• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

RDFL 2016 Season discussion

Your spot on saying that people sick of being personally attacked or there club

Yeah your right mate, seems people are scared to mention a rumour on here because of the trolling afterwards. The discussion has dryed up which makes it sad and boring as im sure there is news to be told

Ok some topics
What's happening at rock bank is there direction or are they just hanging on ?

How in the fa)r$ will they govern the salary cap next year ...?

Is it just me or does this season feel a bit flat if you agree why do you think so ?

Ok then any thoughts ???

Congratulations to everyone who represented the RDFNL over the weekend .. on and off the field .. it's an outstanding experience and as I've said many times in the last week, far more enjoyable than the finals .. everyone in the competition is on the same page, working together .. representing the same colours.. it's the perfect opportunity to sit back and enjoy the company of everyone involved, no matter which club you're from..
From a player's perspective, they play with some of the best players in the competition and the camaraderie is amazing.. away games are brilliant.. players travel together and have fun together..
The last five minutes of the Senior game was tough to watch.. you could sense at the ground we'd fired our best shot.. but it was a gutsy effort..
Well done to the Under 18s footballers.. started slow but finished strongly.. a good group of players..
Thanks for the info Chris.
But is it to much to ask that the league could put scores,best players and goal kickers on their website?
Who won the netball? Who won the u18's?
They complain when clubs and players don't take the games seriously but they need to generate interest in the games.

Will be minimal - clubs will probably be asked to provide accounts, which will only be scrutinised should there be alarm set off somewhere else. The league does not have the resources to do anything more. There will be grey area paymets, eg, those made to injured players. There will be more spurious payments - dont be surprised if there are few highly paid assistant ground managers. Then some players might find themselves the beneficiaries of lucrative contracts being offered by key club personnel. Then there are payments in kind.

Not saying any club will do this, but if they want to, it will be very easy and even if they get caught, what are the league going to do?

Not saying any club will do this, but if they want to, it will be very easy and even if they get caught, what are the league going to do?[/QUOTE]

Reading the other day that Springbank in the Central Highlands Football League broke the points cap this year. They are the reigning premier there, investigated by AFL GoldFields but no penalty. Not sure of the details or the error however might show that the points and salary cap is more a deterrent as opposed to the chiefs having the balls to actually penalise. Salary cap is a joke, good luck policing that when you have third party sponsorships going on. Instead of worrying about salary caps point systems, how about everyone just focusses on participation of the next generation footballers, yeah some clubs are winning all the flags, some clubs are always playing finals, but the bigger issue is the vast drop off in junior football numbers which will impact the senior clubs even more than whether they pay out $80k or $100k.

Bit of rain around the next few days. How are the traditionally muddy grounds holding up? Macedon, Lancefield and others normally start to become bogs about now. Riddell and Woodend have had works done and don't think they have been really tested yet. Think Riddell will be fine and seems to be an awesome surface now.

Ok some topics
What's happening at rock bank is there direction or are they just hanging on ?

Is it just me or does this season feel a bit flat if you agree why do you think so ?

Ok then any thoughts ???
Due to the introduction of a points system i feel that the grand final may not see the best 21 players on the field with the restrictions that have been put in place. I dont think this is fair as who ever wins or looses while want to play with their best 21 or against the best 21 on offer.As this league has only given a 1 point deduction to players as higher level leagues have given 2 point deductions and a 50 point cap how does this league get stronger.So will the grand final be a fizzer with excuses or the real deal.So why doesnt the interleague have a points system as reading on other forums players in the higher ranking leagues get paid or compensated for playing,is this what interleague is about or another bullshit exercise by the Vfl-AFL.So will this league still be in existence in 10 years time and if so how many teams will be left.The only way things can get better if everyone in every league has the same points and salary cap to make a even playing field for all.Local football is where i have meet some of the greatest people, volunteers and players and find that we might loose alot of these people if the VFL-AFL make it to hard for people to cope and comply with all these changes.

Thanks for the info Chris.
But is it to much to ask that the league could put scores,best players and goal kickers on their website?
Who won the netball? Who won the u18's?
They complain when clubs and players don't take the games seriously but they need to generate interest in the games.
I know everyone is working extremely hard, mate.. they're all trying their best and it isn't easy..

