanding their best defender because he's a big bodied guy who can take a strong mark and goal. He's out of form, but it's within him.

That allows Close, McStay, Freeman - whoever else - to take lesser defenders.

Are you actually suggesting we play Mcgrath at FF?
I remember 3KZ is Football making a similar suggestion a while ago.
Did I? I remember saying Patfull might be worth a shot and I did have a bit of a thought bubble about going small and trying something different. Just checked. I actually said Bewick.

No one has said that Rog is going OK.

Yes they are. Someone on this page or the one before rated Merrett's season as an A to A+. Surely that could only be reserved for Rockliff or even Martin. I wouldn't even give Hanley an A to A+ considering he was below par early in the season.

Did I? I remember saying Patfull might be worth a shot and I did have a bit of a thought bubble about going small and trying something different. Just checked. I actually said Bewick.

I was about to mention the distinct lack of Patfull in this thread.

Given he'll probably be clokes best mate for the two hours, I'm glad he's improved his marking game. I reckon if he can get in front of cloke he'll neutarlize him. If he gets into a wrestle with him however...60/40 in clokes favour.

Dion Scott is a perfect example of someone that was not highly skilled, but at least offered something up forward and competed despite limitations and Merrett doesn't even offer that. Shit, I'd prefer Trent Bartlett up forward and reckon we'd get a hell of a lot more.

Great stuff.

What number are they again?