• Andrew McQualter

Votes: 87 37.8%
  • Adem Yze

Votes: 146 63.5%

What was teagues apprenticeship like by comparison , he learnt off Brendan Bolton l😂 spare me
Playing Coach of the Bullants, assistant to Ratten at Blues for 3 years, assistant to Worsfold at eagles for 3 years, 1 year under Lyon at the saints, 4 years at crows under Sanderson, Walsh and Pyke then a couple years under Bolton.

Pretty bloody good apprenticeship ;)

Hardwick isn't smart and never has been. He worked with a great team and FD in our success. That’s why a review was done in 2016 bc he’d run the joint down with a quality list. His strength was he was able to work and operate better with smarter assistants. In the end they were diminished bc he was arrogant , naive and foolish by taking the lump of the soft cap.
He was then back to 2016 and even worse off bc he became a tyrant . He was then found out to be totally clueless bc he’d lost the brains and support around him. In the end he was also losing the players with bad press conferences relating to them.
Don’t get me wrong I appreciate everything he did, but up until 2016 he was clueless and after 2021 he was hanging onto what everyone had taught him, but as things deteriorated he then went back to 2016 mode by playing players out of position, but even worse refusing to make team changes.
There were two games lost where we should’ve won. Subbing Miller off against Melbourne in the last quarter leaving a fatigued Ryan to ruck and moving Balta who was holding up the BL into the ruck. Undies and Gawn got off the chain, Young was exposed in the BL and JVR ripped him apart. The second game was dropping Miller for the Essendon game. Miller kills it in the VFL and kicks the winning goal on the run 50m out. Jack is destroyed all night. Plays an unfit Nankervis instead of Miller to ruck with Ryan against Draper. Draper has a field day and Nankervis coughs up multiple goals. We lose the unlosable 😂 and then KDH says goodbye I’m cooked. Mickey Mouse could’ve coached us that night for a win, but Dimmas incompetence with the MC totally butchered it.
Dimma unfortunately without support was more stubborn and ignorant when challenged and would make incompetent decisions which was his downfall.
He quit bc he was back to his true self and found out and in the end he couldn’t go through 2016 where he had a strong list and couldn’t get the players up. All in his own admission, not that we needed it bc it was so bloody obvious.
The RFC was becoming like the fall of the Roman Empire:

As Nero fiddled Rome burnt
As Dimma fiddled the RFC burnt.

Dimma forgot his greatest strength which made him a triple premiership coach and that was humility.
In 2016 he admitted after losses he would go to his man cave and sit on the rocking chair stressing how to improve the team. He was given a lifeline with millions spent on a review, new FD , fitness staff and technology. They sent him to Harvard to learn about PR and communication and when he arrived back he came to a team that was more positive, fitter and hungrier for success. He humbled himself and worked with everyone and success came. In the end he forgot all this and started to believe he was the emperor of the RFC and was indestructible. He cooked his own goose by forgetting his true qualities.
Hardwick was lucky not to be sacked in 2016. I couldn't believe Peggy and Gale didn't sack him but whatever they spent on that review, sending Hardwick to USA, bringing in Balme and good assistants was worth every cent. The club winning another final was difficult, winning a flag was beyond my wildest expectations. We didn't do a Footscray we backed it up with 2 more.

With 2 more in the "state of the game" rules changes was extra degree of difficulty.

COVID soft cap cuts was another challenge that the club, with the help of Benny going to the hub, living in Qld overcame to 2win a third flag.
100k fines hurt, Hardwicks rising salary, losing assistants. Well its just history. We wanted Caracella's IP, so did Essendon.

2021 we play poorly. Dustin Martin injured for the first time ever. We can't win a close game but 2022 we make finals. 2023 bringing in Tarranto and Hopper seemed inspired but made midfield/forward line unbalanced.

there's probably 3 or 4 players that I think we could improve on but Mini is not ringing the changes either.

So Damien 3 flags Hardwick quits mid 13th season.

As someone who lived through GR days. A peaceful transition to mini is a success all round. Especially as we are winning again

Playing Coach of the Bullants, assistant to Ratten at Blues for 3 years, assistant to Worsfold at eagles for 3 years, 1 year under Lyon at the saints, 4 years at crows under Sanderson, Walsh and Pyke then a couple years under Bolton.

