RDFL Thread 2009 (Part 2)

What a day at lancefield yesterday. Good viewing right from the start with the 18,s turning out to be a cracker of a game after kilmore made a huge come back only to just fall short, well done to the woodend boys. Didnt have much intrest in the twos game so ventuured over to cast an eye on the talent on display on the netball court and was quite pleased with eye candy that surrounded the netball and also what was on it! Macedons goal shooter aka aaron sandilands nearly snatched defeat on her own from the top side from melton. Congrats to centrals in the netball and the reserves. The ones game was a ripper romsey jumped the tigers at the start but to their credit lancefield chipped away over the next few qtrs and eventually got over the line in a very entertaining contest. Anyone no the exact figure that walkedthrough the gate? That was easily the biggest crowd ive seen at a rdfl granny over the last ten years. Would have been a rather tidy profit made from the bar and food sales one would think to. Congrats to halffullonfence on his recent appointment as coach of the gisborne under 18's you will be a hard man to replace with all the time you put into rdfl

Guys,
Can anyone tell me how many flags Choatey has played in now?? Must be 3 at least?? Well done to the Lancefield guys, seems strange to not have Riddell there on GF day, but sounds as though the game was a cracker.
Bring on 2010! Let the scuttlebutt start as to who is leaving and who has been signed for 10'!

Congrats to Lancefield on the win yesterday in what was a great game to watch.. Really enjoyed the Burlak/Irwin battle and the Talbot/Wheatley battle was a ripper too... Congratulations to Simon Choate a real gentleman of the RDFL and a fair player too.. The two's game was good to see Centrals get up and the 18's game was brilliant, great to see a side come from that far back, Nathan and the Kilmore side should be really proud of the effort and EJ and the Hawks for putting themselves in the best position to win it.
A fantastically organised day, compared to the day before it was streets ahead of the Ballarat GF... From info I have received there were well over 5000 at the game... :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Congrats to halffullonfence on his recent appointment as coach of the gisborne under 18's you will be a hard man to replace with all the time you put into rdfl

Does Simmo know about this???? :eek:

I know Choate played in the 1996, 1997 premierships with the Tigers, as well as the victory in 2004. Sunday's win made it four with Lancefield and I think he won a couple with Doutta Stars in the EDFL. Freak of a player, great captain and terrific bloke.

As for Halfullonfence signing up as coach of the Gisborne Under 18s, I believe the Dogs are having a major overhaul of the club in the off-season so it wouldn't surprise if they approached him for the gig. He would be the perfect candidate. Would also be a massive loss for the RDFL.

Still, I'll wait for confirmation from the man himself. It sounds a little fishy to me, Gisborne have never invested seriously in their thirds, why start now?

First let me start with a famous quote "THAT'S WHAT I'M TALKING ABOUT!!"

In excess of 5000 people attended the day, and there was very little if any trouble all day, three great games of football, you couldn't ask for a better advertisement for the RDFL.

I'd like to acknowledge the Romsey Football Club, who have turned their season around after a shaky start. They played good, hard football and on another day the result could easily have been the other way. Also a mention to Cam Dawson, who made a point of coming into the rooms and shaking the hands of all the Lancefield players after the game, no doubt the last place he wanted to be at 5:30pm yesterday. I don't know the lad, and plenty on hear love to knock him, but that would not have been an easy thing to do.

Congratulations to Melton Centrals, Woodend-Hesket, Wallan and Broadford on their respective premierships, and to all the clubs at all levels on making this one most competetive seasons of football we've seen in years.

As for Choatie, he played in his 5th premiership, and is now level with his brother.

Obviously, I think it's been a great season, and whilst there will be some who think they've missed an opportunity, most would agree that it has been a great season. Bring on 2010, where we can continue to raise the standard of a great league.:thumbsu:

First rumour of the season... Love to get in first..

