Oppo Camp Regular Non Eagles Discussion V2

Big question now is, will getting Clarkson change Horne-Francis' mind about staying now? Or at least hang around for a few more years to give him a chance

I think there’s no longer any likelihood that he asks for a trade this year.

And with Adelaide chasing Rankin, they likely don’t have the assets to trade for both

Which is why we are swooping in with pick 2 in the PSD for Rankine according to the media :drunk:

I don't think Clarko will work for North, for a few reasons. Firstly, he had a Hawks list to rebuild after 2018 and failed pretty badly at that over three seasons.

Secondly, they are paying him $1.1M out of a soft cap of $6.5M. For reference, Simmo is on about $800k and I've read articles saying that a rookie coach, Rutten, is on $500k. That is a lot of extra cash going to Clarko that means less resources elsewhere.

Thirdly, Clarko is apparently a bit of a tyrant that wants to take over all aspects of a club. He worked well at Hawthorn as they had strong personalities around him who could stand up to and manage him (eg Fagan). North is weak as piss, there's a good chance he burns out by taking on too much and no-one stopping him.

It sets up an interesting trade period. He will be going all out for bringing in experienced players, including guys from Hawthorn. Watch the AFL give them some second rounders to spread around as priority picks.
I think the club is such a mess and he is undeniably great, he can’t not be good for them.

Where I’ve landed so far is he’ll be good for the team but great for the club. Unsure if it’ll work on field like some would think but it’s a complete slam dunk no brainer acquisition for them.

One of the rarer bits of sanity from the Essendon board...

I get the idea of rolling the dice, and going all in on clarko.
I actually agree when the best coach is available you are derelict to not try ask the question, I'd do it delicately but hey the thinking is there.

But when there isn't even a chance of it occuring and in doing so you have blown up your club, and from a purely commercial perspective cost yourself a chunk of coin in payouts. Not to mention possible players that you may have been interested in trading in or current players that may now want out.
What the * were you thinking.

It was reported that Barham was close to walking away from the board, how was he convinced this would end well? How did he get from walkout to this nuclear option?

I'm now just waiting for this to be some game of thrones level s**t from Sheedy knifing Brasher and then Barham to then push his agenda to get Hird.

I get a lot of people say "because essendon" as if it carries some weight. The only weight it carries is the weight we keep wrapping around the clubs ankles with how spectacularly we consign ourselves to being a laughing stock.
Sums it up well. Essendon thought they could get it done in under four days because they were Essendon.

Passing on JHF because you want Rankine is like knocking back a gourmet five course meal because you already filled up on a sausage roll from the servo.

Send them back on the camp, they’ve not learned anything.

I don't think Clarko will work for North, for a few reasons. Firstly, he had a Hawks list to rebuild after 2018 and failed pretty badly at that over three seasons.

Secondly, they are paying him $1.1M out of a soft cap of $6.5M. For reference, Simmo is on about $800k and I've read articles saying that a rookie coach, Rutten, is on $500k. That is a lot of extra cash going to Clarko that means less resources elsewhere.

Thirdly, Clarko is apparently a bit of a tyrant that wants to take over all aspects of a club. He worked well at Hawthorn as they had strong personalities around him who could stand up to and manage him (eg Fagan). North is weak as piss, there's a good chance he burns out by taking on too much and no-one stopping him.

It sets up an interesting trade period. He will be going all out for bringing in experienced players, including guys from Hawthorn. Watch the AFL give them some second rounders to spread around as priority picks.

There is a possibility that North have shot themselves in the foot being one of the clubs the soft cap was brought in to protect.
Now they've landed a bigtime coach and need to spread that money around and will be hamstrung by who they could put around him due to softcap spending. And if the AFL give them some kind of soft cap relief well that will be a kick in the groin to the clubs that can afford to spend on coaching staff but cant just give money away.

I remember a previous North coach saying (it may have been commentary on the Shaw issue from a previous coach) that when you go to a club like that you cant just be the head coach. You are in marketing...as well as public relations...etc so I wonder if that's still the case when they get Clarko or do they magically find more cash and avoid going over the softcap?

Does it though?

Doesn't it just make them a failing club with a universally lauded coach?

