RDFL Thread - 2012

Least they aint sneaking out the back door like the last bloke :mad:. No organisation likes staff turnover, let alone both from a small operation at the same time. Hope it aint true, but if so are they moving onto better opportunities still in footy???

Doona the last bloke didnt sneak out the back door ... there was a speech made at half time of the grand final that year by Mr Ollie Matthews thanking the last bloke as he had made it clear he was moving on ...

Can't say Im sorry to see JB go ... junior competition is a mess with Sunbury, Melton & Melton South juniors all wanting to go ...

Doona the last bloke didnt sneak out the back door ... there was a speech made at half time of the grand final that year by Mr Ollie Matthews thanking the last bloke as he had made it clear he was moving on ...

Tongue in cheek mate, wasn't literally meaning it that way, we all know he walked out the front door. Pretty sure it was also mentioned Bowen Medal night that year, although it was hard to hear from near the carpark where the Broadford table was that night :eek:.

I think things are ticking along well up home. I don't hear much down in Bendigo. No cricket for me this summer. The missus just had our second baby boy yesty so have had this season off:thumbsu:

G'day bud long time no speak, congrats on the new arrival mate hope all is well? We will hav to catch up soon for some neckoil when u head down this way next. How are boys lining up at eagleland?

Hey mate, thanks for that. Another little footballer for Lalbert down the track:thumbsu: I think we will shape up ok this year, just missed the finals last year so hoping to get in and cause some damage this year. I will head down your way in the near future and ctch up. You will have to venture back up to Lalbert again one day too mate

Yeah will do mate. I wouldn't hav minded another run up there, good people and good friendly club. Warbo's fault lol allgood I still got a few in me yet bud.

It's my show where are you mate? We're you on that cruise ship in Italy or have romsey cut back your Internet allowance, come back mate you've been out of action for to long

Ha ha yeh come on IMS where are ya??? He stepped aside from his match day role at Romsey to join the RDFL Board. A little birdie tried telling me they tried stopping him doing his gig here on Big Footy as a conflict of interest. Fair Dinkum I doubt there's been a more passionate person promoting the RDFL in recent times.

Common sense prevailed as I think he's got the RDFL promotion/media/web portfolio. Perhaps he's weighing up whether to go for the General Manager's position . . . .. we could do a lot worse ;)

Haha... Im still here gents, just waiting for the fun to start ;)

Might have to weigh up the GM's job the way my mob are headed, might not have a choice.. Haha...

The other part is a bit misleading, I wasn't asked to give up anything Doona.. Except some hours of my life for meetings :D

Ballarat Football league GM has subitted to the RDFL board an application to run as GM for the RDFL with an operations manager at the RDFL office and he will operate out of the Ballarat office. Is currently the GM of the BFL and MCDFL league.

That would make it similar to how the leagues are administered over in Bendigo. A central admin hub for the Bendigo FL, Heathcote FL and Loddon Valley FL. Each league keeps their own boards etc but the admin is done centrally

Haha... Im still here gents, just waiting for the fun to start ;)

Might have to weigh up the GM's job the way my mob are headed, might not have a choice.. Haha...

The other part is a bit misleading, I wasn't asked to give up anything Doona.. Except some hours of my life for meetings :D

Had to wake you from your slumber mate ;)

Sad to hear the of the passing of Romsey player Brad 'Rooster' Cuthbert.
A former Scarborough Medal winner and ripping bloke.

Thoughts are with the Cuthbert family and the RFNC at this difficult time.

RIP Rooster.

Shocking news, played a bit of cricket with him and he was a good fella.

Few interesting things on the clearances page.

Are Rockbank in big trouble? Half the senior side has already put clearances in and from what I am told a number of the other good players will be going.

A couple of interesting clearances for Macedon. Shaun Neeson will be very good for them. Anyone know much about Scott Howard?

Plenty of clearances in for Kilmore which is good to see.

RIP Rooster.

Well said Grant 3. I spoke with a totally shattered Peddo Friday night. We don't admit it out loud as coaches but we do have our little fave's - and from chat's with Peddo, I know Brad was really impressing him on the track after some time away from his footy. Small communities (and especially sporting clubs) have an amazing resilliance and ability to band together when faced with adversity and I reckon there will be a real pledge to each other to put everything into 2012 as a mark of respect to their fallen mate.

I too would like to offer my deepest sympathies, and sincerest of thoughts to the Cuthbert family, and to all those involved at the Romsey Football Netball Club at a truly tough time :(

That would make it similar to how the leagues are administered over in Bendigo. A central admin hub for the Bendigo FL, Heathcote FL and Loddon Valley FL. Each league keeps their own boards etc but the admin is done centrally

Thought this woulda sparked more interest. Has to be a good thing, especially with Scott finishing up today (good luck with whatever u take on next Scott) and John shortly. Would still have a board in place and our own identity is how I read it.

As the big Roota said it's managed successfully around Bendigo. One administration for a cluster of leagues would save on the outlay of wages etc, which should in turn mean a lot cheaper fee's per club each season . . . . and maybe even an end dividend back at the conclusion.

Seriously worth considering surely????

Thought this woulda sparked more interest. Has to be a good thing, especially with Scott finishing up today (good luck with whatever u take on next Scott) and John shortly. Would still have a board in place and our own identity is how I read it.

As the big Roota said it's managed successfully around Bendigo. One administration for a cluster of leagues would save on the outlay of wages etc, which should in turn mean a lot cheaper fee's per club each season . . . . and maybe even an end dividend back at the conclusion.

Seriously worth considering surely????

How would this work considering the BFL made presentations to Melton & Melton South Juniors trying to get them to sign on with the BFL?

Would these clubs be pretected to the RDFL or would Wardy move the clubs so they line up with the Seniors?

Seems like a conflict of interest in that regard... I think saving on executive wages would be great especially if it meant you could throw more money to the operations manager to keep them in the role longer

just me thoughts

How would this work considering the BFL made presentations to Melton & Melton South Juniors trying to get them to sign on with the BFL?

Would these clubs be pretected to the RDFL or would Wardy move the clubs so they line up with the Seniors?

Seems like a conflict of interest in that regard... I think saving on executive wages would be great especially if it meant you could throw more money to the operations manager to keep them in the role longer

just me thoughts

What's to say they mightn't consider it anyways if things dont change???

Look it's a tough one - I've come from leagues where there are not paid employee's as such, there is a secretary who may get $5-10k a year to cover the admin and those "voted" onto the board by the club's (lets not forget thats who they represent) take on certain portfolio's to share the workload.

Seems to work further out of the city, may just be a bush thing though???