• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

RDFL 2017 Season discussion

Every dog has its day man. Just playing at half rat power and as Shaun says we just want to be in a position when September starts.
Still some room for June30 recruits.
June 30 recruits? Alternatively you could try promoting some junior talent I suppose too.

Sent from my ZTE BLADE A112 using Tapatalk

Any particular reason why the RDFL consider TAC Cup kids in the 18's rep side? Seems strange considering they are already playing rep football at a better level? OMHO give those a go who would consider interleague footy the best they could play.

It would be ok if he was actually playing TAC cup, but he isn't which is kind of odd in itself as he's been quite outstanding in the 3 games he's played against grown men. If Calder don't want him, why should he be penalised if he's back playing local footy?

Frustrating day out at Rockbank. Conditions were pretty hard and the opposition were really good too. Only a good 15 minute spell in the 2nd quarter was the difference. Sobotnicki was very impressive for Rockbank. Very congested at the top of the ladder which is great for the comp.

It would be ok if he was actually playing TAC cup, but he isn't which is kind of odd in itself as he's been quite outstanding in the 3 games he's played against grown men. If Calder don't want him, why should he be penalised if he's back playing local footy?

Frustrating day out at Rockbank. Conditions were pretty hard and the opposition were really good too. Only a good 15 minute spell in the 2nd quarter was the difference. Sobotnicki was very impressive for Rockbank. Very congested at the top of the ladder which is great for the comp.
I actually meant the two Rupo kids, 1 played for Calder Yesterday, the other was in their Thursday 28 man squad, as I said omho bro, but I think also no merit in playing a trial for rep footy, the seniors don't do it so why bother with 18's, ends up being too much footy for kids.

Every dog has its day man. Just playing at half rat power and as Shaun says we just want to be in a position when September starts.
Still some room for June30 recruits.
Fair dinkum that's very average Calder boy perhaps showing your true colours
Well done to romsey lots of young talent on show I gtee there not spending half of what the premiers are.
Is this salary cap really up and going because there is no way all clubs are under it
Surely the top six clubs must be audited come end season and if found guilty a example set to make this work.Have clubs submitted signed contracts to the rdnfl of all players and what measures is the rdnfl taking to investigate the honesty of the contracts etc
Any one with answers ???

Fair dinkum that's very average Calder boy perhaps showing your true colours
Well done to romsey lots of young talent on show I gtee there not spending half of what the premiers are.
Is this salary cap really up and going because there is no way all clubs are under it
Surely the top six clubs must be audited come end season and if found guilty a example set to make this work.Have clubs submitted signed contracts to the rdnfl of all players and what measures is the rdnfl taking to investigate the honesty of the contracts etc
Any one with answers ???
i would has it a guess that each club will send in all contracts and every team will b under cap. Big question is how do they police what is actually being paid, answer is they probably can't. If I were a wealthy supporter what would stop me giving young johnny the gun 500 each week cos I like him, or employing him and paying him double time on a Satdy whilst he is actually playing footy? As I said very hard to police the cap.

There is the old saying I spy or don't piss off those your harbouring it will take one snitch to unravel a club, as we have seen how loyal paid players are and a free pass offered to that player may be all it takes.
But it's great to see clubs like romsey rebuilding with youth well done to the crew down there must be very exciting times ahead to those that flaunt the rules as they say every dog has its day.

Anyone able to put up link to rdfnl tribunal results?Thought I saw mention of an incident which was posted on here but post since deleted?
The diggers Rest player got 2 weeks for hit behind play should of been a lot more

Thanks for clearing that up.Im sure a few others on the forum would of known more but seems some prefer to keep their head in the sand on the matter.From reports 2 weeks not enough gee some fellas cop 2 weeks for far less.

Talking to many people involved in league last twelve months, the rdfnl needs a massive shake up with interleague from under 18 down. Change personal those in charge as it not working, embarrassing really! Another ordinary loss during week

Love this topic .....

Development starts at club level in my opinion, we see it constantly where parents, junior coaches, committee interests overshadow the big issue. 1-2 clubs are prime example this year in your 16s comp.
Challenge the kids to improve, teach resilience and for Christ sake expose them to positions foreign to them. How often does a junior squad make up from 75-80% mids who rest forward?

These players should only make squads if they display certain "above standard" attributes and attitudes if you ask me, not because the RDFL "needs" to fill multiple squads for Vic Metro championships or a irrelevant Goldfields trip north that we gotta sell raffle tickets for.

I've had some involvement over time with some of this, and assume you have too AFLL or are contemplating putting your hand up to help change things.

You let clubs nominate and you get the wrong ones, have selectors pick squads and some clubs don't co-operate - these kids should be at least competent to play a level above club footy surely?

Don't allow kids to go to upper standard programs in the "hope" they learn something, send them equipped to contribute to the level or don't send them because it's a reflection on your club too.

Far too many young blokes strut around in rep footy shorts and t-shirts etc, surely these are their Toolkits for when training/playing with that specific squad nothing more.

As some JD people I've worked with already know 'm not big on the so called Academy stuff or even poxy level school footy that takes precedence in some areas - I reckon community club environments can be the greatest learning environments.

Some club level shortfalls ain't entirely the RDFL's fault. Clubs and junior coaches need to develop their entire lists, not just the better half dozen ..... then the drop out factor may not be so profound.

As for TAC Cup, another topic altogether, too hard to make both points relevant but I'm sure your club JDO's have a line of communication and are well aware as to why/how/where your listed players need to improve.

And if they're playing club footy around this time then I'm sure a rep game is a better standard to the 18s Satdy morning comp - afterall it should be as close to your best 22 footballers of an under 18 demographic otherwise you devalue the importance if you ask me.

So play the senior footballers, the TAC Cup available kids and if a few little Johnies aren't "good enough" to make it well that's life - let them deal with some adversity occasionally and these lads might surprise you.
Really is a RDFL jumper to the kid ranked 35th in line in the best interest of promoting your "best" talent?

It ain't who can run, kick, mark, handball. Nothing wrong with being told "like for like" comparisons or that they're not quite cutting the mustard in several key areas, how else do they strive to improve ..... or maybe again that's why kids are dropping out coz at 17-18 they're told they've conquered footy.

I actually meant the two Rupo kids, 1 played for Calder Yesterday, the other was in their Thursday 28 man squad, as I said omho bro, but I think also no merit in playing a trial for rep footy, the seniors don't do it so why bother with 18's, ends up being too much footy for kids.

Fair enough. My apologies.

It's a tough one, but Doona2 makes some good points. I do agree the best kids should play, but I'm also sympathetic to player 31 getting picked over player 10 or 11 who has played a match for Calder this weekend as it helps a kid who wouldn't normally get exposed to coaching at a higher level.

Not sure what the answer is. The league covers a pretty vast area so it's hard to get players together to train more than a few times due to costs, time and things like that, so a praccy game would be handy. At the end of the day everyone has to be behind it or it will simply fail.