Revenge This Week?

Sep 9, 2000
Glenelg, Redbacks, Lakers
Last years final hurt me like hell and I can still remember the night very well. We may be underdogs but I hope the boys go as hard as they can, payback's a b****. Am worried that Ottens will have his 1 good game a year against us although I shouldn't doubt Fletcher.

eastaugh36 said:
Last years final hurt me like hell and I can still remember the night very well. We may be underdogs but I hope the boys go as hard as they can, payback's a b****. Am worried that Ottens will have his 1 good game a year against us although I shouldn't doubt Fletcher.
Ottens was apparently Geelongs worst by a country mile last week. don't worry about him - it is Kingsley who will kick 6 straight.

Geelong really got their run going when the knocked us off - would be nice to do the same - but geez a 5-goal loss would be good with our form.

As long as the boys have a red hot go and an absolute crack at the Cats, honestly I can't see them winning this one - but as long as they stick with them and then anything is possible.

We got absolutely slaughtered in the first half of the final last year, don't think we managed 1 goal. Then, out of nowhere, we came Oh-so-close in the last qtr, when Hirdy kicked the ripper from the boundary line.

What are the chances of Dyson and Winderlich being picked in the side this week? and I think Rioli is back ??

Hird is in doubt, Rioli will play. So dont know if there'll be any spectacular goals anymore ;) Rama has aparently done an ankle an may miss. Just as well, he wasnt going very well. Now we need to get rid of Murphs and hope that young Nash, Dyson or Winderlich get a go.

The cats arent in great form, only had one win against the rebuilding Richmond, and us over a young Hawthorn. We're both on the same points and I guess they're the better team, with the ruck and midfield. I spose we could just get our guys to rover Kings taps, and hopefully get Carts or Chook in there.

Kingsley has done an ankle and will miss I think. Mooney and Sanderson are still another week away. Bartel is a 50-50 and there is no Wocjinski. I think that's about that.

We aren't in great form either, but I think the win against the hawks (depite being srappy and heart stopping) gave us a bit of spark and the boys will be read hot and hungry this week. Ofcourse, so will the cats, and both teams will fight it out, both have injuries but it will be a tight match. I've got a sneaking suspicion about this one, we might get over the line.

If we can pull together four consistient quarters of the good tough footy we know we are capable of - stuff we showed against the Blues, we're a real chance. We might'n have Hirdy in the team, but having Rioli adds some class, and if a Dyson or Winderlich come in, it gives us some speed and pace. Lovett and Monfries should stay in the team.

Key match ups for the night, well assuming Kingsley is not out - Fletch has been in fantastic form, as has Bradley. Zantuck would be a great match for KK, but if he plays, I feel Bradley may take him although he may be slighty quicker on the lead. Fletch will probably take Ottens or vise versa

Lloyd and Scarlett is always a good battle and I think Scarlett has taken the honours, also due to Lloyds past inaccuarcy. This being only his second match back, he'll still be underdone, no doubt, but if he can get away and kick 4 or 5 it'll be good for us. Scarlett is a bit out of form as we saw last week against the Dees. With McPhee, MJ and Solly spending some more time in the midfield I think we need to get them back to defence. We're pretty solid and settled with our back six except for Zantuck who's out. Cupido and Dyson did well for Bendigo, I think they will be back. Their ruck and midfield really expose our weakness and I think we need to have Carts and Chook rucking, they are the future of our club and with Allan and Hille out for a while we're going to need to give them some game time. Henneman has been reasonable there, if not able to hit the ball out then stop his opponent, but I think he'd be of better use taking screamers up forward.

Ablett and Ling have both been out of form, and they were excellent last year, cost us the match. McVeigh hasnt been in great form either, but if he can beat Ablett it increases out chances even more. Ling, well I'm trying to think of who can take him. Perhaps Pev can tag him.
If Hird does play, and has an impact on the game we can win it. Unfortunately, dont think that'll be the case, but still think we can win. Essendon by 4 points.