Who's to say that Clarko can work the same magic at a club that clearly has a poor system. He'd have to change everything from top to bottom. Is that going to happen?
Hello, Melbourne here. You called?

There is a possibility that North have shot themselves in the foot being one of the clubs the soft cap was brought in to protect.
Now they've landed a bigtime coach and need to spread that money around and will be hamstrung by who they could put around him due to softcap spending. And if the AFL give them some kind of soft cap relief well that will be a kick in the groin to the clubs that can afford to spend on coaching staff but cant just give money away.

I remember a previous North coach saying (it may have been commentary on the Shaw issue from a previous coach) that when you go to a club like that you cant just be the head coach. You are in marketing...as well as public relations...etc so I wonder if that's still the case when they get Clarko or do they magically find more cash and avoid going over the softcap?
I believe the AFL came out a couple weeks ago saying if he signed with one of North or GWS some of his contract could be paid outside the cap?

I’d much rather the AFL did this than give out any draft concessions

1) It doesn’t impact any of our draft picks
2) It only strengthens our argument that the football spending cap should be increased

Passing on JHF because you want Rankine is like knocking back a gourmet five course meal because you already filled up on a sausage roll from the servo.

Send them back on the camp, they’ve not learned anything.
Rankine pretty underrated on here because he’s over hyped by the media IMO. Bit of a NN situation.

Imagine thinking the AFL wouldn’t bail North out if they blew all of their cap up the wall.

They already exist on our dollar and if they **** up the AFL will just give them more of it.

They might be the lesser of two evils when compared with Essendon but nobody needs to feel anything but contempt for North still.

Rankine pretty underrated on here because he’s over hyped by the media IMO. Bit of a NN situation.
He’s good at his best. If people on here are sick of Liam Ryan, boy do I have news for them.

Still worth getting for free in the PSD but that will never ever happen.

He’s good at his best. If people on here are sick of Liam Ryan, boy do I have news for them.

Still worth getting for free in the PSD but that will never ever happen.
Still only played 48 games of senior footy and has been in a pretty shonky side for most of that time. Shown enough to suggest he can tear games apart in a short period of time in a way that most players can’t (Ryan included). Reckon he’ll become a super damaging outside mid.

JHF I haven’t really watched but is clearly also a super talent so not suggesting who Adelaide should be targeting

Still only played 48 games of senior footy and has been in a pretty shonky side for most of that time. Shown enough to suggest he can tear games apart in a short period of time in a way that most players can’t (Ryan included). Reckon he’ll become a super damaging outside mid.

JHF I haven’t really watched but is clearly also a super talent so not suggesting who Adelaide should be targeting
He's too good around goals to be a full time mid imo. I expect him to be a small forward who has stints in the middle

Imagine thinking the AFL wouldn’t bail North out if they blew all of their cap up the wall.

They already exist on our dollar and if they * up the AFL will just give them more of it.

They might be the lesser of two evils when compared with Essendon but nobody needs to feel anything but contempt for North still.
From my perspective just funny that one of the clubs that you are looking to protect with that cap starts being a big spender and looking for room under the cap to cover for their large spending.

He's too good around goals to be a full time mid imo. I expect him to be a small forward who has stints in the middle
Can nail them on the run from outside 50 so he’s never that ‘far’ from the goals. But yeah you wouldn’t want him wasted at stoppages in defensive part of the ground

From my perspective just funny that one of the clubs that you are looking to protect with that cap starts being a big spender and looking for room under the cap to cover for their large spending.
Welcome to the AFL and their wheel of hypocrisy

Just watched some of the Essendon presser's.

Truck so full of class and TBH, the scum don't deserve him. :whitecheck:

The new President..... what a sleazy dead set w***er he comes across as.....sort of like a perfect match for the Essendon persona. :crossmark:

As has been mentioned by others in this thread earlier, as bad as we have been this year, by comparison our Board and those who manage the Club look significantly better than their counterparts at Essendon.

Now I must admit that I despise the scum with a passion and the cluster * that they have created for themselves, does give me a great deal of pleasure.

Almost gets me up and about to start waving my West Coast scarf above my head.

download-18.jpg