Al Meldrum signed sealed and delivered at Cat Land and they are chasing young James Climas from Sunbury VERY hard...

have also heard that young james is on the cats radar , also that he was super impressed with the presentation they made to him and even more impressed with the renumeration offer that was put on the table for him.

im led to believe he was offered a 10% share of the macedon pub if he signed on for 5 years well worth considering one would think :thumbsu:

I know Choate played in the 1996, 1997 premierships with the Tigers, as well as the victory in 2004. Sunday's win made it four with Lancefield and I think he won a couple with Doutta Stars in the EDFL. Freak of a player, great captain and terrific bloke.

As for Halfullonfence signing up as coach of the Gisborne Under 18s, I believe the Dogs are having a major overhaul of the club in the off-season so it wouldn't surprise if they approached him for the gig. He would be the perfect candidate. Would also be a massive loss for the RDFL.

Still, I'll wait for confirmation from the man himself. It sounds a little fishy to me, Gisborne have never invested seriously in their thirds, why start now?

signed sealed and delivered !
i was told that he was chased reasonably hard as they wanted someone who would mould their younger players into senoir start ups and they saw him as their ideal man.
have to admit it will be strange seeing him in bulldog colours, but he is there to do a job and im sure he will do it well

moorcroft to be joined by essendon premiership team mates mark johnstone and chris heffernan nxt year.
paul wheatly to play a year with his brother
lock in the flag for romsey if this comes off.
also brett cook has signed former fitzroy teamate and 3 time premiership player chris johnson to the hawks roster for next season

moorcroft to be joined by essendon premiership team mates mark johnstone and chris heffernan nxt year.
also brett cook has signed former fitzroy teamate and 3 time premiership player chris johnson to the hawks roster for next season

Johnson is one of my favourite players of all time. If he pulled on a Woodend-Hesket guernsey I could actually see myself paying admission to that paddock they call a footy field to see him run riot in the RDFL.

Look for some huge signings out in melton town with the gentlemens establishment they call the forum jumping on board as a major sponsor.
Given that this place has punters lining up to enter it i would think that their sponsorship would be in excess of $75,000.
Names ive heard being thrown around include matt sutton , mark coghlan and john gastev

There has been talk that League General Manager Scott McCartney would be finishing up at the end of the season, but news just out suggests, that he will instead be leading a delegation of RDFL heavy weights on a rigorous training/fact finding mission in the off season to an undisclosed destination. Some of those to get the call up include –

Jarrod Dixon, Chris Nolan, Adam Icely, Gavin Sporle, Adam Kearney, Glen Elliott, Bob Ryan, Steve Turner & Ollie Matthews

Speculation has it - Expect all to come back re-invigorated after their stay at Jen4Men.

Pretty sure Gisborne won the rdfl flag in 1997 mate

This is absolute bullsh!t. CJ has not been approached by the Hawks and nor will he be. You blokes who spread this cr@p should have a good hard look at yourselves.

also heard from a guy who works with chris meacham that sunbury roos are to get his services next season as 2s coach and playing full forward in the 1s. huge pick up for them. also he says expect former player dean helmers to be given the senior coaching position in 2010. the same BIG source also tells me sunbury are pretty keen on getting the premiership house brothers back to the club also.
remember you heard it here first............. watch this space.

also heard from a guy who works with chris meacham that sunbury roos are to get his services next season as 2s coach and playing full forward in the 1s. huge pick up for them. also he says expect former player dean helmers to be given the senior coaching position in 2010. the same BIG source also tells me sunbury are pretty keen on getting the premiership house brothers back to the club also.

Bwahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

Funny stuff :thumbsu:

Garbage both boys will be at Lancefield for good.

This is absolute bullsh!t. CJ has not been approached by the Hawks and nor will he be. You blokes who spread this cr@p should have a good hard look at yourselves.

Hit a nerve there cooky? Oh thats right woodend dont pay players do they , they just play for the love of the worse jumper in the history of football. Its almost as bad as your home ground not quite as bad but oh so very close