• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

RDFL 2017 Season discussion

June 30 recruits? Alternatively you could try promoting some junior talent I suppose too.

Sent from my ZTE BLADE A112 using Tapatalk
I watch diggers with some interest and I think you'll find the list has a few more younger guys than you may know of and a many are learning to play senior football in a very deep reserves squad. Albeit not the depth that rupo has, but Diggers arent alone there either.
Anybody who inst keeping an ear out for a mid season recruit if they can fit their points into the best 22 are either kidding themselves or lying.

Love this topic .....

Development starts at club level in my opinion, we see it constantly where parents, junior coaches, committee interests overshadow the big issue. 1-2 clubs are prime example this year in your 16s comp.
Challenge the kids to improve, teach resilience and for Christ sake expose them to positions foreign to them. How often does a junior squad make up from 75-80% mids who rest forward?

These players should only make squads if they display certain "above standard" attributes and attitudes if you ask me, not because the RDFL "needs" to fill multiple squads for Vic Metro championships or a irrelevant Goldfields trip north that we gotta sell raffle tickets for.

I've had some involvement over time with some of this, and assume you have too AFLL or are contemplating putting your hand up to help change things.

You let clubs nominate and you get the wrong ones, have selectors pick squads and some clubs don't co-operate - these kids should be at least competent to play a level above club footy surely?

Don't allow kids to go to upper standard programs in the "hope" they learn something, send them equipped to contribute to the level or don't send them because it's a reflection on your club too.

Far too many young blokes strut around in rep footy shorts and t-shirts etc, surely these are their Toolkits for when training/playing with that specific squad nothing more.

As some JD people I've worked with already know 'm not big on the so called Academy stuff or even poxy level school footy that takes precedence in some areas - I reckon community club environments can be the greatest learning environments.

Some club level shortfalls ain't entirely the RDFL's fault. Clubs and junior coaches need to develop their entire lists, not just the better half dozen ..... then the drop out factor may not be so profound.

As for TAC Cup, another topic altogether, too hard to make both points relevant but I'm sure your club JDO's have a line of communication and are well aware as to why/how/where your listed players need to improve.

And if they're playing club footy around this time then I'm sure a rep game is a better standard to the 18s Satdy morning comp - afterall it should be as close to your best 22 footballers of an under 18 demographic otherwise you devalue the importance if you ask me.

So play the senior footballers, the TAC Cup available kids and if a few little Johnies aren't "good enough" to make it well that's life - let them deal with some adversity occasionally and these lads might surprise you.
Really is a RDFL jumper to the kid ranked 35th in line in the best interest of promoting your "best" talent?

It ain't who can run, kick, mark, handball. Nothing wrong with being told "like for like" comparisons or that they're not quite cutting the mustard in several key areas, how else do they strive to improve ..... or maybe again that's why kids are dropping out coz at 17-18 they're told they've conquered footy.
Your giving the FREAK a run for his money!

Ha ha yeh sorry, we got rained in at the resort at Khao Lak so started trawling footy scores etc and thought it was an interesting topic to keep going.

Apologies to those who may have began reading then scrolled thru out of boredom .... every now and then the old writer in me bobs up :eek:

Ha ha yeh sorry, we got rained in at the resort at Khao Lak so started trawling footy scores etc and thought it was an interesting topic to keep going.

Apologies to those who may have began reading then scrolled thru out of boredom .... every now and then the old writer in me bobs up :eek:
Nip down the Bang Niang store, gets some Changs and enjoy yaself. Been there twice and will b back soon.

I watch diggers with some interest and I think you'll find the list has a few more younger guys than you may know of and a many are learning to play senior football in a very deep reserves squad. Albeit not the depth that rupo has, but Diggers arent alone there either.
Anybody who inst keeping an ear out for a mid season recruit if they can fit their points into the best 22 are either kidding themselves or lying.

One things clubs need to discuss with players is that the contract payments they receive and under the table need to be kept in house from what I was told on weekend there is no way four clubs are under the cap
The league are not to concern about this anyway there more focused on the new structure they will bring in and if not done quickly will see the end of some clubs ....

One things clubs need to discuss with players is that the contract payments they receive and under the table need to be kept in house from what I was told on weekend there is no way four clubs are under the cap
The league are not to concern about this anyway there more focused on the new structure they will bring in and if not done quickly will see the end of some clubs ....