Due to the introduction of a points system i feel that the grand final may not see the best 21 players on the field with the restrictions that have been put in place. I dont think this is fair as who ever wins or looses while want to play with their best 21 or against the best 21 on offer.As this league has only given a 1 point deduction to players as higher level leagues have given 2 point deductions and a 50 point cap how does this league get stronger.So will the grand final be a fizzer with excuses or the real deal.So why doesnt the interleague have a points system as reading on other forums players in the higher ranking leagues get paid or compensated for playing,is this what interleague is about or another bullshit exercise by the Vfl-AFL.So will this league still be in existence in 10 years time and if so how many teams will be left.The only way things can get better if everyone in every league has the same points and salary cap to make a even playing field for all.Local football is where i have meet some of the greatest people, volunteers and players and find that we might loose alot of these people if the VFL-AFL make it to hard for people to cope and comply with all these changes.

Agree with most of what you have said mate. The points system in every league should be the same only difference is extra points given to clubs with small populations. The rdfl should be given the same restrictions/points regarding other leagues regardless of standard of league. This is were the goldfields is really hurting the rdfl.

But I dont mind the aspect of points system makeing it harder for clubs to buy flags. If you have done well in raising money goodluck to you, but it dosent give you the right to blow teams out of the park and league just coz you have money and can buy a team that is unbeatable. I think in 5 years time and beyond clubs will really have earnt flags thru hard work done in juniors, recruiting and raising funds to recruit the right people instead of just buying players for a year getting a flag and then the player moveing on for money again.

Agree and if the VFL development league gets the chop next season more players will be looking for clubs. Problem is these players are rated way to high. Some are only young players trying to play the best footy they can and then will get shafted fir opportunities by this points system..

Watching footy at lancefield big game this has to be the worst umpiring I have seen these guys have no idea sorry yendy but clubs pay well to adleast get second rate umpires this is a joke

Clubs also pay fees to rdfl for them to run the comp and website.Website nothing short of pathetic.Go to app click live scores and last weeks rep game result comes up.Go to fixtures and last years Granny result comes up.This is putrid and shows a lack of respect to all clubs and supporters.Rdfl administration =Incompetent.

Isn't the live scores function reliant on clubs feeding scores in from the grounds

Macedon won pretty comfortably. Bloody good side. Fiery game with lots of nasty stuff happening off the ball. Very poorly umpired game.
Yeah game at lancefield poorly umpired also in particular one umpire engaged to much arguing with players wet conditions needed to let game flow but paid probably 70 free kicks or more was like under tens stuff

That would suck. In the end ours just lost control.

Big shout out to Peter the medic from Macedon for the way he looked after one of our boys today.

I saw the Romsey game ended with a bit of controversy with a kick in the dying moments being brought back after it went through for a goal. The Romsey player ended up taking the kick after the siren and missed from a tight angle on the boundary. Redbacks lost by 4 points I think.

Don't know the full story as to why the kick was brought back as I was watching from the golf club but spoke to Romsey people afterwards who thought they were robbed.

I saw the Romsey game ended with a bit of controversy with a kick in the dying moments being brought back after it went through for a goal. The Romsey player ended up taking the kick after the siren and missed from a tight angle on the boundary. Redbacks lost by 4 points I think.

Don't know the full story as to why the kick was brought back as I was watching from the golf club but spoke to Romsey people afterwards who thought they were robbed.
Yeah was waiting for this to come up. Romsey reckon they were robbed. Unfortunately you just can't play on while the umpire is putting you on the angle. Anyway Romsey got the better of the umpires throughout the day in particular from the older ump who paid some absolute howlers. Not to mention the goal that was paid a point and the point that was paid out on the full.

Sent from my D5833 using Tapatalk

Yeah was waiting for this to come up. Romsey reckon they were robbed. Unfortunately you just can't play on while the umpire is putting you on the angle. Anyway Romsey got the better of the umpires throughout the day in particular from the older ump who paid some absolute howlers. Not to mention the goal that was paid a point and the point that was paid out on the full.

Are you serious about Romsey getting the better of the umpiring.
Romsey know they won the game, A blatant mistake made by the Rupertswood umpire in the last play of the day was a disgrace. Then he tried to blame the time keepers. It's all on DVD. Piss poor

Thanks for clearing that up for me . I couldn't work out why it was called back. Must have been something in it if you thought it would be mentioned. I look forward to seeing the recording of the game .

RDFL 2016 Season discussion