RDFL 2016 Season discussion

I have to agree partly with barfly the club has a lot of good supporters and back early in the mark Pederson days the club didn't spend as much and had a good direction
not as they did in the past two seasons money spent was ridiculous and there is a lot more reasons why people left and it's not worth discussing as we have been through this crap before
I'm sure the new crew are rebuilding and it seems there direction is youth

How do you know what money was spent during the past 2 seasons?
Perhaps you can fill us all in.

How do you know what money was spent during the past 2 seasons?
Perhaps you can fill us all in.

I would assume Keston who was involved at Romsey in another life would have had a conversation or two with the current co coach of broadford in recent times and player payments / total spend would have been touched upon, after all past romsey coach would have been across all out goings.

Williams would be highest paid in league without question,

Diggers ( Williams ) and Romsey ( Helmers ) loss, Broadford gains.

I admire this go and get of your arse and make it happen attitude, give yourself, town, locals every chance to get a flag ( only four can win it in my humble opinion )

Broadford, Riddell, Diggers and Macedon,

Good luck.

Well aint this gone haywire.Off topic but great to see Matty Goodyear son of former Gisborne and Woodend premiership player Mick to debut for Collingwood.[/QUOTE

If true, Williams love of diggers must have ran deep...... NOT.. In the paper a few weeks ago he loved the club.... Until he was offered more $$...

Ease off on Doona .. he has done far more work in football, and our competition than so many others.. and it's great to see him still involved in Interleague .. he's a great asset for this league and his knowledge of the game is brilliant ..
It's outstanding news with Matty.. he's been dominating in the VFL.. he'll make an immediate impact for the Pies :)

Williams has been switching clubs since his junior days. Why would it be different now that money's involved? He's a very talented player, but club loyalty has never meant anything to him.

Scallywags i thought but understand Broadford are all over Jason offering a choice of supplementary income that Diggers cant match during his injury time out. From my info Jason wants to take over from Shaun in the next year or two but can have more hands on when Shaun plays but could learn more from Dean on match day.

Hey Doona we always hear you call Broadford "UP HOME" but really you live in Kilmore apparently, and you seem to know a fair bit about the happenings "UP HOME" when was the last time you helped out "UP HOME".
From the comment above you seem to be saying that the players that are at Broadford now are only there for the cash.
Im sure after the season they had in 2015, maybe the group can smell success.

Ha ha the spycritic, Broadford was home for 30 years mate, and I could write a book on the joint - in fact we were writing one on the club history until the day I came up to coach Kilmore in 2012 and was treated like a piece of shit. Same thing happened in 2013 too to prove it wasn't an oversight 12 months prior .... that one hurt more.

For some reason I copped flack for a period of time after I got crook in 2009, when I got the ok to return to doing something the club had a coach so what was a bloke to do? Don't stress the joint is flying now, and Deano and Skip are the perfect way to finish the job off.

No great crime proposing a "what if" scenario of who will actually stay if say for instance in 2017 there is no money .... I'd love to be proven otherwise.

Yeh I live in Kilmore now, no big deal, I just like being involved in local footy coz for me growing up (in Broadford I might add) and going to the footy club and cricket club with my late father was all I knew .... now I just hope my kids can experience the same, seeing dad involved on committee's etc as that is what I knew at their age.
Glad now I didn't go thru with the original thought of running water a few times with my young bloke at Yea, Kilmore, Bford this year to help - you guys in the members mighta thrown cans at me :(

Anyway I will be at my usual handful of Broadford games this year, you obviously know who I am so come say hi and don't be piss weak behind a keyboard .... or are you another one who says hi up the main street yet fold the arms and ignore when in the group environment.

Go Roos ;)

The only thing the football world can listen to on this forum is a person with lower respect than a snakes belly a person who has driven plenty of clubs to nowhere and has nothing in the tank but bullshit and typing behind the keyboard like a warrior! It is upsetting that the success of others becomes the jealously of others who cannot succeed in the football world! Hopefully this over opinionated idiot puts a sock in it sooner rather than later the "gossip queen goodnight"

Welcome aboard Guru we love seeing debutante's who go bang!!! :thumbsu:

Far from jealous mate, and as I'm sure Deano and Skip would support me in saying that both men had offered me the chance to join them in the past year or two and as much as I was extremely appreciative they thought of me - I probably know my own capabilities and wasn't confident in actually being able to do anything constructive to help them other than hold a clipboard.

Maybe you can join me and THESPYCRITIC when I get to a game .... you bring the sock ;)

Ha ha the spycritic, Broadford was home for 30 years mate, and I could write a book on the joint - in fact we were writing one on the club history until the day I came up to coach Kilmore in 2012 and was treated like a piece of shit.
For some reason I copped flack for a period of time after I got crook in 2009, when I got the ok to return to doing something the club had a coach so what was a bloke to do? Don't stress the joint is flying now, and Deano and Skip are the perfect way to finish the job off.

No great crime proposing a "what if" scenario of who will actually stay if say for instance in 2017 there is no money .... I'd love to be proven otherwise.

Yeh I live in Kilmore now, no big deal, I just like being involved in local footy coz for me growing up (in Broadford I might add) and going to the footy club and cricket club with my late father was all I knew .... now I just hope my kids can experience the same, seeing dad involved on committee's etc as that is what I knew at their age.

Anyway I will be at my usual handful of Broadford games this year, you obviously know who I am so come say hi and don't be piss weak behind a keyboard .... or are you another one who says hi up the main street yet fold the arms and ignore when in the group environment.

Go Roos ;)

No one is more Broadford than you mate. Some of these peanuts have no idea but those of us who have actually been around a while and do know our footy have enormous respect for what you have done for that club.

