Revised top 10 from 2013 draft

Boyd's Grand Final heroics seem to have overshadowed many impressive efforts from earlier in his career, in addition to the heavy workload he shouldered as a ruckman as the Dogs charged to the flag.

He's also had to deal with persistent injuries throughout his time in the AFL.

He's also 21.

It's very easy to shuffle him down the pecking order on the basis of his performances relative to his wage, but unless you're compiling a value ranking, it makes little sense to put similarly unproven players (over a period of time) ahead of him.

He's clearly going to be in the best handful from this draft.

Thetre was a thread earlier in the year talking about how Boyd needed to go at year end with the salary he was on and how it was hurting the club as he was struggling in the magoos

I didnt agree he needed to stay, but is this a little contradictory with Boyd, he isnt a superstar but one of those players in the right place at the right time. Not a ruckman really and just not reliable enough as a key forward. But had a great GF, history is littered with them, Shane Ellen 5 goals from the hbf in a GF, Mark McGough ANZAC medalist

Settle.

There's more to footy these days, Brown is wonderful ambassador for us being Tasmanian, does a heap of good work for the club through the huddle, never gets into trouble, writes for The Age. I'm not sure it would be that simple from on off field perspective.

On field, Brown has kicked more goals in season 2016 than Lobb has in his entire career.

In fact 20% more.

Lobb is probably looking like being the better long term prospect but on exposed form, Brown has he and many other young forwards in the AFL covered. 41 goals chopping out your ruckman is seriously valuable by any metrics you're using to form your opinion. To say he isn't improving is absurd and shows total lack of awareness of the player in question. His year on year output improvements since his debut are bloody good, more than you could ever hope for from a pick 47.

So yeah I'd say thanks but no thanks for Rory.
Wasting your time mate. He plays for North, along with that McDonald bloke; therefore they are shit.

Boyd at three is an over exaggeration of a player who provided one good game in a very long time, albeit an important one.

To be fair, Boyd's entire finals series was pretty impressive. Don't underestimate his importance in the prelim when Roughead went off injured and Boyd rucked the rest of the game against Mumford. Without him, the Bulldogs wouldn't have made the grand final.

Let's wait to see how some of these blokes go when their teams are taken seriously.

Merrett in particular hasn't really played a proper game when the opposition puts some time into the team and isn't already planning for the following week.

Not saying he is overrated, but his big test will come in 2017 when he isn't the main man.

Lewis Taylor is doing extremely well to hold onto a top 10 spot.

He's barely worth the pick 20 something spent on him these days
That's a fair call regarding Taylor. I've only put him in my top 10 as he's played some good games throughout his first three years in the AFL. If I did my top 10 based on performance but also with a criteria of potential and ceiling I doubt I would put him in there and my top 10 would look a far bit different with some new names who've only established themselves this year.

Fantasia is better than Luke McDonald. Easily too I reckon.

Fantasia is so underrated on here it is ridiculous. Kicked 29.25 from 19 games in the wooden spoon team. Playing small forward is one of the hardest positions on the ground, ESPECIALLY in a bad side.

Salem would do very well if he could be considered a top 10 pick in this draft 5 years from now, I rate him very highly but his thyroid issues are a worry. Melbourne actually did reasonably well with the later picks in this draft, Hunt at 57 and Harmes in the rookie draft.

Fantasia is so underrated on here it is ridiculous. Kicked 29.25 from 19 games in the wooden spoon team. Playing small forward is one of the hardest positions on the ground, ESPECIALLY in a bad side.

Salem would do very well if he could be considered a top 10 pick in this draft 5 years from now, I rate him very highly but his thyroid issues are a worry. Melbourne actually did reasonably well with the later picks in this draft, Hunt at 57 and Harmes in the rookie draft.
He played quite a bit through the middle/half back in the first half of the season too, 19 of those 29 goals came in his last 8 games

I agree regarding Fantasia. Looks like a very dynamic small forward and he and Daniher will make a good partnership in the future. For someone who is quite slight, he's actually pretty good one on one which is a bit like what Eddie Betts is able to do now. Not many small forwards at his age have that ability IMO and this should hold him in good stead.

Also in his last 8 games of the year he kicked 19 goals so for me if he can replicate that consistency into the season next year, he should be able to get more than 40+ goals and play a big part in Essendon's surge up the ladder in the next few years.

Well no, because the handball receives and sideways nothing kicks will go to Heppell, Goddard, Zaharakis and him. Also McGrath likes a bit of that too.

It will be interesting to see, he certainly is a gun and no question should be at 3 in this list.

If those sideways kicks/Handpass end up in a Merrett kick inside 50 from the forward flank we're gonna be laughing, Absolute class disposal.

Reckon the top 15 will end up like this:

1: Bontempelli
2: Cripps
3: Kelly
4: Merrett
5: Acres
6: Lobb
7: Matt Crouch
8: Barrass
9: McCarthy
10: Billings
11: Brown
12: Aliir
13: Pearce
14: Sicily
15: Aish

Overall career-wise. If it were now, I'd have Merrett above Kelly, Barrass lower, Brown higher etc

Where's Tom Boyd?