• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

RDFL 2017 Season discussion

18s

Final squad of 30 appears below.

Name Club
Joel Mann Broadford
Josh Valinskis Broadford
Patrick Coppinger Broadford
Corey Wright Diggers Rest
Jeff Fox Macedon
Jordan Dyer Macedon
Sean Riley Macedon
Toby Sims Macedon
Harry Power Riddell
Nathan Croft Riddell
Brad Reynolds Romsey
Braydon Cicero Rupertswood
Bryce Caldone Rupertswood
Connor Franti-Glen Rupertswood
Dylan Feton Rupertswood
Luke Sultana Rupertswood
Matt Jinkins Rupertswood
Nathan Doyle Rupertswood
Zach Chahine Rupertswood
James O'Connor Sunbury
Nathan Thomas Sunbury
Connor Hamilton Wallan
Corey Grindley Wallan
Liam Birch Wallan
Michael Tobacco Wallan
Patrick Mahoney Wallan
Tom Knight Wallan
Charlie Mathieson Woodend
Dylan Tunn Woodend
Harley Giddings Woodend

Seniors

The final squad ahead of Saturday is listed below.

Name Club
James Philpot Broadford
Rex Hickman Broadford
Matt Krul Diggers Rest
Tom Gleeson Diggers Rest
James Wooster Lancefield
Jonathan Kent Lancefield
Aaron Christensen Macedon
Al Collins Macedon
Jack Mills Macedon
James Wright Macedon
Shaun Harrison Macedon
Tom Waters Macedon
Tom Evans Rockbank
Ayden Tessari Romsey
Jack O'Sullivan Romsey
Austin Cicero Rupertswood
Brent Swallow Rupertswood
Brett Chambers Rupertswood
Sean Hetherington Rupertswood
Chris Petroro Sunbury Kangaroos
Mitch Farmer Sunbury Kangaroos
Phil Lobb Sunbury Kangaroos
Andrew Saladino Wallan
Jesse Davies Wallan
Shaun Stewart Wallan
Daniel Toman Woodend

This would have to be one of the poorest looking sqauds in recent years in my opinion. Tom Evans & Matt Krul struggled to be in Diggers Rest premiership side last year and all of sudden are in the leagues best 30? Rex Hickman? Honestly? This guy is the modern day John Baker of the RDFL. Few blokes picked on years gone by reputations and not current day form. Romsey have been super impressive with some of their kids in recent weeks with a very attacking quick brand with a high defensive pressure style of play which inter-league demands and yet 2 players are picked? Big ground at Macedon with the ground starting to get heavy with alot of old legs in that squad, happy to eat my words come Saturdays result.

If your going with a side some youth has to be considered at the high end of talent in the competition so young Corey Wight from Digger Rest and young Chris Lawton would surely be in consideration for selection for this senior side. Tie Cuffe from Sunbury Kangaroos is in career best form yet can not get a look in.

This would have to be one of the poorest looking sqauds in recent years in my opinion. Tom Evans & Matt Krul struggled to be in Diggers Rest premiership side last year and all of sudden are in the leagues best 30? Rex Hickman? Honestly? This guy is the modern day John Baker of the RDFL. Few blokes picked on years gone by reputations and not current day form. Romsey have been super impressive with some of their kids in recent weeks with a very attacking quick brand with a high defensive pressure style of play which inter-league demands and yet 2 players are picked? Big ground at Macedon with the ground starting to get heavy with alot of old legs in that squad, happy to eat my words come Saturdays result.

If your going with a side some youth has to be considered at the high end of talent in the competition so young Corey Wight from Digger Rest and young Chris Lawton would surely be in consideration for selection for this senior side. Tie Cuffe from Sunbury Kangaroos is in career best form yet can not get a look in.
What most people don't realise is that there are a number of key factors that play into selection .. sometimes it's about team balance .. but there are guys that may be carrying injuries, might have planned to go away; or not want to be involved.
It may not be the best squad to play, but it is close to the best players who want to be available .. there may be cases where some get overlooked over others..
I had the discussion online with someone about the bendigo interleague side.. Kyneton is on top of the ladder and doesn't have a representative in the squad.. *alarm bells* .. a few of the guys were carrying injuries and wanted a break, other/s didn't want to play.
You can guarantee though, everyone that runs out in their league's colours, love it and think it is an amazing experience..
People can argue about Rex Hickman.. he was one of the best players on the ground when we beat Nepean.. he was a tall, strong option that led up the ground and opened up the forward line .. never forget a performance like that =)

What most people don't realise is that there are a number of key factors that play into selection .. sometimes it's about team balance .. but there are guys that may be carrying injuries, might have planned to go away; or not want to be involved.
It may not be the best squad to play, but it is close to the best players who want to be available .. there may be cases where some get overlooked over others..
I had the discussion online with someone about the bendigo interleague side.. Kyneton is on top of the ladder and doesn't have a representative in the squad.. *alarm bells* .. a few of the guys were carrying injuries and wanted a break, other/s didn't want to play.
You can guarantee though, everyone that runs out in their league's colours, love it and think it is an amazing experience..
People can argue about Rex Hickman.. he was one of the best players on the ground when we beat Nepean.. he was a tall, strong option that led up the ground and opened up the forward line .. never forget a performance like that =)
This shows if guys don't want to play where there aligiance lies most guys that want to play are locals to the comp most others don't care perhaps if your injured and in contention you miss the next week and if you make yourself unavailable reckon that may change a few attitudes

It's a hard one .. guys get injured and have other commitments during the season too.. the solution isn't an easy one :(

Indeed. I know the Wallan boys are pretty pumped. Hopefully the guys get the job done.