Why don't you just shut up about payments. You are the one that put clubs to the wall in recruiting.
If clubs are paying under the table they will get caught sooner or later

Why don't you just shut up about payments. You are the one that put clubs to the wall in recruiting.
If clubs are paying under the table they will get caught sooner or later
Mr butterbing, ( so angry )
Sorry chap think you may be barking up the wrong tree been involved on a committee level at one club never been involved in what players get or recruiting, was just following on with previous discussion.

Committee now Simon? I thought u were a disgruntled sponsor at Broadford with the $hits on Skip ... I'm confused :huh:

Everyone has had enough, so this will be the last warning.

Everyone knows where the salary cap stands and you are not involved directly with these "four clubs", so your input on whether they are under the cap or not is no longer required.

Committee now Simon? I thought u were a disgruntled sponsor at Broadford with the $hits on Skip ... I'm confused :huh:

Certainly wouldn't make an undercover spy :D

Everyone has had enough, so this will be the last warning.

Speak for yaself, my little girl having a nap with the rest of the clan at the beach - Thai TV is $hithouse so I need about an hours more entertaining please :D

If I have to read one more post about sides "cheating the cap" when the people talking about it have absolutely no idea (Far NQ last we heard), I think ill rip my eyeballs out.

Looking forward to interleague this week, can't wait to see the finalised squad after any injuries are filtered out this week. Looking forward to getting back on the airwaves and giving the Highlands FM guys a chop out too.

You were the footy operations manager at Broadford. No payments??? #flog

Sent from my ZTE BLADE A112 using Tapatalk

My God there are some flogs on this page. Wanna be big people of the RDFL my friends. The league has gone to s$@t of what it was 25 years ago. I do hope Goldfields put an end to it soon and clean it up.

Ok lads had a call about a hour ago in regards to some of you fantasising about me being some one on this site of which I'm not. Doona as per our conversation a little while ago in regards to this Broadford person it was made clear and you apologised on email thought it may have been me but then realised it wasn't. I have no interest in any local footy or what may be happening I follow my daughters footy,fish, look after my ill wife and work, sorry to burst you guys bubble but unless I get a call don't even follow this forum. All the best to you all.

Before I check out looking at results seems could be a couple of changes in top six and a more open season reckon come finals injuries allowing could be a interesting series
My selection early is Macedon although diggers if they make it still look very strong great to see Sunbury Melton romsey and Wallan going well

Great to see Helmers Dean starting to string a few wins together up at Swan Hill . Playing the bull Reece Smith off half back he would be the Darren Millane of that competition. Only reading into the results with limited contact with Dean these days Boyall Vianni and the Saad boys seem to bring the RDFL grunt Dean needs to continue his proven success. Tick Tick Tick to Deano and the boys. Also btw a big thank you from David Trimboli and his mum April for the turnout at Ricky's funeral at Pascoe Vale from the boys at Wallan last Wednesday. Dave was proud the club wore black armbands in respect for his father it was a gesture that lasts a lifetime. Well done Wallan .

Hi champ hope your well
Dean is doing well up at Murray Eagles had a good chat the other day and he is shaking and moving things up there great to see,will buzz you next Melbourne trip perhaps a visit up swan hill way to watch some footy may be on the cards :)

Hi champ hope your well
Dean is doing well up at Murray Eagles had a good chat the other day and he is shaking and moving things up there great to see,will buzz you next Melbourne trip perhaps a visit up swan hill way to watch some footy may be on the cards :)

I thought you were going???

headshot said:
I was shown a message sent to the players from Ash tell the group that the committee had removed him from the position.
Razor Ray said :
Just to clarify Ash did not get sacked he quit after the club told the players that they would not get paid after their poor performance on Saturday. He quit in support of the players. It will be interesting to see how the Tigers go now he has left?

Was just following the posts ?
A recently retired/removed coach of an RDFL club with the initials LFNC, looks to have joined the Fevolution train at Melton Sth. after being spotted in the box assisting. No yelling of abuse was heard.

Great to see Ash has a new home he is a good coach that last line in regards to no abuse to make it clear this was only posted by me I clarified and said a person at the game had quoted this a well known person to many of us.

I've heard him on a few occasions. I'm not the only one who would have witnessed his great coaching skills.

When will the final squads be out for the weekends rep games? Any chance one of kind lads can whack both seniors and 18s up when they're announced.

Seniors

The final squad ahead of Saturday is listed below.

Name Club
James Philpot Broadford
Rex Hickman Broadford
Matt Krul Diggers Rest
Tom Gleeson Diggers Rest
James Wooster Lancefield
Jonathan Kent Lancefield
Aaron Christensen Macedon
Al Collins Macedon
Jack Mills Macedon
James Wright Macedon
Shaun Harrison Macedon