So true doona but will the salary cap if they say how they are planning to control it is followed through may force players to stay and play for less ?

Buy the way those knocking doona on this site need to man up as doona said don't hide behind the key board copped shit myself for quite a time by faceless and weak men
Keep punching doona

So true doona but will the salary cap if they say how they are planning to control it is followed through may force players to stay and play for less ?

Keep punching doona

Wont happen mate, I'm not sure bringing the ATO into play, group certificates etc would keep blokes playing so who would want to be responsible for that if clubs/leagues tipped over as a result?

Also, don't stress I'm not going anywhere ..... well unless I get a better offer anyway ha ha :D

On a more important note, she's Rd.1 guys and girls so best of luck to all your clubs for a great 2016.
Must say I'm also looking forward to checking out the new Woodend surface tomorrow.

Williams has been switching clubs since his junior days. Why would it be different now that money's involved? He's a very talented player, but club loyalty has never meant anything to him.
Gets me why a player of his talents would waste it for a pay packet, surely he would gain more in a stronger more tallented league than the rdfl, edfl would suit him more. He can still make a dollar there or is he chasing a flag? More a chance of a flag at diggers i would have thought, but then it just shows that the $$$ is just in his eyes.

Ha ha the spycritic, Broadford was home for 30 years mate, and I could write a book on the joint - in fact we were writing one on the club history until the day I came up to coach Kilmore in 2012 and was treated like a piece of shit. Same thing happened in 2013 too to prove it wasn't an oversight 12 months prior .... that one hurt more.

Glad now I didn't go thru with the original thought of running water a few times with my young bloke at Yea, Kilmore, Bford this year to help - you guys in the members mighta thrown cans at me :(

Go Roos ;)

I've been a bit quite in big footy of late but can't help but add something here in support of Doona.
This is a Great post mate. Very true what you wrote. There is always going to be criticism by a select view but just ignore them and keep doing what your doing. I will say at least you are courageous enough to tell people your identity, that's more than most will do...

Doona2 you got not no need to justify nor defend your comments or actions.You contribute more on this forum than anyone and your preparedness to work with Broadford ,Kilmore Yea for bugger all $$$and now Kilmore juniors despite those gigs not being easy you take it on give it your all.Far too easy for a couple of individual cowardly turds to snipe and personally attack sadly thats the new normal.Just maybe said turds are players that tried to hold you to ransom in regards to their personal worth$$$ and you stood firm.Once again I may be off track but chin up n move on.

Gets me why a player of his talents would waste it for a pay packet, surely he would gain more in a stronger more tallented league than the rdfl, edfl would suit him more. He can still make a dollar there or is he chasing a flag? More a chance of a flag at diggers i would have thought, but then it just shows that the $$$ is just in his eyes.

Hey Kruizer, he did come across to a EDFL premier club in 2014 but left after 5 rounds. The club he went to were kind of struggling on field in 2014 but are now one of the stronger clubs at this point. I don't think I need to go into more detail as you can work out the rest..

May be other reasons also points could be a factor

Doona2 you got not no need to justify nor defend your comments or actions.You contribute more on this forum than anyone and your preparedness to work with Broadford ,Kilmore Yea for bugger all $$$and now Kilmore juniors despite those gigs not being easy you take it on give it your all.Far too easy for a couple of individual cowardly turds to snipe and personally attack sadly thats the new normal.Just maybe said turds are players that tried to hold you to ransom in regards to their personal worth$$$ and you stood firm.Once again I may be off track but chin up n move on.

Cheers Barfly

I've been a bit quite in big footy of late but can't help but add something here in support of Doona.
This is a Great post mate. Very true what you wrote. There is always going to be criticism by a select view but just ignore them and keep doing what your doing. I will say at least you are courageous enough to tell people your identity, that's more than most will do...

Nothing to do with courage but I appreciate your words.

It's just that things that motivate some don't motivate me - nor do some environments so I am more than comfortable with lending assistance where I think it may be needed.

At present its junior footy and it's been quite invigorating not having to kiss grown men's butts, piss in pockets and fight with committees about paying overs to guys with crap footy resumes.

Yeh it's cost me heaps of handy types over the years, but them blokes always find the $$$ they want somewhere and I'll forever stand by my values despite what people like THESPYCRITIC and The Guru want to say.

As long as clubs remain, kids continue to come thru and I can find a game or two to watch then I'll be forever grateful - and that's not to say I don't take onboard some of the stuff above and respect everyone's right to an opinion that's what forums and alias' are all about

Any got a report from today's games??
I see Lancefield won and Melton along way in front.
How did the woodend ground look?

Hats off to the Tigers.. they deserved to win.. the opening term was played at a cracking pace .. Woodend/Hesket started the second term with seven consecutive points.. Lancefield went forward once, kicked a goal.. restored momentum and were basically never headed.. Kent starred up forward.. kicked two impressive soccer goals.. could easily be the most watchable forward in this competition.. Dan Rebbechi played a brilliant game .. looking forward to seeing him grow as a player this year... for the Hawks.. look out if Tom Gawthrop gets a hold of the game .. Joe Daniher like .. marks everything..

Great summary Chris. Only thing I'd add is Ciaran Barton deserves a mention for Lancefield. Kid was everywhere.

Long shot I know but if any Lancefield guys snagged an extra set of white size 10 Asics by mistake could they let me know please. We used the visitors rooms prior to the two's game, and when we came in all our stuff had been moved, along with one of my kids brand new boots that I think he only wore in the warm-up to continue breaking them in. Again long shot I know, but I've promised the family I'd try, Trav from Woodend said nothing was left in the away rooms last night so thought I'd try this way too.

RDFL 2016 Season discussion