RDFL Thread 2009 (Part 2)

Just wanted to start by saying congratulations all the umps running sunday especially Rathy, Reece and Dwayne in the big one. What what a cracker of a game it may be. If the form so far of the finals is anything to go by, this one may well be decided late in the last quarter. I was lucky enough to umpire these two teams the last time they met and if that is anything to go by, then it should be cracker. Romsey started well that day and led at quarter time but a great second quarter from lancefield saw them lead at half time. A fraca at the half time break inspired Romsey to bring out their best football in the second half. Connellan got his hands on every bounce of the quarter and they just seemed to find the hands of blokes like Moorcroft and Green who hit up blokes like Richmond, Burlak and Dawson. After being involved in the half time incident, Dawson turned on a show, to almost single handedly destroy Lancefield and have a commanding 3 quarter time lead which then went on to blow out even further in the last quarter. The lancefield defence though looked mighty strong in the prelim and I wouldn't expect these boys to find the footy as easily this time around. Chris Collins was well tagged that day and I would hope that he might get a bit more help from his team mates to break the tag. If so he could be very damging. Tom Waters has had a fantastic finals series so far and the battle between him and Connellan could be the make or break of the grand final. Myles Dorman went missing during that game a few weeks ago while Ruffell didn't quite have the effect he has had in other games, but if the finals so far are anything to go by these boys are ready to play.
It may well come down to coaching. How much game time will Kearney play and how good is his back on the sidelines when Adam is focused on the footy, it seems to have worked well this year but a GF may be a different story. They are up against a very good coach in Fitzgerald who can dedicate 100% of his time to coaching. He has been to the RDFL big dance in recent years and even won it for the then underdog Lancefield.

My prediction is this may be the best game of the RDFL season and will go to extra time, just enough time for everyone in the crowd to get another beer into them. Good luck to both teams, put on a show that will make more blokes like Moorcroft want to join this league!

Got bad news for you champ, if scores are level in any of the football grand finals this weekend it doesn't go into extra time. They come back the following Sunday.

The seniors are already going to be playing in the near dark at the end of the match.

The perfect Finish for the Lancefield Football Club

The game is finished with a draw after a record crowd. The club committee rub their hands together as it will all happen again next week, but the tigers win by a point.
Victory, Victory and Victory!

The perfect Finish for the Lancefield Football Club

The game is finished with a draw after a record crowd. The club committee rub their hands together as it will all happen again next week, but the tigers win by a point.
Victory, Victory and Victory!

And have to do another BANNER, but maybe they (Lancefield) will keep what they have written on it a secret next time!!!!! hehehehe

Have you read nothing of what everyone else has written. Even if he has not bought any beers himself (Im sure he has by the way) he has certainly bought crowds in who most certainlyh have bought plenty of beers. I am one who has payed to watch him play with th redbacks
gaaaaaaary does'nt drink

whats with the distain u seem to have with gazza moorcroft donegal?do u know him?my guess would be NOT.i have played on and against garrry back in the day.but it wasnt until i did the a.f.l traineeship with him that i got to know him properly.firstly he is a ripping bloke.but u wouldnt know that because u havent met him.secondly who cares what he gets paid and what his plans are 4 next year??he has a gf in front of him and all the other stuff is irrelevant.hes also a tough little fukr.lol
good luck 2 both sides and congrats housey,hope ya have a blinder

The big day is finally here! Should be a great day for it by the looks of things. There will definately be no love lost between romsey and lancefield and itsmyshow i think you will get to see the fireworks your hoping for. Dawson loves the big stage and im tipping he will turn it on today. For those on here who have had their digs at moorcroft today he will show you all the reason why he gets the big bucks, absolute jet and tough as nails although i suspect lancefield may test out that shoulder of his early on. Even though lancefield have the homeground advantage im tipping romsey by 17 pts in front of a huge crowd. Goodluck to all teams football and netball involved in todays games.

going to my first rdfl game today since craigieburn were in the league. hoping romsey win i hear they are expecting a MASSIVE crowd. anybody ever been to a craigieburn fc home game? would have to be close to the biggest crowds in local footy.

Massive crowd by the look of it, 3rds game a thriller. Kilmore down by 9 goals and gone for all money before those young lads showed some amazing ticker and unbelievable spirit to hit the front late only to see Woodend win it with a minute to go.

Whisper in the crowd Romsey might target young Myles Dorman in the opening minutes . . . . lets hope not :thumbsdown:

Lets hope the main game is a ripper like the 3rds

LANCEFIELD are PREMIERS!!!!!!!