My team

B:Thomas Fletcher MJ
HB:Welsh Bradley McVeigh
C:McPhee Solomon Stanton
HF:Rioli Lucas Lovett
F:Cupido Lloyd Henneman
R:Laycock Peverill Johnson
I/C: Cartledge, Monfries, Dyson, Winderlich
E:Richards, Hunt, Alvey

Ins - Rioli, Thomas, Cupido, Dyson, Cartledge, Winderlich
Outs - Rama(inj) Hird(inj) Murphy, Bullen, Richards, someone else...

well done jackie, i like the team there, a lot of youngsters. I doubt Sheeds will be in the same frame of mind though. I think Hird might get up to play, just going to rest him until Saturday.

Good to see Thomas, Dyson, Cartledge and Winderlich in YOUR team. =]

I can just see it now - Hird out, Rioli late withdrawal, Kingsley kicks 7, Ottens takes 15 marks and kicks it forward 10 times from the middle on Henneman, Lloyd get reported, Lucas does a hamstring and the Bombers get done by 14 goals.

Sounds like a great night.

Can it really go that bad?

How about ..

Bartel out, Kinglsey late withdrawl. Lloyd kicks 7, Lucas takes 15 marks and kicks it inside 50 10 times. Scarlett gets reported and Ling does a hammy. Bombers win by 14 goals.

Sounds like a great night! :)

LOL - One can always dream. I heard Kingsley did an ankle but AFL.com.au says he'll play well against us. Hrmmm. Kepler, Fletch and Zantuck (if he plays) will keep their forwards quiet

Any linkage to where it came 'from the press' I have heard no news of these injury clouds other than right here.

Longy413 said:
Might have just been on SEN.
I definately remember hearing it.

I heard it too, think it was on 10 news the other night. Ling i hear is also in doubt with i think a back problem.

Rioli will play. Murphy I doubt will, he definately injured his shoulder last week. Every time i saw him he was clucthing at his left shoulder, in the end he called to the bench to come off. Hird wont play, Zantuck is extremely doubtful and now this news with rama.

I feel we may get belted :(

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,12851250%5E19766,00.html

Midfielder Jimmy Bartel, who suffered concussion on Friday night, trained yesterday and could play if the Cats medical staff clear him.

Geelong officials have strongly denied a television news report that midfielder Cameron Ling is playing with a back complaint.

"I was in the meeting with the medical staff and we went though the list alphabetically and Cameron Ling's name was never raised," football manager Garry Davidson said last night. "There's nothing wrong with him at all."

Hard to trust the media, Geelong Addy Came out the other day saying that Bartel had a cracked vertabrae (I think I spelled that correctly).

Ling was the other one I heard there was a cloud over and did they mention Playfair as well?
I don't think any of the injuries are likely to keep them out however.

Rioli will definately play. I reckon Hird will play to.

TeeBee said:
I heard it too, think it was on 10 news the other night. Ling i hear is also in doubt with i think a back problem.

Rioli will play. Murphy I doubt will, he definately injured his shoulder last week. Every time i saw him he was clucthing at his left shoulder, in the end he called to the bench to come off. Hird wont play, Zantuck is extremely doubtful and now this news with rama.

I feel we may get belted :(

Zantucks out for 6-8 weeks.

eastaugh36 said:
Zantucks out for 6-8 weeks.

Not as bad as first thought.
The original fear was that it was a break or fracture. However it is just a stress related injury.
Mark Harvey confirmed this last night on White Line Fever.

He is a slim chance to play this week. But next week is more likely.

Longy413 said:
Not as bad as first thought.
The original fear was that it was a break or fracture. However it is just a stress related injury.
Mark Harvey confirmed this last night on White Line Fever.

He is a slim chance to play this week. But next week is more likely.

I'm glad to be wrong!

Is it Hird's knee?

Sheeds said on 10 news that they'll wait and see how it is on Saturday, surely, it should be better by then

And all these Geelong injuries are coming .. out of no where

Ling doesn't look right, especially when turning, as Channel 9 pointed out during Friday night's game

Yeah, looked like a groin/back with Ling. Couldnt turn or bend down. Meanwhile I think Kingsley will play, hes always great against us; but hasnt been in great form while Fletch has. Despite the media saying all this ********, I think Fletch/Kepler will take the out of form Ottens and KK. I highly doubt Zantuck and Hird will play, while Rama has his knee and Murphy his shoulder (these guys were going to be dropped anyway, I think)

In comes - Rioli(Hird) Dyson(Rama) Licha(Murphy) Thomas(Richards)

Revenge This Week?