Banter Remember to use the code "CATS" to ensure you get Prelim tickets.

Richmond was my second team for most of my life. I supported them first as I love Tigers (the animal) and I loved Richo and Wayne Campbell. Still sort of is as my mate is old friends with Dusty and I love Cotch, but a lot of supporters have really lowered their colours with their braggadocio following your flag in '17. I supported Geelong growing up because of Ablett Snr and the spectacle that he put on. Have always had a good culture and have had relative success (barring that incident with Ablett Snr, which left a stain on the club). Can't complain tbh. I reckon my experience has been better than most Tigs supporters

You don’t make sense

You have played more home finals at the mcg than we have this year, why are you so negative? We had to win at our other home ground the Gabba that’s all the way up in queensland if you didn’t know

You will have played 8 out of your last 9 at the MCG. You seriously trying to argue this?

I'm not negative at all. I honestly like the fact that there's no pressure on us, as we weren't expected to win last week. You guys are the form team, with the home ground advantage, supporter advantage and tipped by all pundits to win. That works well for us, as we'll just throw everything at it and hope for the best. You guys choke in two prelims in a row, then the melts will be glorious

Cats numbers were 30,000 in 2008, have another look bud. Was a 10% increase, not 50%. Increased the next year a bit after we LOST the flag. Silly Tiggie making numbers up to suit his agenda.

Fact is, we got 800 more members after our first flag in 44 years...you guys got 25,000 more after your first flag in 37 years...see the difference? I'll give you a hint, it start with a b and ends with a wagon.

Have another look bud. You were looking at the Richmond membership figures when you saw an increase of 800 members from 2007 to 2008. Silly puss-puss wishing he was part of a big club.

Fair play.

Nah, then I would have had to endure years of N!nthmond and Geelong thrashings. I had a lot of sad Richmond friends growing up, did not envy them one bit

I only looked from 2006-2012, as that was all I could find, lol. Fair point though, but notice that dramatic spike in numbers from 2011 - 2012, and then every year after. Where were those 60,000 members during the down period? Equating for normal rate of league growth based on success, you should have been around the 70-75,000 mark. Lo and behold though, you win a flag, you get another 25,000 on board.

We won a bunch of flags, still had normal build-up. As I said, definition of bandwagoners. Only times you've had a surge in numbers, is when you've been on track for finals. You're not like Collingwood, Essendon, Hawthorn etc. who have always had decent numbers even during down periods.

Your supporters jump on the bandwagon when things are rosy and you're enjoying success. If you had so many supporters originally, where was their membership support during the days of Richo, Campbell, Newman and N!nthmond? Nowhere to be found. Odd for such a 'big Melbourne club'
Geelong are a minnow club who don't have massive increases in memberships because they are the team of a small country town who play a majority of their home games at a boutique country ground that barely fits 36k.

Richmond are a traditional powerhouse who have always had a large supporter base, even when we played just the 2 finals series in 30 years. As we started to achieve sustained success over the last we have had an increase of members, through the hard work of our membership department.

In the years of Richo Campbell Newman and 9th placed finishes, we still had attendances of minimum 750k fans a season watching our games, even in 2004 when we won the spoon, but somehow we're bandwagon fans

Geelong are a minnow club who don't have massive increases in memberships because they are the team of a small country town who play a majority of their home games at a boutique country ground that barely fits 36k.

Richmond are a traditional powerhouse who have always had a large supporter base, even when we played just the 2 finals series in 30 years. As we started to achieve sustained success over the last we have had an increase of members, through the hard work of our membership department.

In the years of Richo Campbell Newman and 9th placed finishes, we still had attendances of minimum 750k fans a season watching our games, even in 2004 when we won the spoon, but somehow we're bandwagon fans

Pay attention to the terminology I used, I said membership numbers. I know your fans showed up in droves during down periods. They just didn't contribute to the club in large numbers in that time. That's the difference.

Richmond was my second team for most of my life. I supported them first as I love Tigers (the animal) and I loved Richo and Wayne Campbell. Still sort of is as my mate is old friends with Dusty and I love Cotch, but a lot of supporters have really lowered their colours with their braggadocio following your flag in '17. I supported Geelong growing up because of Ablett Snr and the spectacle that he put on. Have always had a good culture and have had relative success (barring that incident with Ablett Snr, which left a stain on the club). Can't complain tbh. I reckon my experience has been better than most Tigs supporters
I also used to like Geelong football club , They had the best handbags i ever seen any afl footballer carry , By the way Joffa say's hi

If you worked for Centrelink, your opinion means very little to me. Some of those workers are dumber than the 'doll bludgers' that they look down upon. You seem to fall comfortably into that category :)

Btw, Geelong membership rates were higher than Richmond, comfortably for a long time up until 2012. You only started getting higher membership rates when you got knocked out by a Carlton side that wasn't even meant to be there in your first final. Definition of bandwagoner, bud.