Trailing by seven points at half time, the Tigers fought back to defeat arch rivals Romsey by 14 points in the grand final.

Gary Moorcroft had a shocker by his standards, struggled to hit targets on what was a perfect afternoon at Lancefield Park.

Don't know who got the best on ground medal but my informant said it was a complete team effort by the Tigers.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

waters was awesome....hardly lost a ruck contest all day...gave lancefield first use, got a fair few touches around the ground also. lancefield had great hamburgers...had four i liked them so much

whats with the distain u seem to have with gazza moorcroft donegal?do u know him?my guess would be NOT.i have played on and against garrry back in the day.but it wasnt until i did the a.f.l traineeship with him that i got to know him properly.firstly he is a ripping bloke.but u wouldnt know that because u havent met him.secondly who cares what he gets paid and what his plans are 4 next year??he has a gf in front of him and all the other stuff is irrelevant.hes also a tough little fukr.lol
good luck 2 both sides and congrats housey,hope ya have a blinder

Maybe Donegal could not get the money together to get Moorcroft to his club. Spent to many $$$$$$ on the Coach instead. Ha Ha.:D:D:D:D:D:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:.Waste of money me thinks,always use local talent not these big headed dreamers who pat themselves on the back and talk about themselves all the time.(very tiresome)

Lancefield came from almost 6 goals down midway through the second quarter. Great game by both teams marred by some fairly ordinary umpiring IMO.
Ben Talbot was great for the Tigers all day and I thought Dawson was excellent for Romsey.

Umpires were red hot in the first half and probably gave a total of six goals to both sides in free kicks, how ever they put the whistles away after half time and let the game flow freely.dawson was just ok for the day , far from excellent as you said.

LANCEFIELD are PREMIERS!!!!!!!

Trailing by seven points at half time, the Tigers fought back to defeat arch rivals Romsey by 14 points in the grand final.

Gary Moorcroft had a shocker by his standards, struggled to hit targets on what was a perfect afternoon at Lancefield Park.

Don't know who got the best on ground medal but my informant said it was a complete team effort by the Tigers.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

A great game of footy today, umpires were way too hot on the whistle in the first half but they improved. It was great to see such a huge turnout of non-competing teams there today. Made up at least half the crowd :thumbsu:

Ben John was awarded BOG - rubbing salt into the wounds of his former side no doubt..

Lancefield came from almost 6 goals down midway through the second quarter. Great game by both teams marred by some fairly ordinary umpiring IMO.
Ben Talbot was great for the Tigers all day and I thought Dawson was excellent for Romsey.

Was a great game, the bald head umpire needs to give it away he hasnt got a clue. Romseys 5-6 straight points in the last term cost them.

Massive crowd by the look of it, 3rds game a thriller. Kilmore down by 9 goals and gone for all money before those young lads showed some amazing ticker and unbelievable spirit to hit the front late only to see Woodend win it with a minute to go.

Whisper in the crowd Romsey might target young Myles Dorman in the opening minutes . . . . lets hope not :thumbsdown:

Lets hope the main game is a ripper like the 3rds

must of been hard on the lads! cant wait to get back into it next season after missing this season!

They were brave mate when all seemed lost - especially considering the skipper didnt play and young Jennings' day was over before it began when he left the field within a minute or so of the first bounce.

Great day of local footy & netball the leagues flying. well done to radio team i lisyened to in car on fence all day. entertaining stuff except for wally who cant pronounce romeril and sounds like he calls romsey coach adam cooney instead of kearney (pronounced car-ney). He didnt say much about moorcroft though after the bagging he copped on here during the week.

What a day at lancefield yesterday. Good viewing right from the start with the 18,s turning out to be a cracker of a game after kilmore made a huge come back only to just fall short, well done to the woodend boys. Didnt have much intrest in the twos game so ventuured over to cast an eye on the talent on display on the netball court and was quite pleased with eye candy that surrounded the netball and also what was on it! Macedons goal shooter aka aaron sandilands nearly snatched defeat on her own from the top side from melton. Congrats to centrals in the netball and the reserves. The ones game was a ripper romsey jumped the tigers at the start but to their credit lancefield chipped away over the next few qtrs and eventually got over the line in a very entertaining contest. Anyone no the exact figure that walkedthrough the gate? That was easily the biggest crowd ive seen at a rdfl granny over the last ten years. Would have been a rather tidy profit made from the bar and food sales one would think to. Congrats to halffullonfence on his recent appointment as coach of the gisborne under 18's you will be a hard man to replace with all the time you put into rdfl