Pretty bloody good apprenticeship ;)
Not bad , thats why he’s an assistant at tigerland , it doesnt beat being an asst throughout one of the most successful periods this century with 3 flags , further to that the leading flag contenders have leveraged the tigers game plan into theirs which says plenty

I reckon it's pretty important to do an apprenticeship under at least a couple of different coaches. That's my only real reservation about Mini.

In saying that these days the head coach is becoming more and more of a manager than a coach and Mini seems to be excellent in that regard. We'd need to bring in a couple of gun tactical assistants to help him out IMO, which is a lot easier when Mini would probably be earning less than half of what Dimma was.

If we go through the process and Mini is the man then I don't think anyone could be upset.

I reckon it's pretty important to do an apprenticeship under at least a couple of different coaches. That's my only real reservation about Mini.

In saying that these days the head coach is becoming more and more of a manager than a coach and Mini seems to be excellent in that regard. We'd need to bring in a couple of gun tactical assistants to help him out IMO, which is a lot easier when Mini would probably be earning less than half of what Dimma was.

If we go through the process and Mini is the man then I don't think anyone could be upset.
Yeah I'm not too concerned about who is going to be the next coach of the RFC...let the review/process take care of that...
What I am concerned about is the quality of the assistant coaches surrounding the chosen head coach...

Yeah I'm not too concerned about who is going to be the next coach of the RFC...let the review/process take care of that...
What I am concerned about is the quality of the assistant coaches surrounding the head coach...
Yeah. Get rid of all of them except Lambert, Rutten and X I reckon. Target a couple of Leppitsch, Chaplin, Carr, Yze, Newman, Grigg, Caracella, Hansen etc.

Coaching is very much a black art , oft the perfect cardboard cutouts don’t turn out to be much good ,,,eg Dew or Cameron and the most successful ones are almost a surprise ,,,no one would have guessed both clarko and dimma win 7 between them . Mini is in succession , in a very very successful environment . There’s no need to make a decision right now ,,,,that said it would be a brave decision to award the job to a experienced asst that hasnt coached before over mini , that called unchartered waters

If we beat Brisvegas offers will come to Minibus and we will be at risk of losing him like all our other quality assistants.
Minibus according to media hasn’t even entered into discussions yet with us. Could have a greedy and cagey manager waiting to get him a big deal. Be very careful RFC as another potential coach maybe poached.

If we beat Brisvegas offers will come to Minibus and we will be at risk of losing him like all our other quality assistants.
Minibus according to media hasn’t even entered into discussions yet with us. Could have a greedy and cagey manager waiting to get him a big deal. Be very careful RFC as another potential coach maybe poached.
With dimma on the loose , I’d doubt mini would be poached to be big cohuna , no doubt will walk into a key asst somewhere if not successful …..this next 3w block is pivotal to our season ,,,let’s see how we go , I wouldn’t be bothering mini with contractuals right now either

Don’t be so gullible as Fly hadn’t coached a game and was poached to the media AFL glamour side. only fools will go for KDH as he admitted he was basically cooked. That’s like taking on Malthouse, Pagan, Sheedy or Clarko and taunted with danger and high risk.

Hinkley or dew ain’t gonna be sacked for a rookie , put your hatred of dimma aside , at 50yo he has plenty in the tank in a new environment,,, I will say tho PA would be fools to sack hinkley for dimma ,,that’d be a very dangerous game ,,,GC would be a positive move and if I was advising him ,,,that’s role I’d take

Mate no hatred. The blokes on medicinal grass. He’s cooked and any club who takes him I’ll be happy as it’s one less contender.

You’d think if the suns miss the 8 they will come hard for Dimma with AFL money

Cubs aren't allowed to make offers for McQualter until the season ends, the only exception is if another club was to sack their coach. Even then no club would simply go out and make an offer without going through their own complete process to ensure that he was their next head coach. So there is no rush to make a decision.

Fair enough mate, but surely managers are having small words to people within.

I think livo is in the box isnt he or is he on the ground , the powerbrokers would be watching him like a hawk , I like what I’m seeing , we have a challenge in front of us that we can really get our teeth into, let’s see it unfold over next month

I wonder how active we are in our search at the moment? I'd imagine that we are having calls and meetings with candidates weekly while researching and analysing them. Surely we will have our pick of coaches. We have an enviable list, resources and facilities that are the envy of all, and greater relevance than almost any other club in the competition. Add in a stable, support board and positive, proven culture and you have the most attractive coaching position available for decades.