Also, haven't you been paying attention? The reason we can't get there is lack of transport. That's fine if you disagree, but the argument has already been done with. I'm not gonna repeat it just cause you're late to the party.

P.S. as Sterge said, it's a banter thread. Lighten up. All these dislikes and 'wow's' towards my posts. Can't all just be a circle-jerk Richmond love fest. That would be abit boring wouldn't it?

Your from shanty town. Stfu and get a job

Cats numbers were 30,000 in 2008, have another look bud. Was a 10% increase, not 50%. Increased the next year a bit after we LOST the flag. Silly Tiggie making numbers up to suit his agenda.

Fact is, we got 800 more members after our first flag in 44 years...you guys got 25,000 more after your first flag in 37 years...see the difference? I'll give you a hint, it start with a b and ends with a wagon.

I'd worry about such poor membership number increase after your first flag in 44 years... If you can't pull in new members then when will you?

Another sustained period of failure and it will be a one way ticket to foldsville.

On POT-LX1 using BigFooty.com mobile app

I'd worry about such poor membership number increase after your first flag in 44 years... If you can't pull in new members then when will you?

Another sustained period of failure and it will be a one way ticket to foldsville.

On POT-LX1 using BigFooty.com mobile app

People have been waiting for us to fall off a cliff for the last 10 years. Finished 8th last year and all the daggers were out. Finish minor premiers this year and playing in a prelim.

Regardless of what happens in the future, we're not a team that rests on our laurels and waits to contend. There's about 12 other teams I can think of that would fold before we will

You will have played 8 out of your last 9 at the MCG. You seriously trying to argue this?

I'm not negative at all. I honestly like the fact that there's no pressure on us, as we weren't expected to win last week. You guys are the form team, with the home ground advantage, supporter advantage and tipped by all pundits to win. That works well for us, as we'll just throw everything at it and hope for the best. You guys choke in two prelims in a row, then the melts will be glorious

Every club says anywhere anytime except Geelong , you’re a good example of your club

Lol, I'm fine with the 'anywhere' bit. It's the 'anytime' that I have an issue with. But that's fine. You're a good example of a parrot for your club, so do with that what you will :)

Seems I'm the only Geelong poster that's left in this circle-jerk, Richmond love fest anyway. I think I'll leave you to your incestuous pond and go talk to a tree instead

Lol, I'm fine with the 'anywhere' bit. It's the 'anytime' that I have an issue with. But that's fine. You're a good example of a parrot for your club, so do with that what you will :)

Seems I'm the only oppo poster that's left in this circle-jerk, Richmond love fest anyway. I think I'll leave you to your incestuous pond and go talk to a tree instead

Such anger in a banter thread, on the Richmond board as well after all you just said, what did you expect? Inb4 let us play finals at Kardinia Park with its 3 seats. Ohhh burrrnnnn

I’m a parrot? IM A PARROT?

If I’m not talking to Chris Scott right now, somehow that bird on his shoulder knows how to use a computer

Settle down pussy cat

Seems I'm the only Geelong poster that's left in this circle-jerk, Richmond love fest anyway. I think I'll leave you to your incestuous pond and go talk to a tree instead

You're to be admired for venturing away from a Geelong safe-space to meet others on their turf. :thumbsu:

If only your playing group and coach could be convinced to do the same.

I'm happy with how Parfitt's going. Caddy isn't even Best 22 for you guys anymore.

On another note, that is hilarious, because that guy is exactly what I imagine when I think of an incoherent Tigs supporter :)
That's ok.

You haven't watched us closely this year, and understood Josh's leg infection injury and pathway back to the senior team where he's now flying.

And all I know of Parfitt is the pronunciation of his name is standing joke for a Ch7 commentator, and he's not a premiership player like Josh. So apologies for my ignorance. No doubt he regularly makes the sports pages of the Geelong Advertiser, near the Inverleigh livestock sales results and the repossessed car auction ads.

Haere Ra

Pay attention to the terminology I used, I said membership numbers. I know your fans showed up in droves during down periods. They just didn't contribute to the club in large numbers in that time. That's the difference.
No clubs had overly large membership numbers in the early 2000's but don't let that get in the way of a good bit of bullshit

Just checking; you know you’re in the banter thread right?

I only looked from 2006-2012, as that was all I could find, lol. Fair point though, but notice that dramatic spike in numbers from 2011 - 2012
made finals in '11 n '12 did we? lol

actually it was our off field team who drove the growth and rallied the army. even you look dumber than normal trying to banter about the quality and number of our respective fans