Looking at the Senior Rdfl squad its obvious many of the better players have made themselves unavailable.I have no problem with that as its their choice and people who say those that dont put their hand up should miss following game are deluded.Footy has changed and for some representing the league is not a priority and simply an inconvenience.When players sign on with a club they commit to that club not the Rdfl.

Another glaring observation is the amount of players (50% plus)recruited from outside the Rdfl mainly the Edfl and Ballarat fl.I gotta say without the recruits the Rdfl have the comp standard would be very ordinary.Case in point Wallan had 6 in initial squad with all 6 being recruits within last 2 seasons meaning no locals are good enough(which I totally agree with).If this points and cap system really kicks in I can only see the standard decreasing albeit a little more even.

Im sure many will disagree but thats my twobobs worth.

Gr
Seniors

The final squad ahead of Saturday is listed below.

Name Club
James Philpot Broadford
Rex Hickman Broadford
Matt Krul Diggers Rest
Tom Gleeson Diggers Rest
James Wooster Lancefield
Jonathan Kent Lancefield
Aaron Christensen Macedon
Al Collins Macedon
Jack Mills Macedon
James Wright Macedon
Shaun Harrison Macedon
Tom Waters Macedon
Tom Evans Rockbank
Ayden Tessari Romsey
Jack O'Sullivan Romsey
Austin Cicero Rupertswood
Brent Swallow Rupertswood
Brett Chambers Rupertswood
Sean Hetherington Rupertswood
Chris Petroro Sunbury Kangaroos
Mitch Farmer Sunbury Kangaroos
Phil Lobb Sunbury Kangaroos
Andrew Saladino Wallan
Jesse Davies Wallan
Shaun Stewart Wallan
Daniel Toman Woodend

Great to see a few young fellas in the side. Shaun Stewart, Jack O'Sullivan and James Wooster. Wooster a very silky player who has only recently come back off 2 shoulder Reconstructions. Interesting game this one!

Looking at the Senior Rdfl squad its obvious many of the better players have made themselves unavailable.I have no problem with that as its their choice and people who say those that dont put their hand up should miss following game are deluded.Footy has changed and for some representing the league is not a priority and simply an inconvenience.When players sign on with a club they commit to that club not the Rdfl.

Another glaring observation is the amount of players (50% plus)recruited from outside the Rdfl mainly the Edfl and Ballarat fl.I gotta say without the recruits the Rdfl have the comp standard would be very ordinary.Case in point Wallan had 6 in initial squad with all 6 being recruits within last 2 seasons meaning no locals are good enough(which I totally agree with).If this points and cap system really kicks in I can only see the standard decreasing albeit a little more even.

Perhaps a match payment might lure them it was a high light to play in this squad in my day but I guess it's the way of the world .....

Gr

Great to see a few young fellas in the side. Shaun Stewart, Jack O'Sullivan and James Wooster. Wooster a very silky player who has only recently come back off 2 shoulder Reconstructions. Interesting game this one!
Any word On the final 22????
Are the 18s playing the early game?

Watching from afar and supporting skip I saw the original rdfl list and couldn't believe how strong it was.
Looking now I'm in shock.
All the inform big guns seem to be on holidays.

Ie 2 diggers players from yesteryear are available

On a positive note Rhys smith who never made an rdfl side is starting FB in the cmfl game, viani , saad, boyall are also playing.

You work with what you've got and there is a good spread of handy players Skip has to work with in that squad. It looks pretty strong defensively with some quality intercept markers and run and carry players that are good users of the ball. ie (Tessari and Chambers)There's also good outside speed and a couple of quality youngsters mixed in with the experienced mids. The Forward line will be interesting to see how they set up ? It's been the same every year in every comp not having the best players( Big Guns) available for the inter league but that doesn't matter just so long as it's the best TEAM on the day ! Good luck to all .

Watching from afar and supporting skip I saw the original rdfl list and couldn't believe how strong it was.
Looking now I'm in shock.
All the inform big guns seem to be on holidays.

Ie 2 diggers players from yesteryear are available

On a positive note Rhys smith who never made an rdfl side is starting FB in the cmfl game, viani , saad, boyall are also playing.
From the quality and players that are on so far, this looks to be the RDFL seconds team.

Won the game comfortably, Dan Toman (Woodend) won the medal and the players represented the league fantastically well.

Congrats to all involved, great stuff.

So much for being the poorest RDFNL side in recent years mate
We had the most committed players in the league that bought into the program and the players got the result they deserved
Thanks for your support

We had the most committed players in the league that bought into the program and the players got the result they deserved
Thanks for your support
Skipper , Don't answer the flog not worth it it will only end bad on this site :)

Thanks for your support

Congratulations Skip...a credit to you. The guys who put their hand up obviously wanted to play for you which is something you can be very proud of. Enjoy the night

Thanks for your support
most importantly Skip no injuries? Good effort with the win, yes very committed list and surely after today Kent will consider his options, could kick 150 at other clubs with